paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto Proto Ultralite SLG / Proto Proto Ultralite SLG / Proto Proto Ultralite SLG / Proto Proto Ultralite SLG

Proto Proto Ultralite SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto Proto Ultralite SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto Proto Ultralite SLG
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 23
Average Rating: 8.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
-Compact and Lightweight Single Tube Body Styling Weighing Only 2 lb 2 oz
-Composite UL Frame
-Single Piece Micro Honed Proto Barrel
-Anti Chop Break Beam Eye System
-New Increased Flow Hyper 3 In-Line Regulator
-Proto Bottomline with Dovetail
-Bolt Silencer (decreases noise and kick)
-Super Low 145psi operating pressure
-New solenoid with increased durability and airflow
-Ultralite aluminum trigger
-Proto Dual Density Injection Sticky grip
-LED Program Control with four tournament modes
-Orbital Rotating sear reduces wear
-No rise clamping feedneck
-All new Self Closing Valve (SCV) 2 Piece Bolt
-Self Lubricating Force button
-Improved battery life
Product Availability 
The Proto Proto Ultralite SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
kerdos Friday, January 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, only low ends( spyders, tipmans )
Marker Setup: Proto Slg UL
Dye 14" UL barrel
Dye Rotor
ND 08 flip asa On/Off
pure energy 48 ci 3000 psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
A New trigger!!! (See Review)
New Barrel ( See Review )
On/Off ( Self explanitory )
Feedneck maby? ( Self explanitory )
Strengths: LIGHT
looks amazing
4 modes
low pressure
consistant
did i say LIGHT?
Weaknesses: trigger (See Review)
Some minor malfunctions (See Review)
Review: Well i got the slg ul about 2 weeks ago, and it looked amazing out of the box, i was used to low end markers so this was a huge upgrade. When i opened it, learned all the functions, tweeked the trigger a little and started rocking it. I sounded, nice and fast on semi. So then a few days later i aired it up. First it started leaking from under the trigger after about 50 balls shot, so i took off the tank and everyhting. Then i read online how to fix it, all you needed to do was take out the bolt, clean it and relube it, so then wala perfect once again. Then today i went to my local field to play and i tryed rocking the trigger and it was IMPOSSIBLE like litterally, maby because it was cold ( i live up north ) but it was impossible to go maby above 5 bps. So i asked a guy that had a PM7 if hee can help me out and he said stock triggers suck on proto youll need a new one, so i suggest as soon as they come out with one GET IT. But other then that its a great gun stock. I suggest getting a on/off for you dont have to keep your tank off, and a new barrel because 11 inch is just way to short 14" is perfect get a DYE UL i recomend.
Conclusion: All in All great gun, onec the few minor upgrades are put on. So if you have a low end looking for something more for a good price get this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mxmtl Monday, February 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PM7 - Less efficient and more complicated maintenance, but smoother operation
Marker Setup: Proto 2009 SLG Ultralite
+ CP 14" 2-Piece Barrel
+ DM9 Feed Neck & Trigger
+ Dye On/Off Airport
+ Laser Eyes
+ Pre-Brass Eagle Revvy with X-Board
+ 48/4500 Guerilla Air Tank with Centerflag 420SV Reg

WGP Outkast Sniper II
+ Carter 15" .687 Barrel
+ CCM 08 Pump Kit and CCM Bolt
+ Dye Angel LCD Single Trigger Frame with Universal T-Board
+ Dye Hyper 2 Inline Regulator
+ MQ2 Valve
+ Pre-Brass Eagle Revvy with X-Board
+ 48/4500 Guerilla Air Tank with Centerflag 420SV Reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lever Feed Neck
Strengths: Efficiency
Lightweight
Matrix-Like Performance
Simple Maintenance
Stock Tournament Board
Weaknesses: Stock Feed Neck
Review: Having played mostly pump for the last couple of years, I rarely walk the trigger anymore. I learned how to aim and make shots count. Carrying over the same style of play of quick and effective snap shooting, I found the SLG wonderfully accurate even with an over-bored paint match.

My setup includes a Viewloader Revolution and 48/4500 Guerrilla Air tank with Center Flag 420SV reg. This makes for a very light setup.

Upgrades on the marker included a DM9 feed neck collar, laser eyes, DM9 trigger, and Dye Airport on/off. The only upgrade really necessary is the feed neck collar. The rest is fluff. I run my pump without an on/off ASA, and it's no big deal.

With a topped off 48/4500 fill, a full Revvy, 7 pods, and on a mission to dump as much of it as I could, I was able to empty 6 pods before running out of air with roughly 20 balls left in the hopper. When it ran out of air, the marker cycled similar to a Spyder running out of air, only quieter.

The Revvy kept up well for the most part, but I found myself out-shooting the loader once I grew accustomed to the trigger. For a little background, I started out in tournament airball in 2006. After playing every weekend for a year, I learned to walk a trigger on an 05 Ego, peaking at 17-18 bps on the board ROF display counter. I achieved similar numbers on a Bob Long Infamous Intimidator which also had a ROF display counter.

The SLG has a distinct snap from the sear when it's fired. You can feel it through the grip and the reg. It's not so much kick, as I noticed no barrel lift. Other than that, it feels like it cycles as smoothly, quickly, and as quietly as a Matrix. The UL frame feels great, and makes a very comfortable hold when maneuvering and snap shooting.

Maintenance was also simple. The firing assembly slid out of the breech in two pieces, without the need to break it down any further. There was only one o-ring to lube on the bolt stem, and a few on the outside of the bolt. The only hang up I had was running a swab through the breach and having pieces of the swab catch on the sear.
Conclusion: Overall, I was impressed by the performance of a relatively low cost marker from Dye/Proto. It appears very well designed for durability, reliability, and low maintenance.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 2nd, 2009 at 4:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jervix Thursday, August 12th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2009 Proto SLG UL

Smarts Parts Ion- Better built, not as fast shooting, a lot heavier and a little cheaper
Invert Mini- Longer lasting, sleeker design and will out preform both ion and slg stock
Marker Setup: DLX Luxe la crusaders engraving
basically stock but what really do u need to add to a Luxe.

Autococker Karnivor Pro Edition
E2 trigger w/ Z Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
on/off asa
Strengths: Extremely lightweight
compact
Weaknesses: Not very reliable
Review: At the time i bought the SLG i owned a Smart parts Ion. When my SLG arrived i was stoked. I took it out to the field the first day and it shot pretty good, the modes are very easy to understand it just didnt take very long to set up, However, the second time in went out to the field a week later, this is where the trouble began. My bolt kept getting lodged into chamber and would jam the entire gun causing me to have to take the entire thing apart and fix it. after a while of this happening I was completely fed up with it and sent it back to dye. 1 month later i get my gun back and the whole issue was the little black bumper on the bolt. they said they were doing a recall on them and that is what was causing all the SLG the mess up. ever since i got my gun back it shot normal and everything was fine.

Gun breakdown

-actual gun overall
shoots good, can get up to 20+ BPS, nice grip in hand

-barrel
not too bad for a stock barrel, not a necessity to swap out for something else

-feedneck
im not a fan of the screw in allen key feednecks but it is nice because it wont come loose on the field, just a pain to keep tightening and loosening

-trigger
a bit stiff and a little hard to rock but with ramp its fine

-Body and milling
very small similar to the newer NT and extremely lightweight

-Reg and asa
kinda standard, basically bottom of the line proto

-price
$299
in my opinion, kinda high for what u truly receive
Conclusion: Bottom line, if i had the chance to go back and get something else, i probably would. i just wasnt a fan of the hassle and running around i was doing trying to get this gun working.

If your looking for a gun with low costs, get something a little more reliable than a proto.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MaleGigolo Friday, April 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DM9
Proto SLG (not UL)
Proto PMR
Marker Setup: Dye Rotor
NDZ ASA
Smart Part Freak kit
NDZ Clamping Feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Feedneck
Strengths: Very good report quality vs price
Ergonomic, Low maintenance, Shoot great and fast
LOOKS GREAT

Weaknesses: A little louder the DM series
Needs upgrade.
Review: This gun is awesome. It's keeping from speeding a 1000$ on high end gun.
There is a big dougth that Proto remove the SLG UL from his 2010 product lineup because it was in straight competition with there middle range marker like the PMR.
Both of my firends bought the PMR and they all got a lot of troubles. They both sold it. My SLG UL works great. It is low maintenance. Shoot straight and fast and it's very light.
Conclusion: I rated it 10, not because I think it's the best marker ever, but definitly the best of his category.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pball master Thursday, April 22nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: slg ul stock

boblong intimidator : virtue board, critical trigger, hybrid asa, dye ul 2 piece barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, feedneck and barrel
Strengths: Fast
Light
Tot too hard on balls
Weaknesses: Trigger is no good for semi
Not very efficient
Review: Well i bought the gun about a year ago as a back up gun. It is an ok marker but it does need some upgrades if your going to use it as your main gun. also i highly recommend getting a spare parts kit for it, because it likes to eat o-rings ( well atleast mine does). i get about 5 mayby 6 pods out of my 68 / 45 tank.
Conclusion: Good back up marker but it could use some upgrades
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

capaintballer Wednesday, December 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
borrowed ego 05
Marker Setup: slg ul, invert 2 loader, 3000/48, cp barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
clamping feedneck
new asa
Strengths: Cheap
Light
Good board
Weaknesses: Bad asa
Short barrel
Review: nice gun for 300 its light and for the most part can keep up with fast play. There are improvments for it i would get a new asa and feedneck first. I did have some problems with it. after about 2-3 cases it craped out on me and started leaking all over the place, chopping paint, and i got spikes in velocity. i called proto (dye) up and talked to them i have sent the gun back to get fixed. I am hoping that they will fix the problem. But once they fix it i am going to get a new gun and just use this as a friend gun or backup. good try but still has flaws and by the looks of the slg 10 there isnt much that will be changed.
Conclusion: This is a great gun if you place once in a while. i think this is a good entry level gun with basic tournament features. would i recomend this to a friend? depends on their experiance in paintball.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

frankenstiner25 Thursday, November 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, Response, Flatline Barrel - Awesome, Durable, Still used for Woodsball
07 Spyder Sonix w/ Rocking Trigger - No comparison
08 Invert Mini w/ Virtue Board - Okay, chopped like crazy, trigger was terrible
Marker Setup: Proto SLG Ultralite
Ironmen Dye Trigger
Redifined Virtue Board
FREAK Barrel Kit
Kingman Fasta Hopper (Don't hate, 30+ BPS)
68/4500 Pure Energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (see review)
On/Off valve (see review)
Strengths: ReallyFastStock
LIGHT (rivalsinvertmini)
Chopped1ballin2cases
SILENT
Great efficency
Trigger feels Great
Weaknesses: None, really.
(Stock barrel should be changed, see review)
Review: Right out of the box, i ripped through 1000 rounds of the most brittle balls i could find in about 25 seconds. No breaks or chops. The trigger has a "monkey club" design, in which the pivot point at which the trigger is dropped forward from the trigger frame. This makes the trigger feel more natural in the hand, and allows you to tear through paint. Paired with the OLED board, this gun is an absloute beast on the X-Ball field. I play snake, and do not shoot after the buzzer. This gun is so extremely light, it has reduced my time from board to snake to under 1.45 seconds. I also play woodsball, and this gun is perfect. It is so extremely quiet, I could take three shots from twenty yards, and the person wouldnt know where I was. One of the most impressive aspects of this gun is its amazing air efficency. I can shoot a full case of paint (without chops or breaks) on one full air tank. Also, I had a race with my friend and his E-TEK to see who could waste a pod quicher on semi. The SLG UL won by five seconds.

Now, to the upgrades. I would suggest to anyone to get an On/Off valve. It is just easier that way. Not necesary, but it helps. Also, the barrel. It is one of the best stock barrels I have played with, but 11 inches just doesnt cut it.
Conclusion: Amazing gun, for tourneys and rec, for woodsball and speedball. With the right upgrades, the Proto SLG Ultralite will rival Planet Eclipse markers.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 9th, 2009 at 5:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mulletman72 Wednesday, September 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
compared to:
ego 7
mini
ion
etek
Marker Setup: Ego 7 and proto slg ul
cossfire 68/45
magna'd halo
dye back with stiffy tip on the SLG
Recommended
Upgrades:
first buys are deffenitly clamping feed neck this is a must
others that make it nice are an on off asa and a barrel
other than that its good
Strengths: Great gun, easily programable, light, small but not to small, accurate, quite, fast
Weaknesses: Stock feed neck is junk
They dont make color kits for it yet
Review: Great gun! it shoots increadibly accurate with an aftermarket barrel. the stock barrel is alright but its stock... you can always get better unless your spending 1000+ for an ego or dm

iIam comparing it to my ego 7 and it is slightly wider and longe but its shorter it has a low proile when the hopper is on. its 10x quieter than my ego mainly cause its closed bolt but i dont care.

It is extreamly accurate with my "diffy" barrel (dye back with stiffy tip) lol

Verry light and the bored is easuly programible without an lcd...

Compared to the ion mini and etek/2: this is a deffinite buy! for $300 ha cant beat it!
compared to the g3: everyone says go with the g3 but the g3 has insane amounts of kick and is basically a horrible gun compared to the slg ul
Conclusion: Great gun deffinetely buy it if you got 300 dolleroonies and want a nice gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Big_Rick133 Wednesday, September 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts ion,epiphany
proto pmr
tippmann a-5
Marker Setup: 14 inch cp 693, crossfire 70/45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel,feed neck,and a on/off asa
Strengths: Price
Speed
Consistency
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Barrel
Cannot see the status light in the day
Plastic ul frame
Review: The 09 slg is a wonderful gun its a perfect gun for a budget baller or a pro. I took it to the field for the first time a couple weeks ago and i was amazed on how good the gun performed it was very accurate and efficient. The only problem i had was that my loader wouldn't feed paint because my batteries were dead
Conclusion: If you are a player looking for inexpensive marker you should pick one up
BUY IT!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Da Goat Sunday, June 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS with JJ ceramic 16" barrel, 7.5" Pyschoballistics drop forward, dye sticky grips, Torque 440 hopper
Pyschoballistics Lightning Autococker Stock
Tippman A5, TechT cyclone upgrade, double trigger, Flatline barrel

Marker Setup: StockSLG UL with Proto 14" 2pc barrel, Halo B hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel (if you're picky) and feed neck (if non quick release bothers you)
Strengths: Price and weight.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Review: Straight out of the box it has amazing performance. I was very impressed with the low noise of the marker even with the stock barrel, the trigger pull is amazing on semi auto i was easily able to walk out a full hopper in about 15seconds, you want to run with it she'll keep up, when you're setting it up definitely check out youtube for in depth instructions on how to program the board to your liking. If you're frustrated with markers that are inaccurate totally pick up this marker!
Conclusion: I( have played with other speed ball markers and milsim markers, I finally got fed up with all of them sighting someone in and missing by 6" was driving me insane, the Proto SLG UL out of the box with the proto 14" 2pc barrel has increased accuracy a staggering amount and cut down on the amount of times I "spray n pray" this is the best marker I've owned and made a believer of me on the proto line.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media