paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG

Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto SLG
[ View Photos (45) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Proto SLG includes patented Spool Valve Technology, which allows the gun to operate more consistently at a lower
operating pressure, giving you 1500 shots on a 68/4500-air tank. In addition, the new multifunction, self-lubricating Force Button allows clearing the bolt without tools, acts as a cocking mechanism, and prevents unsafe disassembly of the marker when gassed up. The SLG comes standard with the new Hyper3 In-Line Air Regulator featuring higher flow, more consistency, and smoother velocity adjustment. Regular maintenance and cleaning are easy with one-tool-one-screw bolt breakdown. The Proto SLG consists of solid construction using a hardened steel sear, aluminum body and bolt, and a reinforced polymer frame and trigger. All this adds up to a tournament grade package you can afford.


Features:

No Rise pressure feed neck
Single piece proto barrel
Anti chop break beam eye system
Orbital Rotating Sear - reduces wear
Compact lightweight body weighing only 2 lbs. 2 oz!
Stamped metal insert logo
Self closing valve 2 piece bolt
Multifunction self lubricating force button
Super low 145psi operating pressure
Adjustable reinforced polymer trigger
Ergonomic 45 grip frame
Hyper3 inline air regulator
Proto dual durometer injection sticky grip
Program with four tournament modes
Proto bottomline with dovetail
Product Availability 
The Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
MISFIT1313 Monday, March 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None compare
Marker Setup: I just bought it but coming soon is a DXS tank and an evolutionIII
Recommended
Upgrades:
I reccomend that you keep it STOCK!!
Strengths: Trigger
Modes
Feedneck
Bolt
Barrel
Grip
Foregrip
Battery life
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Nothing I love it
Review: I got this gun a few days ago for free, i won it in the award ceremony at a scenario game i love it and the modes are great semi millenium psp nxl they are great and it can shoot up to 30 BPS w00t!! its a great gun and i suggest you buy it also the trigger is very adjustable
this gun is perfect and i HIGHLY reccomend it
Conclusion: Buy IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bloencustoms Friday, June 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Shocker (2nd generation), various Automags
Marker Setup: Empire Timmy
cp bearing trigger
hybrid ram cap
hybrid contract killer grip panels
cp reg
Halo B with Victory Board, Rip Drive, Zenitram delrin drive cone
68/4500 screw-in tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New ASA (drop forward)
Reg adapter to allow you to use any reg you want as a spare
Strengths: Small size
Light weight
Fast shooter
Low Price
Autococker threads
Weaknesses: Plastic grip frame
Plastic feed neck needs tool to tighten.
Review: First, a little background to explain my perspective. I have been playing recreational paintball on and off for almost 20 years now. (I had one of the original "Splatmaster" guns, if that helps date me.)

I was most active in the sport from about 2000-2005.

Then. life and responsibility set in and I had to travel a lot for work. I wasn't able to keep up with technology, etc.

Then, a year or so ago I went to a local paintball shop and figured I'd buy a "current" marker to see what they are like. I brought home an SLG and I am very impressed with it.

Having been accustomed to high-end Autocockers (before WGP sold out), Private label Timmys, Shockers, 2nd generation Angels and Automags, I was surprised at both the small size and small price tag of the SLG.

Upon getting it home and examining it's function, it appeared to be very similar to an E-mag, in that the spool valve is retained by sear pressure, and the sear is tripped via solenoid.

I fortunately had a tank that was still "good" for another couple of months before needing a hydro, so I gassed up the gun and dug out my old Halo hopper. After ripping a hopper full of paint through the marker in my back yard I have come to several conclusions.

1. The SLG is a far better marker than the $1000 - $2000 markers of 6 years ago. My Empire Intimidator was top of the line when it came out, but this SLG is far and away a better marker. I'm not sure about the current crop of Timmys, but I'd put the SLG up against any of the older "top of the line" markers with confidence.

2. I'm not spoiled with the current crop of super markers. I simply have no experience with any of them. The SLG does more, better than the best markers available when I was playing regularly. Unless the top of the line markers have improved dramatically in the last 5 years or so, I'd say the SLG's price-value beats anything produced. If I had one of these little guys back then, I'd have a top of the line tourney marker for the price of a spyder.

3. There is no electropneumatic solenoid valve. Big whoop. There is nothing wrong with a mechanical sear. All real machine guns use sears without issue. There is no compelling reason to over-engineer a gun to include an EPS valve when a sear will yield the same results downrange (lots of paint, quickly).

I was also happy to see that the gun used Autococker threads for the barrel. I had a Stiffi Switch kit lying around from my Timmy, and it fits the SLG, so that was pleasant. The carbon fiber barrel makes the SLG even lighter.

Finally, with age comes wisdom and humility. At 36, I don't care what's "cool" anymore. I don't buy name brand clothes or shoes, and my car isn't a chick magnet. I can look at this marker objectively from a standpoint of "what's it do that my old gear doesn't?"

For me, it does what I expect a modern tournament grade marker to do. Be small, light, fast, attractive and reliable. It does all these things at an entry-level marker price point.


Now for the "bad".

I would like to have seen them use regular ASA threads to attach the reg o the body. This means that you will need to buy an adapter to use any standard regs with the gun. I like to keep a spare reg with me when I play, because it's easier than a complete rebuild in the field. Since I already have a bunch of regs, there is no incentive for me to buy another one. I opted for the adapter.

Also, I'd prefer the grip frame and feed neck be made from metal, rather than polymer. It would increase the weight slightly, but I just like the feel of a metal frame. It's a minor gripe, mostly because I'm old-fashioned.

The stock ASA mounts directly below the grip frame. I'm used to running a drop forward. I had to attach a drop forward and a different ASA in order for the marker to feel "right", but since this is entirely subjective, some players might prefer the stock configuration.

None of these minor gripes should deter you from trying the marker.
Conclusion: This marker is a fraction of the cost of top of the line tournament markers from 5 years ago. It's performance matches or exceeds those out dated tourney markers. Technology has advanced so much in the last 5 years that what was once cutting edge features and performance can be had for entry level prices. I'm very impressed with this marker.

I'm giving it a 10/10 based on value alone. For the price of a good tank and a good hopper, you can get a marker that flat-out rips.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kyballa07 Sunday, October 12th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ions
Shockers
DM5/6/7
Marker Setup: Slg, UL trigger, 14 In one peaice barrel, clamping feedneck, virtue eyes and switch.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck, trigger and switch, eyes, barrel
Strengths: Light
Fast
Great air useage
Stock board is very fast
Weaknesses: Bolt system
Eyes
detents
Review: Ok, this marker is very light, one of the lightest out there. The hyper 3 reg is great with a 68ci 4500 psi tank. when i removed the SLG from the box i couldent believe that it was this light. I added a 14 inch barrel from my autococker and slapped on a feedneck and my halo and went shooting, after about half a hopper the marker wouldent fire, i found out a ball had gotten pinched between the bolt and neck but hadent broke this astounded me, normally they would break like tooth picks but no, i used the purge system Proto added to the bolt system and kept shooting untill it happened again. i contacted proto and they gave me some instructions to remove and replace some orings and now i can almost out run my halo v35, this is the best reg setup i have very had.

im glade that i bought this marker and for only $200 on ebay you cant beat that, this marker beats a ion and even a shocker in my eyes( some believe it to be far fectched) even though proto made a cheap marker it does show though. the grips and trigger feel cheap, plan to buy a new UL trigger and grips(maybe some stinger designs ??) my detents went to crap on me after a case, i contacted proto again and they sent me 2 free pair which havent gone out on me yet.
Conclusion: I would recomend this product to anyone, it may change your mind. Even though the SLG's went through some trial and error with Proto I still love it and couldent hope for any more. Go to your field/shop, test it for a day, buy it or dont, this marker is light, fast and great for anyone to use to improve their own skills.

im giving the marker a 9/10, only because i had small problems with it at the start.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Legacy Rage Friday, October 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Various E and mechan. Spyders- can't compete
Various Cockers- not even close
Ion-close but still owned
Various Tippmanns-can't compete
07 Ego-rofl...$1000 marker vs. $200...
many others
Marker Setup: stock Proto SLG- Black
Evo 2- z board comming soon
N2 P.E. 48/3k tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye Ultralite Trigger frame
barrel-i suggest Dye UL, Dye Boomstick, or Stiffi 16"
Virtue or Hater board
Featherlite solenoid
trigger-CP or NDZ
ASA-CP or NDZ (on/off)
Feedneck-CP or NDZ
Strengths: Fast
Price
accurate
air conservative
Reliable
small
Weaknesses: Small feedneck
Polymer frame and trigger
Bit hard to walk
Review: My first impression wheneve I got it was," Not the nicest box I've ever seen but it is much better than what my tippmann came in. I'll store in here" so I take it out of the box and screw on the barrel. i instantly realized that this was one small marker; the second lighest I've ever held before (the 07 ego being first).

i had already bought batteries for it so i run out to my shed to grab my allen wrench set just to come back and realize it came with a battery and wrench set. So I decide to dig through my box to see what else came with it: Dye lube, spare parts, crappy barrel condom, manual, and A 1 Year Warranty. very nice so far. I open up the grip, pop my battery in, and turn it on. I turn off the eyes and dry fire it for a second and then start adjusting the trigger to my likings. i had this urge to try the other modes, so i open the grip up again and see that it's a DIP switch marker. i quickly found out that I HATE DIP switches; I couldn't figure out how to change modes even with the manuel. so i get on to pbnation and poste my delima on there(I did figure out how to swap modes =p)

One of my friends was having his b- day party that weekend so then was my perfect time to try out my new marker. after them seeing it, they decided to play a 1-on-6 game. i was the 1. they all had Spyder Victors or Spyder Pilots. I ran circles around them. It shot very nicely and I had no breaks using Impact paint. i got about 500 shots of my N2 tank. not the best, but then again the reg isn't worn in just yet. I can't wait to see the damage I'll be able to do with it once it's worn in.
Conclusion: In it's price range, it's number 1. but it can't compete against the very high end markers like Egos, DMs, or Timmies. 10 out of 10 in my book.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cowpow16 Tuesday, May 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pm 07
Pmr
Pm 06
Marker Setup: 48/3000 pure energy tank (steely)
Freak kit
Evo 3 hopper
dye clamping feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
clamping feed since the evo 3 dont fit in stock neck
barrel ur choice i like a freak barrel (just me that dosnt me you have to have have one but it saves money and head aches in the long run
And probobly an on/off just kuz it makes geting the bottle of easier
Strengths: Small
light
fast
inexpensive
see review for more
Weaknesses: Cant adjust the spring for triger push is toohar
Review: Im gonna be honest this is not my gun its my brothers he's just way too lazy to write this review so im doing it i have used this gun a bit too and i love it on to the review

This gun has an awsome price my brother is only 13 so he dosnt have a part time job cuz he's too yung so he does od jobs and saves all the money he can to get this and some other paintball stuff. People said that oh i breakes down and itl be broken or leak when you get it it dose not leak it works great out of the box. so he cleaned it and lubed it after he read the manual witch is extremely helpful and descriptive then we went to test it and brake it in we used zap vapor balls (low grade walmart ones) this gun did an awsome job we only broke one out of the case and that was in the barrel for some reason btw we were using the stock barrel testing guns with low grade paint usualy gives the gist of the gun if it works well with lowgrade paint than it usually dose amazing with good paint. the firing modes are easy to change and the manual describes it very well so evan my mom would be able to change em thats a complement shes not that great with this kind of stuff but the manual is awsome

the down side of this gun is if you consider it a down side is that the feed neck kinda realy sucks it wont fit an evo 3 so he got a clamp for it ( he got one any ways but we just wanted to see if it worked without it it didnt so no big deal) . the grips kinda need a tiny bit of sanding so paint wont come between them and ya. oh and the trigger is adjustable but the stiffness of it isnt bummer but eh
Conclusion: This gun is an awsome price it has the hyper 3 reg decant barrel Light and eassy to take apart and the manual is awsome this is a gun for anyone that dosnt want to spend a lot but wans quality id sugest it to those people
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

svd will Sunday, April 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder mr2 ,spyder sonix
Marker Setup: proto slg , halo v35 and smartparts progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
for the slg i recomend a clamping feed neck and to call proto or dye if you have roll back
Strengths: Fast small and light easy to use board
Weaknesses: Rollback ,feedneck
Review: Its a great gun for new and old players and its small light fast really good for small spaces and squezing around bunkers lol buy this gun.

the good:
small light easy to use and fast

the bad:
feed neck [ doesnt fit the halo hopper i recomend cp clamping feedneck]
roll back [ if you have this problem call dye or proto and they will send you a free bolt ]
Conclusion: I reccomend this to everyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

theprey Tuesday, February 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel, SP Shocker, Automag, AutoCocker, Spyder, Tippman...
Marker Setup: Proto SLG with Kingman Fasta and Pure Energy Nitro Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitro Tank and Electro Hopper
Strengths: Anti-Chop Eye, Light-Weight, Design Simplicity, Nice-Looking
Weaknesses: If I had to complain........Not the lightest trigger in the world, but not bad.
Review: I just got my SLG a few weeks ago. So far, I like it better than any marker I have owned. My Angel was way too bulky and terribly expensive. The features on it were so unnecessary. The 03 Shocker was really nice, but had a few issues whereby the marker would not fire (not my loader). My 68 Automag wasmy baby, but was moody. I wouldn't mind having another 68, though I didn't care too much my RT. The Autococker is accurate, but required a little maintenance. It also wasn't the fastest marker to shoot. Spyders are Spyders. Simple little creatures that work, but nothing fancy. My Tippman was a workhorse. Reliable and accurrate, but slow and difficult to disassemble (rarely needed to dissamble). Now to my Proto SLG. This little effer works! I was kickin ass with a gravity hopper in a game over the weekend. The marker is fast (could be a little bit faster), antichop is flawless, accuracy is more than acceptable, reliable, and its design is sleek. I wish the frame and trigger was aluminum, just for asthetic reasons. The gun comes with a set of wrenches, o-rings, barrel plug..I mean bag. This is a whole-lotta marker for the price. I feel ill paying what I did for the Angel and Shocker.
Conclusion: There are many great paintball guns on the market, but for the low price of $200, you will not be dissatisfied.....I promise!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chevelle77 Sunday, February 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feedneck
Strengths: -Very light
-Low price
-User friendly
-Low maintinence
-Easy to work
Extremely reliable
Weaknesses: -Very small feedneck.
Review: I saw this gun online and was going back and forth between this and the Spyder VS2. I went up to the proshop and held the gun, compared to the VS2. I was amazed at the wieght and I liked the feel. I bought the gun took it home and started it up immediatly and went out and within a minute of getting it out of the box I was firing off shots! i was amazed at how easy it was to work straight out of the box. I read the manual and was also amazed at how easy it was to adjust and get to your liking and how custamizable it was (as far as the settings). I went and played with it with my friend and I found that he had gotten the VS2 and after comparing them I was really glad I had chosen the SLG over the VS2. I was hitting people like crazy which (even at long range) which surprised me considering it only has an 11" barrel. I would recommend this gun to anyone!
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone who wants to have an amazing gun you don't have to put hundreds of dollars of upgrades into to be competitive. For 199.99 (I think they just lowered the price) this gun is amazing and I would not hesitate to get another one!! The SLG is an extremely reliable gun and it's a steal at 199.99 (again I think that is the new price) Get this gun!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nastytyphoon Tuesday, December 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 proto w/virtue,dye ,boblong,angel
Marker Setup: olive green dust system x nme le , ruby red halo-b with ripdrive , empire fuel 72/4500 pis low pressure tank ,12 inch freak barrel stainless steel back 05 all american front, was board included,dye rhino tank cover red/black
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger ,maybe a new board ,barrel kit
Strengths: Dye dependability,price,speed,effiecy
Weaknesses: Trigger,board
Review: I bought the gun about 45 min ago...i went out and shot it the i tweked the gun /board to my liking the shot it again. over all i think many youger players will see the proto slg and be heart set on owning one and the more advaced players will see it as a chance to build up and mode a proto.
Conclusion: If you got 250$ big ones to spare go check out the slg, maybe this gun will slow down the ion fad......
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kyle shew Thursday, February 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ive had an ion xe a spyder vs2
Marker Setup: i have a freak Jr. on it and a virtue board and looking for a new trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
clamping feed neck
new trigger
Strengths: Speed of the gun
The weight
Weaknesses: When you get shooting up to 20-30 balls a second it starts to blowback.
Review: the gun is just amazing. this is my fourth gun and if i just customize a few more things then it might be a decent back up gun to a dm7 or dm8. this gun i traded in for my ion xe because i realized that they where only selling it for 130$ so i went ahead and got it and since then i havent had one regret. this gun is really worth the price and i would compare it to a smart parts NXT shocker or a mini. its just that good. dont listen to all that crap people talk when they say they got a angel or an bob long. its the player that makes the game not the gun.
Conclusion: You got the money buy it you dont then dont play paintball..
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media