paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3 / Dangerous Power G3

Dangerous Power G3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dangerous Power

Buy Dangerous Power G3

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dangerous Power G3
[ View Photos (33) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 59
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new 2008 Dangerous Power G3 paintball marker weighing in at only 1.86lbs (fully equipped with the patented clamping feedneck, barrel and patented flip lever ASA) DP's latest creation may be the world's smallest and lightest paintball marker in existence!!!
Derived from the highly successful and limited production Threshold painball marker, the G3 benefiting from having only six o-rings in it's entire operation based upon two precision crafted parts by turning one screw; the user can access the entire bolt assembly for easy maintenance and service. The new G3 utilizes a .45 grip frame for easy customization and comes standard with Dangerour Power's highly acclaimed flip lever ASA (RAPS) and ultra low rise clamping feedneck.

G3 (black, blue, red)
weight: 1.86 lbs
length: 19.5 inches
height: 7.84 inches
operation pressure: 180psi
firing modes:
NPPL/SEMI AUTO, PSP, MILLENIUM AND NXL MODES

Product Availability 
The Dangerous Power G3 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
krazyker Sunday, April 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini
Smart Parts Epiphany
Planet Eclipse ETEK 2
Smart Parts ION
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3 (in orange...pictures up in the gallery)
Dangerous Power Rear Pressure Gauge (RPMD) black
14" Stiffi Carbon Fiber Barrel
Halo v35 w/ Rip Drive
DXS 48/4500 carbon tank
Camo Invert Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
-- The RPMD is cool to monitor your shots and air usage.
-- The APE upgrade board will give you more firing modes.
-- New Barrel

---While I would recommend the first two upgrades I would only consider them optional. The one that will serve the best purpose is a new barrel. Like any new gun the stock barrel it comes with usually does not have too much design behind it. Although the stock barrel is not too bad compared to some others around, an upgrade here will help increase your overall accuracy, as well as help quiet the gun.
Strengths: Lightweight
Great Feedneck
Very Accurate
RAPS is AWESOME
Very Affordable
Fast Trigger
Weaknesses: May need to change macros out of box.
Review: The Dangerous Power G3 comes straigh out of the box light, accurate, and effiicient. The gun has a great clamping feedneck, beats out any other gun in in the proce range's stock feedneck. The RAPS on/off is also a great feature, and is very easy to use.
After using several guns in the 250-550 price range, I have settled in with the Dangerous Power G3. It is very accurate, quiet, and easy to maintain. In the box is a great manual with pictures and explanations for every feature of the gun. The gun is very easy to use and maintain.
When I first opened my G3 i took it out and fired off a few pods of some old paint with a lot of dimples. The accuracy of the G3 was still amazing, with the balls breaking one on top of the other.
I primarily play woodsball and love taking the G3 out in the woods with me because of how lightweight it is. Our typical game lasts anywhere from 20 mins to 90 minutes, so to be able to hold such a light gun with a high performance level is great. I highly recomend this gun to any woodsball player due to the weight, accuracy, and air efficiency.
This gun also looks GREAT. It is very stylish and has some cool upgrades you can also add to help personalize it. For $300 this is the best gun on the market.
Conclusion: The Dangerous Power G3 is great. It is easy to use, easy to maintain, performs great, and is affordable compared to other high end markers. The G3 is tournament ready out of the box, and is also great to take into the woods for some woods/recball due to its very light weight.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 20th, 2009 at 6:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hell_hunter Wednesday, June 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Owned: Ions, Epiphany
Tested: DM's, PMR/SLG, G3 Spec R, Eteck, Ego's, Mini
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3
APE Board
J&J Edge Barrel Kit
Halo V35
PMI 50/45 Carbon Fiber Tank
Stinger Paintball Designs Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit - Not necessary but i like barrel kits
Trigger - See Weakness
Board - See Weakness
Strengths: Light! VERY LIGHT!
Clamping feedneck
RAPS (ASA)
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Trigger - play side to side
Board - Not a fan of optical boards, unresponsive

Review: OK, to start things off

Un-boxing:

The marker comes in a very nice box, well padded and protected. Opening the box you find the Manual, the G3, Barrel, Barrel Bag, Tools, Orings and lube. Everything you would expect to find in a marker package is there.

The Manual:

WOW! Full color, very detailed and very well put together. Easy to follow for maintaining your marker. Tells you have to take apart the marker, noide and the regulator. Good trouble shooting section and overall nice to look at :)

The Marker:

First of this thing weighs nothing. Feels like its hollow. At 1.86lbs (according to DP) its the lightest marker ive ever held next to the spec R. Powering on is easy and uses the same one button controls as most speedball guns. Hold to power one, press once for eyes on/off, hold to power off. To reprogram the board you need to open the grips and select your fire mode with the dip switches. Some people like dips others hate them, its a matter of preference. I kinda like the dips so thats a plus for me. Internally the marker is very simple spool valve / dump valve design. One moving part it all you have to deal with and a total of 4 orings make it easy to lube. Eyes are behind the covers that you need an Allen key to open. Watch out for the dents springs under the covers, they poped out on me the first time i opened the covers. The snatch hook on the back looks cool, but has to be removed before taking out the back cap.

The ASA:

The G3 uses the RAPS ASA which has a flip leaver design. This has to be the BEST asa i have ever used! Ive used asa's by New Designz, eclipse, CP and Deadly Wind, none of them come close to this one. Id by this gun just for the ASA alone. My one sore spot with the asa is that it comes loose from the grip frame after a few hours of play, not really the ASA's fault more the screws in the grip frame, locktight fixes this.

The Regulator:

My regulator seams to be extremely sensitive when adjusting. Not sure if this is true for all DP Regs or just mine but 1/4 turn seam to jump my velocity by 20-30 fps. Before you ask yes i take a few shots in between to even out the pressure in the reg. It could be that its just a new reg, and will get better as it becomes used more. As a front grip its very comfortable.

The Trigger:

My one major problem with this marker is the trigger. It has a lot of side to side play in it and the adjustments dont give you a huge range to set the trigger up. Its a spring trigger not a magnetic one, which is again a matter of preference. I like magnetic triggers as i find them to be more responsive.

The Board:

includes all major modes for tourney play. Simple to use, which is a plus. Its an optical board not a micro switch which is a matter of preference which you like more. I like microswitch boards hence the APE board i put in mine. I found the stock optical board to be less responsive then some guns ive played with. However im used to the APE board in my other guns so that creates a bias for me.


====UPDATE===

Just a note on battery selection. As always use a brand name battery with speedball guns as they will provide the most constant voltage. However not all battery's are the same shape. Duracell have a more square edge to them where as energizer have a rounded edge. Im not sure if its just my marker but square edged batteries like to get stuck in the grip frame and need to be pushed out from the other side. So with that said i recommend using a battery with rounded edges, like an energizer.
Conclusion: Overall a very nice marker for the price. Yes i know they have been replaced by the Spec-R and the new G4, but still a good buy for 299.00. The best sub 300.00 gun ive shot to date and i would say performance similar to a mini definitely better then an Ion. I give this marker an 8 out of 10. 1 point off for the trigger and 1 point off for an optical/basic board.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 10th, 2010 at 12:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chuckasaurus Wednesday, June 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR2.........no comparison between the two. The MR2 is a Milsim, and the G3 is a traditional type paintball gun.
Marker Setup: Dangerous Power G3
Dye Rotor
Pure Energy 50 ci HPA tank
APE Upgrade Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
APE upgrade board
Strengths: Weight....Accuracy....Reliability....Price....Simple To Maintain
Weaknesses: The stock board doesn't have PSP 3 shot mode
Review: The G3 is a great marker. It is everything a novice or experienced player will need. It is light, accurate, reliable, easy to maintain, reasonably air-efficient, and affordable.

The G3 has a GREAT flip ASA, and a wonderful clamping feedneck that will hold your hopper in place no matter how much you run or how hard you hit the ground. Dangerous Power holds the patent on both of these parts, and could sue all of the expensive gun manufacturers who are copying their patented flip ASA and clamping feedneck.

You can break down the gun for cleaning by removing the back of the gun, which doesn't require tools unless you really tightened it, and then sliding the bolt out. Thats it! You can easily pull out the bolt, clean the bolt, swab the barrel, and reassemble the gun in under two minutes. This gun is soooo easy to maintain.

The G3 comes with all of the tools you will need to maintain it, and a WONDERFUL set of detailed instructions that fold out into a poster-sized paper that has instructions and illustrations on both sides. The instructions are easy to read, and explain everything you will ever need to know.

There are some modes that the stock board doesn't have, so I would definitely recommend the upgrade board. Either the stock upgrade board ($35) or the APE upgrade board ($85). I bought the APE upgrade board, and the gun really came alive. The PSP 3 shot mode is a must if your going to enter tournaments, and the stock board doesn't come with that.

Almost everyone on my team has a G3, and we all love it. No complaints from any of us.
Conclusion: I want to give this gun a 9. It is pretty much flawless, in my opinion. I recommend the upgrade board so you can have the PSP 3 shot mode, but that is an option that everyone may not want. One player on my team didn't want it, so he kept the stock board. Therefore, I'm not going to give the gun a lower rating because of this, since it's an option that everyone doesn't want. If you want a gun that can perform like guns costing $1000, but don't have $1000 to spend, then you should pick up a Dangerous Power G3. You won't be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 25th, 2009 at 6:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DEAD EYE SLY Thursday, May 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
SP ION / Mini / spyder pilot /mr2
Marker Setup: G3 gold and black with black rotor
48/45 gurilla air tank
V force profiler
NXE pod pack and DYE lock lids
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Maybe new reg
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Light
Small
Easy to maintain
Price (I payed $260)
Weaknesses: Reliability
EXTREMELY BATTERY SENSETIVE
Stock Macro elbow are horrible
Regulator
Reliability
Review: Let me start by saying that Dangerous power has bye far the best customer sevice I have evr delt with. The gun is well worth every penny. It keeps up with any gun out there for a fraction of the price. BE AWARE the gun is extremely batterie sensetive. I took what I thought was a new batterie and put it in the g3 and was having major problems. I got a bad batch of batteries and thought that something was wrong with the gun. It was shooting down or not firing just problems all around. BE SHURE THAT YOU HAVE A FRESH BRAND NEW BATTERIE WHEN YOU PLAY I WAS ABOUT TO SELL MY GUN WHEN I REALIZED ALL THAT WAS WRONG WITH IT WAS THE BATCH OF DURACELLS THAT I GOT FROM HOME DEPOT. ALWAYS BE SURE TO HAVE NEW BATTERIES. Other than that I did have some leaking problems with the reg and elbows but that was an easy fix. Once I got the gun working right it was a dream. It is better than the mini in my opinion and is the sickest lightest gun out. I love it and would recomend it. It really is a great marker it just has some minor hiccups. Change the elbows andbe sure to have fresh batteries and you will be more than satisfied with this gun especially for the price.




Revision: I have had the gun for some time now and it turns out it wasent the battery it was the solinoid. These guns are great when working but I have had nothing but problems with mine from day 1 Reliabilty is a big thing for me and this gun has been everything but reliable. When it shoots its incredible but thats when it shoots I am verry u8nhappy with it and stoped playing for a wile because of it. I DO NOT RECOMEND this gun to anyone. If ur gonna take the chance good luck hopefully you will get one that works. Keep in mind it worked fine in the beginig and most people review there products when they are still new I would love to know how many others have had the same problem.
Conclusion: DONT BUY a g3 THERE UNRELIABLE from my experience and I wouldnt wish this aggrevation on my worst enemy save urself the headache and dp customer service has went down the tubes since I first delt with them.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 12th, 2010 at 10:03 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ionic Moron Monday, December 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion - G3 blows it out of the water
PMR - G3 is better but Ion is a great starter
Marker Setup: G3 (Main) W/:
Hyper 2 Reg

PMR (backup) w/ :
Blue Proto On/off
Clear CP Trigger
Blue Ndz Backcap
TechT L7 Bolt
Vlo Hopper
Empire Fuel 45/45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Free V2 Reg Parts from the dangerous power website so you dont crush your reg seat.
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Reveiw
Review: I bought this g3 from my teammate for the INSANE price of 70 dollars and a hybrid tank cover. This thing is crazy efficient...1200 shots off a 68/45.
The barrel is better than my lucky un1tec I use on my PMR and the bolt on this thing is so light and simple! I've never chopped a ball or gotten a barrel break!

But i need to spend $100 to get a new board and trigger so I can use it in tournaments.

Strengths:
Insanely Light
Low Rise Feedneck
Pretty fast for a mid end spooly (on 25bps ramp I got 23 consistently with paint)
Awesome R.A.P.S On/Off ASA
Great-Stock-Barrel
Nice Grips
Simple Bolt (4 orings to lube on the entire thing!!)
Optional carrying hatch
Great Colour Manual

Weaknesses:
Board has no psp3 or other commonly used tournament modes, solved with a 99 dollar APE board and trigger kit.
Some might not like the optic eye sensor trigger
Conclusion: Product is perfect for any baller experienced or new but make sure you have an extra 100 dollars for upgrades.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

whitenoise08 Friday, October 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
-upped ion
-pmr
-mini
-etek
Marker Setup: -dp g3
-urban vlocity
-crossfire 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, and if you play PSP, board.
Strengths: -Weight
-Speed
-Looks
-Feedneck
-Bolt
-Pretty much everything...
Weaknesses: -Barrel
-Board
Review: When I opened the well packaged DP box, i was blown away from the sight of the G3. the G3 is extremely sexy, and small. I picked it up and was blown away from the weight, 1.86lbs, which is crazy-light. The trigger is really nice, and feels good. The barrel is okay for a stock. Its 14" and relatively accurate. When i first shot the G3, it shot very smooth and fast, after some semi i decided to try it on NXL capped at 15bps. The gun handled it very well, and was very consistent. The RAPS asa is awesome too!!!!!!!
Conclusion: I recommend this for all types of play. Its cheap enough for rec-ball, but its great for tourneys too. I have not used it in a tourney, just scrimmages, but i will soon, and im sure it will be great...soooo BUY IT!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jcramrod15 Sunday, April 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
epiphany ion ego etek fusion f7 and f8
Marker Setup: dp g3 rotor 68/3000 pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
board maybe
Strengths: Fast light accurate small great on air
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is perfect. it is the best gun i have ever shot. i even tested my friends ego7 and etek. the only bad part about the gun is the board. it is easy to use but there aren't many settings for tourny locks. if you plan on playing tournys you want a new board. other wise this gun is perfect.
Conclusion: If you want a great gun cheap, get a g3.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 27th, 2009 at 4:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

matthew101 Saturday, January 9th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: dp g3
reloader B w/ magna clutch upgrade kit
freak Jr. barrel kit
48 ci steel tank
event mask
invert 08 pants jersey gloves 3+2 pack
Recommended
Upgrades:
none out of the box, but the older g3 models dont seem to have a good reg, so you might need one later on
Strengths: light, fast, easy maintenance, small,great for any player at any level, CHEAP!
Weaknesses: No pressure gauge on the gun to tell the pressure o the air flow
Review: This is an overall solid gun that is reliable that is not the most expensive gun. i has many modes on the stock board, has the bet feedneck possible (or so i think), great asa (flip lever) and i highly recommend it to any one. this gun is awesome by the far the best i have ever used
Conclusion: Great gun that will last me a long time and i would recommend to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint freak52 Wednesday, December 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMR
EGO 9 (rented and used a friends)
ETEK 2 (tested)
DM9 (tested)
tippman 98 and A5 (no comparison)
shocker
Marker Setup: i have the G3 in red. i have only used it like 5 times. right now its all stock except for an upgraded barrel kit from planet eclipse. i also have the vertue OLED board for it and that makes it the best marker i have ever used.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kits are a great upgrade for all guns but not the first thing you should get for this gun.
the only thing that it needs is a new board for more adjustable settings.
Strengths: Great gun for a great price.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: i have used alot of guns before i used this one and i am really impressed by it. DP has really made a great tournament gun that all players of all abilities can use and change the settings really well and easily. the stock board is not that programmable so i would spend some money on a new board. i love this gun because it is really light and fast. in addition to it being really fast and light it is also very accurate. with and operating pressure of 180 psi, i have saved alot of air.
Conclusion: No matter what level you are as a tournament player, this gun will do you alot of good and not clean out your pocket so that you will have more money to play the game.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

D9triggerhappy Tuesday, July 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego 7, 8
Geo 9
Invert mini
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing keep everthing stock. Maybe a new barrel though
Strengths: shoots fast
nice trigger
its quiet
PRICE
Weaknesses: Not really anything
Review: I was so exited to get this gun Ive heard nothing but good about it and then finally some kid came to the field one day with the gun and i watched a few rounds of the G3 in action I i said to my self i had to have it. When i bought the gun i headed strait to the paintball field, Its a very good looking gun to add. It just did nothing but kick ass. It was fast, quiet, and very slick. And for only about $300 you will say screw the Ego and the Geo with a price comparison with the G3 ($300 - $1400) why spent an extra $1000 or so when you can buy a marker with the same performance.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this gun to ANYONE even begginers because of its price and performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media