paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT / Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT / Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT / Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT

Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 30
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann’s new 98 Custom Platinum Series is now easier to upgrade, modify and maintain.

New Features Include:

* Split Receiver Design, which provides easier access to internal components for simplified installation of grip upgrades and modifications
* Secure Front Sight Spring and Trigger Pins, which makes the marker easier to service and reassemble
* Easy-to-Remove Power Tube Design with self-sealing/locking gas line secures the valve in place and eliminates two bolts from previous design making maintaining the marker quicker and easier
* Full Depth Pockets for ASA, which eliminates the need to loosen the ASA bolts when disassembling the marker
* New Barrel Porting and a Matte Finish, which improves marker air efficiency and reduces reflective glare
* Picatinny Rails, which makes adding a carry handle, scopes and other accessories a snap
* Redesigned, Vertical Front Grip, which offers improved stability and added texture for a more secure feel
* Redesigned Sling Mount End Cap, which allows players to easily attach a variety of different sling styles

There is also a new Quick Thread Flatline Barrel, which attaches as easily as any other barrel to save players significant time and effort. The new Platinum Series maintains the core features of the original 98 Custom including, ACT (Anti Chop Technology), all aluminum die cast receiver, quick-release feeder elbow and a 200-round hopper. It’s fully compatible for CO2, compressed air, or nitrogen.


Caliber: 0.68

Action: Semi-Automatic
Power: CO2, compressed air, nitrogen

Hopper Capacity: 200
CO2 Capacity: NA

Feed rate: 8 BPS
Firing rate: 8 BPS

Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 8.5 inches

Length: 19.6 inches
Weight: 2.9 lbs (without tank)

Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
ericw95 Wednesday, June 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann a5: similar accuracy, however much higher rate of fire
US Army Alpha Black Tactical Edition: nearly identical, just heavier
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Platinum Series ACT
-Proto 16 in 1 pc barrel
-Pure Energy 20 oz Co2 tank
-BT folding stock
Proto El switch goggles
Recommended
Upgrades:
Proto 16 in barrel
stock of somesort
Strengths: Range, accuracy (see review), low recoil, easy to disassemble
Weaknesses: Accuracy (see review), feed rate, terrible for anything other than woodsball, stock sight is useless
Review: Strengths:
One of the best things about this gun is its accuracy. When I play woodsball, I am a feared sniper because of the great range and accuracy I can achieve with this marker and my Proto barrel. Also, this marker's good weight balance allows it to achieve a low recoil. Another pro is that it is easy to disassemble. Although the first time was a bit rough, I can now disassemble and clean the entire marker in about 20 minutes.

Weaknesses:
In contrast, this gun has not been quite as reliable as people have told me. The ACT works nicely, but balls are still occassionally chopped (in an average day I will shoot 2000 paintballs, and chop about 4). Also, to maintain a high accuracy I have to clean all the internals of the gun after a few hours, which isn't so bad since it is easy to disassemble. The feed rate on this gun is FAR from 8bps, and every few shots I have to shake my gun to ensure a good feed. This gun performs pitifully in speedball for the reason just mentioned.

Recommendations:
I would recommend getting a good barrel for this gun when you buy it, since the stock barrel is useless. The Proto barrel I own was relatively cheap ($30) and is far more accurate than my friend's flatline. Also, if you are a beginner, I would recommend renting a gun a few times and then buying a more effective gun such as the x7 if you think you like the game.
Conclusion: If you are a beginner just getting into the game of paintball, this marker will probably serve you well. However, if you think you will stick with the game, I would recommend investing in a better marker such as the x7 or a5. Both of these guns have addressed some of the problems of the 98 such as the feed rate.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

splatchat Wednesday, September 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
-spyder victor 2
-spyder pilot
-tippmann m98
-spyder imagine
Marker Setup: -JJ ceramic 14in. barrel
-tippmann double trigger
-custom paint job
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel for sure, rest is up to you
Strengths: -Durability
-Accuracy
-Easy to clean
-Easy to upgrade
-many more
Weaknesses: -Maybe originality, a lot of people have this gun
Review: I found this gun to be a great step up from my first gun. I started with a spyder but had some problems so decided to move up to something that might last longer. At first I kept it with no upgrades for the first month of ownership. After that I decided to get a new barrel. In my oppinion the barrel is a must, my range and accuracy greatly improved with the new barrel. I beat my friends 1 vs 2 with my 98 custom against there spyder pilot and spyder imagine. All in all I would reccomend this gun.
Conclusion: Get this gun if you want a gun that requires little maintenence and will last. It is also a great gun for the begginer to paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kokoklownanr Monday, July 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Model 98
Tippmann 98 Custom with Response and Cyclone
Tippmann Pro-Lite
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Platinum ACT
Stock Barrel
Wichester 50 round hopper
68/4500 Crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Reliable
Easy to upgrade
Easy to clean
Tippmann quality
Simple design
Split reciever
Weaknesses: Loud
Stock Barrel
Matte finish
Ugly (just my opinion)
Review: Well, the only real reason i bought this was because, all of my previous markers were 15+ years old. So i had no idea when they would decide to crap out on me, and when they do i can't get any new parts for them. So i bought this to bring along with me to the field in case if anything goes wrong with my other guns. First thing is it is so inaccurate with the stock barrel, its not even funny!!!!!! The other thing is even with HPA a Tippmann will always be jumping at the chronograph, mine was like 268, 277, 285, 278 then out of no where 301 then back to like 285'ish. I love Tippmanns, and that is the only company i will ever buy from, but with the Picatinny Rail it is only one size, before they used to have 3/8 and weaver (i think...) but now they only have the weaver rail. What if you have a 3/8 mounting red dot or something? But anyway i love this gun and intend to use it till its life comes to an end, and knowing Tippmanns quality, that may be a very, very, very long time. (that is if i clean and maintain it :D)
Conclusion: Buy this gun it rocks!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

53hansen53 Wednesday, October 6th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mechanical Tippmann guns
Marker Setup: Tech T Fang trigger
AL-200 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tech T Fang trigger (or double trigger)
Strengths: Reliable
very customizable
Cheap
Weaknesses: stock trigger
barrel (short)
Gas use
Review: This is a very good gun for new people in the sport of paintball. Very Reliable and customizable. Great for woodsball but can use a one or two upgrades for speedball. All my friends have a Tippmann 98 and they've never broke on use and we've been playing for years. The only problem I've had is the gun uses gas like crazy...but i can live with it.
Conclusion: So over all this is a great gun. I recommend this gun to new people in the the sport of paintball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

McBrideBros Sunday, May 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None, first paintball gun.
Marker Setup: Swat Style stock from trinity paintball
Opsgear AK Magazine kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel, about 14"
Strengths: Decent accuracy
ACT=No ball breakage=:)
Very rugged, like an AK-47
Lightweight
Weaknesses: Poorly customisable (see review)
Kinda short barrel
NOT smooth shooting
A little bit loud
Review: Well, lets start with the accuracy, the acuracy is nice but it would be nice to have a longer barrel

The problem is that a few years ago the 98 was the marker TO HAVE but now people are more into the A-5, X7 and X7 Phenom, so now the companies that used to make accesories for the 98 do not make them anymore so if you're planning on customizing it, buy a different gun.


This is a good gun, its accurate its rugged and its quite good overall
Conclusion: If you want a customizable gun do not buy it but it is a good begginer gun
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SlamSlayer Saturday, December 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder MR-1, Bt-4 Delta, Procarbine, 98 custom
Marker Setup: Pure energry 72ci/3000psi hpa tank, 98c platinum with car stock, Flatline barrel, palmers female stabalizer, generic remote line, gravity hopper, ncstar 30mm red dot with riser.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel for sure (anything other than the stock barrel will do really), decent hopper if your going with a RT or Egrip, Decent HPA tank.
Strengths: STURDY AS HELL
Cheap
Upgradeable
Reliable
The Ak 47 of paintball
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Its the Ak 47 of paintball (good but there are better)
Review: The 98c is my first and current marker. Soon I hope to be upgrading to a BT TM-15. I havn't been in the sport for to long (something like 8 or 9 months) but I do get a yearning for better.

The 98 feels like a true piece of equipment. You get the feeling that it can (and will) take all the abuse you will throw at it during the most hardcore conditions of play you can find. It requires little to no maitenance, just a little lube every now and than (if even that) and you know its gonna fire when you pull the trigger. I've ye to have a barrel break or anything of that sort with this gun after all the paint I put through it. The A(nti).C(hop).T(echnology) I belive truly works in that respect.

Its a very upgradable marker. You can buy the basic set up and just go from there. Upgrade its ROF, Internals, externals, etc. You can really build this marker up from a tippmann to YOUR tippmann. But of course, when all is said and done, the amount of money you put into it could usually have been spent on a better marker that worked as good and better right out of the box. The 98 will stand the tests of time, but there will always be better.

Its a great starter marker and thats all there really is to it. It can be your main work horse, and when you finally upgrade to something better, you know it will be there as a reliable backup.
Conclusion: For its class of marker, you really can't go wrong. Tippmann are known for being dependable. Thats why they are the marker used at 99% of fields. If nothing else, it can take a beating. Get it if you want something cheap to call your own, but doesn't feel like you can snap it in two. If you were to do ONE thing and only one thing to it ever, buy a new barrel. The stock is pretty horrid. It gets a 7 1/2 (though there is no such rating here) for being something you can count on.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 26th, 2009 at 4:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cheeco227 Wednesday, December 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom (version prior to the Platinum) - Platinum has good improvements.
US Army Alpha Black Tactical - technically a 98c (non-ACT) but just shaped like M4A1.
BT-4 Combat - very similar to this but without ACT and has a better foregrip.
Azodin Kaos - costs less than the 98C Platinum ACT but generally performs way better.
Smart Parts Vibe - no contest..the new vibe trumps this, hands down, for just $10 more.
Marker Setup: Azodin Kaos
- CP Ion Clamping Feedneck
- CP One Piece Barrel - Dust Black 14" .689 bore Autococker thread
- Tippmann SSL-200 Loader

Smart Parts Vibe
- CP One Piece Barrel - Dust Black 14" .689 bore Ion thread
- Smart Parts Vibe Blackheart Board Kit - Silver
- TechT L7 v2 Bolt
- Invert Halo Too Loader - Matte Black
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrels - provides great improvement in accuracy over the stock barrel.
- 12"/14" J&J Ceramic
- 14" CP One Piece
- 12" Lapco Bigshot with APEX

Internal:
- TechT Zero Kick Hammer ACT - significantly lessens recoil/kick and may also improve efficiency per shot due to the light weight of the hammer.
Strengths: Durability
Offset Feedneck (aiming wise)
Upgradability (Internal & External / Aesthetic & Performance)
ACT
Weaknesses: Weight
Performance at Price Point
Recoil
Inefficient Gas Usage
Price of Upgrades
Offset Feedneck (BPS)
Review: Reviews and opinions would highly depend on the users point-of-view, preference or usage of the product. In my case, I started playing Woodsball and later on got exposed to Speedball. After a lot of research and experience of use of this and other markers I've come to conclude that this product serves it's target market well enough. I believe what's important in a review is to find the true value of the product by identifying which group of people it was made for and then make an honest opinion from that perspective while highlighting pros and cons in comparison to others within it's price range. Now that that's established, on with the review.


I bought this for $139.00 online, got a 12" J&J Ceramic for around $30 and I have a decent shooting marker that's fun to use for woodsball.


PROS:
* Unquestionable Durability - Tippmanns are known for making very durable markers. This can take quite a beating and still work well with minimal maintenance. This will last way beyond other markers lifespan.

* Offset feedneck - Gives you the ability to aim straight without having the loader completely cover your line of site.

* Versatile Upgradability - Numerous possible cosmetic or aesthetic upgrades and accessories. For guys who are into Milsim, there are a couple of upgrades/kits that can make this marker look like an AK47, M4A1 and even a Barret to name a few. The picatinny rail can also accommodate most of the standard attachments like red dots, scopes, flashlights, laser sights...etc.
- Handful of external and internal performance upgrades from barrels, electronic loaders, expansion chambers, double triggers, e-grip, drop forwards, ASA's to bolts, hammers, low presure kits, regulators...etc.

* ACT - I've yet to experience ball chops on this marker. Considering the BPS this is capable of at stock, I'm not expecting any ball chops at all.


CONS:
* Relatively heavy and it's body is a little too long compared to speedball markers. This may affect maneuverability especially for fast-paced games. For longer hours of gameplay the cumbersomeness may also affect the players overall aim/accuracy. This can work to your disadvantage when you are up against players with light-weight markers.
* Significant amount of recoil which may also affect the players overall aim/accuracy (as compared to spool type markers).
* There are markers within in it's price range (or even less than it's price range) that are more efficient (gas wise - which also affects the number of rounds per tank), have faster BPS and are light-weight which gives the player a better overall performance out of the box.
* Performance upgrades are expensive and will still not make the marker perform well enough to justify the price.
* Offset feedneck makes for slower BPS compared to direct/vertical feed markers.


At the end of the day, taken at its face-value, I can say that this marker has served me well. But after being exposed to other markers that performs way better out of the box and less costly to upgrade, I find it difficult to recommend this marker other than if all you are after is the bullet-proof durability.
Conclusion: This marker is for someone who:
- wants a simple, low running cost, low maintenance, super durable marker that you don't plan to upgrade too much (other than the barrel) and just use it for woodsball.
- wants to use it as field rentals like I do.
- has cash to burn, a tippmann 98 fan and wants to upgrade it like crazy just for kicks.
for these people, i'd give the marker an 8.

However, performance wise, compared to other markers within it's price range out of the box (e.g. Smart Parts Vibe - $149.95) or even other mechanical markers of lower price (e.g. Azodin Kaos - $89.95), i'd give this marker a 5 (this should be fair enough considering this marker hasn't given me any problems for its use).

If you are on a budget and are serious about making a wise choice of investment here are a couple of things to consider:
- you can use speedball markers for woodsball but not the other way around.
- read reviews (check techpb or pbnation or watch video reviews in youtube), plan out how much you are willing to spend, what types of games you plan to play and from there choose that which has the best value (good price-performance ratio) for your hard-earned money.
- have FUN!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 21st, 2009 at 6:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Frgttensailor2 Tuesday, September 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom (serial number 100,000s)
Tippmann A-5 stock
E-spyder
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom platinum with A.C.T.
Tippmann E-Trigger
Cyclone feed system
Tippmann 6 position collapsible stock
RAP4 16 inch tactical rifle barrel with m4 shroud and sight with bird cage muzzle break
remote line
multiple 9,12, and 20 once pure energy CO2 tanks
RAP4 m4 magazine (for looks)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
E-Trigger
some form of force feeding device (whether it be the cyclone feeder or an electric hopper)
Strengths: Durable
inexpensive
HIGHLY upgradable
comfortable to hold and operate
easy maintenance
awesome customer service
Weaknesses: C02 inefficientcy
stock barrel is very accurate and hard on paintballs
Review: While at my local store i was debating on getting this marker, or paying 100 extra for the A-5, and settled on this as i am a bit of a bargain shopper when it comes to paintball gear, and let me say i couldnt be happier with my choice! this marker is extremely upgradeable and customizable (as i play a lot of woodsball and milsim I emulated an ar15/ M4, but its up to you to choose your specific look, feel, and play standards, as there are countless upgrades and customization gear out on the market), and for an extra 30-50 bucks you can find a cyclone feed system and make this gun just as good IF NOT better than an A-5. The only problems ive had so far were all user error (in the process of installing the E-trigger i was unaware of the ACT spring up on the bolt, didnt install it in the new bolt, and after a game of paintball noticed the spring had come loose and been sheared in half by the bolt), but any problems encountered can easily be brought to tippmann and they do a great job of getting replacement parts to you if you need them, and quickly. The split reciever design makes it a lot easier than the older models, where i found my self praying that all the internal parts weren't going to jump out and get lost when doing maintenance in the field. A great addition is the feature of two plugs on the right side of the marker that lead into the powertube, this is allows you to, without buying additional equipment or parts, install a cyclone feed and a response trigger, or any two gas products using stock parts, and doing it simply and easily.
Conclusion: Highly recommend it! This is a perfect marker for beginners, and experts a like. Its easy to pick up, easy to shoot, and EXTREMELY easy to maintain and care for. On top of all this, its American made! Ive tried a lot of friends markers, and Tippmann is the brand i prefer over all of them
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 15th, 2009 at 5:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

johny501 Sunday, August 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
alpha black tactical egrip
98 custom
Marker Setup: A5 SAW with polished internals , Firestorm crank , 450 round hopper , NCSTAR Milspec green laser sight , Tiberius bipod , trirail with tasco illuminated 3power scope

T9 elite st with first strike kit , NCSTAR green laser sight , tasco blue illuminated scope

98 CUSTOM PRO act , Bossman mag kit , rap4 cqb barrel , car stock , and rap4 remote line , red laser sight , cyclone kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Car stock - For better stability , BOOSMAN M4 mag kit - looks better that stock forgrip , rap4 cqb barrel - for those close encounters , Remote line - just get one you cheapskate
Strengths: They've gone and made a great marker better.
Weaknesses: None
Review: Lets start by saying that this marker will outlast most markers out of the box hands down guys . Built to last this might not be the last marker you'll ever need but you'll find your selves falling back on this marker again and again . The tippmann name is synonomous with quality and it shows with this product , but to get the true angle on this marker you can only compare it to the og 98 custom .
The first noticable change you will see is the housing , the orignal 98 is a plain two piece clam shell . The platinum has a three piece housing that makes the marker easyer to service . Next it has a better finish and if you realy want to nitpick the tippmann logo is slightly bigger that the original model .
Second thing you will notice is the picatinny rail on top of the marker . Yes it is plastic but I use it often and it is extremly durable . I have a very nice laser sight that I take on and off after every game and it hasn't worn out after that and the hefty abuse it gets during play .
Next the action in the bolt and the trigger pull . When you pull back the bolt on an og 98 it has a slightly lose feel to it , as if the marker was put together in a hurry . The trigger is jumpy and inconsistant . The platinums action is smooth and tight with a strong but sturdy trigger .
Conclusion: Both markers are great but not cut from the same cloth . The tippmann 98 platinum is a step above any other marker in its class .
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sgms player Monday, July 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann us army alpha black tactical
tippmann 98c
tippmann a5
Marker Setup: tippmann us army alpha black tactical 200 round veiw loader gravity feed hopper m16 fore grip and stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
better barrel and if you are a fast shooter e grip and cyclone feed.
Strengths: Very durable hard to break. Anti chop.
Weaknesses: Not very accurate. low r.o.f. if not upgraded.
Review: Tippmann always makes amazing markers and the 98 is an excellent gun. It is very durable and is not expensive. It is a great starter gun and will please anyone who joins the sport. The regular version of this marker is a rental marker at a lot of paintball fields. It is a very well know marker as well. It has tons of upgrades and modifications as well.
Conclusion: I would completely recommend this gun for newcomers in rec or woods ball. Evan players have played for a while could still use this gun. Also if you have this gun as a beginner when you become better player you can upgrade it to have more advanced parts and pieces.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media