paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design TM-7 / BT Paintball Design TM-7 / BT Paintball Design TM-7 / BT Paintball Design TM-7

BT Paintball Design TM-7 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design TM-7

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design TM-7
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The BT TM-7 utilizes Mini Technology to inflict maximum force from a marker of minimal size. Don't be fooled by the size of the TM-7's exterior; it can hang with the big boys and is by no means a lightweight. Once you hold one and pull the trigger, you won't want to put it down. Its lightweight, yet durable construction is perfect for close quarters or long-range combat. This is the marker that just may have people rethink the way they looked at Mil-Sim paintball markers.

Mini Technology Inside
Shift-On-The-Fly, 4-Position Mode Switch
Multiple, Extensive Firing Modes Including Semi/Burst/Full-Auto
Multiple Picatinny Rails Allow For Extra Accessories
Adjustable, Multi-Position Stock
Collapsible/Adjustable Front Grip
Low Pressure Operation
No External Hoses; Internal Airline Operation
Additional Modes: NPPL/PSP/NXL/Millennium
Universal Mini Style Barrel Threads
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design TM-7 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
bvdave Friday, August 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year81 of 81 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT delta elite
Autococker
Marker Setup: Flasc Double threaded Barrel with Fake screw on Suppressor and Screw on Apex tip backup
Flasc Paintball Rip Clip Adapter
BT Rip Clip
Delta furniture and mag
Quick Disconnect sling mount on rear of furniture
Palmers Male Regulator screwed into ASA
TechT MRT Bolt and Spring kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flasc Double Threaded Barrel
Rip Clip
Remote Line
Double trigger Kit
Strengths: Looks awesome
air efficent
Great board
Selector
No air lines
great stock
rails
Weaknesses: Not a fan of Stock Trigger
Review: Ok so I just got my TM-7 today. First thing I did was take some pics and go to my barrels to see what fits.

Fits
Flasc Barrels
Palmers Brass
Lapco Apex ready Bigshot
Redz
CP one piece
Freak (newer models)

Does not fit
Winforce
Freak (older models)

Thatís all I tested for barrels so far, I will add more when I test more out.

The TM-7 also comes with the best marker toolkit I have ever seen, rather then tiny allan keys it h as nice long easy to use allan keys, a back plate for your stock if you wish to remove it (sp shoulda done this with the sp1) it also has a duracel battery, spare screws, lots of orings detents spring and even a very cool little container of grease! fantastic, and not to mention a cool carry case for all of this stuff instead of the standard plastic baggie

The marker itself is constructed very well. it looks great, I love the no airlines and the battery door is just fantastic, no wires to deal with and changes in seconds, literally! I love it!

The side rails are removable which is a very nice feature; however I will be keeping mine on. No plans for them yet but I like them where they are.

the feed neck goes on a bit different then prior BT markers, there is a recess in the rails on top and it clips in from there, if you try and put it on from the front you will be fighting all day long with it. I cant wait to get my Rip Clip on it but alas.. I dont yet have the adapter... Very sad as this marker will look awesome with a rip clip on the side with a LP X7 hopper.

Selector switch, I really like it so far, I dont know what its wear and tear will be like, it doesnít feel like it will be super strong for years to come so I can only wait and see. However I am not too worried because I can see some company making an aluminum upgrade part for it in the near future.

Air, recommended is HPA only at LP, but HP out is fine as well, I have a 56CI 4500 Empire tank with lp kit and stock HP out, I think I will leave it on HP out because I want to try it with my PPS ASA reg I made for my remote (instead of screwing my remote tip into the ASA I screw in my male Stab and it has a remote input on the side, when I finally get my tank 100% full I want to test to see if the double reg setup helps consistency at all, ill post here when I test both ways. (With extra reg and just LP tank)
I like the no hoses as I have stated before, the stock asa. reg looks awesome, I like the bleed underneath, and it seems BT took prior starvation issues seriously as there are 4 (four) input holes in the asa all near the center so no blockage to speak of.
Runs at 200 PSI

Grips - rear grip I like, nothing overly special about it, just donít dislike it, feels good. the front grip is more interesting, I love the foldable design with the button to move it, however its a bit wobbly, I am sure I can fix it with some time and mods when I get round to it.*update, while I did like teh grips I now run a BT Delta mag instead, looks much nicer, but for pure performance the grips are still awesome and do the job well.

Accuracy I wonít say much on because its based more on your barrel then anything and I use a PPS brass, youíd get more info reading a review of the barrel you wish to use. however due to low kick this marker will help keep accuracy on target a bit better then a standard bt, especially if you use the stock.. The one thing you do need to do to keep good accuracy is use good paint!! if you use crap paint and it breaks in the hopper or feedneck and paint gets in the marker you will need to take it apart to properly clean it out. and like any marker a dirty marker = bad performance.

Anti Chop, this marker includes eyes, not something Im used to being used to markers from Tippmann and BT, will be a nice change in the woods I think!
*update* I absolutly love the eyes, after about a year of use I thought id say a few works about them while I make my update, they work flawlessly, and they are very easy to turn off if needed (dry fire, testing etc etc) very easy to use, work great, not a single issue yet with them*

Disassembly is pretty straight forward, once you get the clamshells off you can see that the serial number is also on the inside of the marker which is cool, I did find it weird that it was only found on the reg on the outside of the marker. Also remember, longer screws on bottom, this goes with the body AND the grip frame when putting the rubber sides back on the grip. Its defiantly not a bt-4 inside! It will take some getting used to but it doesnít appear to be overly complicated, just different. also on a side note, donít forget to put the battery door in before you reassemble, if you did however forget (like me) you can get it back in by loosening the rear bolts a bit, so its a bit of a save

when you first get the marker it will sound rather loud (not as loud as a normal bt or tippmann mind you) after you put about a case or 2 of paint through it the marker will "break in" I suggest cleaning and relubing it after your first case and you will find a great increase to efficency and noise, it will get to be an extremily quiet marker once you start using it, so dont be dissapointed if it sounds loud the first time out!

*update* Efficency: I measured my efficency a bit better today then prior guestimates so I wanted to make an update, I today fired 1040 rounds (200 in hopper and 6 full pods) and I only used 2000 PSI on a 70/4500. meaning if I kept going I would have had approx 2300 rounds on a single tank! amazing I was iimpressed, I was hoping for 1700 or so! I also understand as I break it in more it will get a bit more efficent as well!

cost comparison: only a few bucks more then the Delta Elite or the X-7 with E-grip, well worth the extra $20-$50 I would say, this is an awesome marker and I recommend it to pretty much anyone.

*update*
TechT Bolt and spring have allowed me to lower my pressure to about 150 PSI with great results. I havent really noticed much difference in performance, only in lower pressures which allowed me to reduce volume, but I still find best air efficency is still at about 190 PSI, I have sacraficed air efficency for lower volume but I still get fantastic efficency, I use a 110 CI 4500 PSI Tank now with Myth Reg, (anything over 48 on a tm7 I HIGHLY suggest using a remote line) The TM-7 is just AWESOME with the Rip Clip, I played with a Pinokie last week to try it out and after using the rip clip for a few months just nothing compares. Ive had the marker for almost a year now and it hasent let me down at all, works flawlessly, fires great awesome performance and efficency and loads of upgrades are avaiable for it! I just dont have enough good things to say about this marker, its just fantastic! Awesome job to the guys over at BT!!
TechT Bolt and spring have
Conclusion: Great marker by BT, This is what Tippmann should have done with the X7, but BT did it first! I see this marker changing a lot of things for BT and for woodsball in general, the delta and delta elite were great changes as it was but the TM7 will be much bigger Iím thinking. Itís a great marker, well worth the cost.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 24th, 2009 at 1:20 am PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

Paintball_Doc Monday, August 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months25 of 27 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
AKA Viking (high end), Tippmann X7 (milsim / scenario)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just a barrel and a good loader
Strengths: It's essentially a milsim mini
Weaknesses: Power button (see body)
Uses PaintballSolutions for customer service
Review: The TM7 is a fast, light marker that introduces BT to the realm of high end milsim markers. I liked that the marker came in a package with an Empire barrel sock, some grease, spare parts, and all the allen wrenches needed. Really, the only things needed not included were a 9volt, a loader, and your HPA tank.

The stock barrel is .691 bore and 9 inches long. It performs well for a stock barrel, but upgrading to another barrel is a logical upgrade for this marker.

The stock is adjustable, and in the field I have found it to be quite stable.

The selector switch allows you to switch between semi, PSP ramping, and NXL full auto. There is an easily accessible tournament lock in the event that your field requires it.

The only weakness I have found with this marker is the push button for power. It was not adequately connected to the circuit board, and as a result, was damaged after a few days of play. I believe this is a freak chance problem that happened with the first-generation TM7s only (or perhaps only my individual marker), and BT's customer service will honor their warranty to fix this flaw.

I got my TM7 back in a week, and it's back to normal operation.


FOLLOW UP REPORT - February 2009 -- My TM7 has started acting up in this month. The issue appears to be a problem with the hall effect sensor technology. Symptoms are bursts of fire coming from semi-auto and the marker powering off arbitrarily on some trigger pulls (possibly a power spike?)

At first I suspected it was a board issue. I called up paintball solutions (BT's tech support) and told them about it. Their answer? Do a factory reset. Seriously, if I was able to tell you what the issue was, you should know I was smart enough to try that just to be on the safe side.

While they did send me a new board free of charge

I plan to call BT directly this week and skip the middleman paintballsolutions, a company who simply is of no use without a real argument (I had to fight for the board I got).

It really is too bad -- as a whole, the design could have been sound. This one problem and how BT will handle it will forever decide my opinion of this marker.

Lowering the overall number for now and we'll see in the future.

FOLLOW UP - November 2009.

Paintball Problems (I mean Paintball Solutions) wound up replacing the solenoid. It's possible it was a factory defect instead of a design flaw.

Ran with it this whole season without issues.
Conclusion: I could see BT being the end of the blowback markers, if they address the issues in the technology first.

Really, when the TM7 works, it's incredible. When it doesn't, it's a pain and the customer service of Paintball Solutions may induce profanity.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 18th, 2009 at 2:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

meatcircus Wednesday, September 3rd, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months16 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: X7
Ion
SP8
Recommended
Upgrades:
An X7 for a backup marker. You will need it sooner rather than later.
Strengths: 20bps out of the box (nearly)
It looks great, no hoses.
Weaknesses: Screen printed selection indicator
Wobbly foregrip
flimsy trigger
broken power button
Review: Not gonna spend alot of time on this, because I haven't got to use the gun for very long. My friend (and I)bought the gun at the MI monster Game, and got to use it for a bit. It needed tech before he could use it as he tried to fiddle with the trigger play. According to the tech, the adjustment is there for you to leave alone. (It's only to have the appearance of being adjusted?) About an hour into it's use, the screen printed mode selection indicators were starting to wear off.

The marker was turned on and dry shot a few times to show off to interested individuals. Other than that, is sat in its case until last weekend. We took it out for some backyard ball and the power button broke. Still waiting to hear back from BT Customer Service.

This is the third instance that I know of where the power button broke on the T-M7. One of which I was told that when C.S. was contacted for repair, they said it wasn't covered because it is "normal wear and tear". Also, of every T-M7 that I heard of, the mode selection wears off.

Also, the selector switch seems fairly fragile, and I'm witing for it to snap off in the middle of a fire fight.

From what I've read/heard, these issues were all brought up during testing before major production, and none of them were adressed obviously. I would like to be proven wrong, because it seems fairly irresponsible that a company wouldn't adress important issues of things known to easily malfunction.
Conclusion: EPIC FAIL

but at least it looks pretty and shoots fast (as long as you can get it to turn on)

hopefully these issues will be adressed on future production runs, and the customers are all taken care of with this miserable first batch of what could be a very slick milsim marker.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

archon888 Saturday, August 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Stock Marker
Remote Coil
68/4500 Carbon Fiber Tank
Vlocity Select Force
Recommended
Upgrades:
None Yet
Strengths: Compact, Intelligent Design
Sharp looking
Very Accurate
Light Weight
Good price vs. X7-E
Weaknesses: Front grip is slightly loose, but not too bad.
Review: So, I have been "playing" for 15 years or so, but very very sporadically. I have recently gotten the bug and this time I had some money. Dangerous combination.

I was torn between a decent electronic "Speedball/Airball Marker" and sharp looking Mil-Sim marker. I mostly play woodsball, but I want to be able to operate in CQB efficiently, as well as be able to play speedball, and hauling around a replica main battle rifle is not the best plan for these situations, obviously.

When I expressed this dilemma to the boys over at the Bing Shop, their response was "why not just get one marker for both?".

Now, I am a "fan" of sub-machine guns, but I am partial to main battle rifles. I guess that is why I really didn't pay much attention previously to the marker Beau pulled off the wall and handed to me. TM-7 huh?

I simply cannot say enough good things about this marker. Clearly you can't give a full review until you play with a marker for some time, but you can definitely tell a winner just by hefting it and putting it through its' paces.

So much has changed since I played heavily 12 years ago, and the eye system in this marker is amazing. I got it all set up and ready to go, went out on the deck and tried to fire it... nothing. What? I mess around, thinking it is something stupid. It was. Feed wasn't connected properly. Well, any other gun I have ever owned would have shot anyway. Damn nice, even if it won't 100% stop the chop, I will take everything I can get.

This thing rips a rope of paint out so fast that it looks like the balls are touching. I fired it at a target about 50 feet away, and when braced, it tagged an area about 4 inches across. Dead. On.

The buttstock is a definite selling point, light but sturding, quite adjustable. As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the battery port is excellent both in location and operation.
Conclusion: Attention to Detail. Whoever designed this marker did so with love and pride from the beginning to the end.

Anyone considering getting a new marker, put this guy at the top of your list.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

arcanumdarkelf Tuesday, August 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP-8
SP-1
Marker Setup: TM-7.
12" carbon fibre barrel.
HPA tank.
Remote line.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel/lighter barrel(carbon Fibre)
Strengths: Fast BPS.
Light weight.
Includes stock.(removable)
Weaknesses: A little hard to put on the feed elbow. Front grip wobbles.
Review: First Impressions: When I arrived home my brother informed me that the mail order I had placed for the TM-7 had come in. He also mentioned though that something was wrong with the order. I thought ok fine I will check it out. I saw that 2 boxes had arrived. I picked though the first smaller box which contained a 12Ē barrel and an 18Ē barrel. Ok that seems ok, so I moved onto the larger box. It was about the size of a small suitcase. I bent and braced to lift the box. I gave a heave and almost fell on my back. Oh crap I thought. The box was so light that it felt empty. I quickly opened it up and found an amazingly well constructed box with the BT label inside. I opened the box and was amazed at the detail put into every aspect of packaging. I must admit that I have been a fan of Tippmann for a long time but the moment I opened this box my eyes were opened to a new woods ball company that may well have surpassed my old favourite. It turned out that the mix up was due to the 18Ē having the wrong threading.
Packaging and Related: Sounds odd but yes very impressive. The Box the gun comes in is made to look almost like an ammo case. Once itís opened it contains foam cut to the shape of the gun just like a real gun carrying case has. The Manuel is 20 pages and is a large size with many useful pictures. The tools come in a small plastic case with dividers in it similar to a fishing box.
TM-7: The gun is very light and the Stock is easy to adjust. The feed neck is a bit tricky to get on. You have to slide the elbow onto the narrower section of rail on the front end of the gun and then slide the elbow down and back while pushing in a small button on the elbow which has a metal clamp to hold the elbow in place. TM-7 has symbols on the side of the gun to indicate firing mode. When the gun is in safety the led on the side is red and when the gun is on a firing mode the led is green. Very Light and compact. The firing modes are easy to adjust using the selector on the side.
I shot 4 hoppers of various paint types I had lying in pods around the house through the gun using both the stock barrel and a special ops 12Ē carbon fibre barrel and preferred the carbon barrel because it was lighter. The gun shot through a hopper faster than I could imagine on the 20bps setting. It was a breeze to fire and lots of fun. I would say that this gun seems very similar to the SP8 except for ease of selecting fire modes and the huge weight difference.
Conclusion: It was a breeze to fire and lots of fun. I would say that this gun seems very similar to the SP8 except for ease of selecting fire modes and the huge weight difference. I rate this gun a 10 because I have not found any issues that would take the rating down. Once I play a game with the gun and see how it functions in the heat of battle, and if the performance is not what I expected I will edit the review.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

philnos Saturday, October 4th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 47 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
x7
Marker Setup: PMR
Dye UL Trigger Frame
Halo V35
TechT L7 Bolt
Stiffi 16" carbon fiber barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel
New trigger
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
Weaknesses: Loose grip
Board?
Plastic

Review: Ok, i hate this gun.
At first, i was crazy about it, but eventually i ended up disliking it. I got the gun for my bday which was 2 months ago. I thought it looked cool and that it was fast. I played with it for like a month and then it started messing up. One day, I was at the paintball park, and i set it on burst 3. It didn't work. It started shooting on full auto and it wouldnt stop, so i had to put it on safety to get it to stop. Then, like a week later, I let my friend play with it for a day and he tripped and the grip broke--now I know not to buy guns made out of plastic. Also, he chopped some balls, so i had to take apart the gun and clean it, which took me like 2 freaking hours, which resulted in an air leak.

I do not recommend this gun. It is made out of cheap plastic and its gonna mess up sooner or later.
Conclusion: Don't get it. It's a waste of money. You could get a much better gun for the price of a tm7. I wish I had waited and gotten the new pmr.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 27th, 2008 at 10:59 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

trashcanistan84 Wednesday, December 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Ego, BT delta, X-7 with egrip, A5 with RT
Marker Setup: TM7, J&J 12", 68/4500 Draxxus, Empire ReloaderB
06 Ego, Stiffi 14", 68/4500 Draxxus, HaloB
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgraded RIS forgrip, large sight picture red dot sight for left side rail, your barrell of choice.
Strengths: Lightweight, OUTSTANDING BATTERY CHANGE!!, Gas efficient, Fast, Integral stock and rails, Selector switch
Weaknesses: No ASA on/off/purge, too-small sling points, crappy stock sights
Review: This gun is a steal at 400 dollars. It performs as well as all mid and some high end tourney guns, shaves off most of the functions (like game timer LCDs) that have no use in the woods, looks super-sweet without useless milsim mod crap (like a functionless magazine well . . . COUGHX7COUGH) and is lighter than any woodsball gun. Now, you could get an X7 for about a hundred less, pay 50 for a stock and 100 for an etrigger and still be stuck with a paint-blending cyclone feed and 5 extra pounds, or you could take this gun out of the box and hit 20 bps right away.

The ballistic nylon feels flimsy to the touch but holds up fairly well. The battery change makes my pee pee do funny things. The rate of fire is outstanding. It comes with a great manual and toolkit.

Be careful what barrell you use for it, not all fit the shroud. My J&J is a tight fit, but it works. The trigger pull could be smoother. Honestly, I would be fine with the extra weight of a metal trigger if it felt a little more put together. The stock will just barely accomadate a 68/4500 without a cover, but will not extend past the length of it, rendering it useless if you don't run a remote line. Standard mil-spec slings (the kind that mount on CAR stocks and such,) will not fit the miniscule sling loops on this gun. Try a small D-ring or something. And BREAK IT IN!!! Mine took about a case and a half of paint.

Conclusion: I love this gun! It's weaknesses are minor, and its innovations should be taken note of by other manufacturers. If you don't like the price, think what an X7 would cost for the same level of performance. Good Job, BT!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crs002 Thursday, January 13th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Invert mini
Tm7
Tm15
Tippman 98c
Marker Setup: Tm7 upgraded solenoid
Tech t barrel bore sizer
Rap 4 punisher launcher
14 in rifled barrel
Strengths: This particular gun is awesome stock fires smooth and with little to no moding
Weaknesses: The #1 weakness for this gun is the factory barrel 6" come on
Review: For a beginner this is the perfect gun because it will play any kind of paintball u could like u pay a little more to get started but with little to no mods what's not to like.

The frame is good for rights and lefties tons of spots for accessories and add ons
The new models have a cool camo pattern

The selector switch works good but wish it was more like tm15
Love the light durable plastic frame and it's small package with lots of power
Conclusion: This gun rocks for three points
1 little to no mods
2 light and easy to use
3 has proven tech inside every1
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

potatomato33 Saturday, February 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann X7
Marker Setup: BT TM-7 (Stock barrel, serial number 0016xx)
Halo B
Steel HPA tank (direct mount)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket barrel
Carbon Fiber HPA tank
Remote (Maybe)
Strengths: Very light, easy to use, looks great. Surprisingly durable.
Weaknesses: Very sensitive trigger, stock barrel is inaccurate. Hard takedown.
Review: I've used this marker twice, both in 30F degree weather, and it works very well. I broke a few balls, but that was down to the horrid, horrid stock barrel rather than the marker itself. I'll be addressing some of the main issues people have been having with it.

Does the selector switch feel flimsy? Yes, it does, but that's because my other marker is an X7. I'm pretty sure almost everyone that complains about this used a woodsball marker before getting the TM7, so it would no doubt feel flimsy. But make no mistake, unless you use a lot of force on purpose, it will not break.

Does the trigger pull feel weird? Yes and no. It all depends on how you set it up and how used you are to the feel of other triggers. This was not an issue for me. What IS an issue, however, is how sensitive it is. I tripped and fell today, and even though I fell on my back and my finger wasn't even on the trigger, the marker just fired off a couple of rounds. Which means if you're not going to be shooting, make a habit of leaving it on safety.

Does the TM7 feel flimsy? No, it does not. Yes, it's an all plastic marker, but it is good quality plastic, not the stuff found on toys'r'us toy guns. I also had a steel HPA tank mounted directly on the TM7 and did not notice any wobble at all. It moves 1 or 2 mm up and down, but that was never an issue performance-wise for me. I guess it all depends on how it was assembled in the factory.

Does the blinking light give away your position? No, no, no, no, no. It's right next to the power button on the side of the marker. Furthermore, the light is a dull red (I think it's red), and it can't be seen past 20 feet. If you're worried, just stick a piece of tape over it before you play. I was worried more about noise my hopper than the blinking indicator light.

Now we'll get to the review of the TM7.

This thing rips right out of the box; provided you get a decent hopper that is. Factory setting is set to 13 bps and I had no problems with that. I brought it up to 15 bps and had a break every 500 or so shots. But I was using Draxxus field paint with the stock barrel, and it was around 35F degrees, so that's also a factor.

Now what I don't get is how people are saying they can hit targets 60 feet away, unless they have an aftermarket barrel. The stock barrel is pretty poor. At 40 feet shooting full auto, my shot groupings were easily in 3 feet circle, and this is just being conservative. You definitely want to buy a barrel for it.

The TM7 is surprisingly durable for something that light, even with a steel tank. I've dropped it and hit trees while running, and it still works. Yes, it has a tendency to fire off a couple of rounds when contact is made, but it still works afterward. After lugging around my X7 during games, I'm surprised that even at the end of the day, I wasn't too tired, which was not the case with the X7. When I get a carbon fiber tank, it's going to be even lighter.

The firing modes are easy to program. I brought a photocopy of my manual on the fields and was changing them during games with ease. The 9v battery compartment is also easily accessible, but once you have a 9v battery in there, quite hard to open again, so you don't have to worry about it dropping out. The burst function is cool, but I was usually going between safety and full auto. Oh, and before anyone complains about the 3 shot semi-auto safety feature before you can go full auto, boy am I glad it's implemented. If it weren't, I would've accidentally lit up a couple of people on my own team.

what are the weakness associated with the TM7? The only downside I have experienced with it is the take down. As mentioned previously, I also have an X7 and taking it down for cleaning was a cinch. As this is my first electronic gun, I don't know too much about it, so I have to take extra care when taking it apart to oil/lube the internals.

Also, this is supposed to be a "mil-sim" marker, but just because you slap an MP7 shell on a mini doesn't make it "mil-sim." Yes, having the internal regulator is great, but the main problems we woodsballers have is that either the hopper gets in the way when we either try to use red dot scopes, or the mask stops us being able to use iron sights properly if the marker has a stock. Neither of these issues are adressed, especially not when BT is dragging its heels with either developing a TM7 compatible Rip Clip, or even an official Rip Clip adaptor. This could easily be solved by including an off-set feed neck along with the feed neck that comes with it, but this simple solution was overlooked.

Did I mention that the stock barrel sucks?
Conclusion: The TM7 is a solid marker that works extremely well out of the box (if you don't get a lemon). The only thing you have to replace on it is the barrel, but other than that, the thing is great. It is simple enough for someone who's only used Tippmanns (98, A5, X7 w/o egrips) to figure out how to operate it the very first time at a field.

This is a great marker for one-day games, but due to the electronics involved, I would not take it to big, multiple day events because the eye and the hopper need care.

If you want a light, compact marker for casual play that rips right out of the box, the TM7 is for you. If you expect to play in the rain/snow/dirt, I would get something else, a woodsball marker with an egrip or response trigger.

I give it a solid 8 out of 10, -1 for a horrid, horrid, stock barrel, and -1 in general for all markers that I can't sight down the barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

mystery sniper Saturday, April 25th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1, MR2, MR3, Electra, Rodeo.
Tippmann 98, A5, X7.
Smart Parts SP8.
Marker Setup: BT TM-7
BT RipClip
FLASC RipClip Adapter
Recommended
Upgrades:
If Any, get the RipClip and the Adapter
Strengths: Very Light
Shoots FAST
Eyes (so far so good, no breaks yet!)

Weaknesses: BT RipClip won't Fit w/o adapter.
HPA ONLY (not a problem with me)
Review: BT TM-7 is a B-E-A-UTIFUL Gun, it is modeled after H&K's MP-7.
Shooting this gun is also amazing, very light to hold, very reliable.

The 1 and only thing i have found wrong so far is that in order to use BT's RipClip on the TM-7, you have to go onto the internet and search for an aftermarket adapter (i got mine from FLASC paintball.)

The Fire selection switch is the best, i love being able to switch from single to full auto w/o having to look at the back of my gun, or press some buttons inside the gun, for take it apart and flip a switch. it is amazing.

The always on eyes are the best, no having to worry about..did i turn on eyes this time?

I LOVE that it ONLY runs on HPA because i HATE CO2 with a passion, and there is no needing to cock the bolt back. 1, you cannot reach the bolt unless you take the gun apart, and 2, the bolt is always back, screw on some air, put a ball in and shoot! (well, don't forget to turn it on)
Conclusion: The BT TM-7 is an AWESOME gun. I would recommend it to anyone who takes woods and/or scenario ball seriously.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 25th, 2009 at 3:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media