paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto PMR Special Edition / Proto PMR Special Edition / Proto PMR Special Edition / Proto PMR Special Edition

Proto PMR Special Edition Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto PMR Special Edition

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto PMR Special Edition
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
PMR SPECIAL EDITION
14'' 2PC BARREL
ALLOY EYEPLATE
ALLOY LOGO
BOLT CAP
ALLOY FEEDNECK W/KNOB
ALLOY ASA
EDGE TRIGGER GUARD
EDGE TRIGGER
Product Availability 
The Proto PMR Special Edition is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
DisturbedRising Tuesday, November 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Spyder VS / RS / RSX series
Marker Setup: PMR Special Edition (Camo)
DXS 3000 Psi tank
Halo V35 w/ Rip Drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel / Upgrade existing 2 piece barrel
New trigger (depends on preferenece. It is ok for me, but my friends think other wise)
New clamping feedneck (It comes with one but it is plastic)
UL frame (again based upon personal opinion buy it then upgrade if needed)
Strengths: 1) Weight
2) Upgrades from regular edition
3) Accuracy
Weaknesses: 1) Air Hog
2) Lots of O-rings
3) Overall Matainence
Review: I got this gun pulled it out of the box, did standard checking of parts, then fired... it shot perfect right there out of the box even at chrono 285-290! I love how light this gun is and how accurate the stock barrel is, granted it is a stock barel it isn't super accurate but plenty enough to get the job done. I do advise a upgrade to the barrel it comes with or a new barrel, but what gun doesn't need a stock barrel upgrade. Also this is a spool valve gun and it does have a lot of O-Rings which means lots of care and treatment to this gun.
Conclusion: I would advise this gun to any starter who already knows quite a bit about mataining a gun. Also advise this as a back-up if not main gun to anyone else. it is perhaps one the best if not the best guns on the market in this price range. I give it 9 instead of a 10 because no gun is perfect and there is always room for improvement.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 4th, 2008 at 5:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dgshearns12 Monday, June 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
us-5
ion
ego
slg
epiphany
MR2
DM6
Marker Setup: PMR special edition
empire B
Pure energy 70/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe new trigger
Strengths: Ups
Weaknesses: Air Hog at first till broken in
Barrel scratches easy
Review: I got this gun by total surprise and it was great right out of the box.I used it about a week after I got it and with a few trigger adjustments i was takin out ego and droids all day. Great gun for the money you should deffinitley get one.
Conclusion: Buy it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

juit Friday, May 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto M7
Marker Setup: PM7
Lucky barrel kit
halo v35 cranium shell
Recommended
Upgrades:
U.L. frame
board
magnetic detents
Strengths: Very reliable
Lot of upgrades to choose from
Weaknesses: None
Review: Its a bad azz gun very acurate and a gas saver not quite as a dm8 or dm7 but with som upgrades it could be a tourny gun I recomend a clamping or sand a halo the VL brand has no problems with it you can look for the limited edition and save some cash
Conclusion: Buy it is chea and a nice catch
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

therealjumbo Sunday, April 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
invert mini
Marker Setup: pmr special editon camo, empire magna drive, pmi pure energy 70cu 4500psi stubby tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
the trigger
Strengths: Barrel, eyes, feedneck, bolt, trigger, weigt, and size
Weaknesses: Breaks paint at first
Review: A great gun. For a pmr's price it cant be beat. Breaks little paint after a few times of use. Great for tournaments. It is pretty compariable to the mini but hte pmr is a little better because it is able to shoot all the way up to 30 bps.
Conclusion: Go out and buy a pmr. by far the best gun out there for only $284.90. You wont be disapointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vi3tRacer Monday, April 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TL-X stock (Doesn't even come close to the PMR SE)
Spyder Pilot (PMR SE is lighter and better overall)
Diablo mongoose (bad compared to PMR)
Marker Setup: Stock PMR SE (Camo)
14 inch 2 piece proto barrel (stock)
45/3000 Steely Pure Nitro Tank
Evo 3 Eggy

Recommended
Upgrades:
Force-fed Electronic Hopper (Eggy is fine for me, but Halo, Empire B or VLocity would be better though) But the Eggy seems to keep up fine during ramping, etc.
Stock barrel is fine for me. Maybe get a new Board if you speedball.
Feedneck.
Strengths: Lightweight
Accurate
Easy to clean
Overall great gun, keep up with 800+ dollar pb guns.
Weaknesses: Inneficient on air. Got around 500 shots per tank fill.
Feedneck. I need wrench.
Review: Well I bought this gun off actionvillage.com and brand new out of the box it didn't work. The battery harness was horribly installed and I had to go to a paintball shop to get it repaired. Cost me 20 dollars, but I could have gotten it for free from Dye since my gun is still under warranty. But I wanted to play right away. So no problem.

The next day I went to SC Village and had a great time with this gun. I only chopped 1 paintball because my hopper was off. The eyes worked great, after about 100 balls the gun ran very steady. The FPS was spot on, around 285 fps.

With the tank and hopper full of paint the gun was still really light, but could be lighter will a better tank. There is a tiny kick, very good accuracy and extremely quiet. The camo color is also very nice, stands out against all the other PMRs. At least 5 people stopped me and asked "Is that a PMR!?!?!, very nice"

Right away after taking it out of the box, I took out the bolt which was stuck because the factory lube had solidified during shipping so I had to clean the bolt and re-lube, be sure you do this before you even gas it up the first time. Since I upgraded from a Spyder TL-X this gun is a dream!!!!! So light and so fast, and I still think I'm a beginner so this was the best choice for me. Best gun for the price.

Compared to the regular PMR, the upgrades are the body is all aluminum/metal, the trigger is metal, backcap metal, 2 piece 14 inch Proto barrel basically everything you want for your PMR is on this PMR SE, SO GET IT!!!! Only 35 dollars more. I love this gun and it was a good deal in my book.

If you are deciding between SP Epiphany/PMR/PMR SE/Invert Mini. Definitely get the PMR SE, its worth every penny as long as you fix the initial problems. I haven't had any air leaks so thats good, some people get air leaks.

Great bang for your buck. Go for it.


Conclusion: This is another great product from Proto, very sturdy and feels great shooting. Feels much better than the regular PMR, which has a "cheap" feeling. If you are deciding between guns 200-300, GET THE PMR SE!!!!! I can't find this is any other color than Camo, but this looks awesome as it is. 35 dollars extra for 200+ dollar upgrades, awesome deal!!!!
9/10 because of the kinks in the beginning, but now it shoots perfectly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

unknownsoldier Thursday, March 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail Ltd. Ed. Camo with aluminum parts
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe the UL frame but not essential
Strengths: Light, fast, low operating pressure, easy to use, great looks and cheap
Weaknesses: Trigger wobbles from side to side but its no huge problem
Review: I bought the PMR Ltd. in camo and have used it for about a month now......now onto the review
Its a great marker for what you pay for it. It has 3 firing modes on it, but has a 4th hidden firing mode (NXL) or full auto so theres 4 firing modes in total. The PMR is easy to take apart for maintenence and the manual is easy to read and understand if theres any hiccups along the way.
The PMR is also reasonably light and fast firing which is great if you want to put a lot of paint on an opponent, and fast!
Conclusion: I would say, anyone who's looking to start off with a great gun and not spend £300 or $600 plus, then buy this gun, its brilliant!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chubs18 Sunday, February 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker(tested)
Invert mini(tested)
supped up cocker(tested)
owned:
automag
PMI III
promaster
PGP
Tippman 68Special(shows my age with that one!!)
Marker Setup: PMR SE stock
Compressed 3000/48ci
Recommended
Upgrades:
very fast hopper!!
Larger compressed air tank.
Be sure to have barrells to adjust paintsize
Strengths: Light, fast, affordable, looks.
Weaknesses: Pig on air. at first.
After a year an half it is not too bad.
Review: For the price ($274) this is an awesome marker. After reading reviews on the PMR I was hesitant to buy it, but for the extra $25 for the SE edition all those issues were resolved. I have not had an issue with the feed neck, grip is comfortable, trigger is nice but may need adjusted to suit. Took it out of the box, gassed it up, ripped out 230 rounds of year old paint in about 20 seconds and had one barrel break( I think it was due to too many balls coming out too fast)LOL. The weight and ballance is perfect. I do suggest you pay the extra money to get the SE. It will save you about$150 on upgrades for the regular PMR. I have never experienced a marker that shoots as consistant and accurate as this in my 18 years of experience.
Conclusion: Buy it!! These days companies are taking pride in their products and support. If problems do occur try matrixowner.com. I give it a 9 cuz nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 16th, 2009 at 1:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fuhzzie Wednesday, February 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I messed around with my friend's Proto SLG - pretty much the same but hyper 3 reg.

Omen 2.0 - heavy as a brick and less user friendly
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix Rail Special Edition [Blue/Black]
eVLution 2
47i/3000psi

the gun is stock for now til i get more money
Recommended
Upgrades:
An insanely fast hopper
A light 65i/4500psi tank
New trigger and frame (if you dont like it. I like it though)
Strengths: -FAST!!
-Light
-Very User Friendly
-Many Firing Modes
-Locking Feedneck
Weaknesses: - The fact you have to lube the bolt
Review: This gun is amazing.
I used this 3 days after i got it at the field.
I recommend getting a light N2 Tanks, because my tank is insanely heavy.
My Egg 2 was to small to be held tightly by the locking feedneck, so i had to put tape on it to make it wider.
When i played with this gun i was amazing on how crazy it is, and for the price of only $275? I'm pretty sure its the best gun for that price range.
Proto makes great guns. This gun is worth the $25 more than the Original PMR. It has about $100+ of upgrades for only $25 more. Thats just plain amazing.
I did really well at team practice. Even if it was my first time actually using the gun. The only downer was the Hyper2 regulator. It's ok though, because it gets broken in in about 2000 shots. Even though i was used to walking the omen 2.0 trigger, i found this trigger's sweet spot very fast. Me and the team did great at practice. The lightness of the gun helped me move around the field with ease, except for the 5lb tank, which sucks. I'm insanely lazy and dont like lubing the bolts

I hope my experiance is just as good or even better than mine.
Conclusion: For a gun like this at $275, and it has $100+ of upgrades from the original PMR, and its only $25 more?!? It's a definate buy for beginners and up.

I recommend this gun to anyone who wants to paintball
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crikpbr Monday, February 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, Pm7
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
nuthing really
Strengths: Velocity
Accuracy
Fast
Smooth
Quiet
No kick
Weaknesses: Needs to be broken in
Review: This gun is a great gun. I was very impressed on how great it was out of the box ball on ball accuracy with old crappy paintball it was even better with fresh paint the only problem i had was at the end of the day all of a sudden the velocity went crazy at first i thought i might have been just out of air but i checked the tank and i had about 1/3 of the tank left so i shot it 1 at a time and it would get to the point where it would come out anymore then i shot really fast and it was fine So i went to the next game and played and i shot fast the whole time and the velocity got even worse it was the end of the day anyway they were closing so no big lost but i havent figured out the problem yet.
Conclusion: All in all this gun is a great gun and i would deffinaltley recommend it to anyone just needs to be broken in.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintballer0013 Friday, February 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder vs2
Spyder Pilot
Spyder Rodeo
All tippmanns imaginable
ahah the Brass eagle Afterburner. (My favorite) haha

PMR by far the best gun, obviously
Marker Setup: Silver PMR SE dye throttle 70/4500 peanut Halo B w/ rip
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger
Barrel
Maybe new feedneck
On/Off
Strengths: Speed,
Maintenance,
Board,
All aluminum parts
Wieght
Weaknesses: Leaks(my friends)
No On/Off
Review: All together good gun. Like before my firends pmr has been leaking like crazy, but he brought it to our local shop and he got it fixed in no time, Thing rips. Deffinitely get it if you are considering it as your next gun. Its worth the extra $25 bucks more than the normal PMR.
Conclusion: Deffinitely get it if you are considering it as your next gun. Its worth the extra $25 bucks more than the normal PMR.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media