paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG

Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto SLG
[ View Photos (45) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Proto SLG includes patented Spool Valve Technology, which allows the gun to operate more consistently at a lower
operating pressure, giving you 1500 shots on a 68/4500-air tank. In addition, the new multifunction, self-lubricating Force Button allows clearing the bolt without tools, acts as a cocking mechanism, and prevents unsafe disassembly of the marker when gassed up. The SLG comes standard with the new Hyper3 In-Line Air Regulator featuring higher flow, more consistency, and smoother velocity adjustment. Regular maintenance and cleaning are easy with one-tool-one-screw bolt breakdown. The Proto SLG consists of solid construction using a hardened steel sear, aluminum body and bolt, and a reinforced polymer frame and trigger. All this adds up to a tournament grade package you can afford.


Features:

No Rise pressure feed neck
Single piece proto barrel
Anti chop break beam eye system
Orbital Rotating Sear - reduces wear
Compact lightweight body weighing only 2 lbs. 2 oz!
Stamped metal insert logo
Self closing valve 2 piece bolt
Multifunction self lubricating force button
Super low 145psi operating pressure
Adjustable reinforced polymer trigger
Ergonomic 45 grip frame
Hyper3 inline air regulator
Proto dual durometer injection sticky grip
Program with four tournament modes
Proto bottomline with dovetail
Product Availability 
The Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
r0zj0k3r Sunday, November 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ion, vibe
Marker Setup: stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck, trigger
Strengths: Ease of use
Accuracy
Simplicity
Weaknesses: Felt a little cheap at first
Feed neck is terrible
Gas hog
Review: I haven't had a lot of experience with this gun, I just got it a fews days ago, but it seems like a good buy for the money. I paid 200 direct fom proto, It is loud and as I said it felt a little cheap at first, but after I took it out and shot it i was more impressed. simple and reliable thus far.

It uses a lot of gas though, the last gun I used I could get away with about 700+ rounds with a 48/3000 tank but this gun requires 68/4500 for any extended use. I get about 400 ball with my current tank. not a big deal just need a little extra money for start up.

I just play rec ball, so that's why I went with this gun and it seems the right path. I can't really say why i didn't go with smart parts, it was really just a coin toss for me, I have heard and seen good things about both. maybe i was wrong... I almost bought the epiphinay for about 50 more.

So far so good though, the feed neck sucks, i had to jimmy rig the hopper I bought to fit in there correctly. Everything else i cant complain about though, decent accuracy, good price, and easy to clean and use, no chops yet, but I haven't put it to the test either.
Conclusion: I like it, not the greatest styling, and I can't say anything about its' competitors, but i would recommend it to any rec baller, total start up for me was about 350.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SplatZoneBorneo Friday, January 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion (it was made to counter the ion domination of cheap high end marker, at least that was we're told by the DYE rep)
Spyder (cant compare)
Marker Setup: Dye DM7
Proto SLG
SP Ion
Epiphany
Electra
MR2
VS1
VS2
VS3
Tippmann 98, A5, eXT, XT, XL
Halo B w Rip Drive w V35
Empire B2
Empire Reloader 2 w sound activated
some Cheap HPA tank 45/3000
Pure energy Fiber HPA 4500/68cu
Pure Energy co2 20z
New Boss Barrel
M16 Barrel and complete kit (A5)



Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck is a MUST! (whats the point of creating a neck which could not fit almost a lot of loader?)
Barrel
Board
better hosing system (2 of our SLG blew off)
Strengths: It appear to be a strong competitor for Ion in term of perfomance
Weaknesses: Please refer to the comment
Review: being on of the first person in Asean to own SLG, we were very excited when the rep from Dye international told us it appear to be one of the best cheap-high-end marker availabe to counter the long-domination by Ion.

I tried the 1st marker and shoot about 1000 pallet ( tournament grade), 1 ball break. suspect it was the eye problem. clean it up and shot another 500, turn out to be fine. the accuracy can compete with Ion.

for a beginner, im sure this is one of the best marker available in the market as its ready to use without having to put too much mod.

but the neck is a total disappointment. the o-ring is to hard and i have to take it off and change it with the paper tape.

barrel sock? yes it suck. i know its a cheap marker but hey common, Dye can you at least print your brand to make it look better?

another 2 of our marker blew off the hose when we install the tank. so those who wanna buy this marker please get ready with this sort of problem.

trigger is also not comfortable to use, but if you know how to change the spring into something smoother, then it fixed the prob.

its a good marker though
Conclusion: Please get it, you'll not gonna regret it. but at the same time please get ready for the prob may occur but its common for every first badge product. overall i give out 7.6 cause of the few prob we experienced
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slovakish Monday, October 24th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion, but also Matrixes
Marker Setup: Proto SLG SP AA 14 barrel, NDZ silk trigger, trinity clamping feedneck, Proto on/off, NDZ spring ball detents. / PGP/ ZGP/ Traccer
Recommended
Upgrades:
1. feedneck, 2. ball detents, 3. on/off ASA, 4. trigger, 5. barrel, 6. board
Strengths: Efficient to batteries and gas, accurate, fast, stock barrel isnt that bad just average.
Weaknesses: Needs to be upgraded to be an user friendly marker
Review: I bought this one back in december 2007. I got lucky cause this one shoots lines like a pro gun without any usual problems that others had with this type. I also invested in upgrades /see above/. With stock ball detents I choped some paint but not much .. and after I installed new ones from NDZ, I just didnt chop a ball ever since. so it is small but important upgrade. also new feedneck improved this gun dramaticaly because stock one is not very good. . egg just didnt want to sit tigtly in it. I had to use tape for it .... On/off asa was a must for me because I broke stock asa during play. I hit some stone with it and that was it.. it had plastic fitting for macroline and that just fell apart. Luckily my new Proto on/off was already purchuased and on the way. Stock trigger was bulky and didnt have right feeling so I replaced it with NDZ silk trigger which is perfect. I also replaced trigger spring with weaker one so now is my trigger soft and gentle .... After 4 years gun is still in good condition, and ready for the game. One time during a scenerio game I fell in to a river with it, had to swim to other side and gun survived it! I was worried about electronics inside the trigger frame but it just kept working!! amazing isnt it? :)
Conclusion: You can built a decent tournament level gun from this one. I can compete with adult matrixes with it without any trouble, Buy it if you want to play with upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 26th, 2011 at 8:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KWGPaintVeins Friday, February 11th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix Rail
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS:
-Dye sticky
-low profile clamping feedneck
Proto SLG 09 Basic:
-CP Clamping Feedneck
-CP Sling Trigger
-U2 On/Off Dovetail ASA
-Proto 2 piece barrel w/ 12-14" tips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feedneck
Trigger (not needed AS much as other upgrades)
ASA!!
Barrel
Strengths: Super Light
Compact
Smooth
Stock board is amazing
Design
INTEGRATED DOVETAIL!
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Trigger
Barrel
Airport
Review: When I first got this marker I was extremely impressed with the complete overhaul they did compared to their 2008 model. It was light, smooth, sleek, and sexy in the cosmetics! (thats saying alot for a $200 marker!) imediatley i put some air through the gun and noticed some leaks. Almost all of them were fixed, except the one from the air port (which it why you should upgrade it.) the hyper 3 reg works flawlessly and i wont need to upgrade. I started shooting some 1 week old marblizer paint through the gun and it shot it like a champ, consistantly and smoothly. There was NO barrel rise and the kick is equivalent to that of a nerf gun. The board was tournament ready and could go all the way up to 25 bps! The stock trigger was nice for ramping, but was a little hard for my liking for semi auto. The feedneck was the only MAJOR MAJOR downside, it was plastic and not durable, so i knew i needed to replace that (cheap upgrade btw). As soon as i did some minor tweaks, installed my upgrades a week or so later I aired it up once more and shot ropes of doom out of the gun, 0 breaks, 0 problems, 1 awesome gun.
Conclusion: Excellent marker, I would definatley Reccomend this marker in a heartbeat to any new-to-tournament players. Excellent marker, bad feed neck though. Rated 9.5/10 (9/10) for the feedneck, if they make a new one with the feedneck from the reflex then it would be worthy of an 11/10 (which is an improper fraction! But a good one!)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pipe07 Saturday, January 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
pmr(tested) , spyder pilot(not even half as good as slg)
Marker Setup: proto slg 08, halo b w/ rip drive and speed feed, 14" j&j ceramic barrel, and soon a virtue board
Recommended
Upgrades:
if you want get a new barrel. the stock barrel is pretty ok though.
Strengths: Fast
Sexy
Great regulator
Light
Weaknesses: Ummm im not to crazy about the stock trigger that comes with it
thats it
Review: i love how easy this gun's board is to program. its got PSP ramping, NXL, MILLENIUM, and semi-auto. the best board you can get out of a two hundred dollar marker. it pinches paint if you play with the eyes of but if you press the bleed button on the back it will bring the bolt back so you can keep playing. i usually playy speedball at paintball field in orlando, and i get at least two kills in one match with this gun ((:
Conclusion: If your new to electronic markers or if you wanna get off the spyder curse then get this marker!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Geterdone07 Friday, July 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Spyder Pilot
Autococker

None compare
Marker Setup: I use the 09 Proto SLG, all stock so far with a vlocity jr hopper and 68/45 tank. Also i have a 14" barrel on it. If you dont have much money, this is a good gun that can stay stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, 09 has alot better upgrades then 08, such as clamping feedneck
Strengths: Eyes work well
Friendly user interface
Simple cleaning
Weaknesses: None
Review: Ive had this gun a week and its been nothing but successful. Its fast, effective, and though its not the UL its still very light. The stock performance of this gun can compare to and ghetto'ed out gun. Air efficient and very easily cleanable and easy to dis-assemble. Fun to use and fun to play with the settings. Dye does good work
Conclusion: I would not recommend to my friends because i want them all to myself. No really. All should have this gun!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dolando99 Wednesday, July 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none, i have only used mechanical markers
Marker Setup: standard marker
view loader evlution 3
dye throttle 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" barrel
clamping feedneck
Strengths: Accuracy
Air efficient
Fast
Price
Lightweight.
Weaknesses: Very small feed neck
only 11" barrel
other than that, nothing that affects the performance.
Review: I have been using this gun for a few months now, and i must say it exceeds expectations.
for 120 pounds you definitely get what you pay for. it's accuracy is good however it would be a lot better with a longer barrel. the feed neck is very small (i had to file my hoppers feed neck down). the stock board features 4 tournament modes, semi-auto, PSP, millennium and NXL. it does not have an on/off ASA fitted as standard, but i don't find this a major downside. unfortunately this marker has been discontinued as the 09 models have been made.
Conclusion: If you can find one brand new or second hand, get one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

12gage Tuesday, April 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto PMR7
DPF-7
Marker Setup: 08 Proto SLG
nds slik trigger
bob long ASA
hybrid low feed clamp
68/3000 Carbon fibre tank
Halo B

Recommended
Upgrades:
New feedneck
Strengths: Light!
Small
Fast
Cheap
Accurate
Weaknesses: None!
Review: I bought this gun about 3 months ago, opened the box and everything was there.
Tested it out in my back yard, shoots like a dream for 220$
Next weekend took it up to a field, put my gear on and played; it's a really accurate gun will not chop any balls. So far i have fired about 20000 rounds and only 1 chopped, but still thats amazing.
I get about 900 shots off my 68/3000 CF tank and still have 500psi left.
This marker is the one you want if you are a young player and dont have lots of money to blow on guns.
For 200-250$ this is great, shoots fast, its accurate, does not chop, and the gun you want!
Conclusion: This gun is good for anyone who wants a mid-range marker for a cheap price, got mine for 220$, and i love it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 14th, 2009 at 9:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Disaster Theory Saturday, March 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix
Game Face vexor
Spyder Electra
Spyder Sonix
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
Barrel: J&J barrel Auto Cocker
Trigger: new Designs trigger ( slik )
Hopper: Spyder Fasta 18v
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Feed Neck
New Trigger
New Barrel
Strengths: Very light
Easy to clean
Accurate
Rate of fire
Very Cheap for what you get!
Weaknesses: Feed Neck (to smaill) look at review
Trigger
Review: Good gun for its price! Its a must buy.
Upgades I suggest is:
Trigger: Any New Designs that fits are good
Feed Neck: CCM Matrix Heli Clamp No Pro Feed Neck

What Works on the Proto SLG
Barrles: any auto Cockers
Hoppers: Spyder Fasta is so far the only hopper I 100% know that fits! But you will need to take out the O-rings out of the Feedneck

Cool specs:
Can be setup to shoot 30pbs
Can set trigger sensitivity very low
Got four tournement settings: semi Automatic mode, Millennium mode, PSP mode, NXL
Conclusion: If you want a good gun for a low price this is the gun
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 8th, 2009 at 11:12 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

noob slayer43 Wednesday, January 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
only tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: proto slg
stock
halo b hopper
(clamping feedneck on the way)
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck
Strengths: Fast, accurate, easy to take apart, runs on high and low pressure air.
Weaknesses: Feedneck, stock battery was dead , a little picky with air
Review: i got this gun for christmas this year and this gun was awesome we had a war a few days ago and i was makin kills left and right the only problem with it is really the feedneck my halo B wouldnt fit in very good so i had to duct tape it to the feedneck other than that it was very good the instruction manuel is good (better than some ive seen) very nice reliable and fast good for all u trigger happy people out there.
Conclusion: Very nice gun, I would recomend it to anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media