paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI F4 Illustrator / ACI F4 Illustrator / ACI F4 Illustrator / ACI F4 Illustrator

ACI F4 Illustrator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI F4 Illustrator

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI F4 Illustrator
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New upgrades from the previous F-4 include a much more comfortable 45-Grip frame, new wide trigger shoe, and the trigger pull of only 2.2 lbs.! The gun has no external moving parts meaning less maintenance and less chance of breakdowns. All moving parts are hardened or hard anodized for long life. ACI's new patented valve system is proven to be the most air efficient in the industry allowing the F4 to operate in all temperature ranges with over 800 shots off of your 9oz. tank.
Product Availability 
The ACI F4 Illustrator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Sunday, April 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: F4 illustrator with 16" dye boomstick barrel,venturi bolt aci expansion chamber,gas through stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and bolt a must!!
Strengths: Ok listen people,don't let the guys with the over priced guns tell you different,this is a good gun.Especially for the people like me who don't have the budget for a $1200 gun.I have had this gun for 4 years and I have yet to have a problem besides the occasional o-ring or two.It is very accurate and with the addition of a new bolt and barrel it will shoot as fast and straight as you can pull the trigger.And the only time I chop balls is when I get something in the barrel.For the cost and durability,it is a great gun.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel and bolt must go.You can get aftermarket ones pretty reasonable.Other than that more add ons are up to you.If I have to list one thing bad it would be that the F4 is a little on the loud side.It has a kinda machine sound to it internally.
Conclusion: For the recreation player or the amature tournament player who wants a good reliable marker that's not going to rip you a new well you know,the F4 Illustrator might be what your looking for.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 9th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
commando,pirahana,black dragun
Marker Setup: f-4 with high volume cell, venturia bolt, 66ci 3000psi nitro tank with drop forward, and 9v revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
its good as it is but i'd recommend you put on a venturia bolt and high volume cell to increase air efficiency
Strengths: It is an extremely acurate gun even with a stock barrel its really light and easy to strip and clean too. it doesn't chop at all for the most part and the new ones got some tight paint jobs on em. The only time i had it chopping on me more than once in a day was when i was playing in the rain with some big paint.
Weaknesses: the 800 shots on a 9 oz is a lie i could get maybe 600 off of mine i don't know if it was just mine though. Mine had a lot of problems at first but I think it was just shipping so if ur gonna buy a gun just go to a pro shop or get higher class shipping.
Conclusion: Its a great gun and very accurate out the box so i'd say get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders, PMIs, F4
Marker Setup: Spyder TL Plus, 12'' Smart Parts Teardrop barrel, 20 oz. CO2 w/ remote, VL Revolution 12v 200 round hopper, M-16 grip, drop forward, TL Regulator kit

My friend has an F4 and it has a 66ci 3000psi nitro tank, 13.5in. SP Freak barrel, custom paint job (red and blue flame), VL revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun is great like it is but i would recommend going nitro and possibly get a new barrel.
Strengths: My friend let me play a game with it one day and it only chopped 1 ball out of about 650 shots. The F4 gets good gas efficiency, accuracy, rate of fire, and is built to last.
Weaknesses: There is absolutely nothing bad about this gun. It is awesome (esp. with the custom paint job). The only problem I ever had with it was when it chopped 1 BALL!
Conclusion: This gun is awesome. I would recommend it to newbies and to the pros. This gun has everything you would want in a semi-auto. Go out and buy one today. You won't regret it. Oh yeah,Tippmanns, Spyders, Pirhanas, and F4s rock!! And of course you all know BRASS EAGLE SUCKS!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, March 31st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I havent used any other guns except this one.
Marker Setup: I use the F-4 illustrator and jsut got a new upgrde, the lapco bigshot barrel. 12 inch.
Recommended
Upgrades:
deffinetly a new barrel, probably a 14 in. i heard you should get an expansion chamber.
Strengths: really reliable, good on air, shoots pretty good once you get a good barrel. can adjust the velocity w/o using tools. flatline.
Weaknesses: the stock barrel absolutely sucks. once a ball breaks in the barrel, its all over with. you might as well just give up because the balls just go wherever they want, ive never seen anything like it. no good grip. balls bust easily when you fire at a fast rate.
Conclusion: overall believe it or not is a good gun once you get a good barrel. wish it shot a litle faster. deffinetly get a bettrer barrel for it. that is a must. theres better guns out there.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, March 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders and tippmans, and the list goes on and on...................
Marker Setup: Lets see............
I have a Benchmarker Expansion chamber and thats it
Oh yeah....since i got my F4 in 98 i have the oldscool straight barrel(no muzzle break) and it shoots straight as hell. Ive even shot a birds and squirrels with it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber and if you really want get a barrel. Especially if its one of the new barrels with the muzzle break
Strengths: everything
IM NOT BIASED
The valve system kicks ass. I refill my tank every 3 weeks or so
Good cold weather gun (we're talkin -20 degrees below 0 )
Actually its good in all kind of weather, rain, sleet, hail ,snow, heat
Shoots straight
HIts hard
Chicks dig it!!!!!
It makes a col noise when it fires
Highly upgradable
Better then a Syder
Weaknesses: nuthin at all
REALLY IM NOT
Never chopped a ball yet
and ive been using it for over 4yrs now
Conclusion: BUY it
Youll kick ass with it.
PLuss CHicks dig it
they really do
Really....you cant go wrong with this marker
Its a perfect all around conditions gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AznPballr Friday, March 8th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: E-Matrix w/ pmi 68ci nitro w/ remote setup, gas thru stock, smoke ricochet

grey 1999 F4 Illustrator w/ a cp flame drop foreward (silver), aci chrome double trigger frame, venturi bolt, 6 stage sub zero expansion chamber, smart parts all american (16'') barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel!!!!!
expansion chamber, remote, or anti siphon tank
Strengths: Hmm whats good about this gun...
The F4s got a great valve... i can play all day w/o having to refill my 14 oz tank.
Works well on CO2, which is a BIG plus. It's also got a unique cocking setup, in which you pull a back knob in the sight rail. It's pretty much just a top cocking setup with a cocking sight rail screwed on top of it. The main benefit of this is that dirt and paint etc. cannot enter the gun, plus it looks cool, too :). Anodizing and milling look good as well. Field stripping is easy, too, but be sure not to stick the bolt in upside down (the side w/ 2 holes goes down). Nice new trigger shoe that makes shooting much easier and faster is also included. In my opinion much better than spyders that are in the same price range. Also, with the setup i had above, looks absolutely bad ass!!
Weaknesses: Comes with a ball chopping open faced bolt; buy the venturi (which will reduce ball breaks and give maybe 20 feet more range). Stock barrel SUCKS. It's just like an aluminum pvc pipe with muzzle break. It's also large bore, making shooting common medium bore paintballs even more inaccurate. The all american i got with it is an huge improvement. Trigger frame is composite. I know it's strong and all, but it just feels cheap (speaking of cheap, the stock grips are plastic). Velocities somewhat erratic if you don't get something that eliminates liquid CO2.
Conclusion: For the price, it's a very good buy. Miniscule compared to the E-Matrix, but then again my Matrix setup was around 900 bucks, while an F4 setup (with much needed new barrel) is only around 200. What you get with the F4 is a tight looking, easy to maintain, reliable, good performing paintball gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, February 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shutter, TL +, Maverick, Revulation (forgot how to spell it, only tested it), Minimag, Sniper II.
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter w/ Storm E-Grip, 14" Big Daddy Smart Parts barrel, 6 stage expansion chamber, 20 oz. CO2 tank, Adco Imp Sight, RPG bipod, Alien Bolt, 12 v revvy, braided hoseline, w/ 32 degrees or diablo paintballs.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (Always get a 14 inch, you get the same performance as a 16 inch for the accuracy, but eat up less CO2 and have less drag, and its better than a 12 inch.), new expansion chamber, a regulator, if your in to conserving your shots and accuracy get a red dot sight, the grip on this thing is alright, if you care too much about that you can get a better one, and a double trigger.
Strengths: Doesn't eat up co2 at all, pretty accurate, fun to play with, can compete with most semi autos (If your a good enough player even cockers and mags), dependable, you can get it at about 140 dollars, has a rear cock, its overall a pretty good.
Weaknesses: Not much on its own, unless you compare its actual performance vrs things like cockers and automags.
Conclusion: Good gun, really, i liked it, but you know, ive enjoyed things like the TL + from spyder and some other guns for the same price a bit more. If you really are compelled to get it, theres not much to stop you with other than its not the "best gun" but its a pretty good one.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, February 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Once again, I have used a Talon, uncomparable since it is only $35. I have also used a stingray, which I would like to say do NOT suck, they have a rather dependable design, but the lock pins are a major hinderance. I've also used a Shutter and Surge, for all practical purposes the same thing, and I enjoyed the feel of my F4 much better.
Marker Setup: Obviously, I own an F4, a black one, to be specific. It has no upgrades as of now, but will soon have a Sub-Zero X-chamber. It's powered by a 9Oz. chrome-moly (I'm no wimp, it's just cost effective).
Recommended
Upgrades:
Can't reccomend anything, because I don't have anything. A sight is a nice addition though, but mine broke.
Strengths: First, this is a follow-up review, after actually playing a game with it. Now, the one thing that I absolutely love is the markers simplicity. Through three hours of play, only one ball broke, and it was not a chop. Second, the trigger shoe is an excellent addition, as it caused no pain at all to my trigger finger. The rate of fire, though not high, is perfect for a person on a budget, because you cannot fire at an absurdly high rate. The field strip, though I didn't have to use it, was great, because at the end of the day, it took a grand total of five minutes to completely clean and lube the marker. The stock barrel was incredibly accurate, I could place shot after shot on top of each other from thirty to forty feet away from the target. I also liked the cocking method, namly no bolt to pop out and hit your mask. One person even had to ask how I cocked it! The gas efficiency is incredible, I played in colder weather, and made due with just my nine ounce through more then hundred rounds. The only marker there that rivaled my efficiency was a stingray, shooting well over three hopper-fulls on one nine ounce. The grip no longer bothered me because you don't realize comfort when you have adrenalin pumping through you.
Weaknesses: As with everything, there is a downside. I only realized this during play however, that the marker has incredible kickback. You can try to hold it steady, but it is very difficult. The powerfeed plug is still a pain to turn, and it starts to hurt after a while, so I am going to buy a new one. Though not a problem, since I had only one break, which was not during a game, the barrels' accuracy vanishes after a ball break, the balls go wherever they want to, up, down, left, or right. The velocity adjuster is very good, though the slightest adjustment will lead to a HUGE change in velocity, which is not bad, only an annoyance.
Conclusion: Great marker! Those two words sum up all that I have written, even though some blemishes do shine through (or maybe thats my anodizing coming off). Its' simplicity is what attracted me to buy it in the first place, and it has not failed me yet. I am however coming very close to trying to burn the power feed plug, because it is increasingly difficult to turn, even with a large amount of oil. But as always (well, at least most of the time), good triumphed over evil. Though the rating is not as high as my original review, because of the incredible kickback, the F4 still gets a good ratng, a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, February 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha G3
Spyder Compact 2000
Tippman Prolite
Marker Setup: I use an F4 illustrator w/ a 14" barrel & expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would recommend a longer barrel.
Strengths: This product is durable, and very CO2 efficient. The volocity is very consistant from shot to shot. Thi gun is also very accurate. In two games I shot my brother twice with only three paintballs. Both shots were at least 50ft away. Great gun!
Weaknesses: The gun seems to lose alot of CO2 when unscrewing the tank. Might just be my O rings.
Conclusion: This is a great buy. It's perfect for playing with friends and if you wanna bring it to a real coarse it will shoot better than most guns people have.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Raptor , JT 4.0 , M98 , Sheridan XTS
Marker Setup: F4 illustrator , venturi bolt , 8 inch custom made barrel , 4 stage expansion chambor
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: very reliable , easy to clean , not that expensive , take's pro carbine barrels
Weaknesses: not that accurate unless u put a new barrel on it
Conclusion: This is a great gun for a beginner player and with the right upgrades you can win a small tournament. Buy it if u are a starting player playing walk on games or small tournaments.I have taken out players with M98's , automags and i have also beat a player with a 2001autococker.Great gun buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media