paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit / Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit / Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit / Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit

Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 28
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $119

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Due to the growing demand for Nitrogen/Compressed Air systems we decided to develop a kit that would offer the best efficiency at a set low pressure. Although the stock 98 Custom will operate on nitrogen without the kit, there is very little advantage over CO2 because the internals are not designed for a high pressure system. When we design a gun to operate on CO2 we have to take into consideration a large variety of pressures ranging from an empty bottle all the way up to 3,000psi, where the rupture disc fails. CO2 changes pressure as the temperature changes, the higher the temperature the higher the pressure. Granted we cannot cover the entire pressure range, so we shoot for the most common operating pressures. These pressures are 300-2,000psi. In order to have a gun function through this pressure range, without a large velocity variation, we sacrifice some efficiency and overall gun comfort. With a high pressure system we are only working with one set operating pressure. Through research and testing we have found the most efficient pressure to be between 300-400psi. By changing the configuration of the valve and rear bolt we can obtain better efficiency, less recoil, and a more consistent shot to shot velocity. The new HP kit consists of a lighter rear bolt, new rear cocking assembly, lighter drive spring, new valve assembly, new vertical adapter, and a low pressure chamber. With the operating pressure around 350psi the valve opens much easier, but also requires a larger amount of gas flow to maintain ball velocity. Along with the valve modifications the low pressure chamber supports these flow and volume demands.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Nitrogen/High Pressure Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Unregistered User Tuesday, April 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 98 custom low pressure kit, double trigger, hyper star bolt, wgp ergo reg, air gun designs flatline nitro tank, dye aluminum barrel, 12v revvy w/ x-board
Strengths: great upgrade allows u to use nitro instead of Co2, so u get all the benefits of nitro like consistency etc....... the price isn't that bad. I think its worth getting just so you dont have to unscrew the damn co2 tank everytime you run out of air.
Weaknesses: makes your gun heavier, some ppl may think it is too expensive.
Conclusion: this is a great product that will improve the performance of your tippmann, and is a must have if you want to get a RT great combination, people always say after all the money i put into my tippmann i could have got an autococker or something like that, well if you have that much money right away then get one of those guns but if you dont then get a tippmann and upgrade little by little like i did, it took me 2 years to upgrade it all the way so its not like i bought all my upgrades at one time i dont have that kind of money like alot of other people, so get this you wont regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ronin-san Thursday, February 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann, pgp pump pistol, black dragun e 1
Marker Setup: tippy 98c drop forward (4fwd 1down), PB double trigger, bigshot, flatline, 12v rev, pure E inline reg (soon to be annoed)
Strengths: save for the front bolt and the linkage arm, this kit COMPLETELY replaces the gas internals of the gun.
Lowers the operating pressure to @300psi.= more shots per tank
Complete swap, so you don't need to buy a bottom line, bolt, expansion chamber all separately...
the volumizer looks WIIIIIICKED, and is a great grip.
Weaknesses: Cost. $120 msrp is a bit steep for some.
Separate regulator required for the kit to work ($40-120)
Most people THINK this is a NITRO ONLY, which turns people away.
NOT TRUE.
You can't install a rear velocity adjust with the LP bolt.
no beaver tail. if you're gimpy enough, you'll goggle yourself with the rear cocking bolt. HARD TO DO unless you're trying to tongue kiss the marker.
Conclusion: GREAT product, with a high but JUSTIFYABLE price. I payed as much for my kit as I did for my marker. I don't care. for $300 Ireg, lp kit, 98).
While some would say "get a better gun instead of spending more on your tippy, consider that

EVERY damn gun in this price range has something you'll want to upgrade
spyders = bolt, barrel, drop forward...
cocker = oh wait, you can't buy a cocker for 120 bucks
I love my tippy. the lp kit rocks. price kinda hurts until you price separate things like bolt, bottom line, rocket cock, rear vel adj, etc....

it's a worthwhile upgrade. do it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 31st, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: -easy installation
-improved accuracy
-extremely air efficient
-less recoil
-quiter
-very consistent
-also works with CO2 with the right reg
-works with any air/nitro tank with the right reg.

installation was a snap if you know the internals of your marker. total time spent: about 10 minutes (once I fixed the 2 problems. hopefully most wont have to do this)
Weaknesses: when I recieved it, two things were defective.

One: the cocking rod was not alligned properly with the hammer so when the hammer slid back and forth, it was crooked in the chamber, causing to much friction to cock the gun. I had to bend the cocking rod to straighten this problem out.

Two: the vertical adaptor T (where the lowpressure chamber and the valve connect) was appx. 90%% blocked by an excess of pipe coming into the T joint. When I first installed it and aired up the marker, it took 600+ psi for the marker to recock itself. I called tippmann and they told me to check for the previously decribed blockage. sure enough, once I drilled that out, the marker works perfectly with 300 psi !!!! thats not a typo! three hundred psi ! Apparently, there have been many reports of this problem, so if you need alot of pressure to shoot (more than 400psi) then you might want to check this out.

Conclusion: Assuming you get a non-defective kit, this upgrade is the greatest thing you could ever do to a m98/98c.

You must buy a regulator that will reg down to 300 - 400 psi. without this you will not be able to make the marker shoot under 300 fps. I am using a ANS Gen-X running 300psi with an ACI bulldog nitro tank preset at 850psi. The ACI tank is notorious for shootdown (shooting faster than the tank can supply air) but since the operating pressure of the marker is now 300 - 400 psi, you cant outshoot the tank. (with a decent reg)

Ignoring the defective parts, This kit is incredible. I am giving it a ten because Im sure the defects were a fluke, and if the kit came to me in working order I would definately give it a ten, so that is the way I will judge it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

prm1109 Sunday, June 17th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This is awesome i just palyed with it yesterday. First it shoots very silent compared to co2 with an expansion chamber. It sounds almost like an autococker now. my gun now shoots extremely accurate and the balz dont drop off after a few shots like they did with my co2.
Weaknesses: It may only be a hundred but it wont work with out a reg. so after you by the reg tank and low compression you wind up dropping like 4 hundred dollars,
Conclusion: I would suggest this to any one who plays alot and wants improved performance and accuracy and likes thier tippman and does not want to but a cocker or something,
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xmastro7 Saturday, February 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock gas system that comes with the gun, doesnt compare to this system.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Low Pressure Kit, Double Trigger, Response Trigger, Lapco Feed w/ 90 Degree Elbow, Halo Electronic Hopper, Custom Regulator, 14" Sniper Barrell, 32 Degrees Drop Forward System, NO2 System
Strengths: Accuracy
Weaknesses: money
Review: There are a lot of good things about this product and one bad thing. It makes the gun more accurate. I dont care what anyone else says, there is no point to buy this if you arent going to buy NO2. If you have this and NO2, forget about balls going right or left , nothing but straight. No more chopping paint. Makes the gun look great. The piece that goes right in front of the trigger is a great handle. And the gun becomes a little quieter.

The only bad thing about this product is that you have to buy a regulator which costs almost as much as the system.
Conclusion: If you can figure out how to buy NO2, regulator, and the LP kit then i would definately by it. I love it. Remember. Nothing but straight.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

dbz19844 Saturday, January 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing really just stuck with Tippmans and Spyders
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom, Low Pressure Kit, 3500 PMI Nitro, barrel adapter with 16 inch barrel (do the math and the total is 18 inches), rifle Scope, dead on paintball drop forward.
Strengths: Consistent shots
no velocity spikes
looks pretty sweet on you Paintball marker
Weaknesses: nothing really
its TIPPMANN
don't instal right it leaks
Review: The Low Pressure kit is the best out there. Its a bit pricy, but it's worth the trouble. I should have got this sooner cuz it is kick anus gear. I played with Spyders and they are pretty good too. Tippmans really suck if u don't put any upgrades into it cuz then its just a stock marker. It also puts in a rear cocking bolt into it and it works better trust me. Once I got it my friend and I work diligently on it for the whole night. This was because we didn't have a 90 degree elbow that came with it (that's right it doesn't come with it) so it took a while but we fixed it.
Conclusion: Get THIS! It will solve everything. I love this the second I had got it. And WOW it is sweet
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 24th, 2004 at 5:14 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, August 21st, 2001
 
1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: -Noticeably less recoil
-Greater efficency (i went from 700 shots out of my 68/3k; to *1300* shots!)
-Slightly quieter
Weaknesses: -Makes your 98 HEAVY, HEAVY, HEAVY
-Must purchase a regulator to install
-No beavertail available for it yet
-Very pricey
Conclusion: These retail for about $120. Although i have GREATLY enjoyed the benefits of this kit; when weighing it's pro's & con's, it's really just too much for what you get. If the price were lower, i would say go for it. But you're going to buy the kit ($120) then a regulator ($50-100), and when you're done, you'll have spent almost enough to buy an electronic gun. (Impulse, etc.) I'm giving it a 7 because of it's HIGH cost. If it were cheaper, that would change things.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

westwrestlngguy Sunday, November 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original set-up
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatine,14in. Teardrop, Empire 7-piece kit, Low Pressure Kit, AIM Shock Regulator, BT Double Trigger Kit, Viewloader 12V Revolution, Penspring Mod, Polished Internals, Rocket Cock II, AIM Skyforce Drop and On/Off, Smart Parts Grips, Daisy Red-Dot Sight, 47ci 3000psi Crossfire N2 Tank
Strengths: Efficient
Much quieter
Tighter shot pattern
Gentler on paint
Weaknesses: Had to fix part
Cost
Review: Installation...
I had to screw the vertical adapter/volumizer into the powertube an extra rotation because it would not let the gun close. Other than that, the installation process was a breeze.

Accuracy...
At about 30ft, I was keeping a 2in diameter shot pattern (with crappy paint) with only 1 ball out of maybe 30 straying from the group. After playing some more with better paint, the pattern got tighter with less curving and NO breaking.

Efficiency and other pneumatics...
The gun can re-cock at about 150 psi right now, and I shoot 280fps @ about 350psi. The LP kit is also very gentle on the paint. The paint I bought was very brittle, but none broke in the chamber during my test run (I'd say I ran through about 200 rounds so far).
One the field, no paint broke in the chamber.

Noise...
Much much much quieter than the stock set-up. The gun doesn't blend in with the wind or anything, but it is a very big change.

Kick...
Wow... I don't exactly know what to say here... there really isn't a kick. The gun barely moves, even at high speeds.
Conclusion: I give the kit a 9 out of 10 because of the installation issue and the cost. Other than that, this product is amazing.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 18th, 2007 at 12:44 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media