paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3

Dangerous Power G3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dangerous Power

Buy Dangerous Power G3

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dangerous Power G3
[ View Photos (33) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 59
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new 2008 Dangerous Power G3 paintball marker weighing in at only 1.86lbs (fully equipped with the patented clamping feedneck, barrel and patented flip lever ASA) DP's latest creation may be the world's smallest and lightest paintball marker in existence!!!
Derived from the highly successful and limited production Threshold painball marker, the G3 benefiting from having only six o-rings in it's entire operation based upon two precision crafted parts by turning one screw; the user can access the entire bolt assembly for easy maintenance and service. The new G3 utilizes a .45 grip frame for easy customization and comes standard with Dangerour Power's highly acclaimed flip lever ASA (RAPS) and ultra low rise clamping feedneck.

G3 (black, blue, red)
weight: 1.86 lbs
length: 19.5 inches
height: 7.84 inches
operation pressure: 180psi
firing modes:
NPPL/SEMI AUTO, PSP, MILLENIUM AND NXL MODES

Product Availability 
The Dangerous Power G3 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
A142536 Sunday, November 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: -DP G3
-TechT L7
Strengths: -Design to allow Easy Maintenance
-Feed Neck
-Weight
Weaknesses: -Reliability
Review: I have been trying to use the DP G3 for nearly a year. I picked this gun because I wanted a light, easy maintenance gun. From the reviews here and elsewhere this seemed like a dream come true. For the particular G3 I have, this is not true.

Just for your reference, when I first got the gun I ordered the replacement regulator parts from Dangerous Power - I have never used the gun before I installed the new regulator parts. Once the new regulator was installed, I began to use the gun.

From the very beginning I was having trouble with bolt stick. (Pull the trigger, hear the solenoid click, but the bolt never cycles...) I called DP technical support, and they worked through my problem without much success. (Regulator adjustment, DIP-switches to adjust solenoid dwell.) In the end, moving the solenoid dwell to 18 msec kind of solved the problem. I still had severe first shot drop off. I mean severe - many times the first shot just ploops out the barrel and only goes about 10 feet.

They recommended I get DOW 55 lubricant (with an o-ring swelling agent) to fix the problem. I did, and $25+$5 in shipping I get the magical lubricant, and it does make a difference. However, I still have trouble getting the gun to cycle after I first gas up.

I reached out to TechT L7 bolt for help, hoping a lower bolt weight will cycle through. It was, at least physiologically, an improvement. Less often will the bolt stick during play.

Even with the new bolt, I haven't enjoyed playing paintball over the last year. I stopped playing for over a month because of my problems - kind of a break to give it all a rest. When I got my gun out yesterday to play, I put in a fresh new 9V. (I stored the gun w/o battery). The gun refused to cycle. I worked a bit on the gun, but then realized I couldn't hear the gentle click from the solenoid. I have a $50 parts kit for the G3, so I tested the extra solenoid in that system, still no click. The eyes are working, as when I put in a paintball I get a solid light on the control board. So, I am guessing the control board broke while the gun sitting in its foam case in my closet for a month... I contacted technical support, but it is the weekend, so I'll have to wait for a response to see what could have gone wrong.

With all the gassing-and un-gassing, the o-ring on the gas-lever (Part #54 in the manual - Part#20-F01590-000-PFUS0A) broke. So I went to my trust $50 parts kit, and lo and behold, that o-ring is not included. WHAT!!!! Please let me know in the comments below if any of you experienced folks have recommendations on where I can get this o-ring.

So, in short, perhaps I have a lemon. It seems there are very few bad reviews in thsi forum, and the few bad reviews here seem to be automatically "The accuracy of this review is disputed". To most of the disputers' credit, most of the negative review were poorly written.

So, am I a stupid-user, do I have a lemon, or is the G3 unreliable?
Conclusion: I regret my purchase greatly.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

vendetta-rw Friday, August 8th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 59 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have owned:
DM's, shockers, droids, egos, pretty much everything
This marker's shot feels like that of an impulse
Marker Setup: Stock G3
Halo
45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Regulator
Strengths: Very light
Small yet easy to hold
Weaknesses: Consistancy: Reg
Accuracy: Barrel/Reg
Review: I was very impressed with this gun upon opening the box. It was small, light, and easy for an adult to hold. The trigger frame and trigger felt a little cheap to me. The trigger had some side to side play and had that metal on metal click. The grips did not fit flush against the frame so there was a little give when you squeze the grip. Also the ruber grips are extremely hard.

I took the gun out and shot it. It wasnt great over the chrono 5 +/- but it was alright. The gun has a little bit of kick about like a impulse or automag. As far as accuracy, using ultra evil left over from chicago, I could hit 4 in tree consistantly. The verticle accuracy of the gun was unacceptable due to the 5 +/- though.

I took the gun to mess around with it on wednesday practice. I still could not get consistancy. I lubed the reg and dry fired the gun through a couple of tanks. The gun then started shooting 8+/-. I put a dye reg on the gun and the consistancy improved alot 3+/-. On the field the gun performed well, it was easy to shoot and includes psp ramp settings. The accuracy of the gun was decent but not up to par with the mini in it's class.

In closing I was not to thrilled with the marker. I talked with my team mate who techs guns at the field and he said he noticed a lot of the regs coming back with problems, and problems with the front O-ring.
Conclusion: I grade guns on an even playing field according to the year they came out. This gun being an 08 model has some pretty stiff competition. A perfect mid range gun deserves a 7. Due to the fact that the gun has a couple of design flaws I am going to give it a 5. This gun is not the magic marker we have all been waiting for that has the quality and performance of $1000+ dollar guns with a $400 price tag. Between other guns in its class- rails/slgs, minis, ions, ect... it scores in the middle of the pack.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

outkastmike Saturday, September 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini
sft shocker
nxt shocker
droid
Marker Setup: G3
PMD
Betterone trigger
DXS 1.1 bottle
Magna hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
board
possibly a vert reg
possibly a better barrel
Strengths: lightweight
compact
RAPS asa
Feedneck
Stripping/mainenance
Weaknesses: Vert Reg
trigger
90 degree elbows
Review: I bought my G3 as "nearly new" with only a pot and hopper shot through it before purchasing it at a "discount" so i was happy at the price i got it for.
My first impressions were of how small and light it was in my hands,and the overall finnish of the anno is good also the build quility is also very good for a marker at this price point.The first thing that really impressed me straight away was the RAPS asa system,i have to say it's first class how it degasses your gun after use with a flick of the lever and the feedneck is of a quality you would normaly find on a high end marker i just cant fault either of them.

THE TRIGGER is not the best neither is the build quality with moulding marks which only make it look and feel cheap this is one of the first things i plan to replace.

THE BOARD is a simple dip switch type affair which is currently outdated with the new psp and millinium modes for 2008 this is another update that is required if you plan to play psp etc...there is currently a stock update board available and also a APE board which fullfill these issues.DP cannot reflash the original board so a new board purchase is nessesery

THE VERT REG is good but there have been issue's such as crushing the reg seat when dialing the input pressure up and down which causes poor performance and supercharging of the selenoid causing seizing and the inability to fire the marker ,so yet another possible upgrade,but only if issue's arise.
The elbows on the G3 suck,there have been numoures complaints about them by G3 users so get a couple of spares.

PERFORMANCE....This is were the G3 shines,even with a sloppy trigger it's easy to rip in semi mode and can keep up easily with markers twice its price,the barrel is good and there is no need to replace it straight away,over the chrono ithe G3 is consistant with no major spikes or short stroking..overall excellent

MAINTENANCE......Easy peasey...degass and unscrew the bolt guid and bolt then lube up and screw back in ...and thats it ...very impresive.

Just a word of warning ..for some reason DP guns tend to come from the factory a little dry with regards to lube,so it problems arise from new its probably lack of grease.

Conclusion: Overall this marker is good but not fantastic,having owned a couple of mini's in the past i would be hard pressed to say its any better than a mini but it's not any worse either,there is a small amount of kick but it's livable for me.
If the G3 had the updated board and a bearing trigger and better elbows that didn't leak after 2 or 3 uses then i could easily give it 10/10
Remember you are not going to get the smoothness or performance of a $1000 marker you get what you pay for and for the price point you get a very good marker.
Overall...The G3 is not trying to be nor is it pretending to be a ego or droid or dm8,but a good mid priced marker giving you good overall performance at a low price point.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 27th, 2008 at 6:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matkat Friday, February 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Anything and everything...
Been in industry since early 90s.
Marker Setup: Dangerous Products G3
Dye Ultralite 14" .688
APE Upgrade Board
Ruthlesspaintball.com Vampire G3 Trigger (derlin, ball bearing, magentic return(like same as in luxe as far as postioning, can do both micro and optical by changing a set screw) - Best triggers EVER... visit ruthlesspaintaball.com all his stuff is custom and made to order.
CP Drop
Halo B
Pure Energy 68/45 Stubby
Dye Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Overall fine out of the box...

The Gun is fine out of the box, even for a tourney. I cannot stress how much value this marker has for the money. I am the type of person who would spend the money on a EGO/Luxe/DM9, but after witnessing its performance on a field full of tourney players using those guns and others, I must say I was confident my gun was the best performing on the field. I am not upgrading, this is and will be my gun of choice for a long time to come.

Aftermarket Barrel a must

I think 99% of players, even tourney would be fine with this out of the box and a aftermarket barrel... (Dye, Smart Parts, Stiffi < my reccomendations) 12"-16"

For people wanting to make this the end-all marker (IMO better than Ego/DM/Luxe with these upgrades)

Trigger

A upgrade trigger of any kind unles you got the $499 SE. DP offers a upgrade trigger with less side-side play, IMO they should have offered that with all markers, it feels like they purposefully handicapped it, knowing full well its too small and force you to buy the upgrade. It isn't horrible, but there is obvious side2side play. The gun is freaking awesome, but DP upgrade trigger is no different than stock other than its the right size, which should have been there already, the design is the same... visit ruthlesspaintball.com for some awesome triggers, micro or optical, the right dimensions, ball bearing rotation, magentic or spring retun and many designs and colors, can't be beat. I am telling you visit rutheless... its includes magnets

Board

I don't think most players, even tourney players need the upgrade board, more of a preference of microswitch feel compared to optical and modes that are fun in the backyard, but not allowed in most games and tournaments Semi/PSP mode aside. If your a really advanced player/play tons of tourney/like microswitch, then maybe an upgrade for you. Quite honestly the stock has a few advanatges... simplicity... the dips are easy for anyone to understand, grips must be removed so they are tourney appropriate and it includes most modes anyone would want, Semi, PSP, Full Auto, NXL and millenium. Being optical there are no mechanical parts to fail, so I would say reliability (upgrade boards use microswitch).

However, those of us that want are marker to be MAXED up in upgrades get the....

APE - one DP and my local shop endorse and I own, more than I need $85 retail
Virtue Redefined - few more perks, IMO adds more complextity.. $114 (reccomended by most; I saw no need)
Virtue OLED - Coming soon, same as redefined with a few more features (the list is ridculous long and has a Organic Display

I will say that even the APE is overkill, but I like the microswitch with magnetic return feel... that being said virtue is just too much features and too much money.. the OLED would be great, but it is near 3 times what I paid for my APE... just practically useful instad of memorizing colors and such.

A drop depending on whether your old/new school and your hieght. A nice 2" CP drop allows the barrel to be in line with my eye straight and my nose tilted, it is way more comfortable than the no drop feel. I figure since I shorten the marker 2" with the drop, I can add 2" on the barrel and keep the same marker profile as someone not using the drop with the added advantage of either a longer quiter barrel or a shorter marker profile. Comfort is key, the CP drop works well for me.
Strengths: Lightest Marker
Very Fast
Accurate and quiet /w right barrel
$$$CRAZYPRICE$$$PLAINCRAZY$$$
Simple
Everything
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel/Trigger Could be Better - they are easily upgraded
Review: My god am I impressed with this marker. I went to my local pro shop (I worked there 7-10 years ago) and talked with the owner. I was like where is all the thousand dollar markers, I am looking at getting back into the sport, he handed me the G3 and said he buys them (Ego/DM9/Luxe), but mostly they just sit on a shelf. He explained the guns that compete with this are in the thousands and this will meet my needs. This gun is worth thousands. Thanks DP for offering such a great gun at a great price, paid 330 for mine, they are down to 299.

He proved me wrong, this gun has outperformed any angel, cocker, or mag I have used and I have owned 20+ markers in my time. It is so quiet with the Dye Ultralite you cant even tell its firing, same goes for the recoil. It has no extrenal moving parts or eyes, is very streamlined. It is lightest there is, kind of a mute point i think anything below 2lbs, because your tank and hopper with paint/air wiegh more than the marker, clearly. It has one moving part, the bolt... like fool proof gun, easy to maintenance, upgrade.

There was not an Ego, DM9 or Luxe that outperformed my gun. I was thinking about getting one of the more expensive guns above when I had the money, but after witnessessing its performance and feeling/seeing the perfomance of mine, I will not be upgrading. I acutally really believe it is SUPERIOR to those markers, with the right upgrades although I am sure many will disagree. From what I saw all those guns should be named Ego because thats all they are about... my DP can fire 36bps, but why the hell would I want it to... everyone there was a tourney player and firing a high end electro of some kind, fire rate was locked to PSP13BPS. Fire rate is a mute point in most real fields and tourneys because it is limited. It is quiet, light, accurate, fast, great out of the box, minimal upgrades preffered/needed, feature rich, yet simplistic. I simply can't belive the price point... don't let it feel you with a high end barrel, upgrade board and trigger from ruthless, you will not have any complaints.
Conclusion: Buy this gun...it has cocker threads you can probably use some barrels you already own. If you have a Ego/DM9/Luxe buy this as your backup because of the price point, throw the upgrades on it and it may become your primary. I love it.

If your a rec baller, tippmanns and pball guns that look like real guns are a joke get this, in black, it will blow your friends away, tourney players will not be dissappointed read my review in detail you will see what upgrades are needed for that level of play.

It cannot be beat for the money. IMO it cannot be beat with the right upgrades. For about $500 without air/hopper you can have this thing outperform anything on the market.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drayton13xpb Sunday, December 28th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
G3>05 Sft Shocker
G3>Invert Mini
G3>Fully upped Ion
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3(Black)
Empire B hopper
48/30 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Board and barrel.. Everything else is pretty much perfect.
Strengths: See Review!
Weaknesses: Board, needs Psp 3-shot!!!
Review: First off I have to say that this is a great gun, and probably the best one I've ever shot. It's just so comfortable and fits in my hands perfectly!

-Regulator: When you first air up the gun and fire, it will most probably not shoot. Just turn the regulator counter-clockwise until you get it to cycle properly. The first reading on the chronograph were 280, 263, 260, 260 and 264. I'm not sure why it jumped so high.. maybe because is was the first shot with it. But let me tell you, this gun is efficient! I was only expecting to get 400-500 shots with it, but instead i got 700! Love it!

-Asa: Not much to say about it really.. Just an overall great Asa and I have yet to have any problems with it.. It is in no doubt in my mind the best Asa I've ever used.

-Barrel: Great, just great barrel. It's no stiffi, but it's pretty close. You couldn't ask for a better stock barrel.. DP has done a great job!

-Stock board: Overall this is a great board.. The only downside to it is that there is no Psp 3-shot mode. This is what turns many advanced players off about this gun.

-Trigger: I LOVE the trigger.. I took it up to my local paintball shop today and everyone was in awe of it telling me how sweet it felt.. The trigger feels heavier, alot heavier than the mini, but I like the G3's more.

-Feedneck: What can I say, its a feedneck.. You can't find any better ones out there, and it's just another great feature by DP.

-Overall Feel: This gun feels just great in my hands. I couldn't have asked for a better fit for me and I just love it.
Conclusion: If you're debating on whether to get this gun or not, I say GET IT!! You will not be disappointed. If you run into any problems, any at all that you just can't figure out, contact me and I should be able to help you.

-I give this gun a 9/10 because there is no perfect gun, and the board just really puts me down..
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Keith20 Tuesday, November 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker
Mini
Marker Setup: DP G3
CP Shorty reg
Hybrid Grenade grips
CCM Mid Rise
Lucky 15 Barrel
Pure Energy 68/45
TurboRev
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Reg
Strengths: Small
Fast
Light
Accurate
Cheap
Weaknesses: side to side trigger play
Inconsistency in stock reg
Review: I havent had the gun for very long but so far its been amazing for me. Its super light, its accurate and i think its pretty much perfect out of the box. The effeciency hasnt been that great so far, but i'm hoping that will improve when I put a few more cases through it. Its also very well priced, it fit my budget nicely and performs better than most other guns i've shot in my opinion, and i've shot most guns on the market. The accuracy for me has been dead on. From about 25 yards away I was shooting the rope we use to hold up the X on our x-ball field, and was nailing it ball after ball, I managed to shoot it soo many time with one hopper i cut the rope in half, and all this is without the reg even being broken in.

Update: After using this marker quite a bit i've noticed a few things. The stock reg seems very inconsistent over the chrono, but I will admit this is something i have always been picky about. I upgraded to a CP reg and that seems to of fixed the problem. Also the effeciency isnt the best in my opinion, I can get about 6 pods and a hopper off a full 68/45 tank which in my opinion isnt that great. Normally id hop for 7-9 pods and a hopper off a 68/45 tank maybe my standards are just too high though. I also contacted DP about the side to side play in the stock trigger and was informed that it was due to the way the trigger was made, and thats why they now offer and upgraded trigger for a little bit more. I was also having problems with my raps lever constantly blowing orings, so again i contacted DP. They informed me that this was due to the set screws holding the raps in place and all i needed to do was adjust where my raps was. I did this and it fixed it. There customer service so far has been amazing, very friendly and eager to help. But in performance i still think this marker cant be beat. I used it in a tournament in january and it was keeping up with all other highend guns no problem. I think thats pretty awesome for a $300 marker.
Conclusion: I'd say buy it, it's definatley worth the money and in my opinion just cant be beat. I'm leaving it at a 9 due to the regs inconcistency and its air effeciency. But other than that i think the marker great and definatley worth the money.

-I'm only giving it a 9 because of the efficency soo far.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 9th, 2009 at 11:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pballer-Mike94 Sunday, June 22nd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR
Marker Setup: G3
Empire Reloader B
45/4500 Crossfire Fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck
New Reg
Barrel
Strengths: Weight
Mobility
Accuracy
Easy to maintain
a little kick
trigger (personal preference)
Price
Weaknesses: Feed neck ( see review )
Trigger frame (see review)
Reg
Barrel
trigger
Review: To start off this gun is a amazing! Its super light and good gun over all. I went through so much paint with this gun and it shot like a dream. Also that the bolt didn't come lubed enough so i had to put a little on but still very good gun. I'd say that it is worth the money.

The reg is very inconsistent.

Barrel if you want to be more accurate.

About the feed neck... My empire reloader be is a pain to get in the G3 also that when i put it in and take it out it leaves a bunch of scratches. Also i couldn't get my hopper outta my feed neck and broke off part of my shell.

And the trigger frame help up for like 6 matches then it came loose so i tightened it
but after like 4 matches it was loose again
so you cant play your best when you are afraid of loosing one screw that can put you out for the day so i thought that was a weakness. Edit: I fixed this, no problem anymore.


the trigger has side to side play but i dont mind it


Also there is a little kick but thats cause its so damn light.

But besides that its an amazing gun if you got $430 get it you wont regret it.


Strengths i couldn't mention cause i didn't have enough space:
Good on Air
Cheap
Conclusion: I recommend this for any person who is into paint ball and wants to shoot better and doesn't want to spend like $500 or higher. So its a good gun try it out.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 24th, 2008 at 7:36 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

rocker292003 Sunday, May 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
almost every high end marker including the original Dark Marq prototype assorted DM's PM's, Ego's, Timmys, shockers, going all the way down to stock class markers.
Marker Setup: Dangerous power G3 (CP shorty reg, Tech T L7 bolt, 2nd gen stock board, stiffi barrel tabitha grips), custom halo and 68cu 4500psi carbon fiber with guerilla reg, other marker '06'd shocktech timmy mostly aftermarket
Recommended
Upgrades:
Great stock but reg, barrel and electronics (personal preference)
Strengths: Light, fast, simple to maintain
Weaknesses: air efficiency, still limited upgrades and colors(released S.E. colors recently)
Review: Ive had this marker since its been released and I have to say its become one of my favorites by far.

Performance this marker has been immaculate it shoots marvelously all of the time and it has never broken down on me on or off the field. It shoots accurately and very consistently (not ball on ball accuracy but mask size pattern on a bad day). This marker burns a lil more air than I like but it still gets 1350-1500 shots off a full 68 cu 4500 psi tank (hot fill to cold fill, and weather differences)

Maintance has been a breeze for this marker and the few problems I've had with it is when the I didnt tighten the back plate fully and it would slowly work out a slight bit, remedied by a quick spin of a allen wrench, and I've also had the breach sealing o-ring on the front of the bolt roll slighty out of the groove on the bolt but it was just a matter of slightly more lubing. Also note in the instructions they recogmend to use both light paintball oil mixed with grease, this allows you to keep it from getting as much first shot drop off and increases the time between lubings considerably.
(Note: with the minor problems the marker still fired and performed well but the rolled o-ring did cause some chopping because of the balls not seating fully in the breech, which was about the same as letting the marker drop low on lube.)

Style of this maker is among the best of any ive seen, it has an excellent dust finish that is extremely durable (survived woods ball and pursuit parks without a scratch). The accent of the snatch grip on the is BA looking and is very handy coming on and off the field. And the milling is clean, tight and very easily cleaned after those annoying gun shots.

The stock board is good but I wanted some extra programing options so I got the second gen optical board which has many more options including trigger debounce, ramp point and mrof. The programing is easier than taking the grip off and still has the optical switch. The expanded options have not increased the max rof but hoping the next board has a true uncapped mode on it.

Misc:
The G3 has performed great but some players claim its to small but from the reg to the back of the grip frame its almost exactly the same distance of my Shocktech intimidator with an Alias reg block and an Empire clamshell grip frame.

The trigger has a lil slop in it but it would be easily remedied with a roller bearing trigger but it shoots nicely anyways with the magnetic trigger return that rotates on the trigger screw (occasionally bounces because of the trigger slop and the optical switch)

The ASA which is the RAPS has been a excellent system for air and is extremely simple to maintain. It has one o-ring to maintain on a spring loaded pin that is driven by the cam to turn air on and off with purging it. It takes just one screw to pull the entire thing apart and it has broken a couple of o-rings which are easily replaced and should be very lightly lubed to prevent it catchin and splitting the o-ring right away.


Upgrades include a new CP shorty reg, which has tightened my chrono spread considerably making it even more accurate, a 14in 0.689 Stiffi, made it lighter and much more accurate, Tech T has not yet arrived and will review once i have a chance to test it out, and modded Virtue lazer eyes from a Fusion, just makes it look cool and had to extend the wires a couple of inches to make it fit correctly.


Edit:

Installed Tech T L7 bolt and it quieted the marker considerabiltiy and i had to drop the pressure and dwell quite a bit to maintain the proper firing settings because of the bolt weighing in at about half of stock at 10.1 grams making it about the lightest bolt for any marker stock or aftermarket it also increases the air efficiency and accuracy quite a bit.
Conclusion: BUY IT SHOOT IT LOVE IT, have had my friends wanting to get rid of their PM's, DM's and Ego's to get one
Excellent mix of performance, price and style.
The G3 with all the ups is still half the price of markers that compete with its performance stats.
Now that the price dropped again its even a better deal!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 19th, 2008 at 6:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spguy4458 Monday, June 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts epiphany tons of ups ( no where close)
Invert mini
tippmans
Marker Setup: Dangerous power g3, hybrid contract killer grips, vlocity jr w/ virtue, 16 all american barrel, 3000/48 pmi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Board
Strengths: Quality, speed, ease of maintenance
Weaknesses: Programmability, little upgrades
Review: I recently purchased the g3 because iw as getting very annoyed of the constant leaks and other issues with the mini. Several people had them at my field so i picked one up. upon opening the box i found a pretty nice stock barrel and the gun. I gased it up and ran about 5 pods thru it. i fell in love with it and immediately sat down and tried to find a good mode for it becuase the modes in the instructions are few. i then copltely dismantled the marker and was amazed to c that the entire bolt assemply was only 2 pieces and required only undoing 1 screw to acess. I have heard that dp is puttin out a new board that will model various features of a virtue board like trigger programming and many of the modes. I am planning on getting this board due to the lack of programming on the stock board. Also the feel of this gun rivals that of the mini in that it is extremely light even with my crappy aluminium tank. It also feels much sturdier than the mini.
Conclusion: I would definately recomend this gun to most rec players due to its speed and reliability but not to tourney players bc of its lack of programming and 3 shot.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Kyzser Sosae Friday, June 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra 2009
Marker Setup: G3, L7 bolt, ape upgrade board, dye rotor camo kit, hammerhead mofo barrel, 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
l7 bolt, ape upgrade board, hammerhead mofo barrel
Strengths: 1.86 oz, Solid, Sexy, 2 moving parts, Accurate, Asa, Feedneck, Finish, Customer service.
Weaknesses: Standard board doesnt have a burst mode
Review: Ive put about 10 or so cases through this gun so far and its deadly, especially being only $299. Ive have broken 3 paintballs in all the shooting Ive done and thats using te cheapest field paint there was and the breaks were at the end of the barrel. with the upgrade board and the bolt Ive got it to 36bps, a few times Ive unloaded full rotors worth on full auto with no breaks. the stock barrel is good, shoots straight, my friends got a couple tippmanns at the same time as me and still havnt hit me yet, there stock setups just arent accurate enough(or they arent). in the beggining. i had some technical difficulties, but that is due to my own newbieness. Ive figured everything about the gun out and works like a charm
Conclusion: the G3 is well worth alot more than 299 in my eyes
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media