paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Protege / Bob Long Protege / Bob Long Protege / Bob Long Protege

Bob Long Protege Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Protege

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Protege
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $550

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
.Features:

- Electro-pneumatic. Open bolt. Stack tube poppet valve
- No more front mounting block for Gen 5 intimidators
- Inline regulator receptacle has been combined with the grip frame to further simplify the new platform
- Primary air chamber has been incorporated into the forward grip frame region to create the correct volume needed
- Grip frame has shed its clamshell roots to favor a thinner, lighter, less complex design
- Marq Series compatible motherboard and grip panel mounting points
- Gen 5 solenoids are now rigid mounted sporting a manifold configuration for ease of maintenance coupled with enhanced flow characteristics
- Redesigned ram sleeve which doubles as a rigid stop and aids in controlling poppet valve open time
- Slimmer LPR features a new thread less mounting design which more aesthetically completes the front of the Gen 5 models
- Simple collet style clamping feed neck for quick tool less hopper swaps
- Marq inspired spring driven linear travel design ball detents
- Bob Long 12 inch one piece assassin barrel - cocker threads
- Xpress mount standard ASA
- Compressed air or Nitrogen only!
-Inline regulator pressure - 210-230psi
- LPR pressure - 65-75psi
- Estimated shot count - 2000+ shots (factory settings using 68ci 4500psi air source)
- Frenzy 3.0 board
- 4C eye compatible
- Estimated Rate of fire - 26+ bps (4C eye upgrade with board set in ramping mode)
- Trigger activation - micro switch
- Trigger return - spring assist
- Weight without barrel: 2 lbs. 3 oz.
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Protege is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
chexmix829 Thursday, November 22nd, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marq 6- The only other Bob gun I've shot. The Protege is almost the same gun with an open bolt. In fact, it is the same gun.
Marker Setup: Bob Long Protege, VLocity, same tank as below
Tippmann a5 with responce trigger, flatline, crossfire 70/45 hp
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (stock is 689 bore, so one bigger and one smaller would be good)
feed neck (sometimes turns, not that huge of a problem)
Strengths: stock board has 15 bps lock, 4 eyes compatible, VERY light, fun to shoot
Weaknesses: a little loud, bouncy trigger (I like, no one else does), no manual
Review: Ok, first let me say that I love to shoot this gu when it is up. I bought it having no experience or knowlage of any of the other intimidators, so i did have some trouble getting it up and running without a manual to read. Yes, it does not come with a manual, rather, a "quick start guide" of how to turn it on and change the settings. A little wierd to me but what ever. I brought it to the field ans the chrono was +-4 bps with the stock reg. so it is quite consistant. I personally love this gun more than any other I've shot, and I can't wait to get 4 eyes for it.
Conclusion: Love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

afhuff Sunday, January 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Dragon
Ion
Epiphany
Autocockers, various, mechanical and electronic
Spyder Rodeo w/ ESP 3.0 E-Trigger
Marker Setup: All stock internals, reg, etc.
CP Barrel Kit
Evolution (egg) II with Z-Board.....so it's basically a Evo III
DXS 68/4500 Carbon
Hybrid 08 Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Yakuza Tadao Board
Virtue Board
Pillow Bolt
4 eyes
Strengths: Light wieght
very accurate
very efficient

Weaknesses: Eyes
Review: I had been into my local paintball store and been looking at this gun for several months. Well I finally sold my old spyder and some extras and used that money plus some to get this.

By far one of the best guns I have ever played with. It shoots well and it holds its own on the field. I had tons of people wanting to look at it the first day I had it on the field.

The first time I put it on the chrono, right out of the box, i shot 272. it fluctuated from 268 to 278 with the first few shots. I shot about 3/4 of a case and re-chronoed after lunch and i averaged 270-278.

The air efficiency on this gun is awesome. I played four or five games, shooting a hopper and 2 - 3 pods each game, and my tank went from 3800 to 2000.
Conclusion: 9/10 - Cus it still has room for improvement with some upgrades. Great entry level gun, as far as bob long's are concerned.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

greenmoss Saturday, May 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
08 PMR
TonTon Shocker
NXT shocker
invert mini
Marker Setup: 08 Bob long Protege
Freak kit.
Gangstar Vlocity jr.
Pure energy 68/45 hp.

ANS GX-5 Autococker (mech)
Freak kit
New Designs roller sear.
Evlution 3


Pure Energy 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Doesnt really need any but if I did.....

Pillow bolt
4c eyes
leaver lock feedneck.
on/off asa with purge.
Strengths: Price vs product
Efficiency
maintenance
Weaknesses: Looks......... Not really.
lube with Dow 55 which is expensive and hard to find.
Review: Am I getting out gunned? Yes I am. Time to replace the cocker. These young kids are walking all over me (at least the ones who actually know how to play). I was looking for a new electro. Never had one before. Time to do some research. After looking at all my options and I mean ALL, the Protege was hands down the best option. I had seen Bob Long products in the past and everybody who used them where true followers of his products. Lets face it, Bob long Markers have been around for a while now. How could I possibley buy a marker from a company thats only been around for a year or two.
Protege was the best option.

The key factors that grabbed my attention was what I was getting for the price.
Stack tube poppet valve, with internal low pressure reg. One of the best in-line regs on the market. Efficiencey of (my test was at 3900 psi 1500 shots). as full as I could get it filled. Clamping feed neck , frenzy 3.0 board with Semi, 3 shot burst, Ramping and full auto. backed by Bob Longs tech support at Bob long direct. All at a price of $550. If you need more in a gun, buy the Vice. Its a step up from the Protege.

The only thing I didnt like was the fact that you need to lube the gun with Dow 55 to keep the manufactures warranty. This stuff is hard to find and can be expensive. I know where to get it for under $9 for a small plastic tin. PM me ill let you know.

Conclusion: After a year of playing with this gun, I love it. It has never let me down and will probabley be my last gun. If you are a serious rec player looking to step up his game and get into some tournys, this is the gun for you. Do some research and you will find out that this is the best gun in its price bracket. Get it.

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 18th, 2009 at 7:50 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tristanot Wednesday, April 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto PM8
Dye DM6
Proto PMR
Marker Setup: Bob Long Protege:
4C Eyes, M8 board, Cam Drive, Marq Barrel, VP Trigger,
Violent Bolt, LP poppit, Vice Feedneck
DXS 48/45k Stubby: Ninja 4500 Reg.
Dye Rotor, Quickfeed
Recommended
Upgrades:
4 Eyes if you shoot semi
Violent bolt
LP Poppit
Vice Feedneck
Tadao M8
All these are niceties /\
Strengths: Light
Fast
SExy
Cheaper than comp.
Durable
GReat Construction
Weaknesses: Maybe the stock stuff
MAybe the manual(online)
Review: Overall, I am sticking with Bob Long from now on. This marker has changed my understanding of what "high-end" really is. I came into the world of paintball with a Tippmann in my hand, but I quickly moved into electros with my PMR. I sold that and got a Dm6, 1.5 years into paintball. That was my first highend, but I saw the cut corners and crap that Dye pulled, I was overall a little unhappy. I then sold that and bought a PM8, 2 years and some technology and I figured it had to have been updated. I saw no true differences, some weight and an eye pipe later and still there was too much crap.

I traded that str8 for the Protege with the ups. I felt kinda bad, almost like my Pm8 was unworthy, I shot em both when I was mid-trade at my house. Wow. Bob Long is a player, as is Zach, and he understands what the player needs in a gun. The Protege is built 10x Better than the Dm6 or PM8, it is true QUALITY!
Here were some of my noticed differences and plusses:
-Weight: Lighter than the Pm8, I hear about the same as and Ego, but either way, this is light!
-Size: I loved the fact that this is a high-end with room to wrap your fingers around the reg! I hated the Dm6 and Pm8 because the Reg rested on the Trigger Frame.
-Looks: Some say Fugly at first, but after I got it, I really like the looks. With the Vice Feedneck, the marq barrel, and a new ASA, it is awesome.
-Price: It is Cheaper than the Etek2, and WAY better, Ive held both and this is better in almost all ways.
Conclusion: OVERALL: Shot it last weekend at a tourney, it is fast, Accurate, and good in the hands. Any better and Id have to start selling these guns myself.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pblwespbl Wednesday, March 18th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long vice
Marker Setup: Red Bob Long Protoge
+
Silver evil minion
Dye asa
Hybrid bolt guide
WITH
68/45 pure energy
Vlocity loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
upgraded board
Strengths: Dead Accurate!
Amazing Air Efficientcy
Barely Any Kick
All BL vice work with it.
Weaknesses: Not a fan of the Frenzy board. but it still rips
Review: I seen a team mate using this gun one week and found out that he was selling it. after using my buddy's vice i knew that Its little brother (the protoge) was the gun for me . it was just like the vice and was alot cheaper. After i tried it out that next week i bought it. I soon realized that it was a very easy gun to maintain. I wasn't a huge fan of the Frenzy board but it still does the trick. I am looking into getting a virtue or tadoa board in this as i get more money!
Conclusion: A perfect tournement level gun for ballers on a budget.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bd444 Thursday, December 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
E Blade Autococker
PM8
DM8
ETEK
Shockers
Marker Setup: Bob Long Protege
4C Eye KIt
Tadao Yakuza Board
Halo w/ Victory Board
Pillow Bolt
68/4500 Guerilla Air
Recommended
Upgrades:
The Board- Makes playing in tournaments easy...especially at the college level like myself.
Strengths: Speed
Consistent
Efficent
Easy Maintenaince
Weaknesses: None
Review: The gun is very consistent. It read 280-283 on the Chrono with 15 shots. I do not believe in accuracy of paintball markers. Markers are not accurate, they can be consistently inaccurate, therefore making them accurate. This makes the bob long a great gun. It has virtually no shootdown at high rates of fire (second best i have used expect for an X-Mag.) It gets 1800 shoots out of my tank so efficiency is amazing. It is a light-mid weight gun. However, I am using the lightest and smallest tank with the heaviest hopper. Its is very balanced. Reliability and maintenance is just as easy as an ego. It shoots with much less kick as well. Overall much better than the guns in it price range and just as good as 1200 dollar guns.
Conclusion: Buy it over ETEKs, Ego, Geos, Matrices, Shockers, and autocockers. It is the best gun I have shot besides the X-Mag. SInce their discontinued and going used for 2000. It maybe the in the top 5 guns out right now. Therefore go buy one and own.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Husker Saturday, October 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Bob Long Protege'
Stiffi Switch Kit
68/4500 HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pillow Bolt
Clamp Feedneck
Strengths: Light
Very accurate
You get 2000+ shots out of a 68/4500 HPA
Weaknesses: Feedneck ,But it's sufficent
Lack of a manual
Review: The Milling does me fine.I love the look.It's very similar to the Vice,but has it's own style.With the stock Assasin barrel works good and put a stiffi kit on and it's great.This marker right out of the box,is read to go
Conclusion: To be short and sweet,This marker is light,accurate and I've played in many scenario tourney's and have yet to break any balls.And the air consumption is awesome.You can't beat the price for what you get in return.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

13pbstar13 Thursday, April 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
07 ego
they shoot almost identical!
Marker Setup: I shoot a sft shocker with a hyper 2 reg and a cp barrel. I have a 68/45 draxxus, and a halo.
I also shoot a uld pm6 with a tadao board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new on/off
new feedneck
new barrel
Strengths: It's super light,small, accurate, fast, crazy efficiency
Weaknesses: Bad on/off, and bad feedneck. Although this guns is simply amazing.
Review: This gun I bought as a backup gun for my ego 07. Now I don't care at all about which one I use. They are very similar, and are not much better or worse then each other. I love the protege more because it is like half the price almost!
Conclusion: I'd say you like the way it looks, buy it now. They are hard to find kinda. Also if you buy one I guarantee you will be happy with your purchase.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Der Maler Sunday, March 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys, PMR
Marker Setup: Sexy red Protege
4C eye upgrade
Evil 14" Barrel
Halo B w/ Victory Board
72/45 PE Carbon Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Really you don't NEED any I loved it out of the box but
My name is Dom and I am a Paintball addict
So I upped mine just for fun
Strengths: Very light and very accurate
Easy maintenance
It'a a Bob Long
Weaknesses: No user manual
Review: I bought this gun blindly knowing that I had shot and loved timmys on the past. I usually like to try before I buy but in this case I just bought and Right out of the box I loved this gun. it has beautiful milling feels great in your hands and the first thing I did was take it apart and check everything out. I was pleased to see how easy this was going to be to maintain even without the user manual. I aired it up and loaded up my hopper and I couldn't beleive the ropes it shot when it was stock and the accuracy was awesome. took it out the the field and was like a proud papa as everyone oooed and awwed over how great it shot. After I put some ups in it like the 4C eye system and the longer barrel it even got better this gun doesn't chop balls at all and shoots ropes with ball on ball accuracy.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to anyone who wants a very reliable, efficient, easy to maintain weapon that will stand up to any of ther more expensive guns on the market. without spending $1000+ dollars on just the gun alone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

daicacharco Tuesday, February 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Etek, Etek2
Marker Setup: Protege
4 Eyes
Yakuza Board
Pillow Bolt
Marq Kila Detents - customized
CCM Feedneck
Stiffi Switch Kit
CP on/off
DXS 68/45
Vlocity JR w/ Dynasty Upgrade chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Feedneck
Strengths: Light, Fast, Durable, Effiency.
Weaknesses: Feedneck is a must upgrade imo
Review: All in all. I love my protege.

Cons: I feel that the feedneck was the bad thing about the gun. My Vlocity and Vlocity JR slided around. Wasn't able to have a good grip on it. So I upgraded to the CCM Feedneck..

Pros: This guns really fast ! Stock board is really all you need. Its light! The gun seems really small! Out of the box the guns accurate. Good on air.

Review story: I upgraded to the Feedneck because the stock feedneck wouldn't grip onto my vlocity. I upgraded to the CP On/off because I rather have one to control as of it. Its not needed because to set up your marker for a full day of playing Bob Long suggested you Keep the gun air'd up all day without removing so. The barrel. I used the stock barrel for a few games until my friend came and I bought the stiffi kit from him. Stock barrels good enough to do the trick. Upgrading to longer would be fine as well. I upgraded to the Yakuza board. I honestly only did it because of the OLED Screen. Instead of remembering by flashes and such I can just see it on the screen. Stock board is all you really need !! Upgraded the stock bolt to the pillow bolt. Stock bolt, I used very brittle old paint. Paint was over 8 months old. I shot it with my protege. Not one single chop. I have yet to see one. Now with my Pillow bolt I'm hoping I wont be chopping at all. I upgraded to the 4 eyes. This upgrade made me notice I was able to shoot 1-2 BPS faster. The eyes is basically defining that the ball has dropped into the breach to make it more accurate. I also bought the 4 eyes because I wanted to see whats the fastest BPS I can achieve on ramp.

Newer Proteges comes stock with the Frenzy 3.0 board - Adjustable ROF
Older Proteges comes with non adjustable rof. Just capped at 15bps
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to whoever. This guns very great for its price. Its basically a lower version of the vice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media