paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1

Smart Parts SP-1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts SP-1

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts SP-1
[ View Photos (30) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $175

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A fresh take on tactical. With its military styling and ultra rugged lightweight construction, the SP-1 is built for speed and made to last.

Features:

Mil-spec accessory rails at every angle and integrated mount points for a stock, the SP-1 is ready for a limitless variety of accessories.
Equipped with an integrated tactical flashlight mount right below the barrel, which accepts inexpensive focused beam flashlights at a fraction of the cost of expensive tactical flashlights.
Low pressure electropneumatic operation replaces the outdated spring and hammer designs that power competing tactical markers, and allows the SP-1 to deliver a fast , accurate and quiet hailstorm of paint.
Weight (marker only): 2 lbs. 6 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 12.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Low force bolt
Trigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, 3 round burst, full auto
Max Rate of fire: 11bps
Field legal mode lock
Runs on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA included
One piece 10 inch barrel
Feedneck: Vertical clamping
Glass fiber reinforced nylon grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts SP-1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
reverse edge Monday, October 8th, 2012
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Invert Mini
Dangerous Power Threshold
Angel A4 Fly
Ego8
Azodin Blitz
Spyder Pilot
Proto Matrix Rail 09
Tippmann Alpha Black E-grip (worked on & upgraded for a friend)
Marker Setup: GOG G1 (relaunch of the Smart Parts SP-1)
Black Heart board
Empire Apex 2 barrel (16")
50/4500 Pure Energy Stubby tank
Dye Rotor
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop-down dovetail mount
A GOOD on/off ASA!
New Macro-line

Strengths: Quiet
Stock Trigger
Stock Barrel
Feedneck
Battery efficient
Weight
Plenty of rails
Reg
Weaknesses: Stock Dovetail
Air efficiency
Aftermarket trigger
Full disassembly is annoying
Review: The GOG G1 is the relaunch of the Smart Parts SP-1.
It retails new for about $250, and the G1 with Black Heart board goes for about $300.

Comes with:
- A nice hard-case and cut foam slots for the gun and all parts.
- The gun comes with a 14" barrel
- M16 style adjustable stock
- Center set & off-set feedneck (with elbow piece)
- All the tools for the gun
- Extra o-ring kit
- A CD-ROM manual


Pros***
- This gun is pretty quiet, especially in the woods. Although, in my opinion, the noise kind of ramps up if you use 3-round-burst, or full-auto.
- This gun shoots a pretty consistent grouping, but the grouping does widen a bit if you use the burst or full-auto setting.
- The stock reg is the same one that the DXL Luxe uses.
- This sucker is light! Not a problem to carry around for a long time in the wooded terrain.
- The stock trigger is a 3-point-adjustable magnetic pull, so it is super light! It blows away the triggers on other woodsball markers.


Cons***
- This gun isn't the most air efficient. If you keep the gun in semi, it gets average efficiency. But if you venture into 3-round-burst or full-auto, efficiency goes out the window.
- The dovetail is awkwardly positioned (the tank infringes when you try to aim with the stock to your shoulder), and I'm not sure what caused it, but my stubby tank was practically CEMENTED into the dovetail! It took me and a buddy about 30 minutes to work it off! But my other tank goes on and off with no problem.
- An on/off ASA is a good idea. Despite the above dovetail experience I mentioned, this gun loses quite a bit of air when you take the tank off. So I think putting a few dollars down for an ASA is a good idea. And a better macro-line is a good idea; it comes with a nylon-wrapped line, but I personally don't care for that type of line.
- This gun doesn't have a lot of upgrades, other than different stocks & barrels. It does have a double trigger upgrade, but the stock trigger is honestly better -- the double trigger is stiff, it hangs too close to the grip frame, and it's really cheap plastic.
- Taking the breach out of this gun is a PAIN!
- And as a personal peeve, I don't care for the butt on the stock. It's really rough on your shoulder, unless you're wearing a tac vest, or a thicker jacket.
Conclusion: All in all, this gun is really nice for the money! Aside from the upgrades I recommended, this gun works really great out of the box!
The Black Heart board is one of the simpler I've worked with, and the fact that you can buy it already installed is a plus.

All in all, I'd recommend this to anyone looking to up their woodsball game.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

danielrs386 Monday, February 13th, 2012
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR2 (heavier and louder and more expensive)

Marker Setup: Smart parts SP1:
Rap4 extendable M4 stock
16 inch JJ&Ceramic barrel
Hopper with eyes
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic hopper
new barrel
Strengths: Anti-chop bolt
Quiet
price
light
can run on Co2
Battery life
Weaknesses: stock barrel
on/off button
Smart Parts doesn't exist anymore.
Review: Basically: Got this thing when i turned 16

It is a very quiet dependable marker. Only ONCE have i had to run with a backup. This gun is virtually indestructible; its been rained on, dirt filled, and still shoots fine.

Accuracy: the stock barrel is okay, but if any paint is in it it will swirl around like nobodies business.

Battery life: This thing will run forever on a battery. I've played literally three 4 hour days in 3 different weekends and never had to change my battery.

Air: This is a personal preference. For the type of paintball i play i really don't care about HPA it costs more and Co2 works just fine. I have it attached straight to the gun, and a 20 lasts me all day long.

Quiet: It is SO quiet. You will think you are low on air with how quiet it is. I have a 16 inch JJ and ceramic on mine and it is almost silent. Smart parts did well with this gun.

Body: It is small and durable, it's not heavy or anything so you don't have to worry about that. If you do have a stock and along barrel on it it can get tangled in brush, etc.


The one thing i don't like is i cannot tell when i'm getting low on air.just because it is a very consistent gun. I have NEVER chopped a ball with this bolt; i actually tested it by putting my finger in there and the MOST damage it will do to a CRAPPY Walmart paintball is DENT it slightly.
Conclusion: Great backup if you are a crazy mil simmer, and a great gun if you just casually play with friends in the woods. Very dependable; never chops, decent little gun. I recommend it to anyone as a backup, especially at this price. I guess now its a GOG gun, but same thing basically.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thetruth217 Wednesday, October 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann X-7, A-5, Alpha Black Tactical, Model 98, 98 Custom, Pro-Lite, SL-68 II, Spyder MR2, Pilot
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1 w/ Blackheart board, Invert Halo Too, Trinity T-Lock, Smart Parts All American Back with All American Apex Ready Front + Apex tip, 72/3000 HPA Tank, Remote w/ Slide Check
Recommended
Upgrades:
I always look to upgrade the barrel first with any marker.
The Invert Halo Too hopper is great for this marker, and is relatively inexpensive
If you didn't buy the SP-1 with the blackheart board...Get the Blackheart board!
HPA over Co2 (If possible)
Strengths: Inexpensive
Light
Fast (with BH Board)
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Leaked out of the box, tightened the screw under the trigger guard, works fine now.
Review: I purchased an SP-1 with the blackheart board already installed.

The first time I aired it up, it was leaking like crazy from around/behind the trigger. I took it apart to check the internals, and all seemed to be fine. I emailed Smart Parts, and 2 days later, still no response. Very disappointing. However I did eventually find (With help from X7OG.net) that the screw under the trigger guard was loose, and once I tightened it, the leaking stopped.

Once I got past that mess, the marker felt really good in hand. The grip was comfortable, and with an Invert Halo Too filled with paint, the marker was very light. The only paint I had was about 6 months old, but I wanted to test out the SP-1s low force bolt, and the Blackheart boards eyes. At 18 bps, the SP-1 was shooting amazing. Even better was that with about 500 rounds, not one chop, skip or break. I can't wait to take this marker to the local field and really test it.
Conclusion: Aside from the air leak problem and the lack of a response from Smart Parts to help me fix it, I am pretty impressed with the SP-1. I think anyone considering this marker should get the one with the Blackheart board installed. I've always owned and used Tippmanns, but I'm not regretting selling my X-7 for the SP-1 at all. The SP-1 is a great marker for the price, I would highly recommend it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thomas.s Friday, August 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder kingman rs
98 custom
stryker
lots of JT guns
Marker Setup: collapsible car stock
BT flashlight laser sight
21 inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Lots of rails highly customizable
Very gas efficient
Light weight
Low profile
Weaknesses: Feed neck.
Hard to clean paint out of some spots.
Review: The sp-1 is simply a beast of a marker beatin the competition in every aspect great air efficiency, great acrecy, high customizability everything u would look for in a marker. Straight out of the box it's proformance blows you away I dont regret this buy at all.
only once had a problem.
Conclusion: Get one simply amazing marker beats beats competition in every aspect
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Calculon Wednesday, February 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts SP-8
Tippmann X-7
Marker Setup: SP-1 Blackheart board
L7v2 Bolt
Freak barrel with AA front with Apex tip; stainless inserts
CAR stock with stock adapter
Halo B V35 w/ Rip Drive
Tiberius raiser with BT offset rail; NC Star DP130 red dot
PE 72/3K steel tank with PE remote

Recommended
Upgrades:
SP-1 Blackheart board (only if you want to shoot above 11bps)
L7v2 bolt (minor upgrade)
Stock adapter with stock (personal preference)
Strengths: Accurate
Quite
Reliable
Never chops
Easy to maintain
Sturdy construction
Weaknesses: Stock board and solenoid eat up batteries
Center feed is not very milsim
Review: I got this gun as an afterthought, it was so cheap ($150 back then). I used it at first as a back-up and often as a loaner. The people I loaned it too always loved it. I started more and more to use it as my primary and I now take it everywhere with me.

The main strengths are :

-very quite, no kick. Even more quieter with L7 bolt.
-stock barrel is quite good
-stock regulator is very good. I tried my broken-in CP reg on it and saw no difference with the stock reg. I measured +/- 7 fps with fresh Draxxus Gold. I'm sure I could get +/-5fps or less with some extra tuning.
-no drop-off even at 11 bps
-comes with 3 firing modes stock: semi, 3-shot burst and full-auto. A great feature also is the ability to switch from one mode to another by simply pressing on the on/off button. Very useful during a game.
-Never chops, even with no eyes (stock SP-1s have none, only with the Blackheart upgrade) Very easy on the most brittle of paints. This is due to the "low-force" bolt. So even the stock bolt is pretty good. One of the main reasons why it won't chop is because the gun is capped at 11bps.
-Very easy to maintain. Has bolt-out-back system which gives a very easy access to the firing tube for quick cleaning and lubing. Use only Dow Corning-type grease (such as DC33) by the way. Such maintenance necessary after a couple of cases. Reg maintenance is also very easy, but more parts involved. Necessary only a few times a year.
-very durable plastic (unlike the SP-8's or even the TM-7's). I toss this thing around, play in the mud, the snow, drop it on rocks and there are even hardly any scratches on it; also no cracks anywhere whatsoever. Tough stuff!
-Plenty of picatinny rails to mount accessories.
-Comes with flashlight emplacement so a Mini Mag-Lite can be fitted in there without any modifications.

Weak points:

-The stock board is rather weak (common feature among Smart Parts guns). The 'noid eats up batteries badly. We're talking one per day of playing. I had the same problem with my SP-8 and when I switched to the Blackheart board the problem disappeared.

-Center-feed only. It is rather annoying not having the option to mount an off-center feedneck. To be able to mount a red dot scope I had to get a BT offset rail.

-Very limited choices of looks, unlike Tippmanns which can be turned into a great variety of look-alike real guns.

I must say I find the weak points very minor compared to the great benefits of its major points.

Get the Blackheart board ONLY of you want to shoot in the 12-20bps range. Otherwise there is absolutely very little reason to. The Virtue board only has the higher ROF settings, without the QEV and eyes of the BH for the same price, so you will get horrible drop-off and chops if you get the Virtue without adding eyes or a QEV. Both the Virtue and the Blackheart use the same stock solenoid which can't handle anything past 11bps.

With the L7 bolt and a Freak barrel, my set-up is even more quieter than a stock SP-1. Even when set at about 290fps it makes very little noise and no kick whatsoever. It was as if I had a silencer on! When I show this to other players, be they recball, milsim or even seasoned speedball players they are usually very amazed.
Conclusion: Awesome gun for such a low price. The kind of gun you buy as a back-up or a loaner but then end up using as your main gun. The perfect recball gun. Simply that amazing. I also cannot believe how cheap it is for all that you get.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 25th, 2009 at 11:00 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ishii-kun Saturday, September 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C
Marker Setup: SP-1 with Trinity carstock, red dot sight, and remote line
Strengths: Small
Cheap
Reliable
Very upgradeable
runs off air or CO2 very well
Weaknesses: Feedneck location
Bolt isnt upgradeable
Review: I love this marker. It is light, cheap, and very easy to maintain.

The fact this gun is so upgradeable draws many people, there are a few aftermarket boards out there, some of which have an eye attachment, which I find useless, as the gun doesn't require eyes. the low force bolt will not chop a ball no matter what you do. I actually have the confidence to stick my finger down the feedneck and pull the trigger without having my fingers broken. Though that means the bolt cant be replaced by an aftermarket bolt without loosing this ability, and I dont think there are any aftermarket bolts out there for the SP-1.

However there is alot of other stuff out there for it, most of which wasnt even made for the SP-1. Anything that mounts on a standard rail you can put on this gun. plus you can even use a 98C stock on it (provided you have the right adaptor plate for it). The only down side is you cant mount a sight and a stock without a 45 degree rail and a sight riser, as the feedneck location isnt the smartest in the world. That is the only major downside, is the feedneck. It is in the worst position possible for such a marker.
Conclusion: All and all, this marker may have its downsides, but it is a very good gun. You cant find anything better in this price range
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tip203 Monday, September 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP VIBE
Marker Setup: 98 CUSTOM CAR STOCK RESPONCE TRIGGER ARCHON HOPPER
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel,revi hopper.
Strengths: Efficient,quiet ,does not chop,compact and very solid.easy maintenence.
Weaknesses: Feedneck location.
Review: Very nice marker good feel to it.I have a 98 custom and i had the sp vibe but wanted a new marker.I had my eyes on this and finally got it istead of pouring more money in my 98.Out the box its a great marker for the price 3 firing modes effiecent and reduced kick it will sve you money in upgrades.Add a stock and your golden.Only problem is the feedneck position but after playing a couple games its not a problem
Conclusion: Good all around marker,great for beginers or advanced players,i would recommend it over some simiar priced markers for what you get out the box,3 firing modes low force bolt and a solid marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lonestar2222009 Saturday, July 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom: Gravity feed body, Stock Class body, standard barrel (14 inch) 45 degree grip frame. And Bottom line setup.

Smart Parts Sp-1 w/ 14in. progressive barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Accurate, very quiet and fast ROF for a single finger trigger. price $150
Weaknesses: Air efficency
Review: I purchased this gun on a whim not really doing any research. when i brought it out i had the following.

1 case of podium gold paint

eggy2 hopper

48ci. 3000psi. airtank

fresh batteries on everything.
---------------------------------------------------------
I began the test by shooting semi auto at a target while standing the accuracy of the gun was excellent at approx. 25ft i hit the target everytime dead on. at 50+ i was hitting the target still with ease but not everytime (everyother shot hit). the gun was quiet my friend who was shooting on the other side of me could barely hear it.

the only problem I found was the gun didnt really have air efficency. But this may have been becuase of the small tank. I only got 573 shots out of my tank (yes i counted every single shot) where on my spyder xtra i get about 700.

this gun really impressed me. especially for the price $150
Conclusion: Excellent gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BIGBOY#14 Tuesday, June 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom with colapsable stock, cyclone feed, 16" barrel, star bolt, and red dot sight.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1 tactical.....No additional add on's.....YET
Strengths: Fast
Light Wieght
Strong and Durable
Reliable
Simple
Non Blowback
Customizable
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: None yet.......
Review: I bought this gun thinking is this gonna be like my last 98 custom???? NO..... It's not....But i LOVE it! This gun is very reliable light wieght; almost like a woodsball/speedball gun! And that's exactly what i wanted. I was always looking for a gun that would work good in the woods as well as on a speedball field and this gun is it. Im a big guy at a hieght of 6 foot 8 and i have some BIG hands and this gun fit me like a glove it's perfect. What i really like is how on automatic mode it only goes 11 bps.......to me thats not to slow and not to fast! Its perfect for a wreck player. Plus its affordable at only 150$ thats a lot of bang for your buck!!!!
Conclusion: I would HIGHLY recomend this to any paintball player its cheap and really reliable!!! Get it its a good gun!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fernando8877 Saturday, May 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR series, Tippmann 98 Custom & Alpha Black series, PCS US-5.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1 w/ 14" J&J S2 barrel & Hybrid grips, Tippmann A-5 w/ flatline barrel, T6 adjustable stock & X7 hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Best up grades: New barrel, clamping feedneck, & stock (for those who like).
Strengths: Able to use Co2 or Hpa, compact size, lots of rails for attachments.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel, other then that nothing else.
Review: I recently bought this marker (about 3 months ago) and it shoots great out the box. The thing I noticed first was that the stock barrel needs to be replaced with an aftermarket one. This SP1 does in fact shoot very straight and its pretty fast, even though its capped at 11bps. Another thing about it is that it weights a bit when you have it ready to play. That there is the only thing I can say thats bad about it. It makes a great starter marker for anyone thats new and wants a better marker to start with. Also more and more upgrades are coming out for it, which is great.

I'll update this review as I spend more time with marker.
Conclusion: I'd recommend this marker to any person thats new or even a seasoned person.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 10th, 2008 at 4:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media