paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Alpha Black Tippman E-Trigger / Tippmann Alpha Black Tippman E-Trigger / Tippmann Alpha Black Tippman E-Trigger / Tippmann Alpha Black Tippman E-Trigger

Tippmann Alpha Black Tippman E-Trigger Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Alpha Black Tippman E-Trigger

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Alpha Black Tippman E-Trigger
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 13
Average Rating: 8.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $169

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Tippmann Alpha Black with E-Trigger
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Alpha Black Tippman E-Trigger is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
johnnymyke Friday, August 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month22 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Marker Setup: Alpha Black E-Trigger
M-16 Apex
Remote Line
Cyclone Feed
Recommended
Upgrades:
Anything with an E-grip should have a good hopper.
Strengths: Cheap
Looks
Tool Kit Mag
E-grip
Weaknesses: Heavy
Carry Handle can not be removed
Review: After playing with Spyders my whole paintball life and putting way too much money into upgrades only to see every other tippmann out shoot my E-99 I decided to sell off my Spyder stuff and jump two feet into a Tippmann. When I saw this marker for the first time I was sold just on looks, then I saw the really low price tag and thought I couldnt go wrong. Its pretty accurate and has a really nice feel to it. Yes it is heavy but when your running around the woods your not going to be paying any attention to that anyway. The e-tigger is rated at 15bps and my cheap little Ricochet could not keep up at full auto. The maintance is a little tricky compared to a Spyder but its not too bad. The one bad thing I could say about this marker is that the inside where the striker and the bolt slide on the receiver seems to be pretty rough but hopefuly after acouple of days of playing it will wear down. All in all good marker so far.

Update: The Egrip can be hard to use. This is a very basic grip that includes 4 firing modes semi, 3 round burst, full auto low (12BPS), and full auto high (15 BPS). It can be difficult to use the full auto at times because it requires you to fire 4 shots in 1 sec and hold the forth to activate full auto. This was a pain just test firing the marker, I could not imagine counting on the full auto feature to get you out of a bind and have to to fire 4 shots just to start full auto. Also the little switch in the the grip makes it a pain to change firing modes and impossible if your out in the woods and cant find the right stick. Just something to think about before you buy.

Update 2: I finally got a day to play with this gun and I had a blast. I had no problems with this marker at all, not even a chop! While playing I did not notice a problem with the E-grip at all. I wont say anything about accuracy because I had to use less than perfect paint but I still managed to get plenty of hits. Also I took a hard digger turning away from incoming paint and landed right on my gun. I picked it up, ran like heck and engaged another target with no issues. All I can say is Tippmanns rule woodsball. 2 ABTs, 1 A-5 and 1 old as heck Pro-carbine (the best marker out there) had no problems. Stacked tube blowbacks, uh, not so much.
Conclusion: Awesome marker!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 25th, 2008 at 11:49 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Silent Night Friday, December 3rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98, A-5, X-7 (plus phenomenon version)
Marker Setup: Alpha Black e-grip, Proto Primo (gravity hopper), 16 inch Proto one piece barrel, 48 cu. in. 4500 psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hoppers, Barrel (depends on intended usage of gun)
Strengths: 15 Bps if needed, unprecedented durability, looks dangerous, lightweight
Weaknesses: Changing firing modes, disassembly is not easy (not for field striping)
Review: People complain that it is heavy, that is only possible if you are use to speedball guns or a Tippmann 98. I have weight it fully loaded, with 200 rounds and aluminum tank it is 9 lbs, steel/carbon fiber under 8lbs. I have ran a 1/2 mile with the gun and 750 paintballs in the heat in full hunting camo, and I still don't notice the weight. The most undoubted great strength of this gun is its durability. I played in a 24 hour scenario and it started pouring rain for 4 hours, this gun basically laid in mud and was get beat up as you are focusing more on standing and getting shot than what you gun is doing. Still fired over 500 rounds only chopping 3. And for this durability you sacrifice your striping and maintenance time which takes about 30 minutes for full proper job it really depends on how familiar you are with the gun. Also when your on the field ,you can style the gun so that is looks very formidable
Conclusion: My friends are jealous they have completely modified guns and some are even the line. My gun which is less than 300 dollars and I still can beat them in a gun to gun battle. It really comes down to who you are, how you play, and what you want in your gun. That will decided how much you like this gun.

Rating is based on guns of similar cost and purpose
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 5th, 2010 at 7:07 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GOINDEF Tuesday, October 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Spyder with Electronic trigger system
Marker Setup: Alpha Black tactical version with J&J 20" and 16" Ceramic Barrels, Rufus Dawg Bolt, Zero Kick Hammer, remote line with HPA, evolution 3 egg hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, hopper,
Strengths: Milsim looks, already comes with the egrip and the bottomline setup
Weaknesses: method of changing modes. NEVER FIELD STRIP IT, YOU WILL LOSE SOMETHING. lack of upgradability.
Review: great gun for the woodsballer and milsim enthusiast. I bought a second one actually, and it shares the 98 barrel threads, which is cool. Its great for back yard play and for playfields, not quite a speedball gun by any means. At least for me, using the gun in the first on field playing time, it kind of put me in a mind set that I was a military man trying to take out everyone on the field. Very fun gun though.

Not really heavy like everyone complains about. if you think this is heavy you should probably start lifting some 5 lb dumb bells

The safety feature to get into full auto is a real big downer as well, a new board would be a great upgrade, something that would also have a bigger button for change modes as well.

ON A SIDE NOTE, THE REQUIREMENTS FOR WRITING A REVIEW ARE AN ABSOLUTE JOKE. AND MAKE IT A HUGE HASSLE
Conclusion: Great product, awesome gun for an entry level and for a scenario setup.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 20th, 2009 at 7:55 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheJballer211 Wednesday, January 5th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder MR1
98 Custom
tippmann A5
DM5
various VL's
Marker Setup: Alpha Black
72ci 3000psi hpa tank
rifled rap 4 barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
hpa
polished internals
better barrel
Strengths: Accurate (for a tippy)
Cool looking
Sights (kinda)
Off set feed kneck
Weaknesses: Gobbles air
Clam shell design
Hard to mod
Hard to clean
weighs alot
Review: alright so heres the deal:
Ive had my alpha black for two years. when i first unpacked it i thought its box was rather lacking. Basic tool kit, manual, yada yada yada. I took it out and shoot a couple rounds and thought "wow fairly acurate" I took it out for a day of play and found that something was wrong. the feed kneck was mishapened and the balls wouldnt feed right. I busted out a file and quickly remadied that. I got back into the game. I was keeping up with my friends way upgraded a5 just fine for a while but then i found a key weekness. ball breaks. due to no act devices i was choppin like crazy when i started walking the trigger ( which is hard cause the crappy trigger and frame, with no possible mods) it was also a pain to clean because the stupid shroud made it impossible to quickly remove the barrel. later on I also became dissapointed with the range. I was only getting about 3/4ths the range that my other frinds stock a5 was getting on an equally used 12ounce co2 tank. the thing also gobbled air. If I wasnt using hpa i usually 9 ounce co2 which i had to change after each 20 minute round only firing a hopper and half a pod. my friends a5 could get like a hopper and 3 and a half pods. Later when I tried to clean it i discovered another weakness. The clam shell design. You have to take out a sries of bolts to open it which takes forever. Then ounce I finally got it open all the springs in the gun shot out! It took forever to reassemble after cleaning. There is a littler piece of wire that kinda acts as a spring for the sight/ feed kneck release, it is a pain in the but to try and keep in while try and gently set the other half of the gun on the one half. I HATE TRYING TO CLEAN THIS GUN!!!!!!
Conclusion: Decent marker for beginers, fairly acurate, gobbles air, hard to mod, clam shell design sucks! hard to clean
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nate70500 Sunday, December 6th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a-5
Marker Setup: tippmann alpha black tactical w/ egrip- put a rail and foregrip under the shroud and a rail on top of the carry handle.
Strengths: Realistic durable intimidating
Weaknesses: Heavy loud
Review: Great for starters who want to play woodsball. not the best for speedball cuz its so heavy. but over all is a great woodsball gun. it is very powerful. but it is also very loud. it goes through batteries like nothing. and the egrip is very hard it change cuz you have to hit a button inside the grip with something. never chopped any paijntballs that i have had. It is excellent for starters who want something cool but dont want to spend alot to get something cool. overall good for starters
Conclusion: Good for starters
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xdaspot Tuesday, November 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Barrel, Viewloader hopper (12bps)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel upgrade, electronic hopper, military grips, remote kit
Strengths: Familar to soldiers
Very rugged
doesn't chop balls
great for woodsball or urban environment
Weaknesses: Heavy for a marker
Fire selector
Full Auto safety mode

Review: The Alpha Black overall is a great marker. I've used it on all types of fields, and in my opinon its best for woodsball or large city fields. The selector switch is a pain to change on the fly. I reccommend setting it on Full Auto slow (12BPS). That way if you want you can unload if neccessary. the 3 shot burst is good for when your playing against guys who have the highend markers. Im in the military and I found it second nature holding it and firing. It does NOT preform like a rilfe and dont think you can sit down a pick someone off. Its a paintball gun, but if your used to shooting an M4 or AR15 it will be easy to use. I reccommend a new barrel, electronic hopper, and use good paint.
Conclusion: Definitly buy, if your going to do woodsball or recreational playing, you CAN use it for a tournament, but it is not reccommended. The trigger pull isn't as easy as the high end guns and you can't use full auto or 3 shot burst in tournaments.But the gun doesn't make the player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Matty-Doo69 Thursday, November 6th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann98 Platinum ACT, Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 with Rufus Dog power tube,Empire barrel kit, Extreme Rage Auto Hopper. And Tippmann Alpha Black Tactical E-trigger (still in testing stage)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cyclone Feeder, Tippmann has one that is just for the ALPHA BLACK now.
Strengths: Tough,reliable
Weaknesses: Just wish the eletric firing modes were easier to change.
Review: I have abused this marker, and have let friends use it, and no problems yet. I strongly recomend getting a Cyclone feeder for it if you have the E-Trigger, they do not add the weight to it like the electric hoppers do. It's a little heavy but it's not a problem for me.
Conclusion: This gun is awsome in Woodsball, I have upgraded to the cyclone feeder and a 14" barrel. It's looks are awsome, I also recomend using a remote line, it gives you the freedom you need with this gun. It is very affordable especialy if your starting off, You will not find another Tippmann with an E-Trigger for this price. This is a Fun Gun!



Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fortes89 Wednesday, January 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyders
Marker Setup: Abt w/ e-grip
Cyclone feed
14" J&J ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
hpa
Strengths: Strong
Pretty accurate
Weaknesses: E trigger kinda tricky
Heavy for kids
Review: After using the abt I noticed that for the price it's a very good marker. For starters like me, you can't get anything better and I assure you that you will be pleased with it's performance, besides the fact that it looks intimidating. The first time I took it to a field (my first time playing pb) people thought I was a pro lol. What I don't like that much is tjat for full auto (egrip version) you have to pull the trigger a couple of times then leave it pressed in order for it to go full auto, that's why my fav is the 3 shot burst.
So if you are a starter in the sport this is a good marker to get...no so much for the experienced and they should know why.
oh and something else...abt is not for speed ballers.
Conclusion: Good beginner marker and for rec playing, you won't be disappointed.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBking4ever Sunday, December 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Proto 09-10 SLG
Alpha black tactical
Marker Setup: Alpha black tactical with E-trigger, Cyclone feed, and a blade double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cyclone feed system, double trigger, e-trigger
Strengths: Accurate
Some what fast
Weaknesses: Heavy
E-trigger is hard to turn on
Feild stripping
Review: When I first open my new alpha black I was impressed by the looks. It looked just like the real tactical gun and shot like it to. I put 100 rounds through it at 100 ft and only missed my 1x1 box maby 10-20 times. Thats very accurate! I put a cyclone feed system on it right away. Knowing how crapy the origonal feed systems are. I also feel the need for speed and knowing the single trigger that cant happen. So I installed a double blade triger and I love it. I was unimpressed by the board in it because its hard to turn it on without an allen key. Also whats with the "slower" full auto and the "faster" full auto. Other than that I was pretty impressed with this gun. It is very durable and Accurate.

(UPDATE) cyclone feed system works AWSOME on it and I love this gun!!!!!
Conclusion: I recomend this because its very accurate and durable
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

almostxpaidxblr Saturday, May 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stryker cybrid and smart parts ion
Marker Setup: i used a viewloader evlution 3 hopper with a 20 ounce tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and electric hopper
Strengths: Tough, conservative color, aluminum, different firing modes, sensitive trigger
Weaknesses: Heavy, loud, hard to change modes, air hog, chopped paint, innacurate
Review: Overall, this was a great gun. It has semi, full auto fast, full auto slow, and three round burst. I mostly played speedball with it and it was a great gun. I fell on it several times and it still worked like a charm. I sold it because I could not used full auto at my local paintball arena and the second closest is 2 hours away. But it has a relly good setup and I liked it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun if your local paintball arena lets you use full auto. It is super tough and it has the most sensitive trigger i have ever used. But, it was an airhog and it was very inaccurate.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media