paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1

Smart Parts SP-1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts SP-1

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts SP-1
[ View Photos (30) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $175

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A fresh take on tactical. With its military styling and ultra rugged lightweight construction, the SP-1 is built for speed and made to last.

Features:

Mil-spec accessory rails at every angle and integrated mount points for a stock, the SP-1 is ready for a limitless variety of accessories.
Equipped with an integrated tactical flashlight mount right below the barrel, which accepts inexpensive focused beam flashlights at a fraction of the cost of expensive tactical flashlights.
Low pressure electropneumatic operation replaces the outdated spring and hammer designs that power competing tactical markers, and allows the SP-1 to deliver a fast , accurate and quiet hailstorm of paint.
Weight (marker only): 2 lbs. 6 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 12.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Low force bolt
Trigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, 3 round burst, full auto
Max Rate of fire: 11bps
Field legal mode lock
Runs on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA included
One piece 10 inch barrel
Feedneck: Vertical clamping
Glass fiber reinforced nylon grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts SP-1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
XSiv Force Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
NO MIL-Sims
Marker Setup: TL-R Sniper
16" & 12" barrels
20 oz. CO2
Richocet Apachce LED

Smart Parts SP1
C.A.R. Stock
Trinity 45* rail
Red Dot Sight
BSA Laser
Richocet Apache LED
Remote line
Recommended
Upgrades:
Non other then things for looks
Strengths: Good weight, 11 bps capped board, stock barrel is silent
Weaknesses: 11 Bps Stock Board
Review: Very nice gun for 150 would love to get another just so i can have a CQB and a "sniper". Very nice for both tourney and scenario/ woodsball games. Can share some parts with ion....but not many. Vibe upgrades arent very numerous so neither is the sp1. As of 1/21/09 Double finger trigger, Trinity FeedNeck (WHAT A SHOCK), Virtue/ black heart boards, Stock adapter, Trintiy SP1 Stock
Conclusion: Nice for 150........best 150 spent
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evilaqualad123 Friday, January 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts ion, ion xe, vibe, tippmann 98 custom, tippman a5, tippman alpha black etc.
Marker Setup: trinity sp1 tactical barrel with aim point 14"
pinnokio hopper
co2 20 oz/ 90/4500 hpa tank
virtue sp1 board
trinity sp1 car stock
1x30 red dot sight
sp1 T-lock
Recommended
Upgrades:
better board
trinity barrels (sp1)
sp1 T-lock feed neck
Strengths: Very consistent
Durable
Good looking
Weaknesses: Slow shooting
Feedneck
Review: Having previously used only tippmann woods markers the sp1 was quite a change of perspective to me. Tippmann markers have the classic clangy bolt technology to them while the sp1 had the same as the vibe low force bolt. The gun is very quiet and also utalizes even more of the co2/ hpa in your tanks so you get even more shots than you did with the tippmans. Also when liquid co2 got into tippman makers the gun was fried. Slowed down and could no longer shoot straight. while the sp1 comes with a max-flo vertical regulator so if liquid co2 got into your gun the regulator would vent the liquid off the bottom.
The sp1 is not perfect however. As in most guns, stock items usually are not that great and the same goes for the sp1. The board is slow, only shoots 11 bps. While 11 bps is almost legal on full-auto the gun can still become better if you install better boards like the virtue sp1 board or the blackheart. I also hated the stock feedneck but as I said before most things are bad stock. I highly recommend using any gear for the sp1 that trinity paintball has like I am. The T-lock is a good feedneck to replace the stock one. The stock feedneck requires an allen wrench in order to tighten/ loosen it so it is difficult to put it back on if it falls off.
Conclusion: The sp1 is probably one of the best woods markers I have ever used and eventually plan on getting an sp8 to get a better gun. If you want to get into woods ball buy the sp1. It's cheap and simple to clean and so on.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

marvelboy_04 Sunday, January 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Tippmann 98c (garbage, but probably just because it was used so much.)
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1
14 inch J&J ceramic barrel
68/4500 HPA tank
Vlocity jr.
trinity sp-1 clamping feedneck (ordered)
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA tank
Electric Hopper
Barrel
Clamping feedneck (i had to loosen the stock feedneck alot to fit the vlo jr. into it.)
Strengths: Looks!
Accurate
Decently Fast
Relatively Quiet
Price
Low Force Bolt

Weaknesses: Feedneck
somewhat the stock barrel
power button location
Review: So, ive played a few times in the last few years with crappy rentals, and finally really got bit by the paintball bug and opened another expensive pandoras box. i wanted a good woodsballish marker, and my friend has one of these and he, along with reviews on this site and elsewhere convinced me to go with it. the price is very justifiable (even with the 25$ increase) when you consider how in my opinion it is better than similiarly priced woodball oriented markers. (*cough*tippmann*cough)

so ive played with it for about a month now, and other than me accidentally stripping my asa screw, its been great. i did stick some cotten into the battery assembly though, so it wouldnt rattle. also, i just ordered a clamping feedneck, because this gun needs it for my vlocity jr. otherwise id be constantly unscrewing and rescrewing the feedneck. also, a word of warning, this gun does not like gravity hoppers, since because it has so little kick, it doesnt want to feed very well with gravity hoppers. my first couple of times i played with gravity, and it was so annoying having to constantly shake my gun to get it to feed, but then i bought a used vlo jr., and it fired pretty amazing, accurate streams of paint (with new barrel, mind you)

overall, i highly recommend this to woodsball players. if youre going speedball, i wouldnt. (maybe check out proto slgs, ions, and used invert minis)
Conclusion: overall, i highly recommend this to woodsball players. if youre going speedball, i wouldnt. (maybe check out proto slgs, ions, and used invert minis)

I give this marker a 9, since it still is a cheap gun, but is a great value.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xeenan Wednesday, December 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98c, Autococker Trilogy
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1, Empire II reloader , 14'' Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Strengths: Easy Cleaning and maintenance
Weaknesses: None
Review: All together its a great gun, has lots pf picatinny rails for accessories like tac-lights and lasers. Also love the operating pressure of only 180psi. You can get about 1400 shots out of a single 20oz C02 tank. There not many mods out for it yet but definitely have the potential for some good ones.
Conclusion: Great gun for the money, durable, easy cleaning.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 31st, 2008 at 7:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

taylorcraft07 Tuesday, June 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Smart Parts Linear Barrel
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Sp-1
CMI 14" Truflight Barrel
Viewloader Evlution III Hopper
48/4500 HPA DXS Stubby Tank (w/NXE cover)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I haven't really shot it with the stock barrel but a barrel upgrade is almost a must on any marker. I'd recommend either a CMI truflight or J&J ceramic, RPS stinger has been working well for both for me. An electronic hopper that can do 12 bps+ is also a good bet. Maybe the double trigger if you like the feel better.
Strengths: Price
Noise
Accuracy
Durrability
Cleaning
Weaknesses: Upgrades
Center mounted hopper
Bad Packaging *see review for more details
Review: FIrst of all I got my current set up for an unbelievable price. The marker, hopper, and barrel were all obtained from hustle paintball for $210. I e-mailed them for a price and within a day they cam back t me, needless to say I jumped on it. Now I've only shot about 400-500 rounds through the marker so far but thats because I was missing 2 screws to hold the grip casing closed. NOTE here's the weekness were there was bad packaging. I searched the entire area were I opened up the packaging and couldn't find any. After some investigating I discovered the likely fell out of the bag they came in at the factory (it had ripped on the bottom). Now props to smart parts, when I contacted them about this. They shipped me two replacement screws the next day. I emailed them after their business hours, and when they replied ( I compared there business hours to when I received their email) they had only been open 9 minutes. So far though no breaks, but thats only on semi-auto. No leaks, the guns been working flawlessly. I'll update this when I get the screws and really let it rip.

EDIT: Screws arrived quickly, 2 days, great service no charge. Heres the data I've got for you now:

On 3000psi fills I've been getting 550-600 shots.
No ball breaks for 3000 rounds of paint shot off. That includes extensive shooting on 3-round burst and full auto modes.
Tight groupings at close ranges, 50-60 ft, 2-5 inches in 10 chot groups, marginal groupings at 100+ feet,8-10 in.
Decent noise level, quieter than my A-5.
No real recoil
Fairly lightweight setup.







Conclusion: For a decent entry marker, upgrade marker, or backup marker its hard to beat the SP-1. Put a decent barrel and a mid level hopper on this and you've got yourself a great setup. Plus with the smart parts marker you get exception customer support. I've made this my main marker and am likely going to sell my A-5 because there's no real reason to have a backup gun when your main one works so great and is so dependable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Javus Monday, May 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Strengths: Electropneumatic
Accurate
No chops or breaks
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Battery rattle
Review: The primary reason I bought this gun was for the electropneumatic internals. I played a scenario once, and the paint was extremely thin. Everyone with Tippmanns was breaking paint. The SP-1 offers a "more delicate" delivery of the paintball and I proved this by shooting the same paint from the scenario and not breaking a single ball. Mission acomplished.
As far as the markers performance: it is a great alternative to the A-5, and just as reliable, it has the potential for good woodsball upgrades, the grouping is nice, and because it lacks springs and cocking handles, it is easier to maintain than the A-5. The SP-1 is a solid performer all around. The only thing I don't like is the location of the feedneck. It's right on the centerline just like a speedball marker and aiming takes a little getting used to. The battery rattle is easily silenced by sticking just about anything in the grip.
Conclusion: If this is your first marker, you have made a great choice. I use it as a back-up and a loaner to new people playing paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kokoklownanr Sunday, January 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
BL 2K5'd GZ Intimidator
Friends ION
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP1
Crossfire 68/4500
Viewloader Revolution
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Maybe an A.S.A. stock one is good though
Strengths: Smooth
Light
Easy to maintain
Easy to use
Simple design
Weaknesses: Requires good paintballs
Doesn't have eye's
Made of Composite
Review: Well I finally decided to get one of these puppies after hearing alot of good stuff about them. Well It kinda sucks that i got Serial #1080 because, it is a non-select fire version :P Well I used it once so far, and noticed it cannot handle delicate paint as Smart Parts claims. I was using WPN's grade (taiwan made) and the shell was incredibly thin and almost 5 times per game i would have to whip out the swab. But when it did not break a ball, it shot PERFECTLY!!!!!!! I have never shot such a smooth marker in my life!!!!!! With quality paint, this marker will RIP!!!!!! It is light and fast...just the way I like it :D Overall a perfect woodsball gun, and may do well in Speedball, but anyways this gun is better than any gun I have ever shot in my life, out of the 17+ guns I have previously owned :D Once I get the Select Fire board I will be a happy camper. So my tip as a fellow baller, is to use Good paint....don't go cheap like I did........trust me it's not worth it :P
Conclusion: Looking for the PERFECT woodsball gun, then the SP1 is for you.....just be sure you get the Select Fire version :P
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

OMG its da FONZ Monday, May 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts Vibe
Marker Setup: Gotta use this thing stock to really see how it is, so thats how i rolled? STOCK right out of the box, w/ remote and don't forget the lil cardboard to stop the battery from rattling.
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you want a good barrel and for cheap i would for sure recomend J&J Ceramics barrel.
Stock
Remote
E hopper of sorts
if you really wanna lay some paint a blackheart board(22BPS)
Strengths: ACCURACY!
light
sturdy
Rails
compact
11 BPS - never chop. ever
Looks awesome
4" Shroud
Weaknesses: Only thing might be the select fire lock was a bit hard to change.
Review: ok, so i just got back into paintballing after a 5 year break. After a little bit of research I came across the SP-1! as soon as i saw this thing i knew that i was going to get it. with each new thing about it, it gets better.

So the very first time i used this bad boy i decided it would be a torture test to see if this thing really can hold up to its name. I got paint from a buddy of mine that was about 4 years old, absolutely HORRIBLE paint. The SP-1 handled it like a pro, no chop/break. out of about 1000 rounds there were a few stray shots but hey, some of the paint was shaped like an egg. from about 30 feet with trash paint there was about a 1 foot grouping.

Now for when i used this out on the field with some actual paint. it shot great, i never really found my self at a disadvantage with this gun the whole time. 11 BPS for sure kept the fire on them and kept their heads down while i rushed them. AWESOME.

This is not a large bulky gun, you can maneuver great with it, especially with a remote, this gun will not hinder you what so ever. its low operating pressure keeps this thing pretty quiet even with the stock barrel so you can flank someone and they wont know it unless the are looking right at you.

--ooh and another thing that HAS to be mentioned is that this gun has a 4 inch shroud which obviously cuts the barrel length by 4 inches, allowing you to get a bit longer of a barrel and still keep it somewhat compact. (uses Ion/Impulse threads)
Conclusion: im sure i missed something i was going to say about this gun....oh well, ill keep it as simple as this.
Affordable, Light, Fast, Accurate, Compact, and quiet.
This gun is a beast you will not be disappointed by it. next thing im planning on getting is a J&J Ceramics barrel and a stock, get a Ceramics barrel for only $30 and you will be untouchable.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 4th, 2009 at 9:09 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintman161 Sunday, June 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing similar to this type of gun but i have used, spyder, matrix, Autocockers
Marker Setup: Smart parts SP1 w/ 14" progressive smart parts barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Lighweight, very simple.
Weaknesses: Some of the screws hole do not line up correctly
Review: At first i was hesitate to buy this marker, then i watched the videos and reviews. I bought the gun and was kind of uneasy about it, almost thoght about returning it because it felt cheap to me. I put some air on it and shot it, shot great try all 3 modes. I decided ok maybe i will keep the gun and try it on the field. But before it did i toke the whole gun apart cleaned it all up, made sure everything was tight, and relubed the bolt. Which brings me to the internals, ver simple and easy to maintain, the boult with only 3 parts to it is very easy to assemble and disassemble.
Ok so onto the field i go with the gun and was kind of nervous about playing with it. But the horn blew and i was off shooting an kickin butt. After the game someone asked how it shot, and i said " It was great"!
So onto the final results the gun is alot sturdier then it looks and feels. It shoot very nicely and is very easy to switch from right hand to left hand. this gun is accurate. (i was using a 14" SP progressive barrel) Now the air consumption i was not happy with, I was using a 45/3000 psi tank. and would only get about 500 paintballs off a fill. But i have not even shot a case through the gun yet so i am sure there is a break in period.
Conclusion: Final thought, i would say if you are in the market for a nice woodsball gun or even a speedball gun buy this one. Its got the performance for the marker and at 150.00 its woth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xyz123 Friday, March 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Extra, And does not compare.
Marker Setup: I use a SP1with a ,18'' evil barrel, double finger trigger, wire stock ,bipod, pure energy carbon fiber tank and a Dye Rotor.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None.
Strengths: Price,endurance and looks.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: The Smart Parts sp1 i think is the is the best gun Smart Parts as ever made, It is a great gun for beginners and mid level players, It's not as fast as an EOS , Shocker or Ion EX but it is pretty fast stock, if you make it faster and not a hundred dollors or more on a new board than get a double finger trigger and set it on three round burst and walk it.
Conclusion: So if your thinking about getting in to paintball and you don't want to pay two or three hundred dollors than get a SP1, even if your looking to get a new gun and don't want pay hudreds then get a SP1.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media