paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG / Proto SLG

Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto SLG
[ View Photos (45) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 81
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new Proto SLG includes patented Spool Valve Technology, which allows the gun to operate more consistently at a lower
operating pressure, giving you 1500 shots on a 68/4500-air tank. In addition, the new multifunction, self-lubricating Force Button allows clearing the bolt without tools, acts as a cocking mechanism, and prevents unsafe disassembly of the marker when gassed up. The SLG comes standard with the new Hyper3 In-Line Air Regulator featuring higher flow, more consistency, and smoother velocity adjustment. Regular maintenance and cleaning are easy with one-tool-one-screw bolt breakdown. The Proto SLG consists of solid construction using a hardened steel sear, aluminum body and bolt, and a reinforced polymer frame and trigger. All this adds up to a tournament grade package you can afford.


Features:

No Rise pressure feed neck
Single piece proto barrel
Anti chop break beam eye system
Orbital Rotating Sear - reduces wear
Compact lightweight body weighing only 2 lbs. 2 oz!
Stamped metal insert logo
Self closing valve 2 piece bolt
Multifunction self lubricating force button
Super low 145psi operating pressure
Adjustable reinforced polymer trigger
Ergonomic 45 grip frame
Hyper3 inline air regulator
Proto dual durometer injection sticky grip
Program with four tournament modes
Proto bottomline with dovetail
Product Availability 
The Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Bologna Ninja Wednesday, March 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
14" Progressive
CCM Feedneck
Evolution 2
68ci/4500psi Crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Barrel (if u want)
Strengths: Price
Fast
Tournament Ready
Light
Air-efficient
Eyes
Easy to clean
Tons more
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: This guns price is what I first noticed seeing as how I'm on a short budget. For the price it's at this is an amazing gun. When I got it I went straight into a game and owned every one. The feedneck is a big problem though but i fixed that with a ccm feedneck. The stock barrel does do well but doesn't do the gun justice.
Conclusion: This is a great buy if your on a budget. I have no problems with it at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bountyhunter23 Saturday, February 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Spyder Imagine
Prostock Autococker
Marker Setup: Stock Proto Matrix SLG
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck, New Trigger
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Well I love this gun for the price. The only down sides are the feed neck which nothing fits in it, and the plastic trigger. Two minor things that makes me wonder why proto didnt fix these things in the first place. The buttons are kinda small and hard to hit sometimes. In order to change the modes u have to open it up and move some dip switches. Other than that its a great gun. I think it beats an ION any day. Plus im a big fan of DYE.
Conclusion: This is a great entry gun from Proto, Recommended to anybody.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WILLEM_SLG Wednesday, December 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS 05 - SLG is way better
Viewloader Orion - U cant compare it to the SLG
Evil Omen 2.0 - very heavy compared to the SLG (tested)
Smart Parts Epiphany - also a light gun - same class as SLG (tested)
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix SLG 08
Viewloader Vlocity Jr.
Pure Energy 48/3000 PSI
Dye Invision 3 Pro
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEEDNECK - clamping feedneck would be good!
Strengths: Light - one of the lightest guns i've played with
Consistent
Speed
Weaknesses: Feedneck - my hopper doesn't fit unless i take out the O-rings.
Review: When i girst got this gun i thought WOW! what a small gun, i like it allot.
when i first gassed up the SLG the hosing from the ASA to the regulator blew of.
i had to replace the ASA hose lock.
cost me about 10$
But it's a great gun shoots very straight and its super light and fast!

Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone with some paintball experience.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 16th, 2007 at 7:05 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stan1234655 Thursday, July 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
proto matrix rail- just a little bettr
spyder vs3- doesnt compare
spyder rsx- doesnt come close
Marker Setup: proto matrix rail (olive)
proto 2 piece
eggy 3
Recommended
Upgrades:
just a new barrel
Strengths: Light
Fast
Accurate
Easy to remove bolt
Weaknesses: None
Review: this gun is probably THE BEST gun you can get for $200
it is light, fast, great modes, i have no problems
i have had no problems with it
the only setback is that you have to remove the grip to change modes, but that doesnt bother me
i have a proto one piece barrel for it and an eggy 3
if you are on a budget get the proto slg but if you have an extra $50 or so dollars get the rail
no drawbacks to this gun!!!

Conclusion: This gun is awsm!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SGTDeathStrike Saturday, April 5th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM3, Shockers, Ions, Other Protos
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 6 (Silver Dust)
Tadao M3 Board
Dye UL Barrel Tip (Red)
Painted Eye Covers (Red)
New Designz Raptor Trigger (Red)
DXS 68/4500 LP
Halo w/ Rip (Clear)
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW FEEDNECK!
New Barrel
New Trigger
Strengths: VERY Light Weight
Great Electric Board
Fast? (See Review)
Weaknesses: LOUD!
Bad Plastic Trigger
Bad Feedneck
Speed? (See Review)
Review: I was able to adjust and test this gun for my teammate who wanted me to clear his gun while he was out of town.

To start off the gun isn't that bad looking. Not the most gorgeous thing you've seen but it's not ugly by any means.

I was looking through the firing modes and turned the eyes off to hear the solenoid click, but it doesn't click, it goes BANG! The solenoid makes a loud bang sound like most Spyders do. I know it was intentional because of the design.

I tried to walk the trigger but had SEVERE problems. To start off the trigger is made of plastic, and is flimsy. A new aluminum trigger is recommended. Secondly, the trigger is has a double return, one spring and one magnet. This makes the return on the trigger very slow and stiff. VERY difficult to walk. I solved this problem by taking the trigger spring out and leaving the magnet return in. This helps A LOT!!! However, if you do take your trigger spring out be warned that it does void the warranty.

I gassed up the gun and was going to shoot some re-balls through it, but I had problems with the feed neck. I put a halo in and was turning it so it was facing right. When I was adjusting it I took it back off to try again the o-rings on the inside of the feed neck popped out. THEY ARE IMPOSSIBLE TO PUT BACK IN!!! You can still use a hopper but it is extremely loose and will fall off if you were sliding. Anyway, I gassed it up and ran 3 hoppers of re-balls through it. IT RIPS! Kind of loud, but still fast. Of course if I had not taken the trigger spring out it would have been a completely different story.

Conclusion: All in all this is great gun for the price. Light and fast with some minor adjustments. Needs some things fixed or replaced though. Recommended to those who have a tight budget or are looking for a gun to fool around with.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

johnthemon29 Wednesday, May 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98-does not compare
Marker Setup: proto slg
ner trigger
new feed neck
Halo v35
Guerilla air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
trigger if you dont like it
new board after awhile
Strengths: Almost everything
light
Weaknesses: dip switch #2
Screws on grip.
**see Review**
Review: Well i just got my gun in. right when i got it i went to my backyard and started ripping. At first i could tell it was lacking in a little bit of speed. but i fixed that by turing the rate of fire up. So that fixed that. When i went to change that my dip switch number 2. was very sticky i dont know what is wrong with it but it will barely move i dont know if this is a usuall problem or not(if you know please leave a comment). Then when i went to put back on my grips the screws kept on going in sideways. i fixed that by just pushing them straight up and down and then they would go in allright.
But this gun has many strenghts to. I was able to start shooting very quickley. it is easy to maintain and keep clean. The board is what you get for a $200 dollar gun its qucik enough to get you by but after awhile you might want to get a new one.
Conclusion: Overall this is a terrific $200 dollar gun i would recommend it to anyone that wanted a cheap good gun. anywhere from new people jsut starting out. to pro's wanting a backup gun.

***the ultralight version is only lighter that is it if you dont want to spend the extra $100 GET THIS A MUST HAVE!!!!!***


i give it a 9 because nothing is perfect but this is pretty damn close.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Master_x Saturday, January 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMR
Marker Setup: Proto Slg
Cp Barrel (1 piece)
Halo B Hopper w/ rip drive+ v35 board
Hyper 3 reg
Stock Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a new barrel (1piece cp at least) stock barrel is horrible.
Strengths: Very reliable, good for the weekend paintballer, easy to take apart.
Weaknesses: Very tempermental when it comes to air pressure, asa comes loose occasionally
Review: I bought this gun in place of a tippmann a-5 because it is so much better than a vibe lol. It is just a little worse than a PMR. Very light, I came to like that being a front snake player it is a hell of a lot easier to lug around than any tippmann. Definately would get a better barrel though (proto stock barrels lack lots). Feed neck also needs to be replace because the o-ring secure thing is'nt workin out at all. The gun also tends to leak frequently, small but they go away fast (but could also be one of my o-rings). Also comes with a great board. Board Settings- Rof cap 15-30 bps, Dwell (dont set on 1 the gun will start to shoot automatically without pulling the trigger) Fire mode- semi, psp ramp, millenium ramp, nxpl tourny/auto matic.
Conclusion: An 8 becaus of the stock parts of the gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zajanator33 Tuesday, June 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pmr 07, 08

This gun cannot even try to compare to the pmr. The pmr is just so much better
Marker Setup: Etek 3 AM
Dye Rotor w/ rotor speedfeed
crossfire 45

Backup:
PMR 07 w/virtue
Dye rotor
crossfire 45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feedneck
asa on/off
new bolt (order from dye)
virtue board
new barrel
Strengths: its light
its cheap

Thats it.
Weaknesses: Feedneck is weak
asa
barrel
trigger
bolt jams alot
o-rings seem to break alot
Review: Both my buddies bought this gun, and both hate it. We would go to a field and I'd be out playing all day and they just sat there trying to get it to work. I finally got the chance to test it and absolutely hated it, didnít like how it shot, didnít like how it felt. Half way through one game the gun stops shooting, I tried the regular stuff, eventually having to take the hopper off to clean the eyes. Nothing worked but luckily there is a handy little button that can get you maybe 5 shots off. I finished the game and refuse to ever use one again, EVER.
Conclusion: Not recommended for anyone who doesnít have the patience to sit every game trying to fix your gun.

And if you do have the patience, be prepared to spend a lot more money on upgrades to keep it working so you donít run onto the field with a gun that will shot a handful of balls and go down.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

knif Tuesday, December 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5 Spyder Imagine
-apex barrel Spyder Xtra
-E-Grip
-MP5SD5 Mag to Bottle
-MP5SD5 Shourd
-Lighting Rod
-Vortex Mod
-QEP
Marker Setup: Cobalt SLG with DraXxus Pulse loader with RF Chip
PMI Nitro Tank 88ci/4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Neck Feed
ASA
Trigger
Board ??
Ball Detents
Strengths: Light
Hyper 3 Reg
Easy Maintenance
Consistent
Air Efficient
Weaknesses: Can't change the debounce or the dwell
Board has dip switches
Review: When I first shot this gun I was very impressed how air efficient and how the stock barrel was with accuracy. Also easy maintenance the bolt and the plunger come right out of the back of the gun. With the stock board to change the settings was extremely easy,it was just like setting an tippmanns E-Grip. Since i have been playing with this gun i have not had the trigger spring stick.

Boards Settings
1. Semi-auto
2. PSP
3. Millennium
4. NXL



Conclusion: Its a very nice gun to have because of the price I payed $199.99 for it and I love this gun. This is a good gun that can come competitive with some upgrades.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 18th, 2008 at 5:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jcalvin1126 Saturday, August 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts ion, spyders, dangerouse power g3,
Etek and etek 2
Marker Setup: Proto SLG
feedneck
Warrior trtigger
Stiffi Barrel (love it)
72/4500
Halo v35 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger and feedneck
Strengths: Accurate
Little kick
Tight
Style
Weaknesses: TRIGGER i hate it...
Review: OK, First off i really like this gun so dont take what im about to say personnaly, The gun is a good gun good for beginners who want to get more into speedball or more advanced guns etc...

Out of the box its a great gun shoots fast straight and accurate great little gun. its light but not THAT light. small compact. like i said good gun especially for the price.

(strongly recommend recieving a feedneck before you plug in your hopper)

First thig i noticed when i shot it for the first time is holy crap the trigger is stiff. well proto decided to go with a spring returned trigger (this sux) very stiff and kinda hard to walk for the new guys.

I play speed ball a lot so i decided to use this gun. works pretty good easy to use but hard to really control because of its design its a little harder to snap with (mind you its just me i use my hands a certain way to snap and the gun wont let you) but all in all not too shaby for 200 bucks you know... WAYYYYY Better the the ion by the way.

Anyway on to the bad part after about a month the bolt snaped in half on it.. now proto customer service is nice however it takes forever to get the part back. So i got irritated and whent to buy a etek..



Conclusion: Conclusion:

I like the gun however i would recommend spending 150 bucks more or so and buy a g3 or even a etek. soo much better and you dont have to wory abuot upgrades or a trigger. this gun is good for people with a tight budget lookin to play or new people looking to play some speed ball
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media