paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI F4 Illustrator TP / ACI F4 Illustrator TP / ACI F4 Illustrator TP / ACI F4 Illustrator TP

ACI F4 Illustrator TP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI F4 Illustrator TP

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI F4 Illustrator TP
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 41
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: 45 frame with wrap-around grips, ambidextrous 10" custom 2 hole bottomline, patented all weather valve, quick slide cocking, gas-through stock, high-volume cell and ACI custom color transparent elbow.
Product Availability 
The ACI F4 Illustrator TP is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
mghull_14 Wednesday, May 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Avenger(sux) didnot compare at all to this gun
Brass Eagle Blade(sux also) I don't think you can call a blade a paintball gun ,it more or less rolls them out of the barrel
Kingman Hammer or Trracer, whatever its called: pretty good pump
Marker Setup: ACI F4 Illustrator TP,stock barrel,9oz Co2
*soon to come: 9v Revvy,Expansion chamber, 32degrees Nyte Stick Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a 9 or a 12 volt hopper it'll help keep pballs from breaking(not that a lot do)
Maybe a new barrel, stock barrels OK but just if you wanna upgrade(Get a 32 degrees Nyte Stick)
Strengths: Very Durable
Looks Awesome(get the blue or the red, not easily camoed but looks cool)
Shoots consistent
Has an External Velocity control
Field Strippable
Keeps up with other semis
Weaknesses: Just the chopping pballs issue but the 9 or 12 volt will fix this
Doesn't have a 2 finger trigger but that doesn't bother me( I like the regular trigger just fine)
Nothing else i can think of
Conclusion: I really think this should be a top contender in your search to find the right paintball gun. It is Reliable and Durable and looks awesome. Overall, I think it is a very good gun, and I think you should consider this gun before buying a Spyder or Pirahna.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact, Tippmann Model 98 and 98 Custom
Marker Setup: ACI F4 Illustrator, VL200 Hopper, 20oz. C02 Tank, 12" Dye Alluminum Barrel, ACI Venturi Bolt, ACI 2 Finger Trigger Frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would definetily reccomend a new barrel, and a two finger trigger to upgrade the F4, the venturi bolt also is good. (A 9 or 12 volt revolution to help ball chops)
Strengths: This gun has a good shot, is very easy to clean and field strip, and is very durable.
Weaknesses: The stock barrel isn't too good (fixed easily), the velocity always seems kind of low, and balls chop without a revolution. The only problems I've had have been that the ball retaining spring was snapped, but i replaced one for about 2 bucks.
Conclusion: This is a good marker for the once and a while player, but I would not reccomend it to the seasoned veteran or someone who is playing every weekend. Good for a $130 marker though. (Some are better)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jofus418 Saturday, April 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: F4 Illustrator TP with 12" CP medium bore barrel (blue), 12v Revy (blue), DYE Sticky Grip (blue), KAPP Apocalypse dropforward, and Crossfire 68ci Steel Nitro tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel definitely.
Strengths: It's very durable. The field stripping system is also very handy when you need to clean your bolt or something like that in a short amount of time. It's consistent with its shots most of the time, and it doesn't hog your air.
Weaknesses: The sears wear down quickly, so you'll probably find yourself "farting" a good many times after about a year's worth of play. I had to buy and install a replacement, but I haven't had any problems with that since. Also, ibe careful with how fast you shoot. The F4 IS NOT A FAST SHOOTING MARKER! Many a time have I over-done it and end up with a pinch, chop, or jam.
Conclusion: This is an excellent for the beginners who want to step it up a notch from BE and other things of that sort. It has served me well, and has even won a tournament with me. If you're looking for durability and reliabilty (exception to the bad line of sears) for cheap, turn to the F4 TP.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, March 30th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder classic and TL plus, model 98 and carbine
Marker Setup: 2002 ACI Illustrator TP w/ 14" AAmerican. co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
not many needed. a trigger job maybe.
Strengths: the 2002 model comes with many more features than the previous ones. these include a matching aci combo barrel, aci venturi bolt, and a 4-stage aci sub zero expansion chamber. for some reason mine came with a double trigger installed. i didn't complain :). as you can see the gun is already nicely upgraded right out of the box. it has a very nice design - no outside moving parts. the price is also good for the amount of high quality parts that come stock on it.
Weaknesses: i don't like the trigger pull at all. it's long and hard to pull off a fast rate of fire. i also have the new aci double trigger. if you don't like to shoot fast then this isn't a problem.
Conclusion: from what i can see this is a solid gun with many very nice upgrades. considering the low price, this gun is a great value. i wish the trigger pull was better, other than that, there's nothing really bad about it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 4th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
F4 illustrator, griffin, spyder compact 2000
Marker Setup: i have an aci combo barrel 14". and they lcd phat frame electronic trigger frame.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: This gun is awesome. It shoots straight. It dosent chop balls and its reasonably inexpensive. i got mine for 180.
Weaknesses: You have to take real good care of it or it breaks down.
Conclusion: This was my first gun. It is awesome. I've took good care of it and it works. I recommend anybody whos looking for a relatively cheap gun to get this one or the WGP B.O.S.S. X-Raider.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

j*friz Sunday, February 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Its beter than,,the VM 68, stingray, talon, tippman and the basic spyder
I've used guns from the Angel on down.
Marker Setup: F4 red TP, 12in CP barrel, 10in smartparts teardrop, 12v rev hopper, venturi bolt, drop forward, custom fitted 2-finger trigger, 68ci N2 tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel....Rev hopper...2-finger triggger
Strengths: The trigger pull is smooth, and the gun does'nt recoil as much as a spyder therefore it is easier to stay steady while firing. the gun has nice pretty finish.
Weaknesses: The vertical ASA/foregrip works loose causing a leak so you have to keep your eye on it,but putting some Locktite on it will fix it. Not coming with a standard 2-finger tigger, every other brand of gun does.
Conclusion: Its good for the money, its reliable and not a bad looking gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, February 3rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used a old f4 for four years and then I got the new F4 Tp and all the little bad reasons in the old f4 have been fixed in the f4 Tp
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you don't have a good barrel you might as well throw your gun in the trash because If your can't hit the target it doesn't matter what kind of gun you have so buy a new barrel.Also buy the new Aci double trigger frame for it.
Strengths: Very durable. Like yesterday in a small 3 on 3 tournament all this expensive guns were messing up bad but I was the only gun working.I happen to win that tourament ,too.Shots are straighter than ever with a new barrel.
Weaknesses: They did make a group of bad F4 one time.
Little bit heavy trigger
Conclusion: I love it and wouldn't even pick a 500 dollar gun over it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, January 12th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder TL, it is not worth the money. when you can get this gun that is way better.
Marker Setup: i have an F4. i have a 6" inch drop foreward,dye aluminum series barrel,dye sticky grip,upgraded venturi bolt,47 cu. inch tank(aci also, works great),20 oz backup tank,6 stage xpansion chamber,and trigger job
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel,drop foreward,cubic in. tank,and venturi bolt,also gotta have the sticky grip(dye)
Strengths: this product is very relighable. this gun will last you a long time with nothing to worry about. it will also give you no problems and lots of fun.
Weaknesses: nothing bad except that i had a few ball breaks. (get that aci venturi bolt and you will have no more problems.
Conclusion: this gun will last you so i suggest that you take my word and buy one. belive me i play every weekend at tombstone, and sc village. also i got my gun at impact in chino they have great prices.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, December 23rd, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used spyder compact, stingray, tigersharks
Marker Setup: Black f4 tp with 20 oz co2, aci venturi bolt, cp 14 inch ss barrel, Clear Dye stickies
Recommended
Upgrades:
definitely upgrade the barrel. you may want to get a 12v revy also to stop the little ball chops you encounter. get dye stickies too
Strengths: *light
*not a heavy trigger
*stock barrel is pretty accurate
*high rate of fire
*external velocity adjustment
*simple to field strip
Weaknesses: *stock barrel chops alot
*expansion chamber lets liquid in causing it to uncock
Conclusion: Very good gun for the money. All newbies or intermediate players should definitely consider this gun. BUY IT
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wenninjj Monday, November 26th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 and 98 custom
Marker Setup: ACI F4 Illustrator TP, 9oz CO2 tank, ACI Venturi Bolt, 16" Smart Parts All American Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better barrel than the stock, some type of Air system instead of CO2. Also maybe ACI's new double trigger they have out.
Strengths: Being new to paintball this gun is great in that it is very low maintenance. I've put about 2 cases through it so far and never had a ball break. It's very reliable and pretty accurate. You'll get out shot by all the people with Angels, Cockers and RT's but then again you only paid about 1/8 the price for your marker.
Weaknesses: There really isn't anything that I can think of. The triggers a little funny and has a bit of a long pull but that's not bad at all.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for a beginner. I got mine from Paintball-Online for $130.00. It's low price, reliability and ease of use are what I noticed. I highly reccomend this gun to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media