paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1

Smart Parts SP-1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts SP-1

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts SP-1
[ View Photos (30) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $175

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A fresh take on tactical. With its military styling and ultra rugged lightweight construction, the SP-1 is built for speed and made to last.

Features:

Mil-spec accessory rails at every angle and integrated mount points for a stock, the SP-1 is ready for a limitless variety of accessories.
Equipped with an integrated tactical flashlight mount right below the barrel, which accepts inexpensive focused beam flashlights at a fraction of the cost of expensive tactical flashlights.
Low pressure electropneumatic operation replaces the outdated spring and hammer designs that power competing tactical markers, and allows the SP-1 to deliver a fast , accurate and quiet hailstorm of paint.
Weight (marker only): 2 lbs. 6 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 12.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Low force bolt
Trigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, 3 round burst, full auto
Max Rate of fire: 11bps
Field legal mode lock
Runs on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA included
One piece 10 inch barrel
Feedneck: Vertical clamping
Glass fiber reinforced nylon grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts SP-1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
corygoodspeed Tuesday, April 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: SP1 with a 16" JJ ceramic Barrel, Aim Point Comp2 Sight, Mag Light, Reloader Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel
Strengths: Reliable
Shoots Straight
NEVER EVER breaks paint
VERY quiet
very versatile
Weaknesses: Some barrels may not fit due to the shroud
Review: I have been one that has NEVER had good luck with guns. From the old CO2 pistols to the Autococker I had last none of my guns were very reliable. We play only woods ball and this gun was made for it! I have so far banged it against trees, cradled through the dirt, ran it all day at times with just CO2, its even dropped in a river once! With all the abuse this thing still runs like a dream. All my friends who have MR3's and mid range Autocockers are jealous of my gun. I know what you’re going to say about the Autococker players being jealous, but the truth is the Autocockers are incredible guns when your not beating the crap out of them in the dirty woods. My last gun was a cocker and it was killer at speed ball, and the accuracy was incredible. The problem was when ever it got banged up it wouldn’t cycle right. This SP1 never needs work and its always performing great when I’m sneaking through the brush. Between the price and the incredible reliability and performance I would recommend this gun to anyone who plays in the woods.

Conclusion: If your considering this gun - get it, you wont be sorry.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 29th, 2008 at 11:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hudsonnhawk Sunday, April 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
First Electro-pneumatic, previous marker was Spyder MR-1
Marker Setup: SP-1 with remote line, Empire Re-loader Hopper, and Spyder 4+1 Pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (maybe)
Strengths: CHEAP PRICE! Value for money, very efficient CO2 usage, small and light
Weaknesses: needs 6-7 different hex keys to fully take apart, but that is NOT recommended
Review: Body is nice and compact for CQB and with the recessed barrel, it keeps the barrel from sticking out. The nylon outer covering feels like plastic but it is pretty tough, taking a few beatings. Cleaning between the weaver rails with a Q-tip to get rid of paint can be a bother. I think that a few of the earlier complaints have also been resolved...

1) the battery no longer rattles, atleast mine does not
2) Select Fire mode and tourney lock out mode works great and is intuitive
3) Comes with full instructions in multi-languages
4) backed by a one year factory warranty
5) bought mine from Badlands.com and has lifetime warranty

One aspect that I am waiting for is upgrades. I hope that the manufacturers are going to realize that this will be a popular marker and to start making more scenario mods for it. Currently there is a stock and a board and barrels available.
Conclusion: I personally beleive that this could be the marker that could bring Smart Parts into the scenario realm big time, in the leage of Tippman. However, more mods will have to be made for the product
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Coozman Thursday, December 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1,16" J&J ceramic Dye Rotor, Alamo City low-blow delrin bolt, HPA
Spyder MR2,16" J&J ceramic, Dye Rotor, Alamo City low-blow delrin bolt, HPA
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP1 Select Fire
Smart Parts 14" Linear barrel
Dye Rotor hopper
HPA
RAP4 remote
TASCO Red dot sight
Trinity stock on order
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
45 degree offset rail
E-hopper
remote
clamping feedneck
Strengths: Light weight
Cold weather ops
11Bps
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Cleaning
TOO MANY WRENCHES
Review: Got this marker and with almost no time firing it, played in a scenario in relatively cold and damp weather. 40 degrees and dipping close to freezing late in the day, the SP1 was consistent thoroughout the day. Out of the box, it chrono'd at 309 and brought it down to 290 with a small adjustment. Now that I think about it, should've taken it down below 280. We were using Red Legion field paint and I had absolutley no problems . Another guy with a Tippmann A5 chrono'd at 270 was breaking paint in the barrel constantly and his cyclone break put him out for a long cleanup. Weather, paint, operator? Don't know. Anyways... The light weight of th SP1 is incredible. Only after 4 hours in the scenario did the marker start feeling heavy. The SP1 stock and a remote is really light and easy to maneuver with. Rate of fire was plenty for woodsball and I shot burst only all day long. Test fired with an Empire Reloader but found that my Dye Rotor was better even though it was heavier. The feedneck was solid but would like a clamping with a little offset so that I won't need to buy a 45 degree offset rail for my sight. I didn't test battery life... maybe next time I'm out. Used Cheapy batteries and had no problems as reported by some. Changed out after goig through a box of paint.

The SP1 is a solid marker in the hands of a novice player and appears to work well in all weather conditions. no regrets in buying this marker
Conclusion: I would buy this marker again if I had too. Solid and reliable. Will have to see how it works in February!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WilliamShattner Monday, November 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automag rt pro
Massively customized Tippmann A-5 (e trigger-plamer stabilizer-low pressure kit, polised, ect)
98C
Marker Setup: pinokio loader
pmi 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mine is stock
Strengths: Size is just right
zero kick = accurate
Shoots great stock
Upgradable
great trigger
Weaknesses: Build quality isn't as high at some standards (automag)
Power button
Review: This is a great little marker. I love the size and how it feels.
I have played with a lot of woodsball markers and this really is my favorite. That includes a completly upgraded a-5 (about $500 in gun and upgrades) and a very nice Automag rt pro, I feel like a idiot saying that, but its true.

Completely stock the sp1 is very accurate. The two primary factors that determine if a MARKER is accurate are consistent velocity and low kick. Barrels and paint quality also make a huge difference in accuracy, but as a far as a marker is concerned, all it needs to do is be consistent. The sp1 has shown to be very consistent with almost zero kick making it clearly the most accurate marker I have used.

The standard sp1 has 3 firing modes which is nice. The trigger is great. I bent the tang on the micro switch just a hair down which really makes the trigger perfect. If you want a do a double trigger go for it, I like the look of a single.

The low force bolt seems fine (never stuck anything in it), but having a pinokio and only shooting as fast as my fingers go means I don't have to worry about ball chopping anyway. The blackheart upgrade gives you eyes if you want that- I prefer a mechanical low force bolt.

The only real knock would be build quality. The marker works fine, but there are little gaps here and there where pieces meet. Not a lot, but a few. Coming from an Automag, which has fantastic build quality, you really notice those little things. Build is probably on par with Tippmann and other markers in the price range. The power button also should be longer as I have to use a fingernail to actually push it in all the way.

There is a nice upgrade path with the blackheart board and new bolts out now. Which is nice if you want to be able to want some new stuff. But really, if you are playing in the woods against people with standard blowbacks, a stock sp1 will easily already be a far better marker.
Conclusion: I would fully recommend this gun to anyone looking for a woodsball gun. I would say 9.5, but there is no option for half points.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CKD 831 Monday, January 3rd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A -5 with responce trigger/ this gun shoots faster but is much louder.....Spyder custom victor E-marker/ this gun also shoots faster but chops balls and is very much louder.....Spyder MR 1/ this gun is a semi only..no comparison
Marker Setup: Sp 1 with 16inch J&J ceramic barrel mini drop with smart parts on/off 70/4500 proto premo hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better barrel than stock /a on/off set up for HPA and a Carbon fiber tank
Flasc makes a really nice barrel kit for this marker with 9 inch control bores and fully interchangeable tip setups I.E. Apex and suppresers and milsim tips
Strengths: Light weight
No springs
Very quiet
Very upgradable
low battery/air consumtion
Weaknesses: Smart parts is gone :(
Hard to find some parts
Review: ok so i bought this marker used for 100 bucks and it has become my primary .
shoots so straight and quiet that it's ideal for woods balling.
Maintinance is a breez two bolt off the back and unscrew the bolt and it all slides out the back check the O-rings lube and put it all back together....no springs/ hammers/cyclone feed paddels .
I love how this gun shoots ...almost no recoil so your second shoot is very fast and so on and so on till the hopper runs dry :)
This marker looks cool ,very much a Mil sim Marker with so many upgrades that sky is the limit on what you can do it.
Smart Parts is gone now folks so take that with a grain of salt :(
GOG paintball now makes the Sp1 ...they call it the G1 and they changed the marker a little ....the feed neck mainly...check it out

Conclusion: Great marker get them if you can find them
Woodsball and mil sim must have
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

duffmann1221 Sunday, August 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
full techt cyclone upgrade
aluminum tube and star fire bolt
flatline
opsgear ump mag
opsgear ak47 stock
sight riser
6 in. commando scope red/green dot
w.a.s. egrip
polished internals

Spyder mr3
jnj 16 ceramic
18v fasta

Spyder rodeo (very solid back up)
14 in razzor

Marker Setup: Sp-1 w/blackheart board
L7 7.1 TechT bolt
360 QEV
14 in freak kit
Dye 3 sticky grips
RAP4 stock
68/4500 nitro duck
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Extremely quiet
Light
Very efficient
Weaknesses: Comes with a lot of different sized hex screws, very annoying
Review: Ive played woodsball for awhile and started with spyders and then recently got an a5 that i fully upped and modded. Everyone kept saying how great they were and i tried it out. The a5 really didnt get me and i thought about going back to the spyder mr3 (way better than A5) but decided to try the sp-1, WOW, i will never go back to mechanical markers. It is so quiet and light compared to the A5, and only costs $175 ( mine with blackheart board installed cost $250 at smartpartsparts.com). Playing with this in the woods is amazing b/c people cant hear where your shooting from and playing against people with tippmanns is almost unfair b/c youll know where they are from their first shot. It is also very efficient. I got about 800 shots on my a5 from a 68/4500 tank. I havent been able to try out a full tank yet on my sp-1 but my brothers mr2 wouldnt shoot with a little air left in the tank while my sp-1 was firing full auto. As of now though its been sent in for repair after 1 day of use. Make sure when you buy it that you check the bolt sleeve and the threading in the back. My bolt sleeve was scratched and gouged from a small piece of metal sticking up and having sharp threads. It was kind of difficult getting the back to come out as well. But the smart parts customer service is taking care of it now and is reimbursing me for shipping it back to them. INCREDIBLE!!! They are very helpfull
Conclusion: Overall this is a great investment! Dont buy a woodsball gun for its looks(A5), buy one for its performance. Looks dont win games ( though they are cool), performance does.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 18th, 2009 at 7:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MisterDeadman Tuesday, August 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
E-Spyders (similar in that they had no eyes)
Nothing else seems similar
Marker Setup: SP Ion - 68/4500 PE tank, Sly Dual Carbon Barrel, VLocity Hopper
Trilogy Cocker for backup
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel,
Perhaps the blackheart upgrade depending on how much you want to get out of it
Strengths: Price
Reg
CO2 capability
Ease of use
Weaknesses: Lack of eyes (w/o blackheart)
Board isn't toogreat
Barrel choice limited
Review: My brother and my friend both got this gun recently, so I played a few rounds with each of their guns.

With the stock barrel the accuracy isn't anything to write home about, but it also wasn't a total let down. Definately get a barrel for this when you can. On the subject of barrels, the shroud makes it so some barrels will not meet the breech at all. My sly barrel has Impulse/Ion threads and the jewel on the base of the barrel makes it impossible to mount. My Evil Pipe also wouldnt fit (not that it matters since it's Spyder threads, just wanted to see if it would fit). So make sure you get barrels you know will fit down there.

The stock board is pretty lame. The gun's capped at 11 BPS with three firing modes, it has no eyes, and the tournament lock is absurd. If you have no interest in playing tournaments with this thing, the stock board does plenty. If you're toying with speedball, the blackheart board would be a good idea.

The dissassembly is very simple. Ion users know how much of a pain it is to clean an Ion, with the SP1 there's a few easily accessible screws, and a back cap... Pretty easy.

Also on the downside, I think the gun looks goofy. The feedneck, while it certainly does its job, could use some improvement. Furthermore, my brother's trigger has gotten jammed in the firing position at random. I don't know why, but I do know sometimes erratic firing (pulling the trigger lots and balls just kinda popping out whenever they feel like it) means you need a new batttery! :)
Conclusion: Overall, the gun works well. It shoots fast enough, has way easy firing mode switching, and has easy maintenence.

The inaccessible breech, lack of eyes, and mediocre stock board make give it some weak points.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jghicks28 Friday, July 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
bushmaster, promaster, angel led (though not similar, electric...)
Marker Setup: invert mini with a freak barrel
SP1 stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA
Strengths: Reliable, adjustable feedneck, great regulator, awesome trigger, looks amazing, very accurate because it's stable.
Weaknesses: It does not come with a tournament ready board...
Review: I normally don't like to review a gun I have only shot a case through, so keep that in mind, i've only shot a case through this gun, will update if my opinion changes.

The reason why I am writing this review is because I have been so impressed with the SP1. The SP1 is rugged looking and feeling. It does not feel cheap despite being made out of composites. My experience so far with this gun has been playing renegade ball, and some round about testing, as well as breaking it down. 1st, during game play the trigger felt great, light yet snappy on the return, and It was easy to fire very quickly. I used a gravity hopper and my Reloader B. Shooting quickly with the gravity hopper wasn't a problem due to the low force bolt. Their were a few occasions where a paintball wasn't quite loaded with the gravity hopper, however it didn't result in soup in my breach, but rather a great shot just after the misfire. With the reloader B I did not have any instances where balls were double fed, so the detent system is very effective. when shooting the sp1 it is very easy to aim with your gun cocked sideways using the tactical rails and the guns body as your sites. I found this to be a very accurate and consistent method while shooting. The Sp1 shoots very consistently, I wasn't able to chrono it during renegade ball but I could see it in the resulting accuracy of the shots that followed. One of the reasons the gun is allowed to shoot accurately is because the SP1 has very little travel or "kick" during the shot. I was very impressed with this and it is one of the features that really motivated me to do this review so early in owning it. You are easily able to point, aim, and shoot, keeping your aim on the same location with almost negligible deviation, which compared to the promaster and angel I had toted in the past was amazing(not that these guns travel much, but this one almost doesn't at all). I still have to try it on Co2 however that will be coming, and another great advantage of the SP1 is that it really is Co2 capable due to the exhaust valve built into the regulator, I am excited to see the results. The gun is very quiet when shooting, making just a brief audible pop. Maintenance is a breeze, with the bolt out back feature of the sp1 It is very easy to clean and maintain, yet secure enough requiring hex wrenches(I feel this is an advantage) an it's not loosy goosey or anything either. The gun feels solid in your hands, looks very cool, woodsbally, can be adapted to speedball with a blackheart board upgrade and a double trigger upgrade(I like it just the way it is though) and it shoots phenomenally, which is something you just need to try out before you buy. Oh an adjustable feedneck out of the box too!
Conclusion: I would recommend testing this gun out to see if it offers what you are looking for, however I love this little thing. I like all the features which come with it, make sure you read the manual before attempting to mount the flashlight, but everything is their. Its a nice rugged, fun little gun that can meet a diverse amount of needs, whether mil sim look, or if your willing to upgrade it and want a mil sim type gun that you have the diversity of bringing on a speedball course you can purchase the subsequent upgrades and let it rip. It shoots magnificently. Try it out.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sirfester Tuesday, June 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion, Dragun TES - Similar
Marker Setup: Now I use the SP-1. I have a mini-Mag flashlight, 48ci/3000psi HPA tank, Revolution 18V loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is short. A nice barrel kit would be nice. Also, a stock adds a lot to the looks of this marker.
Strengths: Reliabilty, no chops, quiet and refined, consistency
Weaknesses: Flashlight hole too wide, battery loose inside
Review: I purchased this gun a few weeks ago and had the opportunity to play with it this weekend. I was very surprised how smooth and consistent this marker is. My step-son has an Ion and I actually prefer the feel of this gun! I think its the woodsball player inside me wanting to come out!!! Anyway, the gun shoots very consistently and I have yet to chop a ball; and I have shot various brands of paint through it. The barrel is extremely short and I wonder if that affects the accuracy to some degree. This gun does hit the target but not as consistently as I would like. But, I guess thats why they sell aftermarket barrels. This is a very stable gun. It does not kick like my Dragun and I do not get fatigued using it like I did with my old blowback markers. I'll keep my TES because its not worth anything to sell it. However, this gun will be my "main" weapon of choice from now on. BTW - I won the first game I played with it by firing into small holes in bunkers and hitting targets my teammates could not with their blowback semis. For the $150 pricetag of this marker, there really is no better choice for the entry level to intermediate player. Happy hunting!
Conclusion: Markers have come a long way over the years! This marker is an example of that. If my Dragun is a Camaro, the SP-1 is a BMW M3; refined and exciting! Go get it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nick_t Friday, January 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, Tippys, Spyder MR-2
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1, AIC Q-loader, SP Stock adapter Plate, Tipp 98 Car-Stock, 14" J&J Ceramic
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a new barrel, and Compressed air
Strengths: Cheap, Reliable, Light, LP
Weaknesses: Stock barrel kinda sucks, Only semi, lack of ups, no threaded feed neck
Review: When I first saw this gun, I wasn't fond of it's styling, but it grew on me, and ended up liking it so much I just had to get one. When I got it, there were no regrets. I love it to death, mainly because my previous gun was a unreliable piece of junk. It's a great gun. It's LP so it will save air, it's very reliable, and quite simple on the inside so maintenance is a snap. The only thing that I don't like about it is that there's no threaded feed neck no you are denied the option of customizing your feedneck (makes it a little hard on us q-loader users). Also what I don't like is the semi only board, which is a turn off to many woods/scenario players.
Conclusion: Overall this is an amazing gun, and definitely the best bang for your buck
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media