paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion XE / Smart Parts Ion XE / Smart Parts Ion XE / Smart Parts Ion XE

Smart Parts Ion XE Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion XE

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion XE
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 37
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $225

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The embodiment of affordable firepower. Ion changed the paintball paradigm by being the first marker to deliver true electropneumatic performance in the casual paintball player's price range. With multiple firing modes, an aggressive rate of fire, and break beam Vision anti-chop system, the Ion XE continues the Ion tradition of tournament level performance at a low price. The best feature of the new ION XE is the Bolt out Back design. This new design allows even a novice player to clean the bolt in seconds.

Smart Parts Ion XE Features:

Bolt-Out-Back design makes this Ion easier to maintain than ever before. One allen wrench is all that is needed to remove the bolt sleeve, bolt and bolt stop from the rear of the marker, providing complete access to the entire bolt and valve assembly in seconds.
Weight (marker only): 1 lb. 15 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 8.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Break Beam VisionTrigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, rebound, 3 round burst (10bps max), full auto, (10bps max)
Max Rate of fire: 17bps (higher with Blackheart board)
Field legal mode lockRuns on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA includedIon one piece 14 inch barrel
Feedneck: Low profile friction grip vertical / NXT thread
Aluminum / polymer grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion XE is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
wethepeople42 Thursday, April 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot (old style)
Tippman A-5
Angel
Marker Setup: Ion XE
Dead On Paintball Drop
Halo B
Yellow body kit
stock guts
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEED NECK!!
power button
trigger
Strengths: Light
easy to disassemble
reliable
Weaknesses: See upgrades
dosent do well in extreme cold
Review: Had my trusty Pilot for 4 years now and thought it was time for a upgrade, ever since the original ion came out i wanted one, when i got the XE i noticed how easy it was to take apart and clean, fired about a case and a half of paint and had not one chop or ball go askew. Played the following week and it was like 10 degrees out and i played for like a hour and it would not read the ball in the breech and when it did it choped it all up, then cleaned it out and played for like 10 min and it started spewin air out the barrel. fixed that and have been playing ever since, i dont play speedball just woodsball and i cant seem to figure out how some people can carry those mil-sim guns. granted they look sweet they just seem heavy. but oh well.
Conclusion: Hands down one of the better guns i have used, if you have a fast enough trigger finger you can keep up with Angel, Egos.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AsphyxiateHeart Sunday, December 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Wrath, Smart Parts Sp-1
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion Xe w/ BlackHeart board, Pure Energy HPA 88ci 4500PSI w/ remote coil, Special Ops Tactical Vest. Empire E-vents mask.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Blackheart Board is all there really is, but it isn't necessary, it helps greatly with battery life. Possibly an Apex barrel which will be my next investment.
Strengths: Speed, lightweight, Extremely reliable in all weather conditions.
Weaknesses: Lack of upgrades. (Which may be a good thing)
Review: I've loved my Ion ever since they day I pulled it out of the box. It has consistantly worked for me when all other guns have failed and even pulls through in the cold weather. The Xe version of the Ion makes it very simple to clean as well. I have taken this gun through rain, I fell in a sinkhole out in the swamp at Michigan's Hell Survivors field, and it rolled down an icy hill with me in the winter. This gun can take a beating and keep on ticking. It is extremely accurate as far as a paintball gun goes, and on a normal day I get no breaks in the barrel (except if I get a case of bad paint). The low pressure firing makes is very delicate on balls and makes it so you can even use cheap wal-mart paint and be accurate. (Though I don't, but I have when I first got it just to see.)
Conclusion: For scenario players and speedballers alike, This marker is reliable and will always be there when you need it. I reccomend it for all players, however don't expect to be fighting against a flat-line unless you pick up an Apex barrel for it. A good gun for players old and new alike.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

elcheezzy Tuesday, September 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: smart parts ion xe body kit red
lucky unitec barrel
halo B
CP sling blade trigger
flame drop forward(don't know what company)
pure energy carbon 48/4500
virtue 2.0 easy on
Recommended
Upgrades:
something besides the duck bill
feed neck
QEV and fire bolt
Strengths: Can upgrade to be a very nice marker.
Weaknesses: How it comes stock but can fix easily.
Review: I think this is a great marker for beginner or advanced. you can keep it as a cheap marker of make it really high performance. The bolt out back it a very cool design and comes in handy. I have only chopped once in the marker and it was because I let my friend use it and he used crap paintball that had a lot of dimples and breaks in the bag.
Conclusion: Get this gun if you are just starting out or if you want to upgrade it and make it a very unique marker. I give it a 9 because I think it should cost less for the stock performance.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

choiboi1113 Tuesday, July 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tipman 98- lots of recoil and noise
spyder pilot acs- (only played with my friends)
Marker Setup: stock xe,
18 bps viewloader hopper
48ci/3000psi tank
4 pod ball hauler
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEEDNECK AND ON/OFF BUTTON!!!!!
look into a better grip
after a while you might want to upgrade the trigger
Strengths: fast, quiet, good bps, doesnt eat up battery life, BOB
Weaknesses: stock grips a little bulky. feedneck is HORRIBLE. cant change firing modes without opening grip.
Review: this gun is GREAT for beginners. it has so many upgrades that you can u can upgrade it to be just about anything. the first thing i recommend upgrading is the feedneck. the hopper is so hard to get on and off that i snap an o-ring every time i try to pull it off. second thing i reccomend is the on/off button. IT ABSOLUTELY SUCKS!! the marker runs on 9 volt batteries which i thought was great. also the grip is bulky so i find it harder to walk the trigger. another key weakness is that you cant change firing modes without opening the grip!! i thought this was a MAJOR problem with this marker. its got a good bps (17) so you dont need a high profile hopper. this is a decent stock marker. but once u upgrade the right things it becomes a great paintball marker.
Conclusion: i would only suggest this marker to ballers who are going to spend A LOT of money on upgrades and going to keep it long term. or people looking for a decent electro marker that is willing to play with ok stock parts. o yeah. i almost forgot. the bolt out back design. this is basically the reason why i got this gun and not the spyder pilot acs. it is so easy to clean. it literally takes 30 seconds to take it apart, lube/clean it, and put it back together.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 22nd, 2008 at 6:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AlexION Saturday, May 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
i used a low end mechanical marker before this and when i got it, there wasn't even anything to compare
Marker Setup: ION xe
QEV
Recommended
Upgrades:
force feed hopper
trigger
qev

if looking to be a sniper-the Q-bow kit
Strengths: Fast
Quite
Acurate

Weaknesses: Everything inside handle
Trigger a bit shaky
Review: This is an awsome gun for any paintballer. It can be upgraded to just about anything, sniper-q-bow kit, faster-ion boards etc. there are so many upgrades for this gun it's crazy, i've pretty well spend 250$ on upgrades. they aren't super need to have upgrades but i'm tring to get this to it's top preformence-trigger,barrel,auto hopper,qev, bolt. If u do get one make sure u play around with the ROF and dwell pressure, i used a lot of air for the first few times then started playing around with it and now use A LOT less
Conclusion: This is an awsome cheap paintball marker, that is great out of the box, and can be upgraded to a top of the line marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sadmonkey111 Saturday, April 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Ion Xe, Q-Lock Feed Neck, 48cu air tank, Velocity Jr Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-LOCK FEED NECK!!! Maybe fire bolt (made by smart parts(saves gas))
Strengths: Reliable, Accurate, Many Upgrades for this product
Weaknesses: Uses a lot of gas, stock feed neck IS VERY BAD
Review: When i first bought this gun i was very happy for the price tag. Another reason i bought this is because i see so many people with this marker. The good thing is that there are many upgrades available for this product. One thing that NEEDS TO BE UPGRADED is the stock feed neck(IT SUCKS). Upgrade to the Q-Lock feed neck (40$) Immediately!!! Another thing is that it uses a lot of gas (even though the box says its "efficient") the good thing is that you can upgrade the bolt which can save you gas AND with the new easy field strip back bolt you can take that out and easily install the new bolt if you wanted to. Otherwise this gun is somewhat fast this is a very good starter electronic marker. And if you want to you can upgrade the board.
Conclusion: This gun is very fast and reliable you can upgrade it like crazy and make it super awesome or just keep it how it is. I would recommend this to anyone whom is looking for a cheap new electronic marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tnt155 Sunday, March 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR2[terrible]
Marker Setup: Ion xe
Lapco Bigshot 12"
Fasta hopper
Red body kit
48/3000 N2 tank
Flame drop with on/off
Redz tank cover
Warrior 3 point trigger
CP clamping feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Barrel
Good hopper
Strengths: Looks
Consistant
Price
Bolt Out Back
Pretty Fast
Very Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Trigger
Stock barrel
Review: I love this gun. Compared to my last gun, Spyder MR2 which was horrible, this thing is amazing. So easy to clean compared to the origional ion. Its accually pretty quiet too[personal preferance] I still havent chopped one ball, and i have had it for a year, and thats a lot of playing. I got my marker off Ebay for 200 Dollars which is a good deal for this type of marker. I also love how you can totally customize this gun out and make it look awsome. Some people say that its a bad thing that the eletronics are in the grip but i say if you have fast fingers and get a better trigger you will never even have to switch the mode of fire. Also i have to mention the Bolt Out Back body which makes the gun go up even another level. Its so easy to clean and lube. Just get a clamping feedneck, a trigger, and a Lapco barrel, and you will be in good shape.
Conclusion: Overall I dont see anything wrong with this gun. Never chops and is pretty quick.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media