paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG

Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto SLG
[ View Photos (45) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Proto SLG includes patented Spool Valve Technology, which allows the gun to operate more consistently at a lower
operating pressure, giving you 1500 shots on a 68/4500-air tank. In addition, the new multifunction, self-lubricating Force Button allows clearing the bolt without tools, acts as a cocking mechanism, and prevents unsafe disassembly of the marker when gassed up. The SLG comes standard with the new Hyper3 In-Line Air Regulator featuring higher flow, more consistency, and smoother velocity adjustment. Regular maintenance and cleaning are easy with one-tool-one-screw bolt breakdown. The Proto SLG consists of solid construction using a hardened steel sear, aluminum body and bolt, and a reinforced polymer frame and trigger. All this adds up to a tournament grade package you can afford.


Features:

No Rise pressure feed neck
Single piece proto barrel
Anti chop break beam eye system
Orbital Rotating Sear - reduces wear
Compact lightweight body weighing only 2 lbs. 2 oz!
Stamped metal insert logo
Self closing valve 2 piece bolt
Multifunction self lubricating force button
Super low 145psi operating pressure
Adjustable reinforced polymer trigger
Ergonomic 45 grip frame
Hyper3 inline air regulator
Proto dual durometer injection sticky grip
Program with four tournament modes
Proto bottomline with dovetail
Product Availability 
The Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Tyranny11 Saturday, January 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder VS2, Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Proto SLG, dye rotor hopper, empire 56/4500, 14" 2-piece proto barrel, Dye on/off, silver body kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New EYES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, new feedneck(for 08 models the UL is pretty nice)
Strengths: Price, easy to upgrade and personalise.
Weaknesses: Stock eyes, feedneck suck
Review: First i have to state that this gun is only $200 so any miner upgrades are worth it. When i got it out of the box it looked amasing, i got a new barrel and feedneck then tested it on my cource and it worked flawlessly. when i play for the first time with it i chopped but thought it was the paint i was using so cleaned it and kept going. When I got to the local field and started shooting ropes it was like all hell broke loose in my gun and i started chopping 2 out of 10. i went to the proshop and got new eyes put in (only $20) and it worked flawlessly and it was able to compete with Epiphannies,e-teck and bob longs.
Conclusion: In the longrun I recomend this gun as a first or second gun but not as a replacement because out of the box my VS2 worked better than the SLG.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 10th, 2009 at 8:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kyleman824 Thursday, January 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman
spyder pilot
spyder electra
not nearly as good
Marker Setup: 08 proto slg
Pure energy 72 ci tank
eggy 3 hopper
redz pepper stick barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Stock barrell is decent but prob should upgrade barrell
Strengths: Light!!!
Fast
Accurate
Consistant
Weaknesses: Allen bolts are small and asa and regulator arent the best
Review: the proto slg is good for both a begginer and intermediate play. This gun is great. I love it good gun for the price. Money well spent. Just get a new feedneck and in the futre a barrell is a good upgrade for this gun. Also this gun can get very light if used with a vlocity hopper and a good crossfire or pure energy tank.
Conclusion: Buy this gunn
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

757eclipse Saturday, December 27th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Orion- doesn't even compare
Spyder Imagine- decent beginner gun
Smart Parts Impulse- old school heavy gun but mine was decently fast
Smart Parts Ion- great if you want to pay a lot for upgrades
WGP Autococker Prostock- great semi for first time high-end owners
Marker Setup: Black Proto SLG with a 32* drop, cp on/off asa, Dye Ultralite or Boomstick (don't know which one it is), customized trigger, halo b w/ rip drive.
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck, barrel, and take the spring out of the trigger
Strengths: light, durable, FAST (30 bps), low profile
Weaknesses: Reg leaks where it connects to gun
Review: So far i only tested this gun. I havnt even run air through it yet so this description will be a little biased. This gun is the lightest i have ever held. I read reviews on this gun and it seems like it will shoot good to. After i test it on my home field soon i will post results and maybe a video on youtube of it in action.

i ran air through it and it is insane! i was easily outshooting ions and mowing down a-5's and cockers. the only problem i had was at the end of a hopper it starts chopping. i can go about 180 shots out of 200 before it starts chopping and even then it's only like 1 or 2 that get chopped.
the hyper 3 reg leaks where it connects to gun (right sized oring can fix that if you put it at the bottom ot the threads)
when the tank starts getting low on air the bolt starts to get a little wobbly and looses a little consistancy but it still shoots very good and dead accurate.
Conclusion: GREAT GUN. awsome performance for the price.i would recommend this gun to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 17th, 2009 at 3:49 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

maverick777 Tuesday, December 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
used an ion for a few games and used a vibe which shoots the same
if you can compare a spyder vs1
Marker Setup: proto slg
vlocity
47/3000 nitroduck steel tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
right away a feed neck
if you play in tournaments a barrel kit
maybe an on / off asa
Strengths: Light maybe a little under 2 pounds
good stock board/ fast
Weaknesses: Feed neck
barrel if you can ont find paint to bore match
not many upgrades
Review: i was very pleased when i got this gun. it cme with a very nice manual. it was very easy to figure out all the modes and how the gun is put together. this gun is very light weight and with a light hopper and tank you can have a set under 5 pounds. this gun has an amazing regulator and a pretty nice asa. the trigger is ok for ramping kinda sucks for semi but i dont need to shoot alot of paint anyway. the gun is fairly quietbut not as quiet as other protos and dyes. the barrel is fine with me because i found a paintball that matches the bore size.( X Ball scenario series)the SLG is very easy to maintain degas the gun take the bolt out the back oil it put the bolt back in then you have to ocassionally clean the eyes.This gun is by far better then any gun i have used. (keep in mind i have not used many high end electros. This thing is way better than my vs1. I have used an ion before and this is how they compare. both shoot very well. they both have crappy stock feednecks. the barrels are about the same. the proto has a way better stock reg (hyper 3) proto has way better customer service. the proto has a far superior stock board and the proto is easier to maintain than the older ion (not the xe) one thing the ion beats the proto in is it is more upgradable (but if you upgrade the ion enough you will have a whole new gun)
Conclusion: if you are choosing between the ion and the SLG. i would pick the slg
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 10th, 2008 at 12:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kyle1976 Saturday, October 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
proto matrix
autococker
evil minion
automags
spyders
tippmans
Marker Setup: New Designz back cap
New Designz blade trigger
Smart Parts 14" all american 2 pc barrel
Proto Air Port On/Off
Virtue featherlite microswitch
empire reloader b
virtue eyes (green)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I went and upgraded pretty much everything to my slg but the only upgrades that this gun needs is
A. new barrel
B. clamping feed neck
Strengths: Very light
Efficient on gas
Shoots fast
Weaknesses: stock barrel not accurate+to short
needs On/Off
A bit loud
Review: overall straight out of the box all stock its a great marker. but lets be realistic here. ive seen some other reviews that this gun keeps up with dye dm8s cmon now dont be that naive. a dm8 is in a league of its own and the price shows it. but i can honestly say with the upgrades i put on mine its fairly close to the performance as a dm8 but still not quite there. but lets talk about price.

my SLG after upgrades = $500
dm9 = $1400ish

all your spending is $500 dollars and your getting a gun thats almost comparable to a dm9. choice is easy.

all stock =$199 and it will perform better than a lot of high end markers out there as well.
Conclusion: Like I said on my review for the price you cant beat it. best bang for your buck. after the upgrades I put on it , it will clearly keep up with super high end markers at a fraction of the cost. the only reason why im giving it a 9 is because you need to upgrade it a bit. if it came from factory with a 2 piece 14" proto barrel, a clamping feedneck and a on/off it would easily get a 10. but im a bit picky when it comes to paintball guns. to someone just starting out its a perfect 10.

now stock straight out of the box it is still a incredible shooting marker. for $199 there is nothing out there that can touch it. this is a hidden gem which should cost $400.

i would highly recomend this marker to anyone and with a few tweaks and upgrades you got yourself a high end marker that keeps up with anything on the market quite easily and at a fraction of the cost.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 26th, 2008 at 5:20 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Faan Monday, August 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
IC Promaster
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
14" Freak Barrel
VL Eye Force
48/3000 Hpa Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Feedneck
Strengths: Light
Quick
4 diff. modes
easy field strip
Weaknesses: feedneck doesn't fit any hopper
barrel is innacurate
Only works with high end batterys
Review: I started to play speedball with my buddies so I decided that I would need to buy I gun that would keep up with other fast guns but is cheap. So I bought the SLG, and I was very happy with what I got.

First of all its in game preformance is awsome. It shoots fast and it doesn't chop (unless your stupid like me and forget to clean the eyes). I find It is very easy to run around with because it is so light and small. The fact that it has 4 different tournament modes also makes it better. To make the gun the best possible you buy a new barrel.

The maitenece for this gun is very simple. All you need is a 1/4 inch allen key and you can take out the bold and clean the inside of your gun. The only thing is that the SLG doesn't come with the right allen key to take off the grip to get at the board and batteries. Instead I have to use a square-headed screw driver to take it off because I still haven't found one that fits.

I will now explain the main bad things about the gun.
1- stock feedneck is crap, so as sood as you buy the gun, buy a clamping feedneck.
2- Small leaks may occur once and a while in the hyper3 reg, but that just means you have to replace the o-ring (no big deal)
Conclusion: If you upgraded it as suggested, this gun is a 10/10
but I will rate it as what it comes with stock, so...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

cchadppherd Tuesday, August 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR
Ion
Etek Ego
Pm5
Pm6
Marker Setup: Proto Slg
cp one piece .689 14 inch barrel
48/3000 Pure Energy Hpa
Halo B w/ rip drive and virtue crown
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger
Clamping feedneck
on/'off asa
Strengths: PRICE
light
low pressure
board
eyes
easy maintenance
Weaknesses: Trigger
feed neck
asa
defected ball detents
Review: I got this gun in the mail 3 weeks from now
It came with in a nice small box, with a nice manual
The board of the gun has-
Semi Auto
PSP 3 SHOT
Millennium Ramping
NXL Full Auto
I immediately set up my gun with my halo b loader, and tank, i realized that my hopper couldn't fit, so i took out the o rings and it fits just fine, also, once i started screwing my tank , the asa was getting loosed... I started having a bad feeling with this gun
I also realized that it has a plastic stiff trigger, which i did not like at all
I took it out to the field to shoot it for the first time, i took the first 5 shots, and i was like "WOW!!! A KICK ASS GUN!", i thought i wouldn't expect too much for a 200 dollar gun, but this gun shoots fast, accurate, and barley ever chops, and totally turned my opinion of the marker. I screwed in my cp 14 inch barrel since the stock barrel is only 11 inch and used it for speedball, i was getting several head shots...
A couple of chops here and there, so i cleaned my gun, VERY VERY easy maintenance
After 8 games of scenario and speedball, my asa fell off and a ball kept getting wedged against the bolt every 10 shots, now once again, i have a bad feeling with this gun... I stopped playing for the day and examined the gun...The asa was just a pain and just won't stop getting loosed when screwing a tank, also the wedge paintballs were caused by defected ball detents
After a while somehow the wedge paintballs stopped and i got use to the loosen asa
Conclusion: Overall, this is still a solid marker for the price, don't let those issues i labeled in my review scare you
I would give this an 8.5 rounding to 9 cause of the stock parts on it and the wedge paintballs
It shoots great, light, low pressure, great board, easy maintenance
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pntballproto13 Saturday, August 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smarts parts ion
Marker Setup: proto slg,Just stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger and a clamp feed neck
Strengths: The gun is 200$ and its wicked good
Weaknesses: The trigger
Review: This gun is the best gun you can get for its money it shoots up to 27bps and its very light you should get a new hoper eitheir a halo b or a evoloution 3 will do you. get a carbon fiber tank. i realy was amazed at my freind andres pmr and jelus and i got the ion and that gun didnt do it for me its just PLASTIC. the slg is lite skinny and has a aluminum body. the only thing i dont like about this gun is the handle its to small and is to close to the trigger and i hate the trigger its like rubber and plastic.
Conclusion: Get the gun its new sleek and amazeing no products compare to it for its price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zacapawned Sunday, June 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ion Epiphany i prefere SLG
Tippman 98 custom cant really compare tippmann is mainly meant for woods ball
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
Lapco Feed neck
14" Smart parts progressive barrel
View loader force hopper
Pure energy HPA Tank
Redz tank cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck
Barrel
Mabey a On/off ASA
And if you preffer a metal trigger
Strengths: Weight
Consistincey
Easy to maintain
Regulator
Looks nice
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Review: This gun is a great gun for begginers. it is the best gun you can buy for the price. There are not many upgrades out at the monment but i hear there will be alot coming soon. Proto is a good brand and i have not had many problems. I just have to suggest get a hopper that can do atleast 18bps or the gun will be going faster than the hopper by alot.
Overall it is a great gun.
Conclusion: If you are new to the sport please consider this gun. I own this paintball gun and i am extremly pleased with it. It is light accurate, connsistant and a great purchase. i expect a gun of this quality should be 300 dollars. The price has droped i got mine for only $200
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Carroll3301 Friday, June 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Epihany, Bob long 2k2, Ion.
Marker Setup: Proto SLG w/ Stiffi barrel, new feed neck, eVLution2 hopper, Catalina 47/3000 steel tank.
Epiphany w/ Virtue Board & eyes, Virtue easy-on button, new feed neck, Dye Hyper3 Reg., Carleton 68/4500 Carbon Fiber tank, eVLution 3 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck, Barrel
Strengths: Stock board is awesome, marker is easy to use, very durable, hyper3 reg
Weaknesses: Remember to turn eyes on or balls will get stuck
Review: The Proto SLG is one of the best markers I have every owned. ( I have owned alot of Markers ) For $200 you get a really light gun with a great board and a Hyper 3 reg. on it. What more do I have to say!!!! I would recomend this gun to everyone looking to buy a marker in this price range.
Conclusion: Definately worth it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media