paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion XE / Smart Parts Ion XE / Smart Parts Ion XE / Smart Parts Ion XE

Smart Parts Ion XE Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion XE

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion XE
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $225

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The embodiment of affordable firepower. Ion changed the paintball paradigm by being the first marker to deliver true electropneumatic performance in the casual paintball player's price range. With multiple firing modes, an aggressive rate of fire, and break beam Vision anti-chop system, the Ion XE continues the Ion tradition of tournament level performance at a low price. The best feature of the new ION XE is the Bolt out Back design. This new design allows even a novice player to clean the bolt in seconds.

Smart Parts Ion XE Features:

Bolt-Out-Back design makes this Ion easier to maintain than ever before. One allen wrench is all that is needed to remove the bolt sleeve, bolt and bolt stop from the rear of the marker, providing complete access to the entire bolt and valve assembly in seconds.
Weight (marker only): 1 lb. 15 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 8.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Break Beam VisionTrigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, rebound, 3 round burst (10bps max), full auto, (10bps max)
Max Rate of fire: 17bps (higher with Blackheart board)
Field legal mode lockRuns on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA includedIon one piece 14 inch barrel
Feedneck: Low profile friction grip vertical / NXT thread
Aluminum / polymer grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion XE is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
bottleboy Sunday, April 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
old ion, spider pilot
Marker Setup: mostly stock but will get a jj edge barrel kit soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
asa
barrel, but not a bad stock barrel
Strengths: Very Quiet
Light
Fast
No Kick at all
Bolt Out Back
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is an excelllent choice for a begginer/ intermediate player. The Bolt-Out-Back design is amazing and takes very little time to clean. The gun is so quiet and has absolutely no kick. And my friend even commented on how there is no kick. The stock asa isn't terrible but it isn't that great either, and it is really hard to get the tank out since it isn't an on/off. The stock barrel is actually ok. It also is a fast gun at 17 bps. It has 3main features over the old ion 1) it has the Bolt-Out-Back 2) it operates at 180 psi instead of 850 3) it has a better feed neck its not the best but it does the job. And in my opinion the ion xe is the one of the best if not the best gun for the price.
Conclusion: I give it a 10 out of 10 because it is high quality for a low price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mac5130 Saturday, May 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Vibe, Tippmann 98.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion XE, Odyssey HALO B hopper, Freak jr. barrel. Virtue board, Custom Products CP Ion Sling Blade Trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger, and new barrel.
Strengths: Fast gun, very easy to clean, durable.
Weaknesses: Stock trigger breaks easily. Some hoppers will not . C02 isnt a good idea.
Review: I really do love this gun. This was my first real speedball gun that i baught 2 years ago and it still works perfectly. I used to use my Tippmann 98 for woodsballing, and sold it to help buy this gun. I normally use it for speedball, but it works great for woodsball too. Its fast at 17 bps, or a few more depending on which board you have. Durable as well. Some people say that Ions are bad guns, but i found that as long as you clean it often and dont throw it in water (not that i have =D) it'll work great for a long time. I would reccomend a new trigger though. The stock trigger is plastic and mine broke within a month or two. Also, somehoppers do not fit easily because the threading changed on the gun. Don't try and force the hopper in if it doesn't fit or it might break the hopper. Also, the barrel that comes with the gun it a good barrel, but i bought a Freak jr. barrel from Smart Parts and found it shoots more accurately now.

All in all its a great gun. Cheap and great bang for your buck. Only real hold back is that C02 may damage the plastic parts of the gun. Otherwise it's great out of the box, but upgrades help!
Conclusion: I would definetely reccomend this gun to anybody who is a beginner at speed/woodsball or an experienced player who wants a fast, cheap gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jayy Deuce22 Monday, March 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom - Does not even come close.
Other low-end markers - Again don't compare
Marker Setup: *Ion Xe
*Halo B w/ Rip Drive
*CP Clamping Feedneck
*Custom Empire Grips
*Invert 56/4500 HPA Carbon Fiber Tank
*Stock Barrel

Recommended
Upgrades:
*FEEDNECK (Some like it but personally, i hate it. I Will explain in review
*Barrel maybe - Stock is pretty accurate but upgrade maybe needed
*Trigger?
Strengths: *Low-price
*Accuracy
*Weight
*Quality
*Looks
*B.O.B. (Bolt-Out-Back)
Weaknesses: *Feedneck is about it
Review: This gun is a great entry-level paintball marker. I bought this gun in a package deal so it came at an even better price. Out of the box, this gun rips considerably for what type of gun your getting. The Ion Xe is the most cost-effective gun I've seen out on the market. This gun with a couple of minor upgrades, like the feedneck and maybe a trigger, rips with the best. I recomend getting a carbon fiber tank with this gun because regular tanks that give you a pretty good amount of shots out of it weigh you down and make you very slow out on the paintball field. Along with the great performance of the gun comes with a great look as well. It has many unique parts and different color body kits out there so you can really make this gun your own. Considering this gun is a great ENTRY LEVEL marker, it has a great BPS rate (17 BPS). Along with the many strengths of this gun comes, to me, the only one real weakness and many people will agree with me. FEEDNECK. This feedneck first of all can barely accomodate the large neck size of hoppers like the Empires and the Halos. If you result to sanding down the hopper to make it fit, it will probably end up too loose and will fall out anyway. During a paintball match, I slid into dorito one, not even a dive, just a regular slide. As i was sliding into the bunker, my Halo B flew off and cracked into the wall. Thankfully it didn't break but I knew from then on, i had to protect my hoppers by getting a better feedneck. I decided to buy the CP Clamping Feedneck for $30 from the field. Installation was free and it was ready in a quick minute. From that time on, my hopper has never came off when i didn't want it to.
Conclusion: Overall, this gun is a great entry-level marker that doesn't leave a big hole in your wallet. It's very customizeable and has many strengths. If you upgrade the feedneck, and have a good tank, you will be very happy with the performance of this paintball marker. I give it a ten because for what it is meant to be, an Entry-Level marker, it is the best one out there for the cost.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pheonix320 Wednesday, February 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Marker Setup: ION XE Stock.
Evo 3 Hopper
3000 PSI Compressed Air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none.
Strengths: Light Weight.
Easy To maintain clean.
Quiet.
Weaknesses: Trigger sort of sways left and right.
Electronics are inside grip frame.
Review: I just got this Ion XE and its amazing. For a rookie, this gun will do just fine. Its really easy to maintain clean, easy to work with, light weight, Its quiet and shoots pretty darn fast. Its comfortable to play with. It runs with Compressed Air so thats a plus for me. I really think the price for the quality of gun is good. Its accurate and still havent chopped a ball. I've havent had any problems with it so far so, so this gun is a must get for a mediokre player like myself. If you have a little cash saved up, get this gun. Im thinking of getting the blackheart board for it and a freak barrel just to tune it up a bit, but the stock barrel is just fine. i think it is everything that you can expect from a smart parts marker. Not much difference from the previous Ion, just a few things here and there, but again, for the price of the quality, its a must get. Only Thing that I Didnt find too cool was that the trigger kinda sways left and right, and i have seen a few reviews saying the same. Its not a big deal for me, I can still rock it. And the other thing is that the Electonics are inside the grip. Atleast for me, I only run it in Semi-Automatic, but if your one of those players that like switching it up, your going to have to open that grip up. but, like i said, i leave it on semi-automatic and dont touch it again.
Conclusion: Final recommendation for this product is that if you dont want to spend too much money on a great gun, this is the gun for you. Its quick, accurate, quiet, and not a big killer on your wallet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kebone2 Saturday, December 29th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Regular ion- just as good
Spyder Pilot- only slightly worse
WGP Autocockers- about as accurate, just not as fast
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS '05
Dye 16in stainless steel barrel
Dye Sticky grips
Psycoballistics drop w/ on off
Smart Parts Q lock clamping feedneck
Velocity with Select Force
Shock Tech Superfly bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, feedneck, bottomline, bolt, the works.
Strengths: Built on a reliable paltform, and nomatter what it features, it will sell.
Weaknesses: Features almost nothing new to paintball
Review: I think Smart Parts turned out this thing just to make more money off the "Ion" name. Because it features performance wise are almost the same. Of course, thats not really a bad thing, but c'mon, "bolt-out-back design" , the Impulse had that. As well as the Nerve. So they havn't done anything that they didn't do in the past. The stock barrel is still bad, and it still dosen't come with a clamping feedneck stock, man, it the q-lock so expensive that they can't put it on there from the factory? So, I say, if you want an Ion, go get an old one.
Conclusion: Go buy the old one.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

azapainbaw Sunday, March 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tried the normal ion
My brother has the vibe

Marker Setup: Ion xe
yellow body
freak jr barrel
cp on/off
cp reg
hybrid grips
virtue board
ez on/off
smart parts qev
virtue laser eyes
l7 bolt
qlock
cp rake trigger
empire magna
45/45 crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
first of all - FEEDNECK - the stock is complete crap and your hopper will fall off
then - asa
barrel if you relly want better accuracy, stock wasnt that bad
my stock trigger broke sum how.. ;(
Strengths: bolt out back
CHEAP - unless u upgrade it

Weaknesses: None relly besides the fact that some of the stock parts are kinda crapy.
Review: I got this gun as a gift from my parents. I played a couple of times and loved it. i gradually put more and more upgrades on it. Its sort of an exact copy of the normal ion except it has the BOB. The only problems i had was the fact that I had to pay 40 dollars for a new qlock seeing as my first hopper before i got the virtue (egg 3) kept falling off...
(key note - - if you try squeezing the hopper in the stock feedneck... it wrecks the hoppers feedneck)
My stock board harness also broke like the second time i played with it... i have no idea how this happened so i had to send it in to smart parts.
Also my trigger broke and I had to get a new one of those.
I don't really see why people always hate on this gun. It's an awesome gun and its brought me through lots of wins in tourneys against others with egos and dms... you just have to put the money and time in it.

Conclusion: Overall this is an amazing gun. Go buy it if you like customization or if your just one of those weekend warrior guys. It has awesome price and the guys over at smart parts are great. They fixed my board for free after the battery harness broke on my stock board.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dman12564 Friday, December 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonix
smartparts vibe
smartparts sp-1
a5
98 custom
Marker Setup: cp reg
trinity body kit
crossfire 68/4500 high pressure tank
blackheart board
firebolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
new board
more than a 3000 tank
new trigger
a nonplastic bodykit
Strengths: Easy trigger pull
Its beautiful
Weaknesses: The board has tar in the groves
Review: The gun is just dropdead georgeous. Super nice paint schem. The trigger is nice but the grips are wack. The board is ok but can be updated. It has tar in the board ports. I sugest the blackheart board or virtue. The stock barrel is nice it will put paint where you want it.
Conclusion: Nice gun needs upgrades
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mason9234 Thursday, June 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman model 98 and it does not compare to the ion xe
Marker Setup: ion xe stock and evo hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
Strengths: Accuracy is good bps is great!!!!!
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: Tippmann guns are nothing like this one the more I shoot it the more I am glad I got it. It works great no problems its vey hard to get the hopper on. Stock runs good all you need is a feedneck. It came up to all my expectations and i hope for yours too!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: It is good for all players bps for tournaments ez cleaning for begginers
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Golden Wednesday, December 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra- first gun, ION XE is way better no doubt.
Marker Setup: ION XE black.
48/3000 Pure Energy Tank.
Evolution 3 Hopper.
Dye i3 Pro Blue.
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger if you dont like the side-to-side sway
barrel (stock is decent)
Strengths: Cheap
Light
Fairly fast (17 bps)
bolt out back is really easy to clean.
Weaknesses: Trigger still sways
Feedneck is still crappy
Power button still hard to use

Review: This is my first electronic gun and I can say I am very pleased. It feels good in your hands and is fairly light. It shoots fast enough at 17 bps which is all you need I think. Also, it has a output pressure gauge on the gun which is useful. Some people say it looks like plastic, BUT it is not plastic, it actually feels somewhat rubbery. My only issues with this gun is that the trigger does sway a bit and it can be hard to walk it at a fast pace for a long period of time due to this. Also, they still haven't implemented a way to change firing modes without taking off the trigger frame, which is a hassle. All in all, this is a great buy and good for an novice paintball player who wants a cheap decent performing electronic gun.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun fully to anyone who is interested in a cheap light electropneumotic (sp?) marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Joe Mac. Thursday, October 15th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Broken Tippmann 98 custom, Smart Parts Epiphany, 98 custom w/ 20in barrel and stock. I used all of these for a short time, like 1-2 days of paintballing.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion XE(Black),
Shocktech USA Superfly Bolt(Silver),
Virtue Board Redefined,
Redz Pepper Stick 14in Barrel .689 back,
Custom Products Ion Rake Trigger{Red),
Custom Products Flame Drop Forward(Black),
Viewloader Evlotution 3 hopper(feeds 23bps)
72 cu steel Pure Energy compressed air tank,
Smart Parts Defender Jersey(Gray),
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, stock one is short and pretty inaccurate, I recommend the Redz Pepper Stick or Freak barrels. Some people like short barrels but I don't see why.
Bolt, will make gun overall more accurate and efficient.
Board if you have the money.
Strengths: Fast,
Light,
Cheap,
BOB,
Pretty accurate compared to similar markers,
Decent range.
Weaknesses: Trigger sucks. I don't like the shape and mine just broke.
Review: When i first started paintballing I used my friends model 98 then bought a broken(which I wasn't aware of) Tippmann 98 custom from another friend. They were nothing compared to this. My dad uses a sweet 98 w/ 14in Invert rifled barrel and stock which is pretty good, but I'd rather use my gun. When I first got it it was pretty good. If I was aiming at a guys chest it would hit it and the air around it, but now that I have a better barrel and bolt I will hit almost exactly what i want. It does this at speeds of 17bps too(or a lot faster with Virtue). This gun isn't built for accuracy and range but it will perform decent at both and can fire at high speeds. I got mine for only $225 and you could probaly get it for cheaper. The EOS(next SP marker up) runs around $400 bucks and fires at the same speed. The main difference is that it comes with a Freak Jr. and Firebolt. After I got my barrel and bolt I only paid around $300 and I feel my gun is better than the EOS. I used my friends Epiphany(older EOS) and wasn't overly impressed, the only thing I liked better was the sturdy fang trigger. Assuming you want to buy a Smart Parts gun(why wouldn't you? they're the best for the price) I would go with the Ion XE. The vibe is pretty good but the XE is much better. It's really the best buy.

See comment page to understand this( and in response to the comment: of course the balls don't roll out of the barrel in different directions. I only meant that compared to other guns such as Tippmanns it isn't as good in range or accuracy. The primary function of this gun is a high bps rate. Yes any gun at a velocity of 270 will go the same distance and accuracy is about paint and various other factors. I was saying with a stock barrel most paint shoots well and with just about any after market barrel will shoot even better. Also range can be increased with a longer(be careful with 20in, it'll use a lot more air and can be jumpy) or rifled barrel. Why would people even get different barrels if range and accuracy couldn't be improved. My review is accurately stateing the performance of this gun with stock compoents and also giving upgrade suggestions.)
Conclusion: Buy it. Great gun for great price.
Note:I recommend not buying the old Ion over this because of the price. It chops and everything about the XE is better.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 16th, 2009 at 8:54 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media