paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1 / Smart Parts SP-1

Smart Parts SP-1 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts SP-1

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts SP-1
[ View Photos (30) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 61
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $175

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A fresh take on tactical. With its military styling and ultra rugged lightweight construction, the SP-1 is built for speed and made to last.

Features:

Mil-spec accessory rails at every angle and integrated mount points for a stock, the SP-1 is ready for a limitless variety of accessories.
Equipped with an integrated tactical flashlight mount right below the barrel, which accepts inexpensive focused beam flashlights at a fraction of the cost of expensive tactical flashlights.
Low pressure electropneumatic operation replaces the outdated spring and hammer designs that power competing tactical markers, and allows the SP-1 to deliver a fast , accurate and quiet hailstorm of paint.
Weight (marker only): 2 lbs. 6 oz.
Length (w/out barrel): 12.5 in.
Operating Pressure: 180psi
Gas Source: HPA or CO2
Anti-Chop System: Low force bolt
Trigger Pivot: Stainless steel pin
Ball Detent: Dual rubber style
Semi auto, 3 round burst, full auto
Max Rate of fire: 11bps
Field legal mode lock
Runs on one 9 volt battery
Standard ASA included
One piece 10 inch barrel
Feedneck: Vertical clamping
Glass fiber reinforced nylon grip frame/body
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts SP-1 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Paragon5456 Tuesday, January 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Custom 98
Invert Mini
Etec Ego
Automag
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Halo B with magna upgrade
68/45 DXS Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock
Foam to hold battery
Good loader
Strengths: Quiet
Grips Feel Comfortable
Price
Not bad out of box
Weaknesses: Loose Battery
Review: I got this marker mostly for winter play when i will need to be cleaning out my marker more often, or as a loaner to people who dont want to lug around a tippmann. Its a simple design and the price makes me not worry too much about beating it up a bit. I have to admit im impressed by its performance out of the box. The barrel wasnt perfect, but it was light years ahead of anything i would have imagined for a marker of its price.

The feedneck isnt too bad. Atleast its more solid then the origional Ions. Im not too picky about feednecks though, as long as my loader doesnt shake im happy. Trigger has an odd, but smooth feel to it. I dont think i will be replacing it since i dont need another marker with a double trigger, if i need more firepower i wont be using this marker anyway. All in all, externally its a very nice marker.


Taking it apart is easy too, you can completely strip it in only a few minutes and put it back together no problems. For a newer person to electro its as easy as it can get. The battery is very loose though, when i opened the box i was actually worried the marker was broken because of how much rattle there was. I plan on just getting some foam tape to make it a little more snug. No eyes, but thats fine for the price, i would just recommend to have an aggitated feeder so you dont end up dry firing

When i used it the first time it was just to test it to make sure it funtioned properly and see what upgrades i might need. I chronoed to about 260 since it was cold and was shooting about 75-90 feet away at a tree 2 feet wide. The spead was easily within the ability to mark someone. My only comment was that i didnt like the feel without a stock. With my speedball markers its not as much of a problem because my grip is closer and if i need support i can use my tank, but i will def be getting a stock to help my stability when playing woodsball/scenario.

Conclusion: A good solid gun. I would def recommend this to anyone looking for a cheaper back up or who wants to get into paintball and buy an electro. Simple to maintain, decent out of the box, and im sure people will jump all over mod making for it in the next few months.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 8th, 2008 at 10:52 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cosmonaut Sunday, December 9th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Various spyders
Tippmann 98 and A-5
Smartparts ion
Marker Setup: SmartParts SP-1 with 16" J&J ceramic barrel,
Remote line running on compressed air.
Empire II sound activated hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, and a remote line unless You are using a carbon fiber tank,
compressed air.
I would also recomend getting a stock.
Strengths: 1) Light.
2) Easy to disassemble and clean.
3) Fire rate.
4) Very quiet.
Weaknesses: 1) HARDLY WORKS WITH CO2.
2) Velocity adjustment.
3) Has a berrel shroud.
Review: When I first got the gun I was impressed with its weight and feel. The gun wasn't too heavy and the grip felt nice and sturdy. The stock barrel was very small, only 10" which is why I ordered a new one with the gun. I didn't like the fact that it doesn't come with any allen wrenches for disassembly.

The first time I fired The gun I used CO2 which didnt work at all. I thought it was primarily because it was about 30 Degrees outside. So I took The gun inside and let it warm up a bit and tried to dryfire it, and after about 10 shots the gun froze up again. The solonoid can't take the freezing effects from CO2 and simply freezes up after a few shots then you must thaw it out before you can fire it again. Also if You adjust the velocity too high the gun sprays air out of every nook and cranny. So I had to go out and buy a compressed air tank (72 cubic inch 3000psi) for the gun so it would work right. When I used it for the first time with compressed air it began to perform like I wanted it too, Unfortunately I only had one compressed air tank and that lasted me only about 600 rounds which I think was from my remote leaking. So I ended up using my spider VS1 for the rest of the day running it on CO2.

during the time i did use the gun it performed pretty well even know it was 35 degrees outside with snow. The compressed air did the trick but I'm going to have to buy another compressed air tank to use it all day because I don't have the option of refilling after every game when I'm in my friends woods.

UPDATE-

Alright, I'm giving the gun a little more credit as I have used it more I have come to trust the gun a bit more. But I still say to give this gun time and don't just jump on buying it. Wait a few months (at least until it gets warmer out if you live in the north-eastern US) give companies time to release upgrades like the stock adaptor plate and double trigger kit that recently came out. I still think I would have preferred something like an
A-5 but This gun will have to do because I'm not ready to go out and buy another gun yet.

UPDATE II-

I just got my gun back from SmartParts after they did some repairs, (great customer service), and the gun seems to be working fine. I would recomend this gun to people just starting out at the sport of paintball or people looking to get a good gun at a low price. After I got the gun back It didnt delay between shots like it was doing before and I am getting a good fire rate out of it, thank you SmartParts
Conclusion: I would have to say don't buy this gun because there aren't enough upgrades for it yet, and unless you are only playing paintball in 90 degree temperatures you better have a good bit of extra money to buy compressed air tanks with because if the temperature is any lower than 90 the gun is just gonna freez up on you with CO2. Plus for 50 more bucks you can get an A-5 which runs fine on CO2 and has more upgrades than just about any gun on the market.

P.S. Yes I know that your not supposed to use CO2 in a Electro Pneumatic, But when Its all over the internet that you can, why use HPA?
Yes I also know that CO2 is bad bad in cold weather, but if it still works in all my other guns, why not this one?
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 12th, 2008 at 7:02 pm PST
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

emg60vw Monday, September 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Shocker, Vibe
Marker Setup: SP1 w/ Brackheart Board & eyes.
Aluminum Freak Back w/ All American 12" front.
68/4500 pure energy HPA tank.
18v Spyder FASTA hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ball Detents
barrel
stick with HPA even though CO2 works
Strengths: Reatively light.
Location of feed
Blackheart
Vision
Weaknesses: Ball detents
No screw in feed neck
Review: First off... this is basically an "Out of the Box Review"
With that being said, the SP1 is an amazing marker. I have played my fair share of both speedball and woodsball, and this is a gun that I would not hesitate using in both playing fields.
Smart Parts has made a sweet product. I had not major issues while playing with the SP1. The blackheart board is an excellent board for the SP1 as well. The vision worked excellent, and didnít chop a single ball, due to the low force bolt and vision. The SP1 shot efficiently, fast, and accurate. Even with the stock barrel. I play a few games with the stock barrel, and then tried out the freak on it. The freak was definitely better but the stock barrel was not much behind the freak.

I wasnít able to get my HPA tank filled in time, so I ended up using a 20oz CO2 tank for the day, and I was amazed at the efficiency of the SP1 of got over 2000 rounds out of that 20oz tank. And what amazed me was when all the others who were using Tippmann 98's and a5, when they were all running out of air, I will still going. When I finally ran out of air, I grabbed one of there tanks that would no longer work on their Tippmanns, and threw it on my SP1 and kept on shooting.

The Blackheart Board and vision are defiantly worth the extra couple bucks, if you are looking to get an SP1. The different modes and options you can do are great. I played most of the day on semi auto, just to be fair, but it still performed well. The ONLY complaint I have with how Smart Parts set up the board, is that there is NO on the fly mode switching (that I know of) to switch firing mode while in the middle of a game. You have to enter the programming mode, switch the firing mode, and then turn the gun back on. But it really isnít a big deal... Other than that, it works GREAT. And the board will cap at 20 bps (when set to it), but I could only achieve 15bps due the fact that my FASTA canít feed any faster, but 15bps was still fast. I would recommend adding a double trigger if you want to use the SP1 allots in the speed ball field. Being able to walk the trigger in nice.

I also really like how the feed is placed. YES... lots of others complain that they canít mount sights or what not because the feed neck in the way, but letís be honest, how accurate are your sights going to be with a paintball? It is more for looks thank anything. Anyways... the vertical feed neck, in my opinion, is in a great spot. The Way Smart Parts designed the bolt and internals allows for the feed neck to be place much closer to the grip, allowing for a shorter gun. I like this more than say tippmanns, because the feed on a tippmann is all the way at the front of the gun, which can throw the balance of the gun off, and then when you add a 12" or 14" barrel, the overall length of the gun is really long. But not on the SP1, where 6" of the barrel is behind the front of the SP1. This is a nice feature because now you can add a 12" or 14" barrel and run an overall shorter gun. The location of the feed neck also makes the SP1 balance out extremely well. I was using the gun one handed with a full hopper with no issue. Where with a tippmann, it will be extremely nose heavy.

The Reg in the Grip is also designed extremely well. This is the feature that allows you to use CO2 and not risk damaging the internals on the SP1. With built in bleed valves to let out any extra pressure in case some liquid CO2 ever got into the gun. This reg also is parts of what makes the SP1 air conservation so great. And it maintains your FPS extremely well.

One other thing I loved about the SP1 was how quiet it was. This gun is extremely quiet. Some of the others in the game said they could hear my hopper motor more than they could the quiet pop that came from my gun. That is a plus for avid woods ball players who want to be stealthy.

The only major complaint I had were the ball detents. They are designed for the base model SP1 without eyes, and a standard or low force hopper. The hopper some times would feed the balls too quickly, and it would push a ball to hard and would slightly move past the detents and out of the eyes sight, so then I would have to turn the eyes off and clear the breach. Only a couple time, the hopper would feed a ball past the eyes, and another into the breach, just above the eyes, and because the low force bolt work so well to keep you from chopping paint, it would just click, so I had to remove the hopper and clear the breach. But I noticed that as the marker broke in, those issues went away. But I am still going to replace the ball detents.
Conclusion: Smart Parts did an amazing job at designing the SP1. And for the same price you would pay for an A5 or 98 custom, you can get the SP1, and in my opinion, you are buying a much better product. I have owed a shocker for a while, and loved it, and i would say that this SP1 is just as good. Even if you dont want to get the SP1 with Blackheart (which i recomend) the base SP1 is still a great gun. I have owed a 98 custom and bt delta, and i think that the SP1 beats them in quality hands down.
And if you are worried that you can really mod the SP1 to look like a military gun, like you can to the tippmanns, dont be. there are many military looking mods available, and more to come.
The reason I rate the SP1 a 9, is becasue there is NO perfect marker, but i feel that it currently is the best woodsball marker out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

priceman3 Saturday, May 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: SmartParts SP-1
16" SmartParts Progressive Barrel
SP-1 Stock Adapter
Model 98 Carstock
Remote Line
Adco Hotshot
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new Barrel
A remote or HPA
Strengths: Light
Compact
Good Price
Accurate
Weaknesses: Not that many upgrades yet
Vertical Feed
Wierd Shroud prevents a lot of barrels
Review: This gun is the best bang for the buck its very reliable,compact, and accurate. the stock barrel it comes with is better then many. This gun is great for front players in woodsball. I wouldnt buy this gun if your the camping type. if you looking fo that go with the 98 custom. i think every backyard woodsball player shuold purchase this gun if they dont have a million dollars.
Conclusion: Read body
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tomongoose Tuesday, February 12th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is my first electro
Marker Setup: I have a 98 with m16 mods a 98 with a red dot sight and a 16 in jnj ceramic and a sterling stp for when i want to go old school
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel but the stock is pretty good. You might want an electric loader, although I have had no problems with out one
Strengths: Cheap, well balanced, hardly any kick
Weaknesses: Ugly, centre feed, lack of a real manual, loose battery
Review: I play woods ball and have always used mechanically markers sometimes I play stealthy and snipe at people some time I charge like mad all day so I wanted a marker to do both with.

I have never played with an electro before so I was really pleased with how quiet this gun was and how little recoil it had. After messing around with the trigger I got it to shoot pretty fast but to me this was not important I have beat players who have had tourney grade electros when playing with a pump, its not about speed its about accuracy.

As soon as I got it I gassed it up, I put some blu tack in by the battery to stop it rattleing and took it to my range I was using some pretty cheap rec paint to start off with and it was ok with it I put 400 rounds through it no breaks but then the battery that came with it died so I swapped that over (the new ones still going after 1000's of rounds) from about 30-40 ft i was placing 50 shots all within a few inches of each. I switched to some draxxus later and it got better. During the day me and my friends put well over 1000 rounds through it with no breaks.

It handles well and feels light, It balances well with an air tank on, you can easily shot it one handed.

so far the only problem is Im not getting many shots of an air can maybe 400 or 500 but I might have it set up wrong (any advice would be appreciated) The manual is rubbish just a little piece of paper with a tiny bit in english on it. Its quiet an ugly looking gun but I bought it to shot not to look at.

The hopper is stuck right in the middle so it balances well but would get in the way of a sight ( but sights are just for show in paintball) i wouldn't bother with aremote or a stock as it handles well any way. Not sure how durable it will be i doubt it will take the beatings my tippy has had but time will tell. The main reason I got this gun is its so cheap.

UPDATE

Having played with it for a few months and played hard its still going great still quiet and accurate. The only down side is that the battery runs out something Im not used to having alwasy played with mechanicals. Still its an awesome little marker. I have got it set up to HPA now and its a bit more efficent and my friend just bought one and his actually had a manual of sorts. It has taken a right beating and still has not been marked
Conclusion: A great all round marker
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 5th, 2008 at 12:26 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Dracolyth Wednesday, March 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing similar to the sp1 but the other markers i have used include
Tippmann 98 custom
and most of the Spyders
Marker Setup: Except for the ion barrel it is bone stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
First and foremost...the barrel. The stock barrel just dont cut it!!!
If your using Co2 i would use a remote line
A piece of cardboard in the battery compartment
A stock of some sort
And just for fun....a blackheart or virtue board
Strengths: THE PRICE!!!
The ability to use Co2 or HPA
Weaknesses: Five min shut down* see below
Review: I would still buy this marker if it cost twice as much!!!
It can be used on Co2 and i do use it on Co2 wthout a remote line, If I stand ontop of a hill and unload a half of a hopper pointing down hill it might get some liquid in the reg on occasion which takes about 10 seconds to self clear and during that time the marker wont fire. That being said if you where to put a remote line on you would be just fine. as far as the 5 min shutdown....i have been hiding in a pile of brush for more than 15 min and when i jumped up to shoot found the marker off....
Conclusion: I would recomend this marker to anyone imho its the best bang for the buck you can get!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gunderson Thursday, January 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98
A5
Spyder E99
Marker Setup: sp1
Remote Line
View Loader Hoppper
Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Paint it, the black is sooooo boring.
Barrel upgrade.
Stock if your playing in the woods.
Strengths: Select fire.
Extremely Durable.
Easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: Hopper is in the center of the gun.
Can not remove all rails.
Review: I have owned a few guns including tippmann 98, A5, Spyder E99, autococker, stingray, BT4, and now two SP1s. I believe that this is the by far the best marker I have ever owned. I have droped this marker alot, more then anyone should I think, and it keeps kicking. This marker is very easy to maintain, you remove the bolt lube it up and stick it back in, done and done. The videos on the website is what sold me on the SP1 in the first place. I recommend if you are looking for a new very reliable, durable and good marker check out the website and see for yourself. With the SP1 you can choose between semi, three round burst and full auto, that is great for anyone who dosn't really know what they are looking for in a marker cause you can keep up with anyone on the field.
Conclusion: I definitly recommend this marker to a player with experiance or somone just starting out. I would love to see more fields getting rid of the 98s as rentals and change to the SP1s.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

westdakota Tuesday, April 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts vibe. Good gun but i'd recomend the SP-1.
Marker Setup: I use the SP-1, I also have a RAM combat pistol.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recomend a stock and a longer barrol.
Strengths: Easy to use.
Weaknesses: Runs on baterie
Review: A nice gun you can use it for up close action or in long range. IT has three firing modes semi-auto, 3 round burst, and full auto that fires 11bps. The gun never has problems so if you don't want to have to waste your time trying to fix your gun this is for you.
Conclusion: You will be suprised on how great this cheat gun is.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Irlectrician Saturday, March 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98, A-5
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP-1, Bone Stock.
Strengths: Inexpensive
Weaknesses: Many Flaws, Finicky
Review: I bought this gun and wish I hadn't. After getting it out of the box and airing it up I had to fix the airline running into the regulator, as it leaked like a sieve. I unscrewed it, put teflon tape on it and put it back together, thankfully it worked. The marker works well when it works but there are quite a few quirks. Screws in the grip can jam the trigger if they are tightened too much. I also had a problem where when I unscrewed the bolt to apply a coat of Sl33k, much to my dismay there was a small fitting in the gun where air enters the chamber that had cut grooves into the bolt sleeve leaving metal filings and basically wrecking the bolt sleeve... another problem. I could send the gun back to SP but then I have to pay shipping To and From the factory just to get the gun into the shape that it should have been in when I originally purchased it.. hardly something that I should pay for. It also likes fresh batteries. Sometimes while you are playing and it seems like the gun is shooting intermittently or 'freezing' a fresh battery should get things rolling again! It's really a gun that you have to get to know.
Conclusion: I probably got a lemon but I have heard that others have had some problems with them as well. I have a friend with an SP1 as well and he's had 2/3 of the problems I've had too. I guess it's an ok gun for the price but it seems that there are bugs to work out. You really have to work on this gun quite a bit, more than any other I've had before.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

spikespaintball Monday, March 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ION, EOS, and Epiphiny
Marker Setup: Smart parts sp-1, Eveloution 3 loader, basic steelie tank, Freak kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak barrel, Select fire (free), electronic loader, blackheart if you want faster firing.
Strengths: very rarely chops paint, BOB, Accurate, great in rain.
Weaknesses: Non-upgradeable feedneck, slow ROF, barrel is too short.
Review: I first got the gun last year and went to sgt. splatters paintball to try it out, I got to the chrony and the field limit was 230, after a little adjusting i got, 228, 225, 229, 231, and 230. I have never gotten a string that good from any out of the box gun, but with it broken in it got slowly better. As for on the field play, it was fairly accurate out of the box and got better as it got broken in, and when I got a freak kit on it it was amzing. When I played in rain and everyone was spiking the sp-1 was almost as good as when your inside. It ia a fairly compact but not having a double trigger slows your rate of fire on semi.


Conclusion: Overall a great gun for a starter player that is looking to get a great gun for a very low price, only $150. with a few upgrades it will preform almost the same as an ION.

nothings perfect so I will give this gun a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media