paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI F4 Illustrator / ACI F4 Illustrator / ACI F4 Illustrator / ACI F4 Illustrator

ACI F4 Illustrator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI F4 Illustrator

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI F4 Illustrator
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 83
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New upgrades from the previous F-4 include a much more comfortable 45-Grip frame, new wide trigger shoe, and the trigger pull of only 2.2 lbs.! The gun has no external moving parts meaning less maintenance and less chance of breakdowns. All moving parts are hardened or hard anodized for long life. ACI's new patented valve system is proven to be the most air efficient in the industry allowing the F4 to operate in all temperature ranges with over 800 shots off of your 9oz. tank.
Product Availability 
The ACI F4 Illustrator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Unregistered User Wednesday, September 12th, 2001
Strengths: The gun is a good value for a starter. it has good balance. All the moving parts are internal. And yu can get around 400 to 550 shoots out of a 9oz tank.
Weaknesses: There are a number of things that i myself do not like. The bolt has to be coated with air lube or it is very hard to cock. It does not have very good consistany. The rate of fire isterrible, i have choped lots of balls. One bad experice was that i was in the heat of battle on the hyperfield and thegun jammed and it was impossible to unjamm. in the end i had 5 people with bushmasters and angels unload on me and well you figure out the rest.
Conclusion: All and all it is a good gun, not very dependable but good enough for a begginer. It definetly needs a new barrel if ou want accuracy. i would definatly recommed it to anyone that is just getting started in the fun sport of paintball.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, September 7th, 2001
Strengths: This gun is great, very reliable. Iv'e played in 20 degree weather and it still worked beautifully(with x chamber). The valve lets me get about 1500 shots out of my 14 oz tank. Very consistant with velocity even without the x-chamber and thats what makes up 75%% of your accuacy. I love this gun, very few ball chops and it looks great. Great value.
Weaknesses: Not much, but the barrel could definitly be upgraded if you want extreme accuracy. I have a 12 inch dye aluminum and it has awsome accuracy.
Conclusion: Great gun, with lots of upgrade options. Great value if you are a begginer or your not rich and you can't buy an autococker. Great balance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, September 4th, 2001
Strengths: I am from Holland (thats in Europe) and I have to say, in Holland the F4 is not cheap! Retail price is around 650,- (thats about $350!) Anyway, I played for 4 years with a Stingray 1 and I recently bought my F4. Everytime I play with it now it blows me away! It is a very reliable gun and I must say, everytime I bought an upgrade I felt its performance improve. I personnely don't have to fire 14 rounds per second (I always play in the woods) so I do not have to spend a lot more money for a gun who can do that. And compared to a Spyder whitch is in the same price rate, my F4 is more accurate, more relable and more BEAUTIFULL!!(I can speak from experience.
Weaknesses: I play in a team and 5 of my teammates also have an F4. Each time one of us got our F4 the box it came in was filled with different "side-products". One got a manual, the other didn't. One got air-lube, the other didn't. I was the lucky one, I got all of it + some stickers of ACI. Of course, it's a bad thing when you buy a gun and the stuff that the box says it includes isn't all there!
Conclusion: I could mark enemies with it without upgrades, but with every upgrade the gun did perform better!
Costwise, it is the best gun there is. Especially here in Holland because the only substitute is a spider, and spiders suck!!
So if you're from Holland: BUY AN F4!!!!!!! And for all of you in the States, I hope I ever get the change to take it up to all your cool markers I see on the internet and read in your magazines!!

PAINTBALL IS MY WAY OF LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, August 26th, 2001
Strengths: Well this was my first gun. Then I got a 'Cocker. Anyways, the F4 is a nice affordible easy to use a strip beginers gun. I got mine a SC Village Crona CA used for $43 and it had the s*** beat out of it but it still was accurate and had some distanec
Weaknesses: It is loud sence the stock barrel has no porting. (the little holes in the barrel) But that is about it.
Conclusion: Good beginer gun. I would not piticuraly buy one if you have played for a couple years. Well priced gun. Easy cleaning. Easy striping. Change the barrel, bold and swich to Hp instead of Co2.



------Kurt "Rat" Brizzolara------
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, August 7th, 2001
Strengths: This gun is great.
Its cheap, nice rate of fire, very c02 efficient.
Alot of people complain that it leaks, but the thing with F4's is that you HAVE to cock it first and THEN gas it up, or else it'll blow a TON of c02. If you cock it first and then gas it up, you wont have any problems.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel sucks.
Some of them have a little bulge in the powerfeed from a bad weld, and you have to use a dremel tool or something similar to sand out the bulge, and then polish it. But once you fix out the bulge, the F4 will be one of the sweetest blow back semi's you've ever fired.
Conclusion: Its ownage
You can get aftermarket parts for it easily enough, but it really doesn't need anything besides a better barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, July 26th, 2001
Strengths: No external moving parts. Cool rear cocking system (like M-16 rifle). Great on CO2 (about 1200 rounds/12 oz tank). Cool anodized finish. Light weight. I have never broken a ball in it. Comfortable 45 grip. Pretty quiet with zero gravity barrell. Accurate! I've shot rps premium which shot great and at the times when it wasn't available, rps big ball, pmi from walmart and sheridan (diablo) from walmart. All shot great with no breaks.
Weaknesses: Stock barrell stinks--I use a zero gravity which rules. Trigger guard fell off and got lost in the woods somewhere. Slow trigger pull (like all the rest of the guns in this range). Tough to get pin out--my tool broke the first day.
Conclusion: Very well worth the money. I've owned an F1, F2 (which I still have) and the F4. All in all, probably the best gun under $200. It gets a lot of looks at the fields because of the cool anodized finish. I'm upgrading to an autococker but will keep this gun as a backup. Get this instead of a spyder--you won't be sorry!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, July 13th, 2001
Strengths: I like the way it is set up I bought a used one for 50$ and but like30$ into it and it works better than my buddies Autococker at times!! I like the no exturnal moving parts It does real good getting the most shots on a tank I can shoot a hole case of 2000 on 2 24 oz tanks!! EASY Field striping
Weaknesses: It chops balls bad bad You will need to buy a 9 volt or 12 Volt Reve. It cn be a little bit hard to cock at times
Conclusion: I would say if you are looking for a good starting out gun to buy 1 cause it takes all kinds of upgrades it is good for it money i will say that soo my advice is to buy 1 for wood games but if you get it and want to rapid fire you will need a rev
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, June 20th, 2001
Strengths: When i first started playing about 4 and a half years ago i wanted a gun that pretty much looked good. As i progressed through paintball my thoughts changed and i began to want a gun that was reliable. My first gun was an f-4, it is a good reliable gun if you know how the gun works. For the first year that i had the gun, it had no upgrades and i ran it off of CO2 horizontally. Not realizing that the CO2 was ripping apart the cup seal in the gun. I would loose air very quickly and chop alot of paint. Once i replaced the cup seal and put the bottle on the vertical it worked great. I didn't chop much if any paint the whole day (9:30 am to 4:00 pm)!
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is not that great so i suggest getting a new one. Also unless you plan on getting an N2 or compressed air tank, put your tank on the vertical adaptor or a remote with an expansion chamber.
Conclusion: This gun does perform well with the stock upgrades however i had found that the vl200 does not feed fast enough for me so i had to feed paint with a 9v rev and now i seem to chop less paint. As far as cost is concerned i would say it a bit expensive. It works alot like a spyder however what you are paying for are looks. Just my personal opinion if you don't care about looks go with a spyder. They have more upgrades too.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, June 13th, 2001
Strengths: No moving parts means that you can stay in tight to your 'gun and that dirt wont find its way into the bolt very easily. The cup seals are very reliable, (mine hasn't frozen yet in the two years i've had it) and its ability to feild strip in seconds makes any problems easily remedied. For the price of this marker you wont be able to get any thing of better quality or more reliability.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel is innacurate but who sticks with the stock berrel any way? The only other complaint is the rate of fire, which is slow comared to higher-end markers but is average for this price range.
Conclusion: This 'gun is worth every penny. It outshines similarily priced markers and can even keep up with "better 'guns". This 'gun is the ideal beginners marker and when you get better and know what you are doing, some simple upgrades like a bolt, barrell and expansion chamber all all you need to boost its performance to the next level. Best deal ever!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, June 12th, 2001
Strengths: I have had my '99 F4 for nearly 2 years now. I have a Benchmark 4 Stahe Exp. on the front which acts more for a grip than anything else. Running a remote and expansion i have never had any troubles in cold weather. The stock barrel, although being a tad loud is highly suitable to speedball style play PROVIDED you are using good paint. I thought the stock barrel and my Zero Gravity 13.5inch barrel's were crap until i put some fresh RP Marby thru them. What a difference some good paint can make. I played the 2000 nationals in NZ using my F4, shot about 3500rds in two days and only broke one ball, from what i beleive was being to fast on the trigger. Can hurl 7-8rps all day long with a 12/18V Revy feeding it with no worries. Will constantly get "what sorta marker is that" comments from people. Venturi bolt is great more so once you get the adjustable re-cock sorted out. Can get around 1500-1800rds outta a 20oz
Weaknesses: Due to the way the F4 is made 8 - 9 bps is all it will ever hurl. Definitly not able to keep up with the electro's out there but for at most a 1/5th of the price who is to complain.
No matter how i have the velocity adjuster i ALWASY chrono at 240-265 (at least i'll never get a chrono violation)
Conclusion: Venturi bolt, 12/18v revvy, remote and good paint is all that needs to be added to have a marker that will go toe to toe with a mag or cocker on a speedball feild.
Great marker for anyone starting out or anyone on a budget.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media