paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire Magna-Drive / Empire Magna-Drive / Empire Magna-Drive

Empire Magna-Drive Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire Magna-Drive

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire Magna-Drive
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
MAGANA DRIVE LOADER SYSTEM
The Empire® Magna-Drive™ feed system is the next step in the progression of speed and performance. It features a patent pending new magnetic-clutch drive system and patented technology for a patent pending unique wireless RF (radio frequency) system. The Magna-Drive™ system is the most highly advanced and customizable feed system on the planet. You can determine your feed rate, adjust the tension, set the torque, dial in the sensitivity, and even synch your loader with your marker for unparalleled results. The Magna-Drive™ also introduces a bold new profile for improved weight distribution and reduced exposure while playing your bunker, plus easy access battery pack and magnetic lid. The best players demand the best equipment and the Empire® Magna-Drive™ is the answer.
Product Availability 
The Empire Magna-Drive is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
vebol85 Friday, November 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B
Empire Reloader B
Both of which got the job done, but i liked the reloader more.
Marker Setup: 2007 Ego GBA Anno'd
Powerlyte Scepter Kit
Bump LPR and HPR pistons
Empire Magna
SPD Custom Viper Grips
Strengths: Strong quality build
Magna technology is ingenious
Low Profile
Very sleak design
Small details
Weaknesses: Battery door is kind of lame
Review: First, a little explanation.

The heart of the Magna is in its magnet clutch design. Basically, there is a "magnet holder" which holds your choice of a number of small very strong magnets in different orientations.

This holder is placed below a metal plate which under normal circumstances, spins as the magnet holder spins because of the magnetism between these two.

If the drive cone for whatever reason stops spinning, or cannot keep up with the motor, this metal plate SLIPS (if the magnets are configured for this)

So with this idea in mind, you can add more magnets to create a stronger bond between the motor/magnet holder and the plate/drivecone.....or less magnets to create a weaker bond which would allow the plate to slip easier and be gentler on the balls...
(Or a ton of magnets for hard paint and reballs)

Basically, the pressure placed on the balls is up to you. This is configured with magnets, as well as the different available plates in the Tuning Kit.

Besides that advantage, I would imagine this would create less stress on the motor, allowing it to spin.

For me personally, with the stock set up, I've experienced no problems at all. No paint breaks, and no gaps in feeding.

Onto the rest...
The battery door is actually kind of lame. It wouldn't be possible for it to fall off, but I can definately see it sliding open, maybe not all the way though.

I can't say anything about the RF capabilities yet, but will update when I can.

I know a lot of people have complained about the shape or orientation of the feedneck. This has honestly not been an issue at all. Period.

Basically, in closing...its a Reloader B2, in a new shell, with a revolutionary new drive system, and RF capabilities.

In all honesty what else can you ask for?

Conclusion: Awesome Loader, even if you don't get it....I'd say get the Magna Upgrade for your Halo or Reloader.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Lamborghinievog Monday, November 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Vlocity
-XSV VLocity
-DXS Pulse
-Hard Corps Torque
Marker Setup: 07 PE EGO (DUST BLACK)
-DUST WHITE CCU KIT
-UL BARREL (.688);SHAFT II (.693);AA FRONT W/ FREAK BACK (.689)
-KILA DETENTS
-PE LAZER EYES
-PE ZICK KIT

07 TREMOR NXT SHOCKER (POLISHED RED)
-RL VIRTUE BOARD W/ VIRTUE LAZER EYES
-HYBRID BOLT GUIDE
-VIOLENT PRODUCTS TRIGGER
-CRITICAL ASA
-MACDEV GLADIATOR REGULATOR

06 EVIL MINION (DUST BLACK)
-ULTRALIGHT FRAME
-DM6 VIRTUE BOARD
-LUCKY LAZER EYES
-ORANGE BOLT
-HYBRID BOLT GUIDE & SLEEVE
-UL BARREL (.668); SLY BARREL SYSTEM
-DM7 CLAMPING FEEDNECK
-CRITICAL TRIGGER

-VL VLOCITY(BLITZ CHIP); VL XSV VLOCITY(VIRTUE CHIP);
DXS PULSE; EMPIRE MAGNA DRIVE; HARD CORPS TORQUE
-45/45 PURE ENERGY FIBER TANK
-92/45 CROSSFIRE LOW PRESSURE TANK
-68/45 DYE THROTTLE
Strengths: -Build
-Consistency
-Speed
-Extra Features
-Optional kits
Weaknesses: None so far.
Review: I got it last week and put on my 07 Ego this past weekend. WOW! I love this thing. It feed consistently and had no problems feeding. Simon from Empire was right, just take it out of the box, put batteries in it and go play.

The feedneck flexes when there is movement and is reinforced surprisingly well. Example; I was running to the snake corner and could feel the feedneck tilting back. I was worried at first but after a while, I got used to it and it felt comfortable. It has some stealth when you're playing snake or dorito.

I love the 220 tray that comes installed with it. I got into 2 situations when I was needing to reload and someone tried to come and bunker me. As I was turning and the balls dropped into the tray and I was able to get him. Excellent feature.

The board is just fine in it's stock setting(B2 type board w/ up to date technology). I didn't mess with it and it served me well. I love how magnets are used throughout the loader. There are a lot of magnet options dealing with the slip system, lid, and one piece lid system that is being held open by a.......you guessed it a magnet. Rip drive is a great feature and I didn't even need to use it.

What's really cool is when you reload, the sound of the balls dropping in kick start the motor to feed the balls. I used Bushido paint and had no problems with the Magna Drive.

The battery door slides open at the back of the loader and you don't need any tools what so ever. Only thing is that the battery door sometimes slides open half way when you play. Not really a problem for me and I see it as a minor oversight but if you get hit there it'll go into the loader. Just make sure it's closed everytime you go out for each set or at the beginning of a game. Good thing is that Empire is aware of the door and fixing it as we speak.

Other than the obvious, this is an excellent, well built loader and it definitely shows out on the field. This is perfect for any player from front to mid to back.
Conclusion: This is a great product, possibly the best Empire has ever offered. At first it looks odd, but just like the Vlocity, you'll start to love it.. I recommend this to any tournament level player and it's totally worth the cost. Shop around and you'll find some great deals. It sells for 140-150 if you look around. What's great is if you can't afford one then you can change your Halo/Reloader to run the magna drive system with the Magna Drive conversion kit. Plus there's a tune up kit to fine tune your Magna Loader and an RF kit available to sync your gun to your loader. Any comments or questions feel free to ask. I'll revise my review once I get the RF chip. A++++ for a great product from a great company.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 19th, 2007 at 12:27 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

starfire Monday, December 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo b
Marker Setup: ion
L-7 bolt
ape board
j&j edge kit
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: None yet
Review: Have had this thing since Christmas and so far I love it. It is real fast. I will have to clock it but it sounds like around 30 bps. No chops and is good with fragile paint. Modes seem to be easy to set . I used the stock settings and they work just fine with average paint.
Conclusion: Seems to be a sturdy product and real happy with my purchase.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hatecrew Thursday, January 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo,halo B,Reloader B2
Marker Setup: Ego 07
zick kit
stiffi barrel
micro maxflo
virtue board
RF Transmitter chip
magna drive loader
empire tank cover...
Strengths: speed
RF capabilities
more magnet lid
shape
battery door
magna clutch
Weaknesses: Turn it on
price
interference
Review: strenght:
it is fast...
yeah I like tha magna for the rf capabilities and the magna clutch
gentle on paint
you can add magnets for tighter closing lid...on top theres usaly a spring to keep the lid open ...instead they add a magnet...loader full loaded of magnet,,,f*c*k*n* magnets every where...
can add or remove magnets in magna clutch
like the shape...and it still have a good balance on gun
the 2nd floord with 20-30 more balls is cool feature too
i like the battery door cause it don't breaks the shell like the reloader or halo ect...
they sell clutch kits...think it's cool...but it don't comes with loader...got a buy it

Weaknesses:
but first time I tried to put the rf chip and make it work together it didnt work...
paintball solution told me it was interference with the trigger frame,think they are fu**ed up there......interference my A**
i put a virtue in my gun and tried back the rf chip and it worked awsome!

first time I've put the loader on
if you touch the on/off button the light comes green...and the loader turns off right away...
if you hold it too long you enter in the setting mode...
why don't they just put a instant on?!?!
like the other ones...

should have put more extra magnets



Conclusion: In the end,it's a good loader realy like it...
I bought that one because I used to buy empire loader...
but i think all loader a cool to...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 11th, 2008 at 4:20 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

justavillain Monday, November 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B
Reloader B
Reloader B2
VLocity
Marker Setup: PM8
J&J Edge Kit
tuned UL board
Strengths: Capacity
Speed
Clutch kit
the CF shells that hold 30 more balls
RF Kit
Weaknesses: Shape/length
Review: When I first saw the magna I hated its look. I still do hate its look but it’s sits A LOT nicer on a marker then the older style Halos.

I was using a 07 Evil Minion for all my testing of the feel/look of the loader. The new magnetic lid is definitely better than the old style one with the ability of putting more magnets on it the lid. But I still took the lid off and put on a speed cap. Like the Halo/Reloader B shells that have the magnetic lid these have a smaller mouth also.

The added capacity of the loader is really nice for back players. The 2 trays also are nice since you can change how much you want in the loader, I don’t know why anyone would use the lesser capacity ramp. The CF shells actually hold 30 balls more than the reg. shells.

When it comes to programming it’s as straight forward as the Reloader B2. So if you can operate it you can operate the Magna. I have not used the RF ability of the board so I cannot comment on it.

The Magna is def fast. It’s just as fast as a B2 on setting 6 but on setting 4 or so!

The only bad thing I have to say about this loader is that with the minion and a 45/45 on the magna pretty much sat on the top of my Events mask, if you put the tail of the marker close/on the nose of your mask. But if you don’t play at tight as that and you’ll be totally fine.

If you’re a back player you’ll love this loader due to it’s higher capacity, and how fast it is. If you’re a front player and dive a lot like I do you’ll want to make sure your feed neck is a little tighter than normal since I’ve had it spun and broke an entire loader of paint in it. This was the first game I played with it. I gave it a second chance though.

EDIT - 1-24-08 - I put a reg halo in a pair of Magna shells so if you wanted to do that check out this thread from PB Nation.http://www.pbnation.com/showthread.php?t=2453163
Conclusion: If you're looking for a new loader the Magna is pretty good. If you already have a halo then get the Clutch kit for it and skip the Magna.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 24th, 2008 at 11:11 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbwhacko Tuesday, June 21st, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
view loader products.
halo
Marker Setup: proto slg ul w/ upgraded; feed neck, barrel, asa, drop fwd, and regulator
empire magna drive w/ virtue crown
guerilla air 48/4500
Strengths: Tough
Reliable
Fast
Small
Weaknesses: Battery door
Cleaning
Review: i got this loader about a year and a half back and I've ben using it ever since. this loader is very reliable, I've used it almost every weekend and wendsdays and it still works like the day it came out of the box. this thing is tough! I've droped it while i was standing on the taill gate of a truck, it just bounced and i got a couple scratches on it now. also , i really like the shape. in the advertisements they tal about how the shape of the loader is supposed to make it harder for people to hit you while snapping, its true!. the only really big complaints i have about it is the battery door , and how ong it takes to clean it. the battery door can sometimes come open if you take a slide hard or you drop your marker. this loader is very hard to take apart at a feild, to manny small paeces.
Conclusion: I wold definetly recomed this loader to someone who would like to have a loader that keeps up and never gives up
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Berceecil Sunday, August 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Evolution 3
Viewloader vLocity
Marker Setup: PMR 09-Claret
DXS 48/4500
Empire Magna (vLocity Back up)
Strengths: Weight
Feedneck
Operation
Design
Weaknesses: Six AA batteries
Review: To be honest, i was surprised when i pulled this out of the box. I hadn't played paintball in about a year, so i did some research to see what new products were on the market. I had been looking into getting a secondary loader, but when i saw this i decided on getting a new primary. I looked up some videos on youtube and thought it looked really nice on gun. I also saw the RF feature...something i had always wanted a Pulse for. So it comes in the mail...along with my new PMR...wow. so much smaller than pictures make it look. Sleek body that looks sexy on the gun. I put my PMR into 25 bps PSP ramp....not a single gap. i was considering getting the RF but now i really dont need it. This hopper is that fast. Pick one up ASAP.
Conclusion: Great for the price (less than a halo v35) and looks and performs great :).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBHALO Thursday, January 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B, Reloader B, Vlocity
Marker Setup: Dm6, trauma board
Nerve with bunch of ups
Angel 4 JD
Ion
Strengths: SPEED
Capacity
board settings and RF options
low profile
Weaknesses: Balance but nothing else
Review: Well got this product early on December and I gota say best hopper that Ive used. Once I got it Ive noticed due to its design it has way more tighter profile compared to a Reloader B/ Halo both in height and width viewing it from the FRONT of the hopper. Second is the board settings that can adjust the speed and pressure on the ball, and that it has and also it includes RF capabilities.

When I played with it beign a backman the capacity is amazing, you can keep long constant line and the speed is awsome. The extra hold of paintballs in the front is great specially in a critical time when someones gonna bunker you, so is a nice extra hold of more than 20 pb. Another thing is you can play the bunkers more thightly using this hopper due to its design. The magnet ripdrive idea is preaty neat, they fixed the lid and its way better now than on previous versions . Ive experienced breaks on the hopper with my Vlocity but with this one none so far. Its way more gentle on paint than on a Vlocity, and on the Vlocity using the same paint Ive experience bunch time the balls keep getting stuck and same with a Halo but this one does not experience getting stuck for now.

Well since the battery pack is in the end obviusly the weight will be in the back but once conected to the gun it gets way more balanced and can haddle it preaty well. But one thing that people might experience is those who have a small tank would get the hopper stickin out almost hitting the mask.
Conclusion: Overall best hopper Ive used, it has speed, capacity, and tight profile.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brandena29 Tuesday, February 22nd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Primo (Gravity doesn't Compare)
Gravity Hopper (Like I said^^^)
Marker Setup: Spyder E-MR1 Matte Olive
J&J Full Tilt Ceramic Barrel - 14"
Empire Magna Drive
Clamping Feedneck
Adjustable Spyder Stock
Remote w/QD & MARPAT Cover
Ninja 62ci 3000psi HPA Tank w/Magna Cap
Strengths: Fast
Even weight distribution
Tool-Less Design
Rip-Drive
Weaknesses: Only Costs $50.... wait, that's a plus.
Review: This hopper is everything you'd ever dream of wanting in a hopper:
-30+ bps (tested)
-Low-ish profile
-Tool-Free battery compartment
-220+ ball capacity
-Sound detecting (feeds when it hears your gun shot)
-Halo B Rip-Drive included
-Programmable
-1 Hour Auto-Off

However, this does it all UNDER $50!
Conclusion: Why get anything else, when you can get MORE Hopper for LESS $?
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rawr Monday, April 19th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Azodin Blitz custom colors (silver/green)
Pure Energy 68ci 4500psi tank
Empire Magna Drive-smoke
Azodin carbon fiber barrel 14inch-green
Strengths: Fast
Price
Consistant
battery life
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: This hopper is amazing for the price
Ive had this hopper for a couple months, since xmas, i was shooting time to time during the winter, was great, than i have been going to the local field for the past month and i still havnt had to change the battery from when i put them in (xmas) so im happy :)
Conclusion: Get this hopper now, it dosn't let you down :)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 6th, 2010 at 3:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media