paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI F4 Illustrator / ACI F4 Illustrator / ACI F4 Illustrator / ACI F4 Illustrator

ACI F4 Illustrator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI F4 Illustrator

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI F4 Illustrator
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New upgrades from the previous F-4 include a much more comfortable 45-Grip frame, new wide trigger shoe, and the trigger pull of only 2.2 lbs.! The gun has no external moving parts meaning less maintenance and less chance of breakdowns. All moving parts are hardened or hard anodized for long life. ACI's new patented valve system is proven to be the most air efficient in the industry allowing the F4 to operate in all temperature ranges with over 800 shots off of your 9oz. tank.
Product Availability 
The ACI F4 Illustrator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
gothic goat Sunday, January 27th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann about the same
spyder sonix better
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 custom
12 in. 32 dgrees nyte stick barrel
GTA double trigger
VL 9 volt REV
Recommended
Upgrades:
ACI 6 stage exspansion chamber
ACI 12.5 in. Zero gravity barrel
Strengths: so far performance and relablity are almost as good as the Tippmann
Light frame
light trigger pull
not a spyder
not a worr product
Weaknesses: It took a little bit to get the gun fireing right
Conclusion: bought as a pack up for tourneyies
my become my speedball gun
not as many people have heard of ACI
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've used a Talon, which I will not compare to a semi, because the Talon is $35 and therefor you get $35 performance (I still might play with it to sharpen my skillz). I have also used my bro's Shutter, and personally I like my F4 much better.
Marker Setup: Stock F4 Illustrator powered by a 9 Oz chrome-Moly and fed by a VL 200 w/ adjustable elbow (Damn that 7/8 power feed).
Recommended
Upgrades:
What can I say, mine is completely stock, though I would recommend a new barrel because the stock barrel is large bore. But the stock barrel is also an aftermarket barrel (it's the Zero-G Millenium series).
Strengths: Let's start with the small things. First the trigger shoe is nice, because the trigger is like a razor to my poor little fingers. Next the steel-braided hose is very nice as opposed to the macro-line on my bro's Shutter. Love the wrap-around grip, much better than grip plates, while on the grip subject, thank God that the grip can accept standered bottom lines. Plus another little bouns: when I opened up the F4 to oil it for the first time of use, I found that the parts had a liberal coating of lube on them already. And now the two main reason's I fell in love with the F4: the fact that everything on it but the grip is made of aluminum or steel. The other reason? The fact that a 9 Oz can get a reasonable amount of shots. The tool-free field strip, even though not one of the main reasons, is also nice, even though it can't compare to the field strip on a Spyder or Piranha (hope I spelled that right), which will only take a matter of seconds.
Weaknesses: These are just little things. The biggest of the little things is the fact that the power-feed plug if a pain to remove and turn (the plus-side is you could run over it a few times and you could still use the plug). Another of the little gripes is that whenever you try to remove the striker-plug, it's o-ring gets snagged on the threads of the body. The grip frame is also plastic, but that doesn't bother me right now, because somewhere down the road, I'll buy an aluminum frame. And to correct another person, the field strip pin is not threaded both ways, only one, and thats the way you put the plug in to extract it.
Conclusion: Now my conclusion. Great job by ACI! even though some thought could have been put into certain parts (trigger frame, barrel), the job that was done was excellent. Now I just got my F4, and I've been testing it in weather that, on average is about 20-40 degrees F. The Sub-Zero valve works just as they said, and I'm running my F4 on a 9 Oz (thats CO2), no freeze-ups, no failures to recock. The only thing that I would've liked more is if the stock barrel was medium bore, since I've been testing it with Diablo Rec paint. Once again, I must say that ACI has done a great job, so I give my Illustrator a perfect 10, even though I don't believe that anything is perfect, because there is always room for improvement.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dockman Tuesday, December 18th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ProLite, Spyder, VM68
Marker Setup: F4 with Venturi bolt, HVC, Air America Black Ice reg, Double Trigger with trigger job, ACI Zero gravity - JJ ceramic - Custom stubby - Stock barrel, KAPP Drop Zone 2 with econo adapter, Dye pressure gauge, and a little T.L.C.
Recommended
Upgrades:
ALL that I have, my gun kicks butt. Asked on more than one occasion if I had a electronic trigger frame
Strengths: LOW maintenance, Easy to upgrade, Simple design, WELL built, ACI = QUALITY
Weaknesses: Stock barrel not to great, but then not to many stock ones are anything to jump for joy over. Stock trigger is a little sloppy but that is easy to fix.
Conclusion: Great all round gun, would recommend to anyone looking to get into the sport, or wants a reliable and easy to upgrade gun. Perfect for the rec player that does not want to spend an arm and a leg on a gun and wants to get the most for their money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 16th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Syder Tl
Spyder Compact
Spyder SE
Syder Shutter
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Stock, except for a Benchmaster expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new barrel and an Expansion chamber
Maybe a new bolt. (ive heard different stories about getting new bolts)
Strengths: Everything! The gun is bad ass right out of the box.
The barrel is pretty sweet, it shoots straight and is wicked accurate. Ive hit some guys at over 200ft with the stock barrel.
The LP system kicks ass, i use a case and a 1/4 of paint before i have to refill my 20oz.
Gun is perfect for cold weather play.
Easy to strip. You dont need any tools to field strip it.
Rearcocking is cool.
Never chopped a ball..
...okay i did once but it was with that 5 dollar paint from Brass Eagle.
Weaknesses: Nothing.
'Cept that upgrade parts are a tad bit pricey.
Conclusion: this gun out performs all of the guns i have used so far, including an Angel and a Autococker. Shoots straight, fast and is very consistant in velocity.
THis gun IS the creme de la creme of semis.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

FastFlash Saturday, December 8th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stingray, Brass-Eagle bad pump markers
Marker Setup: Lapco Bigshot barrel
Smartparts Stainless steel barrel
4 Stage ACI expansion chamber
Raised sight rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
Expansion chamber
New barrel is a very worthy upgrade
Strengths: Very low maintence
No wear and tear so far
Good gas effienientcy (700-900 shots on a 9oz)
Very accurate with upgrades
Single trigger
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is sub-par
Conclusion: This gun is very nice. I had no problems with it so far.
Get the upgrades and you have one of the best semi markers around.
I have done very little maintence and still performs like a champ.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, November 27th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
F-1, F-2, VM-68(PMI-3), Spiders, GREEN Raptor
Marker Setup: 98 F-4, Sub zero 6 stage exp chamber, HVC, 12.5" aci barrel, CMI 45 degree grip, aci venturi bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
as above
Strengths: If your in the market for a marker at a good price high quality look no further. My F4 is a older 98 model. The 99s cam out about a year after mine it now comes standard with a 45 grip. Though if you have a older F4 with a cpappy euro grip check out C & O Paintball the have a ad in APG look under mavrick parts that 45 grip will fit almost anything with a euro grip. I do have a 2000 F4 also. Just as reliable as my first one. Got it used, only three times. The trigger is an improvement over the first. That wide trigger shoe is a blessing. My first one is plastic tubeing. More accurate than a stock spider. Also no one i have ever known has had to cut springs to play unlicke every spider I have seen. F4s are light, slim, a decent ROF, and damn reliable. My first one after three years lost its cup seal, no bigee if thats it after 3 years i am happy. With it set up like mine i have had no problem in cold weather. The worst case was sleet with ice forming on our guns. Out of 18 people only 2 others went without problems that day. All ACI parts are seemingly disghned for there markers. Looks realy nice with all aci parts on them. With a ACI venturi bolt you have two velosity adjusters. In the front of the bolt through the holes is the ajustment, with this you can lower the FPS down. Both my F4s shoot within a 5+- FPS. Very consitant. Easy to cock. Love that top cocking handle.
Weaknesses: stock barrel is not to bad, i have seen worse. Feild stripping while easy, can be a bear. To get the conecting pin out you use a small screw on the top back plug. First its theaded both ways. You can back it out tring too get out the pin. You need to use thead lock to keep it in the plug. Also that little thread peice can break easy. BE CAREFUL, don't try to rip the pin out or you are in trouble. You will need ethier a new conecting pin or a new back plug or BOTH. You will need the threaded peice for certian.
Conclusion: F4s rock. Great starter and with a little money exelent rec gun. Builds on a tradition of awsome guns. While not as many upgrades as other guns, the ones made for it make it a reliable marker for years of service. And as always nothig is prefect a 9 is what i consider best. 10s are unatianable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 23rd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: F4 illustrator, ACI Venturi bolt, venturi 14" barrel, ACI 6 stage exp chamber, ACI HVC
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend my gun set up. My gun is accurate and powerful. What else do you expect .
Strengths: This is the best low-priced gun you can get. It's powerful and accurate when you have all the necessary upgrades. When upgraded it looks awesome.
Weaknesses: The grip is cheap plastic. problems with the sear have occured. This gun is not too good stock. Upgrades are definitely needed. I spent a total of $370 for my gun and the upgrades which is a rip-off. For that kind of money you can buy a WGP autococker stock.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to a person who is new in the world of paintball. This gun is reliable and accurate(when upgraded). Upgrades are a must but pricey if you wan't your gun to its maximum performance. If your a newbie get this gun. This was my first gun I ever owned and it never disappointed me. I now own an Impulse.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 9th, 2001
Strengths: this is a realperson who has a f4 chilli pepper red tis gun is worthless without upgrades dont get me wrong its a good gunout of the package it shot great but it needs a better barrel i see it more as a snipper gun try a 14 inch carbon fiber by 32 degrees or a boom stick
Weaknesses: ok where to begin? the barrel... stock barrels just arnt gona work! i got about 600 shots in a 20 once Co2 but i think it leaksa little and the grip sucks u haveo get anew handle to put a double trigger on it i would recomend a f4 pro but other than this stuff its a great gun
Conclusion: in conclusion i would recomed this gun to snipers and pele that want a projest gun to trick out and make it look good and if u do happen t et this gun look for pricess cause u can get this gun for about $115 now dont pay $200 and another good thing is it has horizonal and vertical Co2 and i recomend this gun and that why i give it a 9.0 it is very durable i took it out and the first game it got smashed around and picked it up took it home cleaned it out and worked good as new the next week!!!!!!!Have any questions about it email me Crews45913@aol.com
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, October 31st, 2001
Strengths: This gun is a good all around gun
It is very good in the feild, and also is just good for shooting
exelent aim
keeps balls goingstrait
Weaknesses: Sometimes breaks balls( but not in the barrel right out side of it.)
the vertical feed gets in the way of the sight slightly
cocker is sort of messed up but no big deal
Conclusion: I think that is an excellent gun and if you buy it it will come with a sight rail and expeanison chamber and is worth the 160 that i paid for it. It is also better than the Tl = by kingman
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:38 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AznPballr Friday, October 19th, 2001
Strengths: All u who dis this gun eitha dont hav one or dont use it right. I just bought this gun for about 130 bucks, and i wus impressed. The entire gun is well built with nothing loose or anythin. Some of its features include a setup with no moving external parts, powerfeed, a unique top cocking knob, custom anodizing (get the silver one!), a vertical tank setup with an angled bottom line, a built in sight rail (not very useful since it doesnt look over the powerfeed but looks cool), a 45 grip frame, easy field stripping, and other stuff im too lazy to mention. The F4 also looks tough (which it is) and sleek at the same time. I oiled all the moving parts once i got it with some airlube that comes in the box; it shoots very well. It's consistent on me and doesn't break balls. It balances pretty good, too. The F4 also has these 7 slits milled into the side that look bad ass but are only external, so the only real way anything can get into your gun is through the powerfeed hole. This means less maintenence and less problems. Field stripping the gun is very easy with a little practice, and taking the entire thing apart is also easy since ACI includes all the tools needed (except a flat head screwdriver for the grips, but who doesn't have one of those?). ACI also gives u a cool red aluminum barrel plug. The trigger is FINE for all you pansies who complain that it's too hard, and the stock grips are also FINE for u pansies again.
Weaknesses: K when u field strip this gun, watch out when you take out the bolt because if u dont be careful the bolt will get scratched up against the barrel threading. Before i got the F4 i thought what the meant by "slide cocking" was that the sight rail could be slid back to cock like pistols. It ended up being a knob at the back of the sight rail. But it's all good. There's supposedly a possibility that the trigger shoe might fall off, but it's never happened to me. Finally (this is nothing), u cant dry fire the gun which pissed me off until i realized u could, but u have to hold the cocking knob in the back position.
Conclusion: Get an F4! For the price, it's one of the best u can get. Never used the stock barrel since i ordered a 16'' SP AA with it. Mines also got a 14 oz tank, which is supposedly shorter than a 12 oz. Future upgrades will be an expansion chamber OR drop foreward with SP antisiphon tank, high volume cell (which does absolutely nothing except look cool, Ventury bolt, and a SP wood grip. U can tell i like smart parts =). In conclusion, the F4 Illustrator is a well built, easy to maintain, hard to break, bad ass looking, well performing paintball gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:42 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media