paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / RPS Super Swirl Paintballs / RPS Super Swirl Paintballs / RPS Super Swirl Paintballs

RPS Super Swirl Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount RPS

Buy RPS Super Swirl Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


RPS Super Swirl Paintballs
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 377
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Inexpensive paintballs manufactured by RP Scherer to be sold at Walmart.
Product Availability 
The RPS Super Swirl Paintballs are newer, so they should be commonly available.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (38):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
raiden345 Thursday, March 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Almost every brand of paintball.
Marker Setup: victor w/ 12" barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
i don't reccomend them
Strengths: not much
Weaknesses: -breaks in barrel too often
-hardly ever breaks from distance
Review: I've used many different types of paintballs, but these are probably the worst. They're hard as a rock, half full of paint, and, if by some odd chance that a) the ball makes it out the barrel intact, and b) it breaks on someone, it leaves a mark barely big enough to be called splatter. All that, and you can buy good paint, like dusk, for less.
Conclusion: Don't waste your money. These kind of remind me of those frozen cakes you can buy at the store: looks and sounds really good on the package, but very deceiving.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 18th, 2004 at 5:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mana Sunday, March 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle paint . It ROCKS!!! Just kidding.
Marker Setup: Orange Impulse with vert reg, Dye Ultralite, Stickies, Tapeworm & Blade trigger, a decent-sized drop forward, 68 cui/4500 psi HPA tank, also sportin' the Evo II on top with the feed neck cut down.
Recommended
Barrels:
Paper towel tube, or a toilet paper tube for you front players.
Strengths: Work well as fish food.
Weaknesses: Smelly. Greasy. Unaccurate. Smelly. Greasy.
Review: Damn Wal-Mart paint is mostly useless. These things smell like 3-year-old fish food or maybe turtle food. They are really greasy. They didn't fire well out of my friend's brother's gun (something like every 5th ball broke, he had a Spyder). Unaccurate. These balls are about as greasy and smelly as my balls after I work out for 3 hours, dip them in peanut butter, then rub one out.
Conclusion: If you REALLY need paint and this is all you have. At Wally's they have Dusk, the only decent paint there. Buy that, not this crap.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ITSRAININGPAINT Sunday, May 17th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Haven't tried anything else yet
Marker Setup: 98 Custom Pro E with eVLution 3 hopper and 20oz Co2
Recommended
Barrels:
NOT TIPPMANN 98 CUSTOM PRO 11 inch barrel
Strengths: Bright color, very cheap, break easily
Weaknesses: Break easily
Review: My friend got me 1000 of these paintballs for Christmas to shoot sometime. These have very soft shells; if you'd drop one onto pavement, there would be a dent or a crack. As far as accuracy, these balls were moderately accurate, until you chopped one of course. The color of these are very bright, which is good for in games. These are easily avalable at multiple stores and are about $20 for 2 cases of $500.


::EDIT:: I thought after using these that my gun had chopping problems, but after trying a ball with a harder shell, I found that wasn't the case: actually these balls are too soft.
EDIT CHANGED RATING FROM 7 to 5.

::EDIT 2:: Looking back, these balls broke so easily because they were old. Sorry for any confusion.
Conclusion: Fairly good value at $20 for 1000, but, are too soft IMO, if you dropped one, you could throw it and it would explode. (I tried it) Bright color, and moderate accuracy make these a good buy at $20, but you could get something better for a little bit more.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2010 at 7:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

m98sniper15 Monday, November 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxas Dusk (Great)
GameFace Shorch (Great)
Zap Sport (Fair)
HotSpot (Ok)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
16" trueflight barrel
Shocktech SuperFly Bolt
Apex barrel
9,12 and 20 oz Co2 tanks
Recommended
Barrels:
BT Apex
J&J Ceramic
Strengths: Can't see to dodge
A nice Bright Green Fill
Fairly Round
Cheap
Weaknesses: The Fill is to watery
Doesn't Perform well in 40 degrees or lower
Review: Well I Bought These At Dunham's. A 500 Count For $8.99. I played the same day and they worked great, but one thing I noticed was that the fill was to watery and can be easly wiped. These paintball also are hard to see coming at you meaning they are hard to dodge. Now to the really bad part. I played in tempuraters of 35 degrees and all i had was a gun full of paint due to massive chopping in my Spyder Pilot ACS. But all in all I've never had a problem with the paintballs in warmer tempuraters.
Conclusion: These Paintball work in 50 plus degrees, but any temp under you will get a load of paint in your gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBfreakme Sunday, June 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used alot of PMI and RPS Paint
Marker Setup: Currently I use a Smartparts ION with aftermarket Bolt, Dropforward, and aftermarket Circuit board.
Recommended
Barrels:
Most barrels I have found suitable for this paint
Strengths: Very Circular shell, Resistant to Dents.
Weaknesses: Lower Quality Gelatin Shell
Review: If anything were to strike me as obvious it would be that super swirls look alot like Marbilizer paintballs, wait, Even made by the same company. Thats because they practically are the same. A couple of years ago Wal-mart was having a problem selling their "brass eagle" line of paint. Don't blame them, that paint was horrible. Well they called up RPS. You can't say no to a sweet deal like that, and RPS designed a brand of paint that would be good quality and cheap. Well I have used alot of different paint and there is nothing wrong with the way Super Swirls shoot. Actually it has alot to do with selection. Some people just go to wal-mart and grab the first box they see and head for the register. When you should actually take a moment and look at it before you buy it. I never hesitate to open the box right there in the Aisle and check the bag for broken paint and "common dents" (little dents on alot of the balls mean it was sitting there for a while and tends to cause unwanted curve shooting). When I have found a good bag I head off. With most of the Markers I have used this paint with I have not had many problems.
Conclusion: The Paint is Good quality at a very reasonable price, There should be no reason not to check it out.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, June 11th, 2006 at 10:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Conker19 Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Draxxus blaze, PMI premium, JT elites, Zap, Diablo heat, Diablo formula 13, Draxxus midnight
Marker Setup: Tippmann model 98 custom
Halo B electronic loader
response trigger system
14" Whisper Barrel
14" Quiet Riot barrel
14" J & J Ceramic Barrel
model 98 custom stock barrel
Recommended
Barrels:
J & J ceramic, I'd say at least a 14 incher. The ceramic is the most accurate, and quite quiet.
Strengths: Don't Break in Barrel
Good Price
Surprising Accuracy
Bright Fill
Weaknesses: Not much, once in a while they curve.
Review: I was at Wal mart, hoping to find some decent paintballs. I decided to get these, because all the other paintballs were Brass Eagle crap. It turned out to be a great decision! When I first shot them, I was surprised with how good they were. They almost never curved, they never broke once, and I loved the bright fill. I shot once at a tree. Then tryed to hit the same area with my remaining 9 balls. 8 of them were in at least a 4 inch radius of the first shot, and 1 curved and missed. I was very surprised at how accurate they were for how cheap I got them. So, I used them at a game at Jocks Junkyard, (its just a local junkyard) and was also impressed with what I saw there. They seemed to stay on target from a long distance, and never broke once.
Conclusion: They are great paintballs for a great price. I reccomend them to anybody, and for any gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sandman_Bravo Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Marballizer, Dusk, Scorch, Core
Marker Setup: Pilot ACS
J&J S2 ceramic Barrel
Empire Re-loader
Trinity locking feedneck
Polished internals
32* spring kit
Bandit Bolts valve
Dye sticky grips
Dark Horizon titanium striker
Recommended
Barrels:
J&J & stock are all I've tried.
Strengths: Excellent balls for the price
Make sure youcheck for freshness, flatspots, and breaks
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I have been trying a lot of different paintballs to try & find a good match for my marker & barrel. Super Swirl and Scorch were two inexpensive wonders! These shoot just as good as Marbalizer in my gun. As with any paint, freshness means everything. I've shot new and old batches of the same paint types with drastic differences. I think the reviews of this paint that are really bad are due to old batches that have probably been sitting way too long.
Update:
I finally got a bad batch. They seem like they're larger than normal and break in the barrell almost every other shot. Also the ones that make it out curve wildly. I lowered the overall rating.
Conclusion: Want good inexpensive paint? Try it.
Update: still gotta give 'em a fairly high rating, most often it's been a good buy.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 1st, 2007 at 4:11 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dan19 Thursday, December 22nd, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used about every kind of paintball they sell at Dick's, Walmart, and SSS
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom, 14 inch armson barrel, 6inch drop foward
Recommended
Barrels:
none
Strengths: Few strenghts... the color being the main one and paint is thick
Weaknesses: Weak shell, in heat will melt easily
Review: The first time i'd seen these balls used my freind bought them and they all melted from where he bought. He hadn't even opened the box and they were all stuck together. SO I figured i'd give a test run and theat was a bad batch. I tried them and they were not that good. There name of swirl has a great meaning for the ball. It swerved on 2 out of 5 shots and I only got a couple of hits that day.
Conclusion: NOT impressed, but I could ahve just gotten two bad batches...I wouldn't recommend you testing them out...save your money and buy something decent.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

wjpurdue Monday, December 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blue streak (terrible paintballs)
Afterburner (ok paintballs)
Big Ball (decent paintballs)
Premiums (good paintballs)
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Marauder
Stock Barrel
20oz. CO2 tank
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything .68
Strengths: Accurate
Great fill
No dimples
Easily Available
Weaknesses: Sort of costly for Wal-mart paintballs
Review: I got these paintballs to play woodsball with and I was very satisfied with their performance. I probably shot around six hundred of them, and I had maybe two break.
They seemed to be decently accurate. They have a hard shell but not to hard. They have a great fill which is a green color.
Conclusion: These are good paintballs that are well worth your money.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 12th, 2005 at 3:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ness Wednesday, November 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Big Ball, Evil, Midevil, Dusk
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ E-Grip Custom Stock and Flatline barrel
Current sidearm: Ariakon Overlord stock with Ariakon Holster
Soon to come sidearm: Tippmann C3 maybe in spring... Looking into it.
Recommended
Barrels:
Wouldn't really know. Can't buy the Flatlines in sizes. However, this is the best pait used for my flatline.
Strengths: Perfect shell hardness
All balls are almost always round
Wal Mart available
Weaknesses: Don't work in cold weather
Not as good after a winter
Review: Considering these are only about $23 per 1000, these have got to be the best paintballs I've ever used for my A-5. For starters, they use the "RPS Advantage" which is "New Technology" that guarantees every paintball is perfectly round. Only when they are frozen will they loose their shape; even in very warm and humid climates they hold their shape. I know this, due to the fact I live in Oregon; Home to the below zero winters and above 100 summers.

Next is the field test. About a year ago, I really did a harsh test on these. To start, we played 5 or 6 games with various balls, (Mostly lower end balls, such as Dusk, Blue Streak, and Afterburner) and found that the Super Swirls did not chop one ball per 2000 rounds. The Dusk chopped 4, Blue Streaks chopped about 100, and the Afterburners chopped about 7. (In a later test, Evils proved worse than the Swirls; they chopped about 3 per thousand.) The nice thing about all this is the shell hardness. If you've ever shot a evil, you know it's like a marble; the thing wont break on even hard surfaces under 200 fps. These too are semi- hard, but they break on everything. A good test to show the shell hardness is throwing it as hard as you can at pavement. (Kinda cheesy, I know) If it breaks too easily, as it may in your barrel, it's not very good paint. If it doesn't break, such as Evil I could never get to break, it may be too hard and bounce. The Super Swirls are in the middle where they crack and leak.

There are some "Downsides" to this paint; I wouldn't call them problems, just inconveniences. Such as the winters. When it's 11 degrees out, they don't work. The shell caves in as if it were frozen and they chop more, and most of all, they don't shoot. They just shot-gun out of the barrel as if they were chopped, hence why I don't really play paintball in the winter. Don't take this negatively; I still haven't found a paintball that works in that kind of cold.

Another thing I found out is that they still don't work good when they warm up after summer. I cracked open a couple thousand this summer and found some of the balls had become misshaped. They fired OK, they just lost some of the accuracy and chopped some really bad ones.

Last off, I'd just like to say that these balls (As about 90% of paintballs) are American Made. Just a little food for thought.
Conclusion: All in all, these are still the best paintballs I've ever used. Forget Evils, Midevils, Dusks, Marbarlizers, just pick up some of these. They're half the cost and they prove just as good. Plus, another bonus, if you live near a Wal Mart, they are sold there! Get them even cheaper!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (38):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media