paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM8 / Dye DM8 / Dye DM8 / Dye DM8

Dye DM8 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM8

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM8
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $800

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New for 2008, the DM8 has a host of features, updates, and refinements. We have utilized our resources of professional players, designers, and engineers to come up with the best marker yet in the DM series. The DM8 continues the tradition of being one of the lightest, smallest, fastest and certainly the most accurate of paintball markers in the world. To improve on an already reliable design, the DM8 has no eyeplates. This is possible with the new internal patent-pending Eye Pipe anti-chop sensing system. This new design eliminates the need for eyeplates and allows us to reduce the width of the marker body, ultimately reducing the weight by 1.5oz. The new micro LPR has been reduced in size and now provides more efficient shot consistency. On top of this, we are introducing the all new Hyper3 regulator. The Hyper3 is now smaller, more consistent, and more precisely adjustable allowing you to set your pressure in finer increments. All of these innovations, coupled with new 3D body styling, standard features like the patent pending Ultralite frame and 2 piece barrel, give perfection a new meaning.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM8 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
skeg21 Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Proto PM7
Dye DM7
Ego 05
Ego 08
Etek 2
Marker Setup: Dye DM8 with viewloader hopper
68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: size
Accuracy
Weight
little to no kick
SPEED
QUIET
Weaknesses: Air hog
Review: Ok so I've decided to edit this post due to extended period of use and yet this gun is by far the best i've used.
I've also recently used the ego 08 and the etek 2 however only for a day on each (but long enough to make a decision. - still the dye dm8 for me ;-)

however i would like to see what the sl8r is like in comparrison as the ego 08 ghot blown away.

i find myself dug into the bunker but able to snap my way out as this thins is just so so accurate and quick and can turn the game easily.
this gun makes every little bit of your game just that little bit better.

SPEED: It is so easy to keep up the rate of fire with this gun in semi.
the trigger feels so nice and easy to get use to.

AIR: Probably the guns only real weakness. from a 0.7 bottle you'll get a full hopper and 4-5 pots before a fill - could possible do with a new bolt. but if you are a front player then this gun really is the one you'd go for - no questions!

SIZE: the gun is really compact and the UL frame is awesome. wont have to worry about the gun sticking out only your head!!!!!

ACCURACY: you can definately get ball on ball action with this gun. It can take out the bottle neck of a bottle of wine from 25 foot easily. even when at 12bps its spread is about 6 inches at 50ft

MAITENANCE: i was worried about getting this gun because everyone was saying that they were a nightmare to look after - no way!!!!
i have only had to change the o-rings on the back of the bolt once and this was so so easy i think it took all of 10 mins to strip it down change the o rings and lube it up and put back to gether.

I was asked if i would swap it for an SL8R - absolutely not a chance
Conclusion: Done a training day with this thing all day and never cleaned the barrel once and only had a break right at the end when on the range. since then though i've played about a dozen times going through a box at a time, haven't once lubed the bolt and not had a single chop or break.
such a nice marker to shoot, feels good in the hand and easy to move with. shoots ropes all day even at 30 bps no chops - simply a great great gun. even so 2 more of my team have bought one now, the others can't afford one yet!!!!
Had the chance to swap it for sl8r but will not be leaving dye from now on.
If you are thinking about the dm8 or ego 08 its an easy choice - dye dm8 everytime.
I have seen the error of my ways and now switched from ego permanently.
If you haven't got the money for this then i suggest you go out and rob a bank or pester your parents for your pocket money.
Would love to give it a 10 rating but in life nothing is perfect and i'm sure next years will be slightly better again. still only giving it a 9/10
If you have a dm7 with a few mods then there is no need to upgrade (but i would)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 27th, 2008 at 3:21 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dye Man Saturday, February 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye pm7,dm6,dm7
Marker Setup: dye dm8 stock. many other guns
vlocity,empire 56 45
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Fast
Light
Looks
Performance
Weaknesses: None
Review: When i first bought this gun i was very scepticle. I have owned a pm7 before and it failed and i didnt know if i should buy it. When i first opend it up there was the nicest gun i have ever seen. I aird it up and no problems and then i took it to the field and it shot amazing.
Conclusion: I would recomed this gun to anybody who has the money and knows how to take care of their gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 7th, 2009 at 8:29 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TyphoonX Monday, October 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rail, DM4, PM5, PM7 & Shocker
Marker Setup: Waiting for World Cup
Empire Reloader B
72/4500 PMI Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Critical Trigger. Personal Preference
Strengths: Well Balanced
Light Weight
Fast
Accurate
Decent efficiency for a spoolie
Weaknesses: Efficiency
UL Frame - Feels to small in my hand
Price
Review: A friend of mine recently got a DM8. I have been thinking about getting another spoolie and couldn't decide if I wanted to go back to the DM line or get a different spoolie. Well I shot this marker and unless I get to see one of the other ones in action I'm pretty much sold on a DM9. I have held the DM8 a lot without a tank or hopper. To me it seems a little heavy compared to the competition and I didn't like the feel of the UL frame. Well that all changed. I was shooting it with a 68/4500 tank and a Manga loader. It was well balanced didn't seem to be heavy at all for a full set up and to much my amazement the UL frame was comfortable and easy to shoot. I was shooting at 2" boards from between 15' and 40'. With the closer board I was able to hit 2 out of 3 or 3 out of 3 shots. With the boards futher away I was able to hit no less then 1 out of 3 shots. During the accuracy testing I was shooting 3 shots and switching targets as soon as I fired off the third round and started to shoot as soon as I shot to the next target not really taking time to aim the shot.
Conclusion: I gave it a 9 just for the fact that other spoolie manufactures have proven that they can get good to great efficiency which is the biggest set back to the DM series in my mind. Also the price could be lower for what you get, but you also get for what you pay for so I guess the price can go either way.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SHOEI03 Monday, May 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
IC PUMA (lol no comparison)
AUTO n MINI Mags
99 Autococker
Electra
PM6
Marker Setup: DM8
Virtue Board
CP ASA
XSV Velocity
UL Barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
Virtue Board
ASA
Hopper that will keep up with marker
Strengths: SEXY
low profile
quiet
accurate
self cleaning eyes
light
no kick
easy maintainance
Weaknesses: On/off ASA
Reg (feel/look)
Review: I've been using this marker for 6 months now.

Very reliable. Light.

LPR and Hyper 3 A+

@ 3000psi used my Velocity and 5 pods and didn't bottom out tank. (tweaked the LPR for air management)

Very accurate - great for snap shooting and 1 on 1s.

Self cleaning eyes is great.

Very low maintainance - grease and o-ring changing is very simple to do.

ASA --- a few team mates have DM8s and the on/off seems to leak on all our markers after a few months. Could also be the intense heat and humidity where we're located. We didn't bother replacing orings - just all bought CP ASAs and haven't had any problems so we'll see in a few months.

Reg feels weird at first since the design/grip is different from other/previous models. It will take a few games/practices to get use to.
Conclusion: Great buy!
If it's in your budget - pick one up! you will not be disappointed.
Haven't enjoyed any marker the way I've enjoyed the dm8.
Very accurate - I owe my tournament success to the marker reason being many of my kills were due to the accuracy of the shots.

Not very common in Texas - most markers at tourneys are EGOs - so this marker definately stands out! The marker gets a lot of attention.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DoMin8tor76 Thursday, April 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM5, Tippmann A5
Marker Setup: DM8, Trauma Tadeo Board, V35 Halo, Evil Scion tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a orange bolt later on, but you really dont need one
Strengths: Very accurate and consistant
Very light and slick design, cant compare to other markers
Weaknesses: None, just need small Matrix tech skills which you can learn at Matrixower.com
Review: Overall the DM8 has proven superiority and has lived up to its DM hype. If you can get it go for it, if you have a DM7 then I say just buy a hyper 3 but if youre really looking for a new gun or moving up the ranks, DM8 is my recommendation
Conclusion: Satisfied customer
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 10th, 2008 at 10:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vail209 Sunday, April 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder TRL
Ion
Invert Mini
dark 06 ego
07 ego
dm8
Marker Setup: Tadoa M7 board
halo
draxxus tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
cp plug (which I don't have yet)
tadoa board
Strengths: - Has better balance than the dm7
-accurate
-quite after a bit of tuning
-light
-sexy
Weaknesses: None that I know of.
Review: First out of the box it had too much lube.

Shot great and accurate right out of the box.

If you are using a magna, that stock setting for the magna will push paint pass the detents on the dm8 thus breaking paint.

I switch to a halo after that and didn't break a single ball.



Conclusion: Great gun. Shoot just like a dm7 but it has a different feeling that is indescribable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (2):  1  |  2
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media