paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1

Smart Parts SP-1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts SP-1

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts SP-1
[ View Photos (30) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $175

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A fresh take on tactical. With its military styling and ultra rugged lightweight construction, the SP-1 is built for speed and made to last.

Features:

Mil-spec accessory rails at every angle and integrated mount points for a stock, the SP-1 is ready for a limitless variety of accessories.
Equipped with an integrated tactical flashlight mount right below the barrel, which accepts inexpensive focused beam flashlights at a fraction of the cost of expensive tactical flashlights.
Low pressure electropneumatic operation replaces the outdated spring and hammer designs that power competing tactical markers, and allows the SP-1 to deliver a fast , accurate and quiet hailstorm of paint.
Weight (marker only): 2 lbs. 6 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 12.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Low force bolt
Trigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, 3 round burst, full auto
Max Rate of fire: 11bps
Field legal mode lock
Runs on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA included
One piece 10 inch barrel
Feedneck: Vertical clamping
Glass fiber reinforced nylon grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts SP-1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
war gex Friday, September 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
*Tippmenn A-5 with Flatline
Marker Setup: *Smart Parts SP-1
*Tippmenn Trimph SSL-200 Electronic Loader
*Co2
*Air
Recommended
Upgrades:
*A Stock would be nice
*Double trigger
*Remote Line

Over All you dont need to do any thing to this gun
Strengths: *Light
*Accurate
*No chop
*Quiet
*Performs fine on both Air/Co2
Weaknesses: *Feed neck position
*Red Light
*Battery Rattle
Review: Pros:
*Light
*Smooth
*Accurate with Stock barrel
*No chop
*Quiet
*Easy to mod, Take care of, and maintain
*Price 150$ I'm poor
*Performs fine on both Air/Co2
*When useing Co2 it dose not jump up and down (I have had my tank covered in ice and still shoot fine)
*Works submerged under water (so it wont brake if it rains)

Cons
*Feed neck position
*Red Light from button to change settings and turn on gun
*Battery Rattle (you can just rap the sides nothing you cant fix for under a 1$)

I love this gun I have used it for woodsball and speedball and I am still amazed
Conclusion: Cheap for whos wallet impared, I have not had one issue with my gun, I love useing it, and I dont brake paint. I could go on but all I have to say is -(BUY IT)- have fun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brian dyas Thursday, December 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tipmann 98c,a5,x7,jcs launcher,spyder pilot all fall short in comparison
Marker Setup: i only insist on the sp-1 now. 98c stock adaptor, carr stock, clamping feed neck, pinokio loader, virtue board, tech t upgrade bolt, c-series stiffi barrel with apex adaptor,apex head, custom paint job
Recommended
Upgrades:
techt bolt, virtue board
Strengths: Great price low pressure accurate!!!
Weaknesses: Eats alot of batteries with the stock board, but not with the virtue board
Review: i was having alot of trouble with my many tippmanns,and was brlieveing i was victim of a gypsy curse when i said to myself, its time to try somethingnew. i went to my local p b retailer intending to buy another spyder, but the dealer showed me the sp-1.i was very skeptical, knowing how idiosyncratic the ions can be but he let me take it out to the speedball court and give it a try.the first thing i noticed was how comfortable this marker is compared to my enormous x7.he showed me the different firing modes and i smirked while putting it on auto thinking, here goes theaccuracy. but holy moly,it stayed right on target!! he took an air tank off of a 98c that cycled down, put it on the little sp-1, and continued to shoot. never saw anything like that before!!!so needless to say i didnt walk out of there with a spyder, i bought the little sp-1.i have had no problems with it since i took it out of the box, i cant say that for my tippmannsi have since put a clamping feedneck on it, a halo loader(kinda heavy for it) a virtue board, and a tech t bolt upgrade in it,a tippmann stock, ar15 swat scope mount, and of course a red dot scope on it. im firing 20 bps and its a holy terror now. i spent over 1000 on my x-7, and it still doesnt even compare to the stock version of this marker! oh,did i mention that i am so HAPPY with this marker that i bought two more? UPDATE- I bought a Trinity fake supressor barrel for my sp-1 ( I even named it Maybeline!). This barrel does not have the best range, but it is extremely QUIET on the marker!! I usually will play a stealth game, but with this I can unload and people still can't tell where the sound is coming from!!!! One of my friends is upset that his automag longbow is no longer the quietest gun on the field!!!!
UPDATE: I have added a Pinokio loader since initially writing this review, which works SO much better with my high rate of fire due to capacity. Also, in front of the regulator, I have added a Metadyne Havoc launcher. While these two items make the sp-1 heavy, there's still nothing quite like my dreaded "Maybelline" at my local field. The havoc creates alot of confusion when combined with the sp-1, as the silenced barrel of the sp-1, and the loud boom of the havoc screw with those who hunt by using sound signatures. I guess my overall point is that the sp-1 is such a small gun for woodsball, that you can add onto it and it is still not cumbersome. It is only two inches longer with the launcher, so squeezing around corners is still a snap.
Conclusion: You are not going to find a better marker for this price! Add another 200 bucks and you have a high end tourney gun as well.It is quiet, accurate, and perfect for those tight places commonly found on the woodsball field. I doubt that you will find better even in a higher price bracket.buy this gun and you will not be disappointed!!! Add a better barrel, and a blackheart/virtue board, and get ready to sow some chaos!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 22nd, 2010 at 7:02 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

moodyman117 Saturday, October 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SmartParts Ion-Similar Performance
Invert Mini- Aside from the Infrared Eye system, the only difference is that the SP-1 seemed more accurate and smooth.
Tippman A-5 with E-Trigger-In comparison, very heavy, very loud, VERY clunky performance, less accurate, more complicated and less reliable.

Marker Setup: SmartParts SP-1 w/ Select Fire and Flow Max R Vertical Regulator
SmartParts 16in Tactical Barrel
Invert Reloader II sound activated Hopper
Pure Energy 50ci/3000psi HPA tank
32 Degrees coiled remote
CAR-M4 Stock for Tippman 98c with adapter plate
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you are into scenario/woodsball, I recomend getting a BT Apex barrel
MUCH better performance on HPA
Select Fire trigger-Free from smartparts and generally included in new markers
Really needs a good hopper- a $3 one wont cut it if you plan on firing more than 2 rounds before shaking it.
Strengths: Light
Durable
Fast
Ergonomic
Easy Maintenance
Accurate
Very Smooth
Low-Force Bolt
Relatively Cheep
Air
Weaknesses: Screw-in Feedneck
Stock Barrel
Vertical Feedneck

Review: Ok, time to explain the strengths/weaknesses, plus add a few more:
-Pros
Light- Holy Cow this thing is like a feather! You could defiantly use this for speedball, and its easy to lug around for scenarios

Durable- The SP-1 is made out of high impact plastic polymers, the same used in Glock handguns. This means that you can drop it, throw it, knock it on a tree, step on it etc, and it just keeps firing. Rain isn't an issue, and with the added plus of being able to support it on a wooden bunker without worrying about messing it up. Mine doesn't have a single scratch on it.

Fast- Although the advertised speed is 11bps, i personally think it is closer to 13. This may not be accurate, but it is pretty frickin fast man.

Ergonomic- This gun feels like it was molded to fit your hands. The regulator/forgrip is a perfect fit, and the rubber hand grip clings to your hands. The trigger pull is very crisp, as it has a magnet inside it, so the trigger basically has just two positions, on and off. Great feel. Also, the trigger is very adjustable to your preferences.

Easy Maintenance- Disassembly is very quick, just two screws and the bolt. The body is one piece, so you don't have to have a work bench to do field work.; you can grease/clean it on a paper towel. Takes maybe 5 min to clean.

Accurate- Well, as accurate as a paintball gun gets. It fires consistently, and there is absolutely no recoil, so all your rounds go to the same spot without you fighting the normal rise of the gun.

Very Smooth- As I said before, there is no recoil to speak of, as there are no springs or blowback parts. The only moving part of the gun is the bolt, and that is aircraft grade aluminum and isn't even noticeable. The gun fires as soon as you tap the trigger, and there is very little gas discharged form the barrel, and if you are using HPA, there is no white discharge of gas at all. Also, this marker is extremely quite. These two factors, the lack of discharge and the low noise level, make this unbeatable for scenario games.

Low Force Bolt- The low force bolt system is excellent; I have never chopped a single paintball. This is saying something as I have gone to scenarios and sent over 6000 rounds through the barrel. In the life of the gun, I have fired upwards of 25,000-30,000 rounds, and every one made it out the barrel in one piece.

Relatively Cheep- I got a package and spent around $330 on this gun. I have spent more on upgrades. However you can find them for much cheaper. I personally Believe that this is much better than anything on the market for a similar price. You would find it difficult to find a better gun for under $500. I have used both tournament and milsim guns such as the Tippman X-7 and the Invert Mini, and i will always go back to this one.
As an added bonus, you get a gun that is excellent for both woods and speedball. You might get some odd looks if you had it in a 3 or 5 man series, but it can easily compete with speedball markers. Plus it has a tournament semi-auto lock for real competitions.

Air- It is compatible with both HPA and CO2 without any modifications. Use CO2 for starting out or long scenarios. USe HPA for consistent accuracy and velocity. The included MaxFlo regulator is excellant. It protects the gun from liquid CO2, and it gives a very high number of shots per fill, HPA or CO2.

And now the negatives:
Feedneck Feedneck Feedneck!- The included feedneck is a screw on. This takes time and the screws can come out and be lost. Also, the feedneck is vertical, so sighting or mounting a sight (not at all necisary, but cool for milsim) is difficult. On the plus side, you dont have to worry about your hopper sticking far out and being shot.

Stock Barrel- the included 8in, although it looks cool, is not good for long range engagements. The 16in Tac Barrel is much better.

This may be just my fault, but i have had a problem with the screws rusting slightly. This is not really bad at all, as they are still completely intact, but it just looks annoying.

Getting really picky, the pica-tinny rails are a pain to clean.

The gun doesn't have a strong blowback, so grav feed hoppers don't work AT ALL








Conclusion: I STRONGLY recommend this marker, not just to people starting out, but to anyone. It is a great gun, with strong sturdy engineering and great looks as well. I never play a game without someone commenting on how cool, or scary, my gun looks. It is enjoyed by players of many skill levels. The local paintball dealer ( who i am not allowed to mention) owns and uses one, and he is a retired pro paintballer. All the complaints i listed are really nitpicking, and are just minor inconveniences. Exceptional Marker
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MFCT Wednesday, July 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
First electric marker. Past experiences have been with blow backs...A5, 98's, spyders mechanicals, etc
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1, BSA red dot, ION barrel, Trinity Wire stock, Tippmann Triumph SSL-200.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade the hopper, barrel and a stock if you need it. Past that...nothing really special.
Strengths: Easy to clean and use.
Weaknesses: Battery access and firing mode select.
Review: My first electric gun. I was looking for something small, quiet, light, and fast. I had modified my A5 to a monster that was cumbersome, loud and heavy. It looked great, but during those game variations where I needed to be light on my feet, I was feeling the agony of "mil-sim". I didn't want a ray gun, however...I still wanted something that had tactical applications and looked somewhat like an actual milsim gun. This suit the need just fine.

It cleans easily, durable as hell, easy access to the bolt and just dependable. I always take my battery out after gameday teardown/clean up, so I don't know what the drain is like. I would have prefered an easier battery compartment. I went as far as to upgrade the bolts in the handle to remove them easier with an allen wrench (the oem ones were super tiny). That helps, but I'd like a compartment that perhaps had a clip to open, push pins...or a twist knob. Something that didn't require me to hunt down an allen wrench to remove it.

Also, the firing modes. I worry sometimes the flashing light would give me away, but I have yet to encounter anyone saying they see it. However, changing modes requires me to to look down at the marker to ensure I pushed the button correctly. Perhaps a MP5 style firing mode selector. Or at the very least, something with a tactile feel...a click to let you know you pushed the button. Also, the marker doesn't have a safety...I have to turn the unit off to ensure no shots fired. Again, looking down at the marker to ensure the light is off.

Past that, it has been very dependable, damn near self regulating, easy to clean and take care of, looks great and I'm very happy with it.
Conclusion: $150 electric milsim marker? Oh hell yes. No reason not to.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballghost9 Sunday, February 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
woods ball guns : tippmann 98 and A-5
electronic guns: Spyder vs 1
Marker Setup: Sp1
custom handguard (built by me)
folding stock.
modified trigger (shoots burst, auto and semi) not an aftermarket upgrade
Red dot sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really.
Strengths: light strike bolt
can be submerged in water.
long battery life
short
Nice trigger pull
Weaknesses: Center feed neck
Review: not much i'm goign to write here...
But i used this and shot 200 balls pulling the trigger as fast as possible and the gun did not freeze or start shooting ice. (like 98 and my a5 did) You can program it to shoot for HPA or co2 i dont know what is for what but if you hold the power bouton while plugging in the battery it changes it to hpa (not to sure on that)
It has not chopped a ball yet ,for me (except for a barrel break) and i ahve put atleast 6000 rounds of paint though it with a mechanical hopper.
thats it i guess..
it is very efficient on co2 i havent tested how many shots you can get out of it exactly but i can say it uses way less air then the 98 or a-5 (comparing them cause they are both milsim markers)
Its nice and short 4 inches of your barrel is hidden in the body
The marker has no instructions on the full break down of the gun i had to figure out how to take it apart myself. It has a center feed neck int he way of rails... why? i dont know considering sp already made a milsim marker.
Rails cant be removed if damaged. and its pretty heavy about the same weight of an a5.
Conclusion: For the price of the gun it is really worth buying. You may find yourself making it your primary marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Steel Jester Thursday, December 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
The only other marker I have used on a long term basis is a Tippmann 98 w/cyclone. The only thing the Tippmann has on this gun is they cyclone feed.
Marker Setup: Sp-1stock
Crossfire 68/4500 w/remote.
Ricochet AK hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
This is totally up to you. The marker shoots great out of the box so mod it how you want it.
Strengths: Solid
Comfortable
Quiet
Sturdy
Weaknesses: A bit heavy, and is picky when not using anti-siphon co2
Review: This marker is a great into level marker, and with all the future upgrades it should be a fierce marker for anyone to get.

The trigger is a single-trigger (which I prefer), and it is the most comfortable trigger pull of any gun I have ever shot. All the guys on my team agree that the trigger is amazing. The new style regulator handles CO2 well (although I recommend anti-siphon or use a remote line).

I plan on adding a stock and new barrel somewhere down the line but other than that this baby is staying stock.

All in all this marker is probably the best value on the market.
Conclusion: Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DeFinate Sunday, May 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann X7 - primary, the rest i've just tried out on many occasions
Tippmann 98
U.S ARMY/Tippmann Alpha Black
Smart Parts Ion
AutoCocker


Marker Setup: Tippmann X7-basic:
12" Lapco 'apex ready' barrel
Apex (tip)
Tacamo 416 shroud
all the TECH T upgrades (for slightly more air efficiency and for zero chopping problems)
Liberty Car-stock
UTG foldable grip handle
UTG rear sight
BSA 40mm Red Dot

Sp-1 (first edition, without select fire upgrade-YET*)
J&J 14" ceramic barrel
Double Trigger





Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel- the stock barrel is fairly good on its own surprisingly.. but J&J barrels are relatively cheaper and gives great results.
Strengths: Inexpensive
Light weight
Easy to maintain
Light Trigger

Weaknesses: -Flashlight mounting
-Rails on the markert.
-screws on the rails
-feed neck placement
Review: UPDATE- 07/30/08

Apparently, the price has gone up for the marker, the original price was $149.99, which was a great price for this marker.. HOWEVER, it is now being sold @ $174.99-179.99

Smart Parts reasoning is due to the cost of shipping and materials...

This slightly changes my review for the marker.

The one of the main interest and draw to the marker was the fact that it was a relatively inexpensive marker for what you are getting, compared to the others available.

I still stand by my review in most parts however, for the new price 179.99, you are pretty much getting closer to other markers which are just as great, if not better for the extra money. granted 25 dollar increase is not much, but in terms of tax, and marker worth... other marker alternatives seem a little more beneficial. - end update.




- I mostly play milsim and at one point was looking for an inexpensive alternative milsim marker. I checked out the Sp1 and after awhile of doing some research on it, i picked it up. I've had the Sp1 for some time now, and it has been a great back up marker for me. I usually run with a rifled Tippmann X7 and realized that my local fields are smaller than i can move around with, holding a X7. The Sp1 is perfect for those tight spots and CQBs you may encounter. It is a light marker, and fairly durable to sustain typical in game damage any marker occurs. The Rate of fire is only decent, the stock sp1 (no select fire) caps it at 11bps but the trigger pull is very light so rapid fire is only a matter of how fast your trigger finger is. It's also decent on air efficiency whether be Co2 or HPA.. it operates on low pressure.

The gripes i have with the marker is the fact that the feed neck for a hopper is right in the middle of your line of sight. If you feel like having a red dot/ scope.. you pretty much forced to get an offset rail. The rails itself on the marker is larger than most standard rails out there. So fitting could be a problem if your rail or scope/red dot does not have the proper screw length to clamp on the marker. Another problem, that is if you don't mind it.. is that the battery inside the handle.. rattles and shakes inside.

Since its a mil-sim marker, the marker itself is not very customizable. It looks like a pistol, something like the pistol from the movie ROBOCOP. It doesn't look bad, least thats open for discussion. You can't make it look like anything else, and accessories are few and far in between for the time being that is.

Its a great back up, i wont front. For 149.99 you get a solid marker. To be honest, 149.99 is the perfect price for what you get. Anything higher well.. thats definitely debatable.

8.5/10

Quick summary:

IS IT WORTH IT? for 149.99 it is.
WILL IT BREAK EASILY? not really, its pretty sturdy.. composite material, and less moving parts. Just be careful about removing those screws.. they tend to grind out its screw hole and become very loose.
SHOOTS OKAY? pretty much, stock rate of fire of 11bps w/ a very light trigger pull
CAN I ADD PERFORMANCE PARTS? well, not so sure.. it shoots great as it is stock
CUSTOMIZABLE? Nope.. it's not like the X7, A5.. so no G36c, M16 etc type sp1's unless you have a great imagination, talent and time to make one
WHATS AVAILABLE THEN? few Tippmann Stocks work, only with that adapter plate, a double trigger, and thats about it really... gotta wait for the rest of the stuff.
Conclusion: Its a great back up, i wont front. For 149.99 you get a solid marker. To be honest, 149.99 is the perfect price for what you get. Anything higher well.. thats definitely debatable.

Smart Parts actually did something good with this Sp-1 Marker. Granted it's an Ion in a milsim body.. but its only 149.99. All that matters for this type of marker, and for its market is that as long as it shoots great, won't break down, easy to maintain, and with a fair retail price... then thats all that matters. Fortunate enough.. the Sp-1 is all that. A very good marker for what its worth.

8.5/10
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 30th, 2008 at 5:53 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball_adict Saturday, November 17th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
not many
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel for better accuracy
Strengths: -strong build, WILL NOT break down
-feeds 11bps
-good for indoors and outdors
Weaknesses: Heavy gun
Review: First off all, one of the best parts about this gun is that is has an amazing build(new technology) that works great with CO2, This is one of the best guns I used that uses CO2 so amazingly! The grip is really hard wich makes it great for accuracy compared to the vibe. With a god barrel accuracy is amazing, from 50 feet i could hit a soda can 9/10 times. Its all for an amazing price. It is an amazing gun.
Conclusion: I recomend this gun for everyone but tournament game.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Focus02 Friday, March 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TLR, MR1
AGD Automag
Tippman 98c, A5, X7
Marker Setup: 14" J&J ceramic, uag red-dot, richochet loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Slightly longer barrel looks better, but stock barrel is accurate.
Strengths: Shot to shot consistently
Very smooth, zero kick
Quiet
Light weight
Does not chop, ever.
Weaknesses: Battery from the factory is crap.
Preferred to have 45degree rails
Review: I feel this marker is even in the wrong section of this site, as it is not a blowback marker with e-frame, its is a full blown electropneumatic. Note the Vibe (speedball clone of SP-1) is listed in the 'high end electronic' marker, not 'low end'.

I bought one of the first SP-1 the week they were released. My very first impression worried me because I aired up the marker, and it wouldn't fire. The battery from the factory was no good, and when I replaced it.
Since this time I've put 8000+ rounds though the marker in varying conditions and have never once had any problems with the marker, and it never once has broken a ball in the breach..

I had a batch of paint that my spyder TLR with the ACS bolt was breaking about one in 20. I took the same loader and paint from the spyder and put it on the SP1, and ripped off 200 rounds as quick as possible and no problem. The electronic trigger on the SP-1 is far better than the mechanical of the spyder.

I use a 68/4500 hpa tank, without the wedge at the asa, and this makes the tank fall in just the right position as a stock.

When firing the marker is extremely smooth and consistent, which helps with accuracy, and allows very tight grouping of shots with no dropoff.

Maintenance is pretty easy with the bolt-out-back, as I find I spend more time cleaning rails than it takes to clean the internals.

Conclusion: I would highly recommend the SP-1 as it's one of the best mil-sim markers out there regardless of its ultra-low $150 price tag.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jps_cobra1 Tuesday, February 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hard to say.
Marker Setup: 1995 Spyder custom (back when I was airsmithing).
WGP trilogy tactical, JJ s2 10" barrel, 14" 32 degree whisper, CP Flame drop foward, Shocktech superfly bolt, Empire grips, Palmer reg (older), adjustable trigger, lighter back block, nexus valve and Palmer ram.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer barrel possible 12" to 14", and compressed air.
Strengths: Reliable marker, Comfortable grip and lightweight.
Weaknesses: The barrel, its accurate enough but not a tack driver.
Had problems with CO2.
Review: My overall opinion of this gun is good. I like the feel the looks and the wieght. The sound is a little loud, kinda reminds me of the old prolites. The marker was comfortable and handled well in the field, I had no problems moving around in the bunkers or around trees, vines and anything else out there. The rate of fire for me was to slow, this will not be a problem for the novice player, but for us with speed in mind and the trigger fingers to match will easily out perform this marker. A upgraded board would be needed for use in a tournament setting. This marker does not handle well of CO2, when the marker "freezes up" it will not even fire. This can be a problem if your being charged at the time it decides to do this. But for those who love CO2 it will do fine, I say this because we could not tell if the marker was on the CA seting or the CO2 setting (it helps when you test a marker if you have the instructions). We did not experience a chop in regular game play, so we made it chop a ball. We had ordered some spyder paint from www.paintball-online.com 2 bags had broken paint in them and had begun to swell (the company said they would send new paint asap, if they don't I will update this so ya'll know where not to shop). The paint was shooting just fine though, I was reloading and a couple broke in the hopper and gravity took it to the bolt. So we finally got the result we were seeking, its accuarcy suffered greatly. At 10 yards you would be lucky to hit an elephant let alone a person. But keep in mind we gave it "bad" paint and it didn't chop it, I broke it loading it. So this marker is of very good design and quallity in my book.
Conclusion: Good marker, good price, very reliable, go with CA over CO2 and buy one for a backup or scenrio marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media