paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT / Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT / Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT / Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT

Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 30
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann’s new 98 Custom Platinum Series is now easier to upgrade, modify and maintain.

New Features Include:

* Split Receiver Design, which provides easier access to internal components for simplified installation of grip upgrades and modifications
* Secure Front Sight Spring and Trigger Pins, which makes the marker easier to service and reassemble
* Easy-to-Remove Power Tube Design with self-sealing/locking gas line secures the valve in place and eliminates two bolts from previous design making maintaining the marker quicker and easier
* Full Depth Pockets for ASA, which eliminates the need to loosen the ASA bolts when disassembling the marker
* New Barrel Porting and a Matte Finish, which improves marker air efficiency and reduces reflective glare
* Picatinny Rails, which makes adding a carry handle, scopes and other accessories a snap
* Redesigned, Vertical Front Grip, which offers improved stability and added texture for a more secure feel
* Redesigned Sling Mount End Cap, which allows players to easily attach a variety of different sling styles

There is also a new Quick Thread Flatline Barrel, which attaches as easily as any other barrel to save players significant time and effort. The new Platinum Series maintains the core features of the original 98 Custom including, ACT (Anti Chop Technology), all aluminum die cast receiver, quick-release feeder elbow and a 200-round hopper. It’s fully compatible for CO2, compressed air, or nitrogen.


Caliber: 0.68

Action: Semi-Automatic
Power: CO2, compressed air, nitrogen

Hopper Capacity: 200
CO2 Capacity: NA

Feed rate: 8 BPS
Firing rate: 8 BPS

Trigger: Standard
Barrel length: 8.5 inches

Length: 19.6 inches
Weight: 2.9 lbs (without tank)

Effective Range: 150+ ft
Product Availability 
The Tippmann tippmann 98 custom platinum ACT is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
jake is killer Thursday, July 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippman 98c platnium== smart parts linear 14 inch barrel
Strengths: Reliable
Easy to take apart,use,and to clean
Weaknesses: Idk none so far
Review: I think it is a great gun it is so fun and easy itis a woodsball and beginers gun. the limit of the gun is un imaginable. i think their are alot of other guns and this is great but u want to buy if from a shop or online because the ones u buy at modells and sports authority are the i think lower and older ones but thats my opinion
Conclusion: Awsome awsome
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballkid94 Sunday, June 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Rex R2 ( purchased off of ebay for 80$)Stryker STR1 ( canadian tire gun)Viewloader Triton 2 ( walmart gun)
Marker Setup: Just got this gun yesterday so all stock parts so far.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitley longer barrel ( im getting a 16 inch JJ creamic barrel)Cyclone feed hopper to increase ROF E-grip if you want your tippmann to be electronic
Strengths: Sights on gun help aim ACT works quite wellVery sturdyShoots hard and somewhat accurate
Weaknesses: Short barrel,and a bit heavy.  
Review: Alright i just got this gun yesterday so i dont know a whole lot about it yet. I was looking for a new paintball gun after my Rex R2 kept breaking. I was looking at maybe getting a MR1 or a SP1 because i heard they were quite durable. Now i knew that tippmanns were the most durable and reliable guns i just wasent sure about there overall performance. So when i went to JT's Military Surplus Store yesterday in Ottawa Ontario, i asked them about the MR1 and Sp1. They said those were good guns but they would recommened the 98 custom. With a bit of hesitation i decided what the heck and purchased it. I tested it yesterday and shot about 500 paintballs out of it and only one chopped. That was probably because i was using some old zap paint. I will list the rating of the different categories of the 98 custom platinum series with ACT.Accuracy: 6/10 Well i was actually extremely suprised about the accuracy because that the stock barrel is only 8 inches. Overall is not terrible but not good either.ROF: 7/10 The rate of fire is actually not bad, i put about 50 paitnballs in the hopper and fired them as fast as i could and they all fired equally as hard and as accurate and not one chop.Rail: 9/10 The rail on this gun is extremely good because the hopper is off to the side so the sights actually really improve the markers aim. To improve the aim even  more i would recommend a longer barrel and maybe an optic such as a red dot site or a scope.Weight:8/10 The weight of this gun is extremely good, the width of the gun is kind of long but that doesent really affect anything. Again the weight would be lighter i just have a 20 oz tank on it.I will update this review as i upgrade my tippmann please say if this review was helpful.      
Conclusion: I would recommened this gun to anyone who wants a good reliable paintball gun that is really customisable well this is the gun for you. I would rate it a 10 if i had the upgrades but fo now it is a 9 with all stock parts.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bchow87 Wednesday, June 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5, spyder tl
Marker Setup: 98 custom
14" lapco big shot
Halo B hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: Very durable and customizable
Weaknesses: Ugly
Review: This is a great gun for the price. Great for begginners as well as pros. It is fairly accurate like all other paintball guns you do need to buy a new barrel the one that comes with the gun is only 8.5 inches. Tippmann makes excellent quality products however most of thier products are extremely ugly, however there are many products you can buy to change the appearance as well as enhance the performance of your gun to fit your needs. This gun is very durable it is used on most fields as a rental gun for a reason.
Conclusion: A very affordable and good quality gun for somebody who wants to play paintball
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

purplekush2011 Friday, March 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom w/ACT
Tippmann A-5
Tippmann 98 Custom Pro w/ACT & Cyclone Feed
Spyder Xtra
Spyder Sonix
JT Tac-5 Recon
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Platinum w/ACT
14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
20 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel.
Strengths: Durable
Feel
Accuracy
Consistency
CO2 Efficient
No Chops
Ease Of Cleaning
Very Upgradable
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Inside Is Complicated Compared To A Spyder
Not Amazing On CO2
Review: The 98 Custom Platinum is my third marker in a year. I first bought a Spyder Xtra, and it started to chop balls. At first, it would chop a couple, but later it would chop almost half of my shots. After two weeks of this, I returned it to Dicks Sporting Goods, and got my money back. Although all my friends had Tippmanns, I still wasn't ready to make an investment in such an expensive gun. I was walking around Fleet Farm when I saw the JT Tac-5 Recon, and it looked SO cool! Right away I knew this would definitely own the Tippmanns. Well it didn't. It was way too heavy, not accurate at all, used a whole 9 oz tank in 200 rounds, and was overall just a piece of crap. I returned it, and got my money back. After these two problematic markers, my friend told me I needed to go buy a Tippmann. Well they all had regular 98 customs, so I decided I'd be different and get the Platinum. It was a great decision. It takes me seconds to take it apart, and nothing comes flying out like it does with the 98 Custom. Theres two take apart, the front part and the back part. For all the upgrades and all, you just need to take off a couple screws outta the back part, and make your upgrades. With the regular 98, you need to take the whole thing off at once, and sometimes springs come flying out. Other than the two part division, the marker is the exact same as the regular 98 Custom. It has a strong solid feel, and is overall a great marker.
Conclusion: If you are a woodsballer and can't afford the A-5, buy this and get a nicer, quieter barrel like a Smart Parts or J&J (They're the best deal). You should also buy this if you are just getting into paintball, because there is zero maintenance required. For a beginner, I give it a 10, for an experienced player, I give it an 8. So my overall is a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Broncoboy557 Friday, February 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
Spyder MR1
Diablo Mongoose
Angel A1
SP Ion
None compare in Durability and Reliability
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Platinum
14 Inch barrel
20 Inch Barrel
Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bigger Barrel
Strengths: Durable
Light Weight
Not Very Loud
Best Woodsball Gun
Easy to Upgrade
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Review: This is my favorite woodsball gun. It is very durable. I do not have to worry about getting it wet or muddy because it is built to endure weather. I have never had to replace anything on this gun due to breakage/wear and tear. The only part that I replaced was the 8-inch barrel because I wanted more accuracy. This gun is also easy to upgrade. I put a stock on mine. There are many parts for it that can be found almost anywhere.
Conclusion: Best gun. Doesn't compare to any other gun I have used. Buy it. It will last you as long as you need it to. 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 27th, 2009 at 3:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snipes5 Tuesday, December 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98c regular
Marker Setup: tippman 98c platinum a.c.t.
flatline barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Its up to you theres alot of things to customize this marker. I would say the barrel before anything
Strengths: Anti chop works its durable ,accurate lots of upgrades.
Weaknesses: Few if any.
Review: This gun is very good and i absouloutely love it the anti chop works like a charm its accurate and theres lots of upgrades. Its a great starter marker or even good one for experienced players.On top of that its not to expensive. I would say if your beggining and you like rec ball woods ball this is the marker for you.
Conclusion: Get this marker its great. If your a speedballer who wants to try or play rec / woods ball get this marker you can almost build your own marker with all the upgrades. so 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bartender Friday, October 17th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Regular 98c
Spyder Electra
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c Platinum
Car Stock
Cyclone Feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel
New Hopper
Stock
Strengths: Good beginner gun
Tough
Durable
Picatinny Rail
Weaknesses: Lack of Upgrades (Compared to A5/X7)
Cleaning Dirt and Paint can be a Pain
Review: I bought this gun in April of 2008. It has lived up to the Tippmann reputation of being a tough marker, which means it has not failed on me. This would be the 1st gun I would suggest for a new player. I also like the picatinny rail running the whole length of the marker. The bad thing is that you don't have as many upgrade options as the A5/X7. They make more stuff for those guns than the 98c. Cleaning the dirt and paint can also be a huge pain.
Conclusion: It is a good beginner gun, but the lack of upgrades doesn't make it as good.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ems Tuesday, June 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used a X7,A5,and couple of low end mechanicles
Marker Setup: Right now i use a tippmann 98 with some of my own custom made parts (not recommended)and a red dot scope response trigger,and 9,12,24oz co2 tanks and a eletric VL hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer barrel cause the 8.5 inch doesnt have the range for holding down a area aganist a group of people carring protos but it is the rights size for coming over the bunker onto some unexspecting oppent
Strengths: It is easy to use in the field and never breaks balls
Weaknesses: Hard to clean in the inside even with the split reciver
Review: The tippmann 98 cp is a good marker even for the kid that talks crap on the field cause it is always working in less im not but is a real drain on the co2 tank which requires me to use a heavy 24oz and then the weight of the gun and then pods and the countless assories that make useing it easier but it is a beast and lets every one on and off the field know where im at every time i pull that trigger and is the reason to tape the end of the barrel cause it is not a quite speaker and does cause the hopper to jam by the viberations of the firing squence which is rocking off the paintballs slowly to the point of no return.
Conclusion: My final recommedation is that the gun is alright but the weight needs to be toned down also the stock barrel doesnt allow for a lot of range to the target so i give the product an 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

geomarmorales Sunday, April 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder TR - Okay Gun
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom platinum ACT
E Trigger WAS
Flatline Barrel
Cyclone Feed System
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline Barrel
Cyclone Feed System
Strengths: Accuracy, Speed, Upgrades & Customizations very easy for begginers!
Weaknesses: Havent found one
Review: I first used the tippmann 98 custom wich I liked but wanted something a little more. I was going to go for the A-5 but seeing as this is my first time i didnt want to break something too expensive. As is started to read and look into the guns upgrades i kept reading how easy it is to take care of on your own. I have been able to install the E trigger, Cyclone Feeded, Hair Trigger and stock all on my own in less than 1 hour. Also there is a licensed tippmann store here in colorado, figured worst comes to worst i brin it to them, Tippmann Pros
Conclusion: I will never by another brand, Tippmann has won me over!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hopin4dyesumday Sunday, January 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: I use the stock 98 custom platinum act
Recommended
Upgrades:
a longer barrel, an electronic hopper, and an electronic trigger to start.
Strengths: This is a great beginner gun but not for experienced players.
Weaknesses: Not very accurate, but i may just need a longer barrel
Review: This gun is very good for beginners but is very inaccurate. Because I have the stock for everything, the trigger, the hopper, the barrel, and if you get the everything included package at academy the 9oz co2 tank all need to be upgraded as soon as possible. But the bottom line is this gun is very good for the price and better than the usual rentals provided at parks.
Conclusion: Great for beginners, but when I turn 16 and get a job i'm getting a dye.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media