paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG

Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto SLG
[ View Photos (45) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Proto SLG includes patented Spool Valve Technology, which allows the gun to operate more consistently at a lower
operating pressure, giving you 1500 shots on a 68/4500-air tank. In addition, the new multifunction, self-lubricating Force Button allows clearing the bolt without tools, acts as a cocking mechanism, and prevents unsafe disassembly of the marker when gassed up. The SLG comes standard with the new Hyper3 In-Line Air Regulator featuring higher flow, more consistency, and smoother velocity adjustment. Regular maintenance and cleaning are easy with one-tool-one-screw bolt breakdown. The Proto SLG consists of solid construction using a hardened steel sear, aluminum body and bolt, and a reinforced polymer frame and trigger. All this adds up to a tournament grade package you can afford.


Features:

No Rise pressure feed neck
Single piece proto barrel
Anti chop break beam eye system
Orbital Rotating Sear - reduces wear
Compact lightweight body weighing only 2 lbs. 2 oz!
Stamped metal insert logo
Self closing valve 2 piece bolt
Multifunction self lubricating force button
Super low 145psi operating pressure
Adjustable reinforced polymer trigger
Ergonomic 45 grip frame
Hyper3 inline air regulator
Proto dual durometer injection sticky grip
Program with four tournament modes
Proto bottomline with dovetail
Product Availability 
The Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
gangsteyoda5 Thursday, November 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing i can really think
Marker Setup: proto slg stiffi barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck
new barrel ( personal opinion)
trigger (not necessary)
Strengths: Speed
Low pressure
Easy programming
Small
Weaknesses: trigger
Feedneck
No upgrades that i know of
Review: i wanted to get an slg as my first high end electro. so i went to my pro shop to check it out and maybe try to get a deal. while i was looking for the rail i came across the slg. this first thing that caught my eye was its small body (smaller than the rail) then i saw the price. I was shocked that the gun was only 249.99. so i asked the dude to test out the rail and the slg and i really couldn't see a big difference between the two

i purchased the slg and took it home. i went home and tried to fit my loader into the feed neck. the o ring accidentally fell off so i ended up taping my hopper neck and i just jammed it in there. i gassed it up and took some shots outside. it seemed fast and it was light i really liked it.

this gun does have the sear tripper like a spyder but trust me a spyder or an ion don't even compare. This thing definetly matches the rail.

i recently played with it it on the field this thing doesnt tnot let you down it also impresses alot of players on the field this thing is fantastic


Edit: Gun Has alot of kick and the asa blows the front just blew off on me also it gets loose alot (asa to the rail on the gun)i reccomend getting the rail its the same price now
Conclusion: This gun is great if you want to buy a first electric or switch from an ion or a spyder
but get the rail less kick better quality same pruce
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 24th, 2008 at 12:16 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jon_doe48 Wednesday, August 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR
PM6
PM7
EGO Etek
06 Ego
Marker Setup: 07 Macdev Cyborg w/ PBK Saber Delrin Trigger
06 ego w/ dark frame
violent trigger
M7 tadao board
warped sportz titanium rammer
CP on/off
KAPP drop forward
68/4500 pmi tank
dye rhino cover
14" Stiffi switch kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Feed Neck
New Trigger
New Back Cap
New Delrin Bolt
Strengths: Great on air
Light
Well balanced
Accurate
Quiet
Weaknesses: Stock parts don't do it justice
Review: I purchased the SLG back in February and have had a few problems with it. Turns out that the one I got was a lemon. The barrier ring got shredded about 9 times in a 3 month period. Every time Iíd use the gun, Iíd have to replace it. Tech support was a little difficult to get a hold of at first, but when I was able to talk to one of the techs, it was cake after that. I sent it in and had all of the internals replaced for free. Now, itís one of the better performing guns, at $200 bucks, that Iíve ever owned. I get about 2,000 shots off of a 68/4500 tank. I even upgraded and got a New Designz trigger, feedneck, and back cap as well as the virtue dip switch. Best upgrades I couldíve put on it. Definitely a gun worth buying.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone. Whether youíre playing woodsball or tournament, this is the gun for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

incrediblebulk5 Tuesday, August 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion(slg is better)
invert mini(slg is better)
eos and epiphany(slg is still better)
fusion(slg is better)
Marker Setup: proto slg, 48/3000 hpa, VLocity Select Force hopper, CP feedneck,and redz pepper stick barrel kitl
Recommended
Upgrades:
q-lock feedneck and a new barrel
Strengths: Light
Small
Fast
Consistent
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Barrel
The reg is small and kind of weird to hold
Review: i hav just put 4.5 cases through it and now feel it is ready for a fair review. out of the box this gun is easily noted as light and tight but u will also notice the two o-ring feedneck. i haven't found anything out of 6 hoppers to fit in it so i just took out the o-rings and wedged a peice of cardboard in between the hopper and the feedneck. But for performance wen all stock is is easy to adjust everything on the gun(velocity, bps cap, and trigger resistance as well as bolt dwell) from about 75 ft i good shoot accurately stock but with a new barrel i was able to shoot 120-145 ft. i was ferry impressed with how tight the groupings were(for a stock barrel) but their was still room for improvement.

9/11 I've now got the redz pepper stick barrel kit for the gun and put 1.5 cases more through the gun and i have had 0 problems with it and with a good bore size match you can easily take out people from across the airball feild. Also you get used to the feel of the hyper 3 reg

11/2 I got a feedneck and a vlocity select force and this baby RIPS!!! I played a round of speedball to start the day and out of gate speed was unbelievable. I took out two guys just laning along the snake. With a good hopper, barrel, feedneck and oh ya the feather lite micro switch(very easy trigger pull) It destroys all guns in its class, and may just run with the heavy hitters( barely).
Conclusion: I would recommend this to anybody with a tight budget who wants to get in the sport or get a entry level tourny gun or a great woodsball gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 2nd, 2008 at 9:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

themccannman Sunday, July 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmanA5A2
etek ego8
bob long rapper
Marker Setup: proto slg
eVLution 3 motorized hopper
56/4500 invert tank with cover
bob long barrel kit
cp clamping feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feed neck (definetley)
new barrel
new trigger
Strengths: Comfortable
Accurate
High bps
one of the smallest markers on the market
Weaknesses: Feedneck
new barrel
Review: this is a dye product so it is high quality but that also means it has about 10 billion o-rings in it so it needs regular maintenance. I ordered this gun off a website that was offering it for only $200.00 and with a free olive green switch EL mask(which i am very pleased with). I spent more than 2 months researching it and after a long time finally bought it. when i first pulled it out of the box i loved it. I didn't get to use it until that weekend because my air tank wasn't pressurized. when i first gassed it up it shot amazingly well. every shot was dead on target and the paint was flying perfectly straight and flat. i have been using using this marker for some time now and had some memorable moments that might not have happened with a different marker such as a beutiful run-through to win a game. I suggest this marker to anyone on a tight budget looking for a tournament grade marker.
Conclusion: This is an excellent marker that comes with a good mask. you can now buy it for almost $100.00 less than the rail and with $100.00 worth of upgrades it will be better than a rail. it needs maintenance becauses of being made by dye.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 27th, 2008 at 5:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Eagle-eyePB13 Friday, January 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Ion (Similar performance)
-Many Spyders (Can't Compare)
Marker Setup: PRIMARY
-Proto Matrix SLG 2008
-Pure Energy 68ci/4500psi HPA
-Viewloader Evolution 3

BACKUP
-Spyder Imagine LED 2005
-Pure Energy 68ci/4500psi HPA
-14" smart parts progressive barrel
-Viewloader Evolution 3
-Dye sticky 3 grips
-Scenariodreams VerC T-board
-trinity t-lock feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck
Strengths: -Small
-Light
-Cheap
-Consistent
-Accurate
Weaknesses: -Poor feed neck design.
Review: I'd have to say the SLG is the best gun on the market for under $300. When I opened the box the first thing I noticed was how small it is. The SLG is tiny compared to most guns I've seen. It's very compact, easy to use, and light weight. It's listed at 2.2 lbs but I don't think it is even that heavy.

The SLG is very fast as well. The manual says it can reach up to 30bps. It is just as fast as any high-end gun out there and you'll never be out gunned. Another great feature is the new Hyper3 Reg. I've so far put more than 4000 shots through it and every one has been within +/- 5fps of one another.

The one bad thing about the SLG is the stock feed neck. I'm not sure what Dye was thinking when they designed it. You are supposed to push your hopper in and two o-rings hold it in. Well, because it is too small, when I pushed my hopper in it pushed the top o-ring out. By the way it is nearly impossible to get the o-ring back in.

Well back to the good things about the SLG. The stock barrel is surprisingly accurate. After using it I see no reason for replacing it unless you just like a longer barrel. Good player should have no problem gunning down opponents with the stock barrel.

I can't explain quite how the bolt works as well as the manual. Some say it's like a spyder which it is, but it is also somewhat different. It Is made by Dye so I'm sure it is reliable.
Conclusion: I highly recommend the SLG to anyone into paintball at any skill level. The same performance expected from every proto for only $250. Just remember to have about $30 on hand for a new feed neck. I give this gun about a 9.5 which rounds to a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bradthelegend Tuesday, October 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Impulse (not as user friendly)
Diablo Wrath LTD (not the most reliable)
Dye DM4 (comparable)
Marker Setup: Proto SLG with upgrades
Smart Parts All-American 2-Piece 14in Barrel
Halo B or Viewloader Revolution 12v
Pure Energy 68ci 4500psi Tank w/ Crossfire Reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Trigger
On/Off ASA, but only if you really want it
Barrel, but the stock is above average, and it's medium length is good for speedball
Strengths: Speed
Air Efficiency
Accuracy
Weight
Affordability
Looks
User Interface
Safety features
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Trigger
Hoses (only on certain guns)
Electronics (not on every gun)
Review: I got this gun after shopping around for a good, affordable, fast electronic marker. I was happy to find a very small, very nice looking, and nicely packaged marker. However, I did encounter one small problem: my gun wouldn't turn on. I'm sure it's just faulty electronics on my gun, but it takes several presses of the On/Off button to make the gun turn on or off. I'm in the process of sending it to Dye for repairs. Back to my review.

Features
The gun is nice beyond words, for the price of $200. It will shoot as fast as you can pull the trigger; but you might want to replace the trigger. The stock trigger is plastic and feels clumsy. It feels light, but not fast. I chose to replace it with a similar, thin silver metal trigger, made by Dye. It gives the gun a much better feel and a sleeker look. Another thing you might consider replacing is the feedneck. While it can hold some loaders snuggly, it really only holds one size loader. Just get a clamping feedneck, for security and flexibility.

Electronics
The electronics are simple, if you use the instruction manual, and can set the gun up for a multitude of scenarios, such as tournaments with BPS regulations, PSP and NXL mode, and sensitivity adjustments. My particular gun has an issue with the power switch, but this doesn't seem to be a common problem. Overall, the grip controls are simple: one button for power, one button for the eyes. The electronics can only be adjusted from inside of the grip, so you should have no problem using this gun in a tournament.

Inside
The eyes work well. So far I've only had one noticable ball chop, and it was a freak accident in which the ball got sucked into the bolt, jamming the entire gun, but it was easily fixed. The spool valve is easy to clean and remarkably efficient. Dye claims that it takes a few thousand shots to fully break in the regulator, though. The gun is also very quiet.

Ergonomics
The grip frame has plenty of room for walking with gloved fingers. The buttons are also easily depressed when wearing gloves. The trigger is easily adjustable. Sticky grips come stock and are a nice feature. The front grip/regulator is small and comfortable to hold, however the hose length requires you to turn it to one side, causing it to stick out. This can be remedied by trimming the hose, but hasn't been much of an issue for me. The short, 1-piece barrel is decently accurate, and helps you tuck in when playing speedball, but I would recommend upgrading. I use a Smart Parts All-American, and it works very well with the marker.
Conclusion: This gun is great. It has shot fine with just about any type of paint. As long as you use the eyes, and a loader that can keep up with your rate of fire, you shouldn't have any problems with chopping. This gun is faster, lighter, more accurate, and more efficient than comparably priced guns. It shoots great right out of the box, and, barrels aside, you can perform all "necessary" upgrades for under $100.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ilovemypm8 Wednesday, December 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
invert mini, pm6, pmr.
Marker Setup: proto SLG
Pm8
vlocity jr
dxs 48/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck, asa, trigger, barrel.
Strengths: sleek, REALLY small, REALLY light, fast.
Weaknesses: feedneck
ASA
trigger
Review: When i first got this gun i was SUPER excited, i even opened it on the drive home from the paintball store i go to. I first noticed this thing is very very light and very very sleek and has a cool look to it. So i went home gased it up and shot it in my backyard. It had NO kick but was pretty loud but who really cares this is paintball you dont play in a library. It was slow but that was just the trigger, if u get a new one it shoots awesome i had to buy a new feedneck the second day i had it because the feedneck is garbage, literally.
Conclusion: overall this is a good gun and it has alot of bang for ur buck ,i mean ALOT. So if ur a low budget paintball player look no farther youve found ur gun, hope this was helpful.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

20/20eyeguy Thursday, October 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dioblo mongoose (it was a jock)
Smartparts (not nearly as nice)
Marker Setup: Stock Proto SLG
Veiwloader Evolutions 2
CP clamping feed neck
Smart Parts Freak Jr.
Carlton/Crossfire 88/3000 carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A NEW FEED NECK AND A LONGER BAREL after that you are redy to rock and roll
Strengths: Light
$200
Bolt out back
Quiet
button keeps things safe
high quality parts
Weaknesses: The feed neck sucks.
Review: I used to us a Smart Parts Ephiphany before I bought the SLG. So I can testify to how nice the bolt system is on this marker. For those of you new to paintball the SLG has what is known Bolt out Back. this means that you unscrew the back of the marker and then just pull your bolt out with it. If you don't have this you will be spending the next 6 minutes disasimbaling your Marker to clean it.

This marker is phenomanly light is ways 1 pound 14 ounzes.

The stock barrel is verry well made but lacks something major on acriacy. I am a fan of the Freak Jr. from my days with an Epifhany.

A lot of people will complain that you triger is bad. all you have to do is slightly cut down the spring. You will have to slowly cut down and each time see if the triger feals the way you like it. If you do this you can save your microswitch

The button on the back of the bolt cap makes it imposible to take it out when the marker is gassed up. This pervents The back cap from becoming a rocket. Personaly I don't know why Dye does put this on all it's markers.

If you want a marker with some high quality parts for really low price The SLG is the marker for you. The SLG comes with the Hyper 3 regulator. This this the same regulator that that comes onf Dye's Matrix serius witch are a thousand pluse dollars. Also The SLG has the same board as the Matrix serious markers.

You really need to make sure the marker is well lubed.
Conclusion: I really like the SLG and It is the best marker fot the price out there.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 26th, 2008 at 8:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KoRo5u5oo Saturday, March 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
Freak barrel kit w/ All American front
Vlocity loader w/ virtue vlocity chip
Redz Cam lock feedneck
Hybrid On/Off ASA
New Designz Slik Roller Trigger
Virtue Lite Microswitch
68ci 4500PSI Crossfire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck
On/off ASA
Strengths: Price
Air efficiency
Weaknesses: Bit loud
Has a decent kick to it
Review: The SLG is a very nice gun for it's price tag.

It shoots fast. (settings go as far as 30 bps, and i believe the gun is capable of cycling at 30bps, but when you try shooting that fast, you get a lot of chops, probably due to cheap eyes/board), but it can do 20/25 bps easy without chops, and nobody really needs more than that.

Air efficiency, the 145 psi operating pressure is a nice feature. You can get 1500 shots off a 68ci 4500 psi fill, but the low operating pressure lets you shoot even if your tank is really low. One game I was confused as to why my marker was shooting lousy, the first shot was fine, but when i shot ropes, I would get drop off. After the game I noticed my tank's pressure was down to about 150 psi.

As long as the eyes are on, and your rate of fire is reasonable, this gun doesn't chop.

The stock feedneck is useless. If you take the top o-ring out, and use some tape, you can get your loader to fit, but it's better to just spend 20$ for a new feedneck.

The trigger is not bad, after some adjustments with the screws, it shoots ok, but it's a bit stiff. If you take the trigger spring out, it's too light. I recommend getting the Virtue microswitch.

The stock barrel isn't bad, but if you want ball on ball accuracy you should upgrade, autococker threads are easy to find.
Conclusion: For those without unlimited funds, this marker is more than adequate. Even as a pro player, this marker has all the features a reasonable player needs.

The marker has all the same basic features as any high end gun, so high end upgrades are easily achieved.

A nice beginners marker that can be upgraded as time passes.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tips000 Wednesday, December 26th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion (slg is way! better)
promaster (slg is still better)
pmr (slg is way! better)
wrath (slg is better)
you get the point!
Marker Setup: SLG
68/3k tank
vlocity jr.
dye ul barrel
SP on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck!
ASA!
trigger (or jut shorten/take out the spring)
Strengths: fast!
Light!
Small!
Not much kick at all!
Quiet!
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck
stock asa
trigger is stiff
barrel can be improved
Review: Ok i got this yesterday and opened it up and it came well organized and it was very beautiful... i put my on/off on and feed neck... i took the bolt out and lubed it up... i screwed in the tank and turned the asa on and it was really loud and i thought wow its either shooting hot or is way too loud...i cronoed and it was really hot from the factory which was weird i thought...it blew an oring out and i had it changed and then it was fine i set it lower and chopped paint...then i realized the eyes were off lol...so i cleaned it once again and it ripped it was quiet and fast and really accurate with my dye ul


great price... get one

i gave it an 8 cuz the stock feedneck sucked really really bad and the asa wasnt great either
Conclusion: Its a geat gun for any level of play shoots just as fast and accurate as shockers and dms
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 26th, 2007 at 6:07 pm PST
I found this review  
15 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media