paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG

Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto SLG
[ View Photos (45) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Proto SLG includes patented Spool Valve Technology, which allows the gun to operate more consistently at a lower
operating pressure, giving you 1500 shots on a 68/4500-air tank. In addition, the new multifunction, self-lubricating Force Button allows clearing the bolt without tools, acts as a cocking mechanism, and prevents unsafe disassembly of the marker when gassed up. The SLG comes standard with the new Hyper3 In-Line Air Regulator featuring higher flow, more consistency, and smoother velocity adjustment. Regular maintenance and cleaning are easy with one-tool-one-screw bolt breakdown. The Proto SLG consists of solid construction using a hardened steel sear, aluminum body and bolt, and a reinforced polymer frame and trigger. All this adds up to a tournament grade package you can afford.


Features:

No Rise pressure feed neck
Single piece proto barrel
Anti chop break beam eye system
Orbital Rotating Sear - reduces wear
Compact lightweight body weighing only 2 lbs. 2 oz!
Stamped metal insert logo
Self closing valve 2 piece bolt
Multifunction self lubricating force button
Super low 145psi operating pressure
Adjustable reinforced polymer trigger
Ergonomic 45 grip frame
Hyper3 inline air regulator
Proto dual durometer injection sticky grip
Program with four tournament modes
Proto bottomline with dovetail
Product Availability 
The Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Habibidrees Friday, June 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PM5-Not Comparable On Weight or Performance
SPyder Pilot-No even
Ion Xe-SLg will blow this out of the water
Marker Setup: 2008 Proto SLG ,
UL trigger ,
14inch Proto 1 Piece Barrel ,
Maddog Clamping feedneck ,
Hyper 3 Regulator ,
48ci/3000 psi Pure Energy Tank ,
Evo 3 Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel ,
trigger ,
Feed neck
Strengths: Accuracy ,From 50 feet ,
Speed i put mine @ 20Bps ,

Weaknesses: Stock feed neck ,
and trigger
Review: Excellent for $200 , with upgrade for trigger($30) , barrel ($40) , Feed neck ($25) , This gun kills the ion and competes with $400-$500 guns ,You cant go wrong with these , 1st day i tried it out it was getting people out on the break , excellent front player gun, @ 1.1442 lbs , Good for a beginner or a pro
Conclusion: Best gun i Bought so Far , Excellent paintball gun you wont be dissapointed, Awsome back up gun when you get a better one ,
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Protolover123 Tuesday, June 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any half decent tourment gun
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION
Blackheart Board
New Designz Roller Blade Trigger
Eggy 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck (eggys don't fit well)
Maybe a st!ffi... not much is wrong with the stock gun
Strengths: PRICE!!!
Trigger (is sexy)
Design
Modes
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: SOLID gun! It's $200 and it feels like you're paying for a Dangerous Power G3 (G3 is a little better.) Proto has made what has to be THE best tournament grade gun for under $300!

The only problems are the trigger is a little stiff (that is easily fixed after about an entire day of ripping on it down at the beach)

and the feed neck didn't fit my friends eggy 2 very well... Clamping feed neck takes care of that problem.

The modes are excellent and PSP ramping is the one you probably want to go with what with its three ball sexyness :).
Conclusion: Proto has made an excellent, sexy, affordable gun that is tournament grade :)

This gun is why I call myself Protolover

A+ PROTO ^.^
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 18th, 2008 at 10:20 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

jjaameskenny Saturday, June 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Um ive used a ION which is supposed to be like it XD
all ive used are mechs which are the following:
98 custom with 20 inch tactical
98 with pen spring and 14 inch progressive
Spyder XTRA with smart parts freak ( sold, kept freak for slg)
Spyder TL-X with 14 inch progressive
Brass eagle liberator (omg)
Brass eagle talon (omg again)
Viewloader prodigy (not too bad) ( its electric but nothing like a ion or slg)
Marker Setup: Camo 98 Custom with 20 inch Tactical barrel (woodball)
black 98 Custom 14 inch Progressive and pen spring mod (lender gun)
blue Proto SLG with 14 freak kit ( blue freak front)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definatly a feed neck and a barre; etc all the usual stuff
Strengths: Very very nice light and tight
I personally like the trigger some people dont
Weaknesses: Nothing except chopping which was my fault for wrong bore
Feed neck too
Review: Well i ordered this from buy pbl and on the exact date it said it would be in it was in ^^ i rushed to to the post office to pick up my precious and got home tore open the box which contained my very very tiny blue slg, evlution 3, freak back ( already had a freak for my spyder) , case of triumph paint, 3 shirts, my, 45, 3000 tank and proto tank cover
So well when i got to (finnnalllllly) shoot it it was kinda chopping but it wasnt the gun it was the barrel (me being dumb with bores) so i put it away till the next day which was sunny ( forgot the first day was really bad day) and when i found the right bore and started shooting againsht my friends ion with upgrades ^^ it was tearing it apart XD jkjk i thought they were about even but all my friends that seen thought it was better and they even thought it was better than my friends epihhany (cant spell) i also for some reason cant seem to get it on different modes ( i am also dumb) so if ANYONE can help please leave a message on how to .
Conclusion: Personally i think its the same as a kinda upped ion but a stock ion would prolbly have little chance againsht this in the right hands. This gun is GREAT for snapping im a front player and since its light i wont be getting my ass shot off lugging around a bulky gun (well i wont be gettng shot TOO fast XD) all in all this gun is worth buying
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 14th, 2008 at 10:14 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

krnlsandrs Tuesday, May 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra, low pressure valve, upgraded springs, trinity drop forward, hybrid on/off, dye sticky grips, trinity low rise feed neck, stock board but have planes for virtue with eyes.
Marker Setup: hybrid on/off
trinity feed neck
empire reloader b
stock board
proto 14 inch barrel
Dye throttle 70ci 4500 peanut.
Recommended
Upgrades:
virtue board w/ laser beam eyes
Detents
regulator
and bolt when they come out with one better. and oh yeah barrel, preferably SLY kit.
Strengths: Quite
fast
light
tight
Weaknesses: Changing modes on the marker, thats the only weakness i can think of. Little kick.
Review: My buddy had been talking about this gun since it came out, so i was going to play at my local field, one weekend, and all i had was my spyder electra, which i wanted something with eyes, so that i can rail paint, so i was at my local paint shop, and saw the SLG on the wall in olive color, and said huh that gun looks nice, once i held it i said DAM that is light, only 2lbs 2 oz, pretty light, and i heard that they weren't all that bad of a marker, plus i didnt have alot of money to dump on a marker, plus i was going to put the virtue board on my spyder, but that was 130 bucks, so i just said aw what the hell i need to get a gun that is updated. so bought it and took it out to break it in, first time shooting it, i was busting balls every hopper fill, could not figure it out, i thought i had a lemon, so took it to the shop i got it from, and they checked the reg, and noticed that the factory settings was at 330 fps, so after the turned it down to about 275 fps. I was as good as gold, took it out to field of fire in Valencia, CA, and played 2 games of rec ball, first game i got 3 people out, not bad second game got 2 people out, only got shot 3 times, so 2 weeks later, went out to paintball usa in Acton, CA, first played hyper ball, gun did great, that weekend the gun did great except 2 times, first it happened in the dunes field, the gun pinched the bottom of the ball, before it entered the chamber, so then i was on the hyper ball field then again, pinched another ball, but other than that it did pretty good, first hyper ball game it was 7 vs 7, i got about 5 people out from back right, then hit snake and then bunkered guy at back center, it was a good weekend for me, and gun did pretty good.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to any person getting into speed or hyper for there first time, light, fast, and consistent, and good quality good for good price.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 20th, 2008 at 8:49 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tumtum241 Monday, May 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
pm6(good)
ion(good)
spyders(cant compare)
Marker Setup: proto slg
VL Evo 3
Pure energy 48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Trigger
Barrel
Strengths: Fast
Light
Good looking
Small
Weaknesses: Barrel is kinda small
Confusing to program
Review: I got this gun 2 days ago and when i first used it it worked great for me.Before i tested it
i put it on psp at 22bps(i couldnt put it higher caus my hopper cant feed faster than 23)
It shot really smoothly with almost no kick at all.Since it has the hyper 3 it is very consistent with velocity.
Conclusion: If your looking for a good gun at a goodprice,this is the one to get.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

protofreak123 Thursday, April 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion, mr2,
Marker Setup: all stock except new feed neck and i used pure energy 500 shot tank halo b hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel trigger and feedneck
Strengths: Reliable acurate fast shooting
Weaknesses: Feedneck, stock barrel
Review: I like the gun alot, but i would upgrade a few things including feed neck, barrel and trigger. And if u have a lot of cash hell by a new board but i woulndt spend ur money on it if u dont absoutuley need it. I prefer it over any spyder the ion, and for the 200$ its a terrific gun. No gun stock thats under 400$ will shoot 30bps besides the protos. Nnd one thing if u gun starts to leak dont panic right away first try tighing ur grip. All out protos are my favs. My dream gun is the m7.
Conclusion: I think the gun is awsome it has some disadvantges but all guns will. i would buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

maska99 Tuesday, April 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ion- Slg is way better
Ion Xe- Slg is better
05 Autococker prostock- comparable
Marker Setup: Spider TL-R- stock
32 degrees icon x- stock- it sucked
slg- Empire hopper, pure energy 48ci/3k psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Neck- it is alright if you take out top o-ring

maybe barrel
Strengths: Light
fast
easy to program
small
Weaknesses: Neck
Review: The slg is a really good gun. I did have one problem with it through, when I got it I went to a local field to play, I screwed in my HPA tank and there was a leak at the top of the regulator, so I changed the o-ring. It still leaked. So I decided not to put tephlon tape on it because it would void the warranty. So I used my spyder. The next day I called proto pissed. The gun tech I talked to was so stupid, he said " did you change the 0-rinfg? "
I replied yes, it didn't work and he said " thats wierd, maybe you should ship it in or take it to a pro shop" I said " I do not have time for that! " and hung up. I tried to call again to talk to another tech. But then I looked at the regulator again and I thought the o-ring at the top looked to small so i put on the next size o-ring #12 on and what do you know no more leak. But other than that it is a great gun. I think it looks great to, but proto didnt have to stamp the gun with there logo so many times, 8 times. And the other thing I liked is that it is really easy to program, the ion is almost impossible to program.
Conclusion: It is a great gun and only $200 on paintball-online.com
This gun is good for beginners.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ninejuanjuan Monday, April 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm7
Marker Setup: E2 Orracle Autococker
Proto SLG
Worrgas
Vlocity
Evolution3

Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck
Drop-forward
Barrel Kit
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Weight
Size
Efficiency
Weaknesses: Noise...I guess
Review: Took my brand new proto slg out to a scenario game this weekend, and was very impressed with it's performance. Only ran into a little problem with the bottomline coming a little loose, but I tightened the screws and it is fine. I was very happy with it's accuracy, as I was able to long-ball quite easily. I was also able to shoot about 1000 rounds with a 50/3000, so the efficiency is good. Speed was nice, I was outshooting most guns I ran into. It is also a tight gun, easy to snapshot with, and quite easy to maneuver with due to its' lightness.
I was able to get my Vlocity in without any o-ring removal, but it is very hard to do and puts stress on the feedneck when mounting, which is why a clamp style would be better.
It was louder than my Autococker, but it wasn't that big of a problem
Conclusion: For the price, I would reccommend this to anyone. Great backup, or starter marker
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Night_Hawk Friday, April 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Indian Creek Promaster
-Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: -Proto SLG
-Torque hopper
-Promaster Barrel
-Shocktech Drop Forward
-Planet Eclipse on/off
-Pure Energy 4500psi 68cu tank
-Black Proto Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Different ball detents
-Other than that its your preference
Strengths: -Fast
-Light
-Cheap
Weaknesses: -It Doesn't have the greatest trigger in the world but its minor
Review: I bought this gun because my Promaster's hoses broke and my warranty was gone. Out of the box the gun did good, yet after about a tree days of play I noticed balls rolling out my barrel. So I opened it up and looked at the detents, they had been worn out bad. So in five minutes I put in the spares it came with and it was shooting again. The gun fires great, ramping and otherwise. Kick if anyone is wondering, is very little yet I don't care about the kick of a gun.
Conclusion: For anyone who is out to have fun this is a great gun, for the more serious players i would say go with a higher grade gun. So i give this gun a 9, nothin's perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sheriff_matt Tuesday, March 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Marker Setup: SLG
Clamping Feedneck
48ci HPA tank
Halo TSA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feedneck
Strengths: Price
Efficiency
Easy Maintenance
High ROF
Easy to Program
Weaknesses: Stock Feedneck
Stock Barrel(Same as any gun)
Review: To start, I'd like to say the SLG has surprised me. It's an extremely nice gun for the price paid. It's amazingly efficient(got about 700 shots off a 50ci 3000psi tank), although not as quiet as I was led to believe.

Before purchasing I was stuck choosing between the SLG and the PMR. The key points that led me to choose the SLG over the PMR were the efficiency, ease of use/maintenance and the body style.

The real world maximum ROF for this gun is around 23BPS. That's tested, and sustainable. I had to borrow a hopper on a game day to test this so please don't ask for a video unless you want to send me your reloader b to make it. Regardless of it's max ROF I will only ever use a max of 15bps, soon to be lowered to around 12. That's just personal preference.

The only thing I noticed about this gun is, the lube that comes with the gun sucks, the regulator was a little loose out of the box(had to tighten it), and the asa rail was also a little loose out of the box. If you get this gun make sure everything is tight. These are definitely not something that would lead me to believe this gun is lesser quality.

The stock barrel is definitely not the greatest. I can't complain though, I've never seen a stock barrel work as one might desire it to. The paint I usually use is a smaller bore paint around the same size as marbalizers. They roll freely out of the barrel when you drop them through. The accuracy/efficiency will be better, I'm sure, when using a quality barrel with a good paint to bore match.

The first thing I upgraded on this gun is the feedneck. The stock feedneck is very tight. I was not able to fit my Halo TSA into it without modifying it.

The stock trigger works just fine. It's made of a plastic composite material. It's pleanty sturdy, and fully adjustable. I don't recommend taking out the trigger spring, but rather that you play with your gun for a while and let the spring get broken in. It will get looser with more use.

I highly recommend that you lube this gun after every time you use it. After using the lube that came with the gun, I had a really bad problem with the bolt sticking. It really sucked having to reset the bolt all the time. I would definitely recommend that you use a high grade oil made for paintball marker use. After cleaning and re-lubing the gun with proper oil, the gun operates as desired. But, this gun does tend to go through lube pretty quickly.
Conclusion: For the money this is a great marker. It's efficient, fast, and light. I would most definitely choose this gun over an Ion or a PMR. It has more pros and less cons than either one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media