paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tacamo Tacamo Hopper / Tacamo Tacamo Hopper / Tacamo Tacamo Hopper

Tacamo Tacamo Hopper Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tacamo

Buy Tacamo Tacamo Hopper

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tacamo Tacamo Hopper
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 21
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $10

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This hopper can feed up to 11.6 BPS . No batteries to go dead, No electronics to go bad, No motor to burn out & No noise! This hopper works with dual feed ramps inside the hopper allowing the paintballs to feed into your marker without any down-pressure from the paintballs above, this also doubles the "catch area. Unique "Triple Secure Lock" lid Archon has incorporated into this hopper design. This is a new hopper lid design that latches on 3 sides for a much better seal.
Product Availability 
The Tacamo Tacamo Hopper is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
redneck_76 Saturday, November 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200
Extreme Rage
Ricochet AK Rhino
Marker Setup: Tippmann pro carbine
32 degrees expansion chamber
20inch J&J ceramic barrel
Archon Tacamo hopper

This is my marker. There are many like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my marker is nothing. Without my marker, I am nothing.
Strengths: No batteries
Durable
Secure lid
Cheap
Fastest gravity fed hopper I've ever seen
Weaknesses: Hard to find, only available on a few websites. Have never seen in store
Review: First of all, I only play woodsball so I don't really care about high rate of fire in a gun or hopper. Plus where I play when batteries go dead it is a 45min drive to the nearest mini-mart to get new ones. I'm not made of money so I try to shoot as little paint as possible, after all if you buy decent paint it costs about $.03 per shoot depending on how much you drop on the ground while filling your hopper. My pro-carbine has a supper low rate of fire but even standard gravity fed hoppers would jam up leading to chops and misfires. My brother even said I should get something other then the VL200 I was using cause he could hear the misfires and me shaking my gun from across the field. I came across this hopper on Ebay. It boasted all about how great it was 11.6 rounds per second, but what caught my attention was it said no more misfeeds. It is designed to use the blow back gases that are expelled thru the feed neck to agitate the paint as an electric hopper would. I did not want to pay $10.00 for shipping from Ebay so I found the same hopper from I&Isports.com with much cheaper shipping. I bought two just for testing and was blown away by the performance. Not a single misfire or chop all day and I shot about 2000 rounds. The channel design not only holds about 10 shots coming from two different directions but it also keeps the weight of all the other paintballs off the feed funnel. Even if one side jams the other side is feeding and you have ten shots worth of blow back gases to agitate the paint and clear the jam before a misfire. If you want to test how it might work on you gun, take your hopper off a put a couple rounds in feed neck, once you pull the trigger the paint should fly out of the feed neck. If it does not fly out, this hopper might not work as well for you. I was so impressed I sold all of my other hoppers, gravity feed and electric then bought six of these that I use not only on my pro-carbine but also the other five guns I have. I cannot verify 11.6 r.p.s. but my e-rex shoots about eight on full auto and this hopper can easily keep up.
Conclusion: Can’t beat the performance for the money and simplicity. Spend the four bucks and try it yourself. Even if this wont be your primary hopper it makes a great backup.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 22nd, 2008 at 8:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bvdave Friday, January 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
vl 200
revvy
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
New right Side receiver (rt upgrade)
TACAMO Sight Rail
TACAMO Car Stock
TACAMO M16 Shroud
TACAMO Magwell
TACAMO 20rd Steel Mag
TechT Vortex Cyclone Mod
TechT Lightning Rod Cyclone mod
TechT Squishy Paddles
X-7 ported Cylinder
new style sear
Apex Barrel tip on J&J barrel (inside tacamo m16 shroud)
Black Braided hose with Quick Disconnect from Toombstone (remote style)
Unknown Drop Forward and ASA
CP bottomline mounting block for Drop
Palmers Stabilizer to remote (quick disconnect)
Polished Internals
Strengths: No jamming with blowback marker, very fast, never need to shake, less hopper breaks!
Weaknesses: None
Review: I got this hopper in 2006 because it sounded interesting and i like to avoid anything electronic whenever possible in paintball. I was getting tired of my custom pro needing to be shook to get the balls down the hopper.

Once I got this hopper i never had to shake at all, not once, I have heard of people getting jams and break with cheep seconds but then what do you expect with seconds covered in paint from a broken ball in the bag, if they stick together i dont care what hopper you use. anyways I never tested this over a chrono with an electronic marker so the best I coudl verify was 7BPS with no shaking needed and no misfires, but it handled it very easily so I dont double 11 bps for a second. since the design takes all the weight of the paintballs off the tube I can see how paintballs would load very quick, its a great design and i love teh self agitation. the reason it wont work on mechanical cockers for example is because there is no blowback moving up the hopper neck to self agitate, so you will need to shake every now and then, it will still however work MUCH better on a cocker then a vl 200 or anything else on the market thats not electronic.

Also the hopper lid is on very tight (improved a bit since they were archon and zap branded) you wil never spill your paint out the hopper as long as you have the lid secured on all 3 sides!

I was so happy with the hopper I outfittied all my rental gear at my field with these hoppers, I dont have to clean hoppers nearly as often since teh change, people have less breaks and chops so marker mantinence has also dropped conciderably, now my most time consuming mantinence is cleaning off spray, almost never internal problems. (I use bt-4 on my field as rentals)
Conclusion: Awesome hopper! works fantastic, id take it over any grav hopper any day of the week, there is nothing a vl 200 can do that this cant do better!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dudeofpaint Saturday, December 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200- Other similar gravity fed hoppers
Marker Setup: Totally upgrading Spyder Sonix Pro
- Electronic trigger
- 16 inch spyder sniper quiet barrel
- custom drop forward to fit my shoulder
- Maddog low-rise feedneck
- ACS Delrin Bolt

What I am getting for it:
- LP Setup
- remote coil
- new hopper, don't know what yet
- internals (bolt, springs, etc.)
Strengths: Speed for a gravity hopper
It's looks
Sturdily built
Weaknesses: Jams a lot, see review.
Review: I got this from eBay for a total of $12, so no matter what It did, I wouldn't waste that much money.

I was attracted to the ad, which was claiming 11.6 BPS. For a gravity hopper, that would be phenomenal, but, it doesn't quite get that fast.

First of all, the hopper does feed adequately, about 9-10 BPS. For a gravity hopper to do that is really good, but not what I expected. For my use (hardcore woods playing), this was ideal because it gave me some speed, with no batteries or noise, a big plus. However, the hopper does jam frequently. It is still better than all other gravity hoppers, but has its share of jams. But if you run, slide, or do whatever, that jam will clear very soon. That wasn't a very big problem for me. Also, the hopper's construction was good. It is made pretty well, very hard black plastic with a 1-point-seal lid, as opposed to the advertised 3. In my hopper, and this may just be a isolated defect, there is a large gap inside the hopper, splitting the two feed ramps down the middle (about 1/4 inch). It didn't affect the performance, but I am wondering if all of the hoppers are like that.
Conclusion: Overall, you can't go wrong with this hopper. If you are just a woodsball player, this would be ideal. However, I would not try it with any markers that shoot over 15 BPS, obviously.

A very good hopper for the price.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 30th, 2008 at 3:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Widow Maker Wednesday, December 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Reloader 2, cyclone feed, Turbo loader, Revy, Eggy, Halo.
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat with a Palmer Stab, Apex tip, Empire Reloader 2, and remote line running on CO2.
Strengths: NO BATTERIES !!! Made out of thick heavy plastic. Lid snaps shut tight. Good capacity.
Weaknesses: Well, I haven't found any weaknesses yet.
Review: I've been playing paintball for 20 years. I've always liked very basic marker set-ups. That's why I use a BT-4 Combat with a stock mech trigger. Even with a low end blow back you need a positive feeding loader. Nobody likes a misfire when you finally get that sweet shot you been waiting for all day. I'm always looking for a better loader option.

Even though I was VERY sceptical about the Archon hopper I went a head and bought one just because they are so affordable. I just went out back and tested this hopper out. I shot 6 hopper fulls of paint as fast as I could pull the trigger. To my amazement this thing actually works. I can't believe it. At my fastest I can probably shoot 6 BPS and it never misfired, not once.

I think most people that say it doesn't work aren't using it as it was designed to be used. I'm not sure it would actually feed the 11 BPS as advertised but it can be a great laoder if you follow these criteria.

1. Use it on a blow back marker.
2. The marker should have blow back pressure going up the feed neck with each shot.
3. The marker should have good recoil which will shake the hopper a bit.
4. Do not over fill the hopper.
5. Use quality paint that's nice and round with no paint residue on the balls.
6. The lid will shut VERY tight but you have to make sure it snaps down completely.
7. I recommend using it with a stock mechanical trigger at 8 BPS or less.

Don't expect miracles and I think you'll be VERY pleased with this hopper.
Conclusion: If you use a low end blow back marker with a stock mech trigger I recommend giving this hopper a try. It's very low cost and works fine for me. For a simple gravity feed hopper with no electronics it works great.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 3rd, 2009 at 1:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unitus77 Thursday, October 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Normal gravity hopper, Spyder Fasta 18v
Marker Setup: Spyder RSX, Fasta 18v loader, 16' J&J full tilt barrel, crossfire nitro tank
Strengths: -Light
-No batteries
- Quiet
Weaknesses: -Still have to shake
- Not very consistent
Review: Ive been using this hopper for awhile. Its pretty good for woods ball because i don't like bringing my agitated hopper into the woods. Ive had pretty good success with this hopper but it doesn't work all that much better than a normal gravity hopper. still gotta shake it to get it going every know and then. But when i do its very fast. Its pretty much the same price as a normal gravity hopper so i would definitely go for this one instead.
Conclusion: Better than a normal gravity hopper but it your expecting it to replace your agitated hopper don't. If you want a good hopper spend the extra money to buy a agitated one.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wellstig1 Thursday, August 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200
PMI
Evo 2
VLocity Jr
Marker Setup: Black Magic Autococker
Eclipse E1
Dye ultralite barrel
CP ASA
Nexus ram
2x eclipse qev's
Guerilla air 68/4500
Strengths: Different
Price ($5)
Durable
No Noise
No batteries
Weaknesses: Not a forcefeed
Review: Have played 15-20 matches with this loader. This loader works great on my black magic very well for a gravity loader. Cant be beat for the price. Does jam once in a while but i don't mark it down for that being that it is a gravity loader, you cant compare apples to oranges. Was able to hit 10-11 bps on my marker. Wont make tons of noise once your empty letting people know where you are as with an electro. Its fun to watch peoples faces at the range when they see how fast you are firing with a standard hopper. I cant help but grin.
Conclusion: If you don't feel like spending $70+ for a decent reliable electric hopper, this is for you. Best gravity loader hands down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thisisnotatoy Wednesday, October 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL200 - Personally, I like the shape of the Archon Tacamo better. The Archon hopper also feeds a bit quicker
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, or 98 Custom Pro A.C.T. w/ the Archon hopper,
48/3000 compressed air,
Tippmann Werks 12" barrel or J&J Ceramic
Strengths: durable plastic, feeds faster than VL200, better looking than (sausage-shaped) VL200, in my opinion
Weaknesses: Nothing other than being limited by gravity
Review: I think that this is one of the best gravity-fed hoppers you can buy. I am skeptical of the manufacturer's claimed 11 bps feed rate, but it does channel the paintballs into two separate "tunnels" away from the other paintballs, which helps it feed a little bit faster than regular gravity fed hoppers, and there is a plastic covering separating the balls in the feed tube from the rest of the paintballs in the hopper (it's kinda hard to describe -- you have to see inside the hopper to know what I'm talking about)....so, this is good for blowback markers.

The hopper is made of plastic, but it seems pretty durable - more so that that of the VL200, for instance.

Also, it's got a nicer design (shape) to it than the VL200
Conclusion: I would recommend this product if you want something different than all of the VL200s you see, and if you want a grav.-fed hopper that feeds a little bit faster. Personally, as I mentioned above, I doubt that it feeds 11.6 bps or whatever the manufacturer claims, but if you have a low-end mechanical gun or just don't want a motorized hopper, then this is a good choice.

Overall, it's great for a gravity-fed hopper - won't get you the bps of a motorized hopper, but good for what it is.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DC_Huskie Saturday, May 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Tippmann model 98
BT Apex barrel
Archon Tacamo Hopper
Double trigger
AVI Remote
Pure energy 20OZ CO2 tank
Strengths: Wonderful lid
Weaknesses: Large
Occasional feed problem
Review: I purchased this hopper at my local store. The next day I went out paintballing with it. :-)
When I first went out, I was walking to the field and the hopper fell out because I hadn't tightened my feed neck to the hopper...ROOKIE MISTAKE
I tightened it right then, and had no more problems. As I began playing, I started considering how cool the hopper was, feeding in from both sides. But as I was considering this, the hopper stopped transporting paint. I tipped it forward and fixed it in half a second. But the next 3 hours went by without a blip. Really great hopper, and it kept up very well with my rate of fire.
Conclusion: If you aren't satisfied with your current gravity feed hopper and don't want to buy an electric one, get this one. It will most likely best the grav hopper you have.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 5th, 2009 at 8:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blecter Tuesday, April 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Standard gravity feed hoppers.
Marker Setup: BT Delta
- Egrip
- Tacamo Archon Gravity Feed Hopper
- Flasc Barrel System
- 20 oz CO2
Strengths: Feed rate (for a gravity fed).
Price.
Weaknesses: Well, it's a gravity feed hopper. It can only feed so fast.
Review: This hopper is a great hopper for anyone who likes to use semi-auto modes or low-rate auto/ramping. I received it as part of a marker package (BT Delta) and used it with my stock mechanical trigger for a while, then upgraded to a BT E-Grip.

My experience with this hopper has been good for the most part. When using my mechanical trigger I am unable to out shoot the capability of this hopper, although with the e-grip it is a slightly different story. Currently I run my e-grip in 10 BPS full auto, and this hopper keeps up without a hitch. Things begin to get messy when firing higher though, but that is to be expected because it is advertised at only feeding about 11.6 BPS.
Conclusion: Overall this is a good hopper for someone who is just starting to play, or who wants to stay with a non-electronic hopper. It rarely misses a beat when in operation, so there is less of the "shake and shoot" action going on. Good hopper overall.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 28th, 2009 at 1:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kokoklownanr Monday, April 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Revolution-about the same
Winchester 50 round drum hopper-same
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro-Lite
Winchester 50 Round Hopper-Tacamo hopper
48/3000 HPA tank
12 inch Lapco Bigshot .690 with APEX tip
Strengths: Fast
No batteries to go dead
Good firm lid secure latches
Good price
Weaknesses: Ugly
Boxy
cheaply made?
Review: Well, all of my friends have one of these, and they work well on there Tippmanns so i figured it will work well for me too. So i broke my piggy bank got 5 bucks and went to my local paintball shop and bought one, i was amazed with it when i got home and tried it, i even put a video of it on Youtube, im not sure if it feeds 11.6 bps but i know it feeds at least 9 bps that is good enough for me and my old Tippmann, so i will gladly give a 9/10, because nothing is perfect
Conclusion: Buy this you wont be dissapointed
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media