paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Proto M8 / Proto Proto M8 / Proto Proto M8 / Proto Proto M8

Proto Proto M8 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Proto M8

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Proto M8
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 15
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $750

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Unequaled quality, meticulous engineering and impeccable design are just a few of the reasons why Proto is the first name in paintball. We?ve advanced the new Proto Matrix 8 to the next level. It now includes our proven ergonomically designed Ultralite frame. The hourglass shape allows maximum control and comfort. The integrated heads-up display alerts you to the status of your marker. The new smaller, lighter Hyper3 In-Line Air Regulator comes standard. This new regulator provides higher flow, more consistency, better ergonomic grip and smoother velocity adjustment. The LPR has been reduced in size and is now vertically adjustable. The bolt kit operating pressure has been lowered by more than 10%, increasing the number of shots you get per tank. Take your game to the next level with
the Proto Matrix 8.



Features:

Adjustable Locking Feed Neck
Matching 2-Piece Proto Barrel
Self-Cleaning Anti-Chop Break Beam Eye System
Compact and Lightweight Body Styling
Stamp ed Metal Insert Logo
Proven FUSE Bolt System
More than 10% Lower Operating Pressure
Smaller LPR. Now with Vertical Adjustment
Adjustable Trigger Sensitivity and Rate of Fire
Ultralite Ergonomic 45-Grip Frame
New Hyper3 In-line Air Regulator
Program Control with Four Tournament Modes
Proto On/Of Bottom-Line

Product Availability 
The Proto Proto M8 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
VMIBaller Tuesday, November 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month20 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix 06
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 08 (Black Dust)
Empire B2 Reloader (Black Diamond)
PE Stubby Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper
Strengths: DM Grade maker at a PM Grade price
Weaknesses: Hard to get due to California fires
Review: First off, I must say that this is by far Proto's best marker. What you are basically getting is a DM7, but smaller, with a Hyper 3 reg and fantastic design.

The milling is fantastic -- its appears to be designed to match the UL Frame grip modeling. The gap between the reg and barrel is about a finger size and allows for better control over the marker.

The Hyper 3 reg is fantastic. The ergonic design and rubber grips helps control even more.

The LPR is CRAZY small. It is mounted vertically right behind and above the reg (where the trigger guard meets the frame).

The UL Frame comes with a full NPPL, PSP, Millenium, and NXL mode settings.

It also comes with the self-cleaning eye system and spring detents.

I am still in the process of breaking in the reg, thus I can't really comment on effeciency (Proto claims it is 10% more effecient)...will post once I can get solid data
Conclusion: If you are looking at PM6,7 or a DM7,8 I would highly give this baby a look. What you are getting is a fantastic marker that has really raised the bar for Proto.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

X-Fau-X Tuesday, December 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR--- not comparable
PM6-- much heavier...
PM7---- almost the same if you add a UL frame,
ION--- good marker for price, but still not comparable
Marker Setup: clear PM8
vlocity jr.
PE 68/45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
really fast hopper.... halo/realoader/magna/JRNY/ vlocity
Strengths: Comfort
Looks
Really high quality marker...
Weaknesses: Not available everywhere yet
Feedneck... not bad, but didn't grip my Vlocity jr.
Review: the PM8 is really comfortable, the new STOCK UL FRAME makes a huge amount of difference in comfortability
another thing is that the barrel is really really light.. i think i heard somewhere it is even lighter than the dye UL barrel, but not really sure about this...
it has a really nice look to it... milling and the shape of the UL frame give it a very nice look
the LED on the top of the UL frame is really nice to since it'll let you know the status of your gun without taking your eyes off the game

used it on sunday, and it was really nice to use, especially in the snake were it was extremely comfortable to use. really fast, as you would expect, gave me no problem what so ever...
Conclusion: DYE quality at a good price, small problem with the feedneck is nothing really compared to what the gun gave...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tkkno Tuesday, July 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Protege, Pm7, 06 Ego
Marker Setup: Black to Blue fade PM8
Dm7 clamping feedneck
Wire eyes
Stiffi 10 inch/ Infamous Sly Barrel 12 inch
45/45 Dye Throttle tank
Halo with rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, anything to your preference
Strengths: Light
FAST
Not Bad Price
Weaknesses: Stock Ribbon Eyes
Review: This is an incredible gun and some might think that the guns i listed above dont compare vary well but they do. This thing is fast and fits great to your hand, every gun from 400 up now is pretty much the same speed due to caps so everything comes down to personal preference, mine would be the pm8 its fast small light and you cant go wrong with it, its just incredible in quality and comfort. There is absoulutly nothing wrong with this gun no matter what any one says and out of the box this thing RIPS!!

Consitincy is incredibly i chrono'd this and it was within 2 of 295 every shot, of my 45/45 tank i get a good 900 shots of before i have to get more air.
Conclusion: This is a great gun compared to anything out there and I would put it up with any DM8 or 08 ego.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 8th, 2008 at 5:42 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

naughtydogsrule Friday, February 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
angels, other PM's and DM's. favored this one for the price.
Marker Setup: Proto Matrix 8
DXS 45/45
DXS Pulse
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: VERY light (less than my friends 08 ego), fast, accurate, little kick
Weaknesses: proto/DYE changed the threading for the hyper 3. cant change regs without an adapter
Review: i had been looking for a new marker for awhile and had started researching the proto matrix 8. it seemed like it was the erfect marker since it was light, fast, accurate without much kick without spending a lot of money. i got home with the gun after purchasing it from a new by pro shop and gassed it up and shoot some paint. i was deffniaatly impresse with the accuracy of the marker, as well as the very quiet sound it made, which is plus for me. i went through a hopper pretty fast (emptied my pulse in probably 10 ish seconds) and was very satisfied with the pink paint covering the tree i had shot. i shot another hopper just for good measure and put it away until i went reballing. which is where my problems started. apperently, this gun does NOT work very well with reballs, so DO NOT shoot many reballs with this marker. over all, i was very impressed with this marker, and would deffniatly recommend it to anyone.
Conclusion: I would deffniatly buy this marker. it is a great gat with a great company backing it up. a 10/10 over all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

QC Elite Thursday, March 6th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4, PMR, PM7, DM5
Marker Setup: PM8
Empire reloader B2
Ultralight Barrel
DXS 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Small, fast, quiet
Weaknesses: Parts are very fragile.
Review: ok i got this gun the day after Christmas and right out of the box the eye harness was broken. Got that fixed and then no one told me that you cant dry fire this gun without a barrel so i warped the breach and on top of that somehow my eye harness broke again. And the new screws that they put in them are made in china so i stripped the eye piece screw. This gun also gets bad first ball drop off even with ABS on.

Besides all the problems i actually like this gun. Its light and small so its good for snake players.
Conclusion: Its a really good gun but when u buy it just be prepared for some problems and be careful because the parts are easy to break even when u dont touch them.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

cellykraus Tuesday, June 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've never owned anything comparable.
Marker Setup: PM8 Grasshopper
Evolution3
Pure Energy 68/45
Freak barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing is really needed, this thing rips out of the box!
Strengths: Light, fast, accurate, easy to care for.
Weaknesses: Seems to eat air, spend too much money throwing paint *it goes fast*
Review: I just got back into the sport after taking 8 years off and first bought a Ion, but after one week of playing speedball and getting out-gunned by 16 yr olds, I knew that I would have to pay if I wanted to play with these guys. I ordered the marker and instantly was in the same boat, even after all the years off. I feel that a barrel upgrade is needed, but the boards are not, if there is a limit in tourney's on how fast you can shoot, I don't see the need to spend a bunch for "unlimited" settings. This thing rips if you got fast enough fingers.
Conclusion: If you have the cash, get it! It really seems to be the "Equalizer" in my gameplay. Only reason for me giving a 9 is because there is always something out there that could make it better.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dealsproto Friday, February 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Karnivor E-2 software
Marker Setup: Proto PM8
Halo Hopper
Dye Throttle Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Really Fast Hopper
Strengths: Wow, Love this gun! Fast, no kick and accurate! Beautiful!
Weaknesses: None!
Review: I purchased this gun new. Right out of the box the gun was dead on within a range of 283 to 287 fps. Fast, light, and confortable. I thought the Karni was fast this is faster. And, not to bad mouth the Karni, but the PM8 is definitely (so far) less finicky. I have only used it twice, but both times was all day with no flaws, no hiccups, and no complaints! Unless something changes this gun is a winner in my book!

update: 3-10-08
Ok starting chopping some balls. The shop I bought it from uses this gun as their team gun so they were very familiar with it. After about 5 or 6 cases, if you do happen to chop a ball occasionally, you may want to adjust the LPR down by maybe 1/2 a turn. I did that and shot three cases with not a single chop after that no shoot down either. Just a heads up if needed.
Conclusion: Definitely Recommend !!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 10th, 2008 at 1:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kellerleoclub Wednesday, March 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion with everything upgraded
Etek 2
Ego
Timmy
Marker Setup: PM8
Empire B loader (yellow)
Dye 45/4500 tank
clamping feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe new internals
barrel (stiffi or Smart Parts All-American)
trigger (personel preference)
Strengths: Light
small
Accurite
Very Fast
Adjustable trigger
Weaknesses: Trigger spring kinda hard to get to if it comes out but besides that nothing
Review: I would recomend this gun to anyone that is looking for a great tournement grade marker that doesn't want to spend the price for a DM9. The maker of the DM series also makes the PM markers so they are made with the best quality material on the market. The marker also has a sleek look to it that I like. The trigger on the marker is so smooth that it is like your not even pulling the trigger. With the speed of the gun, it doen't matter if it can shoot 30bps because all the tournaments have a cap at 15 bps but it is still cool knowing that this gun can shoot up to 30bps if you ever needed it to.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone that is looking for a very fast gun at a good price. It is the top of the line marker in the price range. This is a great gun for the price. If you want a gun that will keep up with all the other guns that are over 1,000 then get the PM8.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Denver Echo Thursday, December 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm6
PM7
DP F8
Marker Setup: Proto PM8 Blue Steel
Tadao Mikko Huttunen OLED Board
Dye Rotor Loader Black
Guerrila Air 70/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao Board if you have the money. Stock board is perfectly fine.
Strengths: UL Frame Standard
14" barrel instead of 12" from PM7
More efficient than PM7
Weaknesses: Not very efficient
Review: I got this gun a few days ago and right out of the box this thing ripped. Aired it up and threw my loader on and went and shot out back. Probably the best gun I have ever shot. This is my first nice gun since I upgraded from an Ion, and I'm glad I did. As I said the gun isn't as efficient as most other guns but that really doesn't matter anymore since you can get all day air at most fields.
Conclusion: If you want a gun that is just as good as a Dye but don't want to spend a fortune get this. The best gun I've ever shot.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 18th, 2008 at 9:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bloodraven Thursday, September 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker with select fire: shoots straight and as quite as an autococker but way faster
Dragon Intimitator: More accurate than the intimitator and faster
etek: More accurate and quieter
bob long vice: Pretty much equal they are both awesome guns
any tippman: DOESN'T COMPARE!!!!!!

Marker Setup: Proto PM8 blk/red fade
dm7 clamping feedneck
VIRTUE board
CRITICAL Trigger
70/45 CP
14" .688 UL 2 piece barrel
empire hopper v35 board and magna clutch
Recommended
Upgrades:
CRITICAL Trigger big improvement over stock
dm clamping feedneck
ul barrel kit
that's about it board if you want but not necessary
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Attractive, Light, Great out of the box, new age autococker
Weaknesses: Trigger, feedneck..that's it
Review: I tried so many guns because like all autococker owners you want the one that is going to shoot as straight and quiet. I got that with the PM8. My PM8 doesn't lob balls it shoots them straight. I don't know about you but I prefer it to shoot straight. I always hear which is better the VICE or the PM8??? I can honestly say that whichever one you choose you can't lose my friend got the vice and it shoots just as good. The only difference is the name and the looks. I prefer the sleek look of the PM8 myself. The only things that you should change is the trigger I got the critical trigger because really it is the best out there and you can shoot very fast on semi with it.. The other is the feedneck I just hate screwing them on just get the latch it's easier and more secure.
Conclusion: Buy it!!!!really a great gun!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media