paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Vibe / Smart Parts Vibe / Smart Parts Vibe / Smart Parts Vibe

Smart Parts Vibe Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Vibe

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Vibe
[ View Photos (28) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 84
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Low price, high performance. Entry level used to mean low performance, but once again Smart Parts changed the game. The Vibe brings the smooth, accurate, fast shooting performance of true low pressure electropneumatic operation to even first time players with its unbeatable entry level price. The new Vibe works flawlessly with CO2, Compressed air, or nitrogen so if you only have access to CO2 then this is a great gun for you. Check out the long list of features below.

Smart Parts Vibe Features:


Hammer free design means that even beginning players can now afford a marker with tournament level performance, durability, and simple maintenance.
Protection provided by the Vibe's all-new Max Flow R Vertical Regulator means that it is safe from the dangers of liquid CO2.
Weight (marker only): 1 lb. 11 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 8.75 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Low force bolt
Trigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto (11bps cap), Three Shot Burst (11bps), and Full Auto (11bps) firing modes
Max Rate of fire: 11bps
Field legal mode lock (Semi Auto)
Runs on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA included
One piece 10 inch barrel
Feedneck: Vertical clamping
Aluminum receiver/bolt
Glass fiber reinforced nylon grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Vibe is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Gotaro Thursday, January 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
-Spyder Compact Deluxe
-Tippmann 98 Custom Rentals
The Vibe is on a completely different level than the mechanical markers I've used in the past. It is, by far, faster, quieter, and smoother.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Vibe
14" CP One-Piece Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get an inexpensive 14" barrel, like the Custom Products one-piece (.693 bore) or a J&J Ceramic. They're both $30 and well worth the money.

Don't get this and plan to upgrade the whole marker. You're wasting your money if you get a better board, bolt, regulator, etc. Just get a better marker! I would recommend a used Proto SLG.
Strengths: Low price
Entry-level
Runs on CO2
Fully electropneumatic
Gentle on paint
Water-resistant
Weaknesses: Low ROF
Cheap trigger
Freeze-ups with CO2 (unavoidable)
Review: First impressions:
(Solid) It's definitely solid. Nothing feels loose or hollow and cheap. The battery wiggling around is the only complaint here, but is easily fixed with a little foam/tape. That doesn't mean it feels like a quality-crafted work of art or anything, though.
(Basic) It's pretty basic. There are select firing modes (semi, 3-round burst, full-auto), but no ramping PSP/Millenium.
(Entry-level) As far as entry-level goes, I would never suggest anything I thought was below the Vibe for even an entry-level marker, especially for the money.
(Speed) When I first fired it, I was really amazed at everything: the speed, the quietness, the smoothness, the accuracy (with a 14" barrel), all of which are TERRIBLE on my old Spdyer Compact Deluxe and the rental Tippmanns I've used in the past. But after a day of practicing with the new trigger, I could already walk the 11 BPS (though not consistently) max ROF of this marker, which was disappointing.

So now I've gotten settled in with the Vibe and have been firing it for a few days, and have some thoughts. When comparing this to the Spyder Electra 08, which can also run on CO2 and is ~$20 more, I feel like I'm missing out, with things like: a more solid trigger, higher ROF, better firing modes (why the heck would I ever need 3-round burst when I can WALK faster than the 11 BPS "burst"?), eyes (low-force bolt > eyes, both = solid, but either will prevent chops 100% of the time), ASA on/off. The Vibe is fully electropneumatic, though, so it is significantly quieter and smoother, which is a big plus. =)

Still, the trigger feels like cheap, hollow plastic. I wouldn't expect high-class on an entry-level marker, but I wanted at least a trigger that feels solid. As for ROF, I won't really need >11 BPS on the field, but I would like to think that even as a beginner, a shot will be fired every time I pull the trigger. Regarding firing modes, I'd rather have ONLY semi, than also have 3-round-burst and full-auto that I can outdo with my own fingers. If I had any extra modes, I would only want ramping PSP/Millenium (like the Electra 08), because full-auto just feels cheesy. The other mentioned features (eyes, ASA on/off) are non-essentials that I only became jealous of when I considered the Electra 08 in the same category as the Vibe. Another thing to mention, though, is that the Electra comes with a longer stock barrel (which = greater stock accuracy), for those who don't plan to purchase that upgrade. Oh, yeah, but one thing the Electra probably doesn't have over the Vibe is water-resistance. I'm sure we've all seen the Smart Parts video where they dunk the SP-1 underwater and fire it.. ;)

And just for the record, I got the Vibe because I needed to use CO2. If I had an HPA tank and a fill station was nearby, I would have gone with something else, like maybe a used Proto SLG (~$200), which isn't really considered entry-level.

About CO2 freeze-ups:
CO2 will occasionally freeze up this marker. It's designed to deal with this by venting the liquid CO2 that made it into the marker as it expands into a gas. So yes, sometimes there is occasional downtime as it vents (5-10 seconds) if you are shooting very fast too often in humid conditions, which is admittedly annoying. If you want more constant high ROF, switch to HPA. But then you might as well get a different marker, like I said before. Also, I don't get the impression that other non-electropneumatic CO2 markers have problems like this (Spyder VS1, Electra, RS). I suppose it's a sacrifice for the Vibe's smooth and quiet, tournament-grade spool-valve technology.
Conclusion: I give this marker a 7/10, because there are much better, much more expensive, 8/9/10 markers. This is probably the best entry-level marker. For only $150, the Vibe should be the rental marker of choice for all fields, and on some it already is.

I would recommend this marker to anyone who needs to use CO2, and isn't going to be too bothered that they can't fire over 11 BPS, though the most recent official PSP regulations cap the ROF at 10 anyway. If you're just getting into the sport and want a first gun, this is definitely a baseline. Don't steep down and get a cheaper mechanical marker (like a Tippmann 98 Custom or Spyder Xtra).
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 13th, 2009 at 11:05 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

marco11 Monday, December 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tested an ion
Marker Setup: smart parts vibe
47/3000 compressed air
empire reloader ll
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Price,size,nice body,runs on co2 or compressed air,quiet,and easy to maintain
Weaknesses: No upgrades out
Review: Ilove this gun its small which is perfect for me since i run the snake
it is cheap but works perfect for any rec player
i shot about 1000 balls the first day and didnt chop once
does not need any upgrades to play
but there really isnt any out anyway
Conclusion: I love this gun it feels great on the field
if ur looking for a gun cheap and good look into a vibe
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mirrorimage Monday, May 5th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR
Spyder VS1
Spyder VS2
Spyder electra
Marker Setup: Marker - Vibe
Hopper - Tippmann ssl-200
Barrel - Redz pepperstick
12oz Co2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger - A little loose, the stock is fine for a beginner but a new trigger would make walking it much easier.

Feed Neck - Again the stock one is fine for a beginner though a cam-lock will be better for any marker without one.
Strengths: VERY quiet.
Light
Relatively Small
Runs fine on Co2 while still being electric
Weaknesses: VERY few minor problems.
Review: In my opinion this is the ultimate beginner marker... heres why:



1. As it is electric and yet runs fine on Co2 new player do not have to worry about getting an air tank. So not only is this marker cheap in the first place, but when you take off the price of an air tank you start to see the benefit for any new player.. it leaves them with more money to spend on paint.

2. The Vibe is amazingly easy to maintain.. The bolt out back design makes it incredibly easy to clean and lube, all in minutes.

3. The added bonus that it is small and light is good on any marker.. weather it be for a beginner or an expert.

4. From the first time i fired it i could see how accurate it was.. with the pepperstick on it it shoots even better!

5. It's also super quiet, all of my club members were saying how quiet it shoots.. They say that all they can here is the paint flying over their heads!



I have only had two problems with this gun, And both of them are very minor ones.

1. A screw from the ASA fell loose and none of my many allen keys could get a grip on it to tighten it back up.. i just wated till it fell out and then found a new one to replace it (so easy to find that i took one out of the frame of my fridge, it fitted!).

2. I can reach 16bps on the Vibe, but when i shoot at that speed continuously for about 10 seconds the Co2 starts spreading to places it shouldn't and temporarily stopping the marker from shooting.. all i had to do to fix it was leave it out in the sun for 5mins to thaw! Obviously there is no problem like this when shooting air! I say that a beginner wouldn't be able to hit 16bps straight away and when he can, he should be thinking of upgrading to air anyway.

Conclusion: A great marker! Perfect for a beginner in many ways.


I'm rating it on a beginner scale, obviously its not a shocker and so shouldn't be compared with one. But i still give it a 10 for a beginner gun!

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

spoo! Monday, March 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Shocker (Shoebox), B2K, Spyder Flash. I haven't touched any newer electros, but from what i've seen on the field this marker is comprable.
Marker Setup: Vibe, VL 12v Revvy w/ X-Board, 20 oz Co2 w/ anti siphon, 14" Freak Kit Everything else Stock

Phantom, Detent rings, ghost ring, trigger shoe, L-stock, dye stickies,
Recommended
Upgrades:
An electric hopper is a must, and not a crappy 15 dollar one. I've had my revvy forever and it works great, just be sure your loader is faster than 11 bps.

A new barrel, the stock one is pretty short, I only have the full Freak kit because I had it for my impulse before purchasing the vibe, though if I was looking for a good low price barrel I'd recommend a CP one piece.

CO2 works, but HPA is always a better choice if you can shell out the money.

If the marker is too slow for you, then a virtue board.
Strengths: Price
Weight
Locking Feedneck
grip
trigger
quiet
gas efficiency
Weaknesses: Not very upgradable
not field strippable
Review: So I picked up a vibe about a month ago and finally got a chance to break it in, thanks weather. Out of the box the trigger pull was fairly short, but had a lot of extra slack after the firing point. After 10 minutes of trigger work I had the trigger with just enough action to fire with a minimal click.

My next adventure was to attempt to remove the micro drop which angles the tank downwards (nice for regular CO2, but can be bad with anti siphon.) I couldn't remove the drop because of the length of the stock steel line required it to be there.

I decided to leave it as is and if it gave me any trouble I'd take it to the store where I bought it to fix it. At the field I chronoed it and had it shooting at ~270 fairly consistancy giving me +/- 5 or 6 fps while one balling. The marker did drop down to ~250 when firing quickly, though I believe that is the CO2's fault.

On the field I was playing with/against a good variety of markers, from tippmans to a couple timmies and even one angel. The shots were pretty accurate, most went to the same general area. I'm not going to lie and say I was putting ball on top of ball from across the field because paintball markers don't do that, but I was able to lock down a player from about half the field easily marking him if he popped out for too long.

The largest complaint I have seen about this marker is the 11 bps cap. I am completely fine with this as I feel chances are if I can't hit the guy at 11 bps I'm not going to hit him at 25. For higher play than rec-ball especially if the paint is free then I can easily understand the need for a ludicrously fast marker. When I am paying 50 bucks for a case of paint then 11 rounds in a second is fast enough. Going up against a Timmy I noticed the speed difference, but it wasn't debilitating.

I put about 1000 rounds through it that day (half day) and didn't skip a single shot/break one ball. Most electros now have break beam eyes, but with its anti chop bolt and slower firing speed I don't expect to chop too many balls. If it does chop (nothing's perfect) the marker does require an Allen wrench to strip the bolt which means no quick squeegeeing on the field.

Cleaning the gun/maintenance is very simple as it only has one moving part, just be sure to keep some Dow 33 lube on hand because the thing doesn't use regular oil.
Conclusion: I have been a rec-baller for years, tournament play would be fun but I just don't have the time or the desire. I so strongly recommend this marker to anyone looking for a great deal on a very fine marker. I was going to give it a 9, but the thing so far has been a perfect marker for my needs in a paintball gun. I'll change my review if/when I chop a ball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Plasma Friday, April 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, tippmanns, spyders.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Vibe
14" Linear Barrel
3000 psi tank and revo. force loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New longer barrel.
Strengths: Cheap
Durable
Tournament locked
Quiet
Weaknesses: May have to get hose repaired after one or two uses.
Review: THIS Is a great gun. I played a game with my friends in the woods and a pwnd them all. They also all had better more expensive guns. I think this gun exceeds its expectations and gives more bang for the buck. The stock barrel is a little short but can be easily replaced. I think if you are getting into speedball or need a good backup gun GET THIS ONE.
Conclusion: This is worth 200 dollars and it is perfect for almost everybody. GET IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

quick_2 Friday, May 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Mr1 (Upped) - Chops a butt-load more, heavier, louder, inconsistent velocity, looks worse
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Vibe
Firebolt
Hybrid Gen 7 Grips
Empire Fast Pack 5
3 Smoke Dye Lock Lids
JT Flex 8
16 oz Co2
20 oz Co2
24 oz Co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Electronic Hopper which can feed at least 10-15bps
Strengths: Light
Quiet
Electropneumatic
Soft On Paint
Compact
Cheap Price
Co2 Friendly
Firing Modes
Weaknesses: Short Barrel
Requires Good Batteries
Review: I have been using this marker for a while now and it has served me well. It has been through two games, and quite a few reballs.

Strengths:

Firing Modes: The new ones come with 3 shot burst (at 11bps), and full auto (11bps).. kinda handy for those who like to use them. I've never used them in a game so i couldn't really tell you how they work. I did test them with reballs and they'r cool.. although i would never use them.

Light: This marker weighs in at 1.11lbs. which is extremely light for the price tag. It's relatively light compared to most markers when hooked up with a halo and 20oz.

Quiet: Oh the quietness! This marker is a huge step up from my old Mr1. It's makes about half the noise! Although your not going to be unheard, it's quiet enough to not wake up the neighbours. Way better than anything in it's price range. A new barrel would also quiet it even more.

Electropneumatic: No more cocking! This gun is the lowest price electropneumatic marker on the market and although the price is low, smart parts didn't cut back on anything. This also helps the loudness because there are no more TINGs! comming from your bolt, striker, ect. And it dosn't shake! No recoil.. when i first shot it i was like did it shoot? because you barely feel the kick. And im sure there will be upgrades to improve even more!

Soft On Paint: I was kinda sceptical about people sticking a ball in the breach and blocking the end and then shooting it but i tried it myself. I shot a visible impact paintball over 50 times without it breaking! I even stuck my finger in to block it and it's just fine. I couldn't believe it.. so even though your loader might not keep up you still wont chop paint. Actually i put a vl200 on and set it to full auto and shot for about 2 seconds... no breaks! although it did skip when the bolt bounced off the balls.

Compact: If you play snake or front, good gun for you. And when you try to pack it in your bag it will fit. My mr1 wouldn't fit in a schoolbag and this one fits in the laptop compartment easily.

Cheap Price: Dont let it mislead you... even though it's about the same as a blowback it performs WAY better.

Co2 Friendly: I live about 100km from the nearest HPA fill station so it's not a big option for me. I run co2 straight without an Anti-siphon tube installed and it never freezes up on me ever. Although the regulator does get cold, the gun still keeps going.


Weaknesses:

Short Barrel: Some people like the look of an UBER long barrel calling themselves "Snipers"... well sorry but it's 10"... . Not a hard upgrade though. I would reccomend upgrading to a freak jr. because it's not too expensive but yet gives you inserts to help accuracy and efficiency.
Conclusion: If your low on a budget like me, out of HPA filling range, a newb, or just want a cheap, good gun that can do most high-end things... this is the gun for you.

I give it a 10 even though it is capped at 11bps and dosn't have too many accessories right now, it's still worth a 10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 24th, 2008 at 3:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CKvBP Sunday, January 13th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion XT
Spyder MR2
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Halo Loader
HP Air/Anti-syphon CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
HP Air (see review)
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Sturdy
Simple to Clean
Price
ease of operation
Weaknesses: lack of eyes
lack of firing modes
very poor CO2 operation especially in cold
Review: Overall this is a very good marker for first time users or even as a side marker. Its easy to setup, shoot, and clean. Its also very accurate compared to other markers in its price range, and not severally lacking when compared to much higher end markers either.

My biggest fault is the markers claim to operate well on CO2. I had zero luck operating it with a smart parts anti-siphon CO2 bottle, or even a regular CO2 bottle on a remote, or directly connected. The gun would always freeze up after a few shots, and would occasional vent CO2 out of the bottom of the regulator. Switching to HP air immediately fixed this problem. Other issues seen are rare chopping of paintballs, so the light weight lo pressure bolt anti-chop system isn't perfect but its not bad either.

The marker shoots very strait, and the barrel clears any broken balls in a few shots. I see no need for any major upgrades, if you truly want better performance than this just buy a better marker. When compared to a stock Ion XT I saw very little difference in range or firing pattern.

Construction is mainly metal, durable plastic, and rubber. The marker seems very durable, and just fine for woodsball. Minor complains are a lose battery compartment and rotating rubber fore-grip. One other minor complains is inconsistent use of metric and imperial hex bolts. This can be fairly annoying when trying to field the right tools to maintain the marker.

A gravity feed hopper can be used but a force feed one is highly recommended. The marker is more than capable of firing faster than a gravity feed hopper feeds. The feed neck requires imperial hex wrenches to adjust.

Just a quick note on setup. The marker has two main settings. One to operate on CO2 and one to operate on HP air. The default is CO2. So if you go HP air adjust it in accordance with the manual. However I saw no real problems running HP air on the CO2 setting.
Conclusion: Overall a very nice marker for the price with excellent accuracy. Just be very wary of the claims of operating on CO2, I had zero luck getting it to operate even with anti-siphon CO2. I'm taking a few points off a perfect score for failure to operate with CO2 and minor construction quibbles.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, January 14th, 2008 at 12:20 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

nick947 Wednesday, June 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
- tippmann 98 custom
- spyder e99 avant
- smart parts ion
Marker Setup: Angel "tHE GAt"
DYE Ultralite 16" Barrel
Pure Energy 68/4500 Carbon Tank LP kit installed
Empire Bottle Glove
Empire Reloader B Black
Recommended
Upgrades:
- ION 45 Grips
- ION Firebolt
- Longer barrel
Strengths: - Light, sturdy, and accurate
- Easy to maintain and use
- Compatible w/ CO2 + HPA
- Very cheap


Weaknesses: - None for a gun this price
Review: Well, I just got this gun this week and have been able to test it the best I can. Upon first screwing in the CO2 tank gas would spray out of the release hole on the bottom of the ASA. I called Smart Parts and it wasn't much help, so I called the place I got it from and the guy was great. He asked if the CO2 release pin on the tank was flush or slightly above the end of the nozzle; it was. All three of my tanks were! It just wasn't a problem with my other gun. So he said place a standard CO2 tank o-ring inside the actual port on the gun, because that will provide a perfect seal. Sure enough, it did the trick. After that was over I began firing. All I can say is for a gun this cheap there is no beating it. I fired hopper after hopper with no breaks; at full auto with a grav fed! The firing was quiet, crisp, consistent, accurate, with no ball breaks. And that's with cheap paint.

The gun itself is extremely light, which I love and others may hate. It does not feel flimsy however and the weight and feel is perfect in my opinion. The controls couldn't be easier to operate, one button does everything. The newer versions come with everything you need, including tools. The one thing it did not come with was a 9v battery, which it used to. Maintenance couldn't be easier. Just one large allen wrench (which is included) and you're in. There are only 3 removable internals and only one major moving part, which makes it extremely simple and easy to maintain, which is a must for the beginner.
Conclusion: I personally love this gun. If you are just getting into paintball or are looking for a great gun to play around with, then look no further. This gun is the best gun under $200 guaranteed. The quality is superb and the performance is like no-other gun in this price range. It fires at a decent clip, 11 balls per second, and DOES NOT CHOP. Full-auto with a gravity fed hopper and cheap paint, still no chops. All I can say is if you're in the market for a sub-$200 gun, then get this one, you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 9th, 2008 at 9:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

musicmixer10 Wednesday, June 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icon X, Tippmann 98C, PMR
Marker Setup: 14" barrel, Tippmann Triumph AL200 Hopper, 20 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" or 16" barrel
Strengths: Quiet, never chops, fast bps, good for speedball, light
Weaknesses: Only an 10" stock barrel
Review: I'm more of a beginner for speedball, but this gun was the best one I used. At a fast rate of 11 bps, with the function of semi auto, three shot burst, and full auto, this gun is amasing. This gun can run on CO2, which is great. This was one of the best guns that I used. The three burst fire is one of my favorites. It works well in speedball for conserving ammo. I've also learned not too long ago that you can walk the trigger faster than 11 bps if you are that fast. This gun also has a far range with a stock barrel of 10". This gun is easy to switch to 3 shot burst or full auto.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to those who are semi pros in speedball. it never chops and has a fast rate of fire.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 18th, 2008 at 3:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Codysutton801 Tuesday, February 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom ACT
Tippmann Alpha Black
Spyder Pilot ACS
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT
Tippmann 98 Custom CAR 3 Postion Stock
Tippmann 98 Custom Platnium Series Flatline Barrel.
48CU/3000PSI Pure Energy HPA Tank

Smart Parts Vibe
14' Linear Smart Parts Barrel
Viewloader Revolution
48CU/3000 PSI Pure Energy Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Accuracy
Durability
Easy to Clean
Efficient
HighROF
Use Either CO2 or HPA
Anti-Chop
FireModes
Weaknesses: Requires an Electric Hopper
ROF
Fire Modes.
Review: I picked up the Smart Parts Vibe 6 monthes ago after playing at an indoor paintball facility and being completely outmatched in terms of speed and maneuverability. My Tippmann was to big and cumbersome to play tight. I was never keen on the idea of and eletronic gun I just felt like they would be to fragile and costly until I noticed the Vibe at my local shop. I picked it up for 135$ and couldn't be happier with my purchase.

The Vibe comes with a 10 inch barrel with decent porting, an allen key set and a barrel sock. The manual is easy to understand and covers everything you can do with your vibe on how to change from Co2 dwell to HPA and locking the gun in tournament mode.

Accuracy
When I first got the gun I noticed it was a vertical feedneck and instantly thought I would have to "Spray and pray" to get any sort of accuracy out of it. I was completely wrong where ever you point this and think your going to hit within 70 feet you will. It has great accuracy over the normal 150 feet that a paintball gun can shoot. But within that 70 foot radius I could zero in my shots within my 3rd of 4th trigger pull and when the gun shoots 11 bps thats pretty darn fast.

Durability
The Marker is made out of the same material used to make police issue handgun. Considering this material can withstand small explosion within itselfs for a bullet I don't see it breaking from 850psi. I have slide banged it for rocks and tree's and there is no mark on the gun. The barrel has a few scratches and nicked paint but the Vibe itself after wiping it down looks almost brand new.

Easy to Clean
The Vibe has a "Bolt Out the Back system" which allows you to remove everything you will need to clean with a few turns of an allen wrench. There is only 2 peices to the bolt and 4 O-rings in total. You just put some Sleek on the O-rings and slide the Bolt back in, I haven't had to change or replace any O-Rings after over 10 000 paintballs have been shot through the gun.

Efficient
Whether using Co2 or HPA this gun only use's 200 psi of operating pressure to fire the paintball. Before this review I tested the Vibe on my 20 oz co2 tank and my 48Cu/3000 Psi Tank and counted the number of times the marker would fire before the bolt would stop moving.
1135 Shots with CO2
657 With HPA
My Vibe was shooting 260ish when I did this test. You might get better or worse numbers but this was what I got by pulling the trigger roughly 3 times a second until the bolt would not move.

High Rate of Fire
This is a double edge sword and I will explain, being a person who only played with kids with other Semi- Auto markers this gun will seem like a Uzi. You can shoot lines of paint and send kids diving for cover. But for the tournament or Speedball player in mind only firing 11 balls a second will seem like a crutch, when I play speedball I never have a problem I feel like this is more then enough but this is personal preference.

CO2 or HPA
The Vibe has a Max-Flo Regulator that allows it to use Co2 even while firing in full auto. The Regualator will vent off any dangerous level co2 by releasing it through the bottum of the Regulator so if you hear a hissing noise while using CO2 do not be alarmed this is just the gun doing its job. You can turn the gun off and by holding down the power button as you connect the battery will toggle the dwell for CO2 or HPA if you do not change it you will get horrible Efficiency I left my Vibe in CO2 mode and fired my brothers HPA tank which was at 2500PSI (roughly same as mine) and only managed 428 shots before the bolt would not move.

Anti-Chop
The Vibe does not have Anti-Chop persay but a Low Force bolt which allows paint that hasn't fully dropped into the gun from the hopper to bounce and not break. Even using a gravity hopper I was able to fire all 200 paintballs with no breaks. After a full day of paintball and 4000 balls shot I had no breaks and in total have only broken 8 paintballs out of roughly 10 000 thats roughly only a 0.08% chop rate.

Fire Modes
This is another double edged sword. Woodsball players and recball players with have no problem with the 3 Shot and full auto fire modes. A speedball player will want the tournament modes and the Vibe just doesn't support them.

Needs Higher End Hopper
For the budget paintballer the gun is a steal at the $150 price level but unless most blowbacks which either come with a hopper or only have to pay $5 for one the Vibe needs something more powerful. I was able to pick up a Viewloader Revolution off a friend for $20 but for someone else they might have to spend almost 50$ to get the most out of there gun. The good news is almost any low end Electronic Hopper will allow you to shoot streams of paint.
Conclusion: My thoughts on the Vibe is it is an excellent beginner gun. If your just starting the sport and need something dependable get the Vibe not only does it do everything mentioned above but it comes with a 1 year warranty unlike the Cheap blowbacks at Walmart or Canadain Tire.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 18th, 2009 at 9:28 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media