paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI F4 Illustrator / ACI F4 Illustrator / ACI F4 Illustrator / ACI F4 Illustrator

ACI F4 Illustrator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI F4 Illustrator

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI F4 Illustrator
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New upgrades from the previous F-4 include a much more comfortable 45-Grip frame, new wide trigger shoe, and the trigger pull of only 2.2 lbs.! The gun has no external moving parts meaning less maintenance and less chance of breakdowns. All moving parts are hardened or hard anodized for long life. ACI's new patented valve system is proven to be the most air efficient in the industry allowing the F4 to operate in all temperature ranges with over 800 shots off of your 9oz. tank.
Product Availability 
The ACI F4 Illustrator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
UrBaN cAvEmAn Sunday, June 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: F4, 12 inch Zero-grav, PMI Xchamber, WGP Flame drop forward, 68/5K, and one of those neato guage things
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrels sucks $hit. Get a ehopper such as a halo or evo2
Strengths: The main thing is everything is internal. Very solid and durable marker.
Weaknesses: Barrel. WIll break down if not cleaned properly. Hard to sell.
Review: This is a very realiable marker but take note: IF IT IS NOT CLEANED RIGHT IT WILL EAT ITSELF. This gun defines "canibal" for paintball markers. First thing you will start to notice is that it will motorboat for nearly a full minute. I bought one with a bad batch of sears in it so i had to get that replaced. Then I pulled the bolt back and the sight rail and all flat out ripped off my gun leaving the broken bolts still stuck inside. You must take care of this thing. One other thing probolly the biggest drawback is that if your i need of money, you wont get but $80 back out of it regardless of how many upgrades are on it. Dont believe me??? Go to www.ebay.com and type "F4 illustrator" in the search and see what it brings up. Ive seen them as low as $23 with 42 mins left. BUT on the bright side that means you can buy a F4 on ebay for 23 green so i guess it pays off. Also there are not many upgrades at all for this but who needs them anyway. All you would need of any of them is a new bolt, barrel, and a ehopper. ACI needs to do something with that trigger also. My friend has a spyder SE and the full on it is 1/4 of this.
Conclusion: Great gun if you plan to keep it. If not then dont put a whole lot of upgrades in it. Keep it clean and use lots of grease on that bolt. If your new and dont want a gun everyone else has then this is your best bet. Get it and enjoy it.
One other little trick i learned in case ur intrested: If you like the looks of the XP model or whatever the one is with the flames, then go to aci's website and say that you bought that model and need another body cuz urs got scratched up or something. Works and you get a nifty looking F4.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 29th, 2003 at 9:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

alantrip Wednesday, June 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder compact
Marker Setup: f4 illustrator with expansion chamber, gas through stock, remote, j&j cermaic 14" barrel, smart parts wood grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
i would say a J7j ceramic barrel and an expansion chamber, but neither are necessary
Strengths: fast firing, accurate at very long ranges, easy to field strip and adjust fps
Weaknesses: none at all
Review: i played with various spyder's for a long time, and got a deal on an f4 that i couldnt pass up. 75 bucks for a whole set up. i spent a little more customizing it, but all in all i spent only around 120 bucks. this marker hands down out performs every other marker in its class, and some in classes above it. once i added the cermaic barrel i was watching shots soar yards past what a spyder could ever do, and the shots were much more accurate than the spyder. the trigger is light and you can field strip the entire gun in less than 3 minutes.
Conclusion: if you need an entry level marker, or want a cheaper marker that can easily be upgraded to out-perform more expensive models, this is your gun. only downside is a small aftermarket, but you honestly dont need to change anything. only things you would "need" are an expansion chamber and a j&j ceramic barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dudlax Thursday, May 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder, Tippman
Marker Setup: F4 Illustrator Stock (I'll Upgrade Later)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A New Barrel I Guess, I'd definately buy and expansion chamber for this gun if it doens't already have one.
Strengths: Rarely Breaks Balls, awsome accuracy, not too loud, looks slick , and not too expensive
Weaknesses: i don't know any excpet on my gun the trigger spring broke
Review: This is an awsome gun and is worth the money, i'd recomend this gun to anyone. I haven't had many problems with this gun and its the best gun i've ever bought. My friend has a good gun too but my gun is just as good if not better, he has a NU line Bruizer Bandit, ya its nice but i still think mines better
Conclusion: This is an awsome gun, its not too expensive, good accuracy, light weight, doesn't break balls often, so overall i think this is a great gun and it deserves a 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

justin14_ Thursday, April 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
guns that i dont feel like listing
Marker Setup: an upgraded piranha g2 vtl, a 2002 rebel, and a tippmann model 98 custom with a 16' taso winforce barrel........
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, expansion chamber, drop forward, anything else that it will accept.......
Strengths: -cheap
-lasts FOREVER
Weaknesses: none that i can think of
Review: i know this guy whos had this gun for 6 years and he says hes had NO problems with it and hes broken only about a handfull of balls with it. he likes ACI's so much that he rents giriffins out to people. he has this big cardboard box full of them and the guns are scratched up and been through hell and everything but they work just fine and have all the original parts in them. just like his gun.
Conclusion: get it its a good gun buy it. probly the best gun ive ever tested if its as good as i was told and as i shot.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 20th, 2003 at 6:51 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 20th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stingray sucked compared to this gun
I like the f4 better than a spyder
Marker Setup: F4 illustrator
venturi bolt
smart parts stainless steel 12in barrel
maxflow 4500 68cu
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and bolt
Strengths: No external moving parts is pretty nice.
Very easy to strip apart
I've only had one or two parts ever break in the 3 years i've owned the gun
The gun works better than other guns in cold weather

Weaknesses: the trigger shoe fell off the very first day and has been lost ever since
ACI has horrible customer service
Very innacurate with the original bolt and barrel but a lot of guns are
hate the plastic grip and wish there were more upgraded trigger frames for it
Balls get clogged in the powerfeed and don't go in sometimes
Conclusion: Its a good starter gun because its easy to understand and the cocking mechanism is one of a kind. It is very reliable and looks great. But it has many flaws and given a chance to go back i wouldn't have bought this gun and maybe spent the extra 100 for a nicer one.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder, Titan, Dragun, other F4's
Marker Setup: ACI F4 Illustrator, 13.5" Zero Gravity Barrel, Venturi Bolt, High Volume Cell, 20oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A high volume cell, damn they look cool. And a good barrel, plus a venturi bolt, and a good expansion chamber
Strengths: Everything, my F4 is awesome, it shoots straight, and pretty damn fast, as it has a shortened trigger pull. Its also a damn cool looking gun, especially with a big ZG barrel and an HVC, definately a good gun, especially for the money you pay for it... i paid $130 for mine with all thats listed.
Weaknesses: Its no Cocker or Angel, but its a damn fine gat indeed.
Conclusion: Very very very good starting or intermidiatary gun, i'd reccomend to buy one if your starting. Theyre pretty solid, reliable, and easy to take apart, fix and do whatever you want to
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, May 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tipman
Marker Setup: aci f4 illustrator and i have an armson pro series barrel and a 32 degrees ice grip.
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new bolt and an electrical hopper and a new barrel and a new grip will help controlling the gun.
Strengths: its very light and not that loud and acurate and you can shoot ok fast with the stock parts.very easy to pop out and very easy to run with.very very good for a first gun. this was my first gun and i still love it.
Weaknesses: you can't shoot crazy fast unless if you get a new bolt and a new electrical hopper. thats all i can think about i love the gun and i think you should get it.
Conclusion: i love it.it is very light and easy to run with and to pop out.its a very goood first gun and its good with the stock parts but its allot better with new upgraded parts.i love it and you will o if you buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spencer16896 Tuesday, April 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Griffin, Model 98, 98 Custom, And Vertical Feed Autococker.
Marker Setup: ACI F-4 Illustrator with 12.5" Zero Gravity Barrel and 4 stage ACI Sub-Zero expansion Chamber with gas through fore grip, All Black. And I just got a 2002 Vertical Feed Autococker (stock right now).
Recommended
Upgrades:
the zero gravity barrel and a 4 stage expansion chamber. Makes it look better and gives practically the same amount of shots as a 6 stage (6 stage gives you about 120 shots more). I would also get the venturi bolt and the high volume cell.
Strengths: It is very accurate and very gas efficient. And it is incredibly light. No external working parts so that means less wear and tear and very easy to clean.
Weaknesses: Limited amount of upgrades. Mine is very upgraded and is just as good as my stock Autococker. I am very pleased with it though.
Conclusion: This is the perfect beginner level gun. I really suggest anyone to take a look at this before buying some Spyder or a Tippmann (not that a Spyder or a Tippmann are bad guns). I have been incredibly pleased with this gun and I am only not using it now as I bought a Cocker. But I still use it as my back up. Believe me you will not be dissappointed. I only gave it a 9 because nothing is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 18th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman M98, Spyder, Scorpion, Diamont GT
Marker Setup: 99 F4 Illustrator. ACI Zero Gravity barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrell.
Strengths: 1 No exposed moving parts: all operating and cocking mechanism is sealed from debris.

2 Field strips in seconds. the gun can be striped in seconds, very few parts to loose. Although i takes a little bit longer to reassemble, with a litle practice its a cinch. The F4 Owners Group has got the skinny on this gun to every detail.

3 Good value: A good beginner / novice gun. For the price you get a solid, good looking gun that works great out of the box. The gun comes with an optional vertical adapter. Other than the barrel, there is no need to upgrade unless ya wanna look cool.

4 Reliable: This gun takes the abuse. Ive played countless games in the rain, cold and summer heat, and it has NEVER puttered out on me, even after constant and rapid firing (yes in the cold too).
Weaknesses: Most of the problems are indicative of earlier model 99 F4's.

1. The trigger shoe kept falling off. The newer models dont have em.

2. A small batch older 99 F's 4 left the factory with flawed / faulty sears. if ya get one Call ACI up and theyll send ya a new one.

3. Few 3rd party COSMETIC upgrades.
Conclusion: As stated before this is a great gun to start paintball with. Reliable, meaning more time playing and getting better, rather than fixing and staying sidelined. Excellent gun out of the box. Ive had this thing three years and it still works flawlessy. Do yourself a favor, and get this gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder, Tippmannn,
Marker Setup: ACI Sub Zero expansion chamber, 17" ACI sniper barrel these are a must.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitley get the expansion chamber and the better barrel. I got it with the orginal barrell and it was SO loud. After i got my ACI barrel, it was way quieter, and shot way better.
Strengths: Shoots great, CO2 lasts forever, pretty fast if the volocity is just right, works best with El Tigre Paint Balls. I have rarely ever had to fix my gun exept for cleaning ( which rarely ever happens because balls never break) and my expansion chamber was put in wron when i got it. Everything else is perfect.
Weaknesses: The only thing i can ever remeber was my expansion chamber was put in wrong, and my trigger was a little worn out. Oh and i lost my trigger guard because the tiny little screws fell out. Oh AND DON'T DRY FIRE IT!!!!!!!!!!!! IT RUINS THE PARTS. Make sure you lube it after everytime you play because, the CO2 does tend to get stuck somtimes when your unscrewing it, which could cause the threads to cross on the gun and the CO2. everything else is perfect.
Conclusion: This is a great product and i suggest buying it if your looking for a good gun at a fairly reasonable price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media