paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI F4 Illustrator TP / ACI F4 Illustrator TP / ACI F4 Illustrator TP / ACI F4 Illustrator TP

ACI F4 Illustrator TP Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI F4 Illustrator TP

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI F4 Illustrator TP
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 41
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features: 45 frame with wrap-around grips, ambidextrous 10" custom 2 hole bottomline, patented all weather valve, quick slide cocking, gas-through stock, high-volume cell and ACI custom color transparent elbow.
Product Availability 
The ACI F4 Illustrator TP is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Unregistered User Sunday, March 25th, 2001
Strengths: ok, the f4 illustrator TP kicks arse because it is durable, easy to clean, not as popular as the spyders ( making it a mystery, which is the main reason i bought it instead of a spyder) and it just blows the spyder out of the water, even the shutter. This gun works so good with stock, if everything is working, i hope to get a stabilizer reg, and a lapco bigshot barrel and a adjustable venturi bolt. thanks
Weaknesses: not really anything except you might have the sear defect, call aci, get your ra number, send it in, get it back ( with new trigger 2001 enhanced) and kick total arse on the field, period. :)
Conclusion: great gun i got mine for 176 after everything was said and done, nice price, nice gun, nice people who own them. I recommend it to anyone who wants a gun, do not get spyders, lets get the f4s movin, :). Encourage those newbies to buy f4s, more f4s, more upgrades. Good for us old schoolers hehe. Good gun, buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:51 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, February 25th, 2001
Strengths: I recently recieved an F4 TP for my b-day. I wanted a spyder or something like that but the more I played with this the more glad I was that I got this one. This gun shoots good. With BE new style balls I have never had a break besides one when there was dirt in my barrel. I have shot all kinds of paint through the gun and it worked well with all. The stock barrel is accurate but if you want an after-market go with a cp. The gun is a good deal for anyone wanting a good gun under $200.
Weaknesses: I've had problems with the balls not feeding but that was becuase I had paint on the power-feed plug. II also had problems with recocking but that was a bad sear. ACI replaced it for free under warranty so it was good.
Conclusion: This gun is awesome. I love the thing. I have never had any bad experiences w/ it besides the ones above. It is also extremely cheap and has some awesome features like a high volume chamber and gas thru grip.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, February 18th, 2001
Strengths: This gun comes with almost every feature a normal player would want. It is air-efficient and has a high-volume-cell (which improves air performance) as well as a bottomline feed. The stock barrel IS vented (although you would not know this by looking at ANY website). It loads and shoots as fast as you can humanly pull the trigger (I have used several brands of balls in this gun), so no need for a special hooper.
Weaknesses: The safety switch on my gun is way too "sticky", that is, it is harder than most to engage. This is the ONLY issue I have ever had with my gun.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to any beginner, novice, intermediate, or average tournament player. It is not a super high-end gun. It is a solid, middle of the road gun that will perform well in 90%% of playing situations. It is durable and fun to shoot. Little maintenance is needed compared to other guns I used and maintenance is easy (largely due to no external moving parts). Plus, it can be upgraded easily....if you wish to blow extra dough....although, the stock version of the F4 Illustrator TP will go head to head with ANY gun in it's price range ($160)...and it will even out shoot/perform some I have seen that sell for over $400. I have the blue one and it always draws questions because of it's simple yet appealing looks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 12th, 2001
Strengths: I have had my illustrator for about a year now and I have had no problems with it. This is my second one because the first was defective and they sent me a new one. This is a great gun and it blows away the spyder TL Plus and the SE. And its cheaper. It isn't that loud, but you can hear any paintball gun so it doesn't really matter how loud it is. It is extremely consistent and I would rank it over any gun under $300.
Weaknesses: The trigger pull is light, but not as light as ACI says it is. They say it is 2.2 pounds, but it is more like 3 or so. But it is still very smooth
Conclusion: This is the best gun under $300. I know an automag classic is $299, but they don't even come with barrel, bottom line, expansion chamber, etc. By the time you add all of that, it ends up being over $500 dollars. It is a great stock gun, but I would put a 14" or 16" barrel on it. The barrel on it is great for a 10" barrel, but a 10" barrel can only do so much. I would recomend this gun to anyone. Period.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 23rd, 2000
Strengths: This gun is a great value. The High Velocity Chamber (HVC) & Expansion Chamber keeps the velocity very constant and without spikes. Very CO2 efficient, accurate shots, very light trigger pull, light-weight, inexpensive, less maintenance, velocity can be quickly changed, easy to take apart for cleaning & oilling inside. Looks good in red!
Weaknesses: -low sight rail, but because it shoots straight it is easy enough to just shoot and correct your aim off of the last shot or just hit the target on the first shot!!
Conclusion: GREAT GUN & GREAT VALUE, definitely worth getting instead of Stingrays & Tigersharks, great for Beginners or Experts. Upgrading the barrel and bolt do not increase it's performance too much, but ONLY because it works GREAT as is! Must keep oilled for best performance (about every 2-3 weeks for average play)...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

godzilla(911) Wednesday, July 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Fokus 2k3
Marker Setup: ACI zero gravaty barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Accurate, smooth, no chopping,
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: This gun can be made electric if desired and it wont cost much
I would suggest this gun to any beginers
It is low maintenance and all of the guns dun match this
I have a mokal fokus 2k3 and a f4 illustrator
I say the illustrator is better
Ok have a good day
Conclusion: Any newb should get this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The Darkness Thursday, August 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Modell 98C, all Spyders
Marker Setup: F4 illistratorTP, 20oz. tank, aci remote, stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, expansion chamber
Strengths: well thus far i have not really found anything to be that good in specific. It is not that loud, it does have a pretty low consumption of co2, fires ok with the stock barrel.
Weaknesses: right when i got it i had to replace a spring. Stock barrel is not that great, but there are not that many good stock barrels out there.
Conclusion: This is an ok newbie gun. pretty good price, but i think it could have been a little bit better manufactured. I prefer pumps because i think that spray and pray tactics are not what the game should be about. any way it is an ok entry level gun i would however go with the tippy m98C. If u decide to go pump go with a phantom, the best pump there is.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, November 12th, 2000
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: First of all, I'd like to say that a few of the myths I've heard about this gun are false. For example, the stock barrel. I've heard it was terrible, but it worked perfectly for me. My paint usually hit their targets within the first two shots. Secondly the bolt-- the stock bolt works fine. No need to get the venturi here. Like most guns out there, it depends on the paint you use and how fast you're trying to fire. You try to match an Angel's speed (even with the venturi) and you'll chop balls. I used Marbs and Proballs just the other day and they worked like a charm. It's also very co2-efficient. Using a 20oz tank, I shot off around 1100 balls and still have air left.
Weaknesses: Sometimes disassembly can be tricky (after a few times you get the hang of it). Other than that, I really haven't had any problems with it.
Conclusion: It performs very well stock. If you live in colder weather (around 50 degrees or less) I'd suggest and X-chamber. A new barrel isn't really necessary unless you plan on sniping alot. I've used Spyders and Tippmans and I still feel that the TP outperforms them both. Very cheap for what it delivers. I'd recommend it for anyone looking for an affordable and reliable gun. The only reasons you'd probably upgrade it is if you wanted to make it tournament-ready.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 8:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Murf Sunday, August 20th, 2000
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The F4 Illustrator TP has a great stock barrel, even though the stock dovetail sight is almost useless because of the placement of the powerfeed, but I could hit my target (1 square foot range) in, at most, 2 shots. Plus, the velocity was unbelievably consistant. The forward gas-thru- grip feature, upgraded from the original F4's gas-thru-cord. All-in-all, if you recieved an F4 without the possible defect in the sear (which can be replaced for free, with a call to ACI) it will definately kick arse.
Weaknesses: The possibility of the sear defect. And to a lesser extent, the sight/powerfeed placement. The powerfeed covers the dovetail sight rail at the end, and makes it somewhat difficult to aim, but can easily be remedied by placing a non-magnification scope, or red dot sight on the dovetail mount.
Conclusion: I would definately recommend the F4 TP to anyone in the market for a high-mid-end semi automatic paintball gun. It's right at the breaking point of the $200 mark, and is probably the best gun for under $300. It has no external moving parts, except the cocking mechanism, of course, that is well placed at the back, for easy ambidextrous cocking. I do recommend this gun to almost everyone, and definately remind them to lube the gun before the first shoot it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ejcamaro Thursday, September 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mokal Mirage, Brass Eagle Avenger 2, Spyder Imagine, Autococker, Bob Long Defiant, Impulse
Marker Setup: Green Spyder Imagine - evil smokestack, dye 14 inch boomstick, 12v revy, 20 oz. CO2.
02' Verticle cocker- Rock reg, orracle 3-way, supafly bolt, STO ram, 15 asa, palmer detent, palmer stabilizer, 12v revy, 20 oz. CO2 on remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much you can do besides a barrel. The aci venturi bolt doesn't have a good review.
Strengths: Fairly light, good stock expansion chamber, nice annodizing.
Weaknesses: Chops once a day, no aftermarket parts, single trigger.
Review: The biggest thing that I can find wrong with the illustrator is the powerfeed. This gun is an old design that could use a facelift. Powerfeeds were invented back before we had reliable motorized hoppers, and were supposed to give more room for the paintballs to fall in place. The problem is that the angle the balls have to fall to get into the chamber is limiting how fast the gun can fire. This is the reason everyone is going to vertical feed. It's not that big of a deal as long as you know the gun's limitations. There is also no reason at all, know matter what anyone says, to get a motorized hopper on this gun. I've tried mine with and without and got the same results. The electric hopper is held back by the slow powerfeed. I'm use to faster gun's, so it could be my fault that I chop a ball about once a day. I bought this gun for other people to borrow (trying to get as many people as I can into the sport), and no one else has ever had a problem with it. The barrel is not very accurate, but that's the first thing people change anyway. There is an amazing lack of hop up parts for the illustrator, which takes away some of the fun of owning it. I do think that the F-4 illustrator could be the coolest name a paintball gun has ever had. I might also be a dork though. I'm waiting for ACI to come out with a double trigger, vertical feed F-5 illustrator to keep up with the times.
Conclusion: I bought mine used for 100 bucks with extras. 150 new is kinda alot for such an old design, but I still like them better than a spyder. They are built pretty well and seem to hold up. I would have given this gun an 8 back in 1996, but times makin changes.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 25th, 2003 at 5:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media