paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DYE ROTOR / Dye DYE ROTOR / Dye DYE ROTOR

Dye DYE ROTOR Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DYE ROTOR

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DYE ROTOR
[ View Photos (11) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 60
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
DIMENSION & WEIGHT

* Rotor Length 8-1/2"
* Rotor Height 4-3/4"
* Rotor Width 4-1/2"
* Empty Weight 1.3lbs
* Loaded Weight 2.6lbs
* Power Source 3 AA Batteries
* Battery Life 50,000+ Shots
* Capacity 200+
* Feed Rate 50+

TECHNOLOGY

* Patented Rotor Technology
* Cross Rotor action feed system
* Eye-less, pulse-less and sound sensor-less!
* 50+ bps feed rate
* The most consistent feed rate of ANY loader on the market

FEATURES

* Made from a durable Nylon material
* Low profile
* Spring locking lid
* Speed Feed compatible
* Collapsible spring loaded feed tray
* See through windows
* Jam release trigger
* On/off button with bright blue LED display

CLEANING & MAINTENANCE

* 15 second disassembly
* Broken down and taken apart with the push of a button
* No tools needed
* No screw disassembly
* Fast & easy cleaning

You can strip it down in about a minute and there are no screws. Only uses 3 AA batteries. It holds 200 paintballs and there is a larger top half in the works so it can carry 250. Very low profile.

Colors: Black, Blue, Red, White, Green


Here are the specs off the box:

01 Revolutionary Patented Rotor Technology
The ROTOR LOADER far exceeds pro level feed requirements with an impressive 50+ balls per second feed rate. The constant feed rotor carousel combined with the opposing rotation of the center rotor arm provides smooth, consistent, rapid and dependable feed performance shot after shot. This new technological design provides unmatched performance over any other loader on the market

02 LOW PROFILE
Designed with the professional player in mind, the unique center feed design of the Rotor pushes balls straight down over a short distance allowing the loader size and shape to be small and low profile.

03 200 BALL CAPACITY
Play longer without reloading. The ROTOR holds up to 20% more paint than most loaders, while having the lowest profile. Additionally, the ROTOR is also the lightest 200 round loader available. Simply smaller, lighter and faster.

04 SPRING LOADED FLOOR TRAY
The patent pending revolutionary collapsing floor tray allows for maximum ball capacity, while ensuring constant, reliable feeding down to the last ball. The spring floor tray also ensures ball feeding while shooting at elevated targets by raising the floor as you shoot.

05 NO TOOLS NEEDED
The ROTOR can be effortlessly broken down for basic cleaning or maintenance with the push of a button. No tiny screws and nuts to loosen, parts to lose or break off. Just smart and simple engineering with the player's needs in mind.

06 SEE THROUGH WINDOW
Provides you the ability to monitor your paint level visually so you don't get caught without paint. Windows available in different colors (sold separately).

07 INTERCHANGEABLE CARRIER WITH SPRING LID
The transparent locking lid is integrated into an interchangeable dual density carrier. The spring tension lid allows fast loading and secure lock on the loader. The carrier design allows you to quickly change between your lid or speed feed. Additionally the removable upper shell allows you to use a high capacity upper shell that will hold 250 rounds (sold separately).

08 POSITIVE PUSH POWER BUTTON
Single push Power On/Off button with an LED display. The positive push button and bright LED informs you when your loader is on or off.

09 JAM RELEASE TRIGGER
In the rare event of a ball jam caused by an oversized or out of round paint, simply give the jam release trigger a quick pull and you are back in action.

10 SHOT COUNT
The ROTOR provides an impressive 50,000+ ball shot count on one set of three AA batteries. This new design of efficient power regulation is revolutionary and the first of its kind in loader technology.


Retail price: $150.00
Product Availability 
The Dye DYE ROTOR is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
HopperTag Thursday, August 19th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Invert mini (olive)
dye rotor (swirl)
ninja air (empire cover)
Strengths: Great speed ( 50+ BPS)
Durable
Looks Nice
Low profile
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I really like this loader it looks great, shoots great, never jams and is so durable that it makes it almost impossible to break. Good for Frontmen who want to move fast and always have a steady stream of paint. This is definitly one of the best loaders I have ever owned!
Conclusion: If you want to do good as a frontman use this hopper and go out there and tag some people!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Splatterhouse Wednesday, August 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pulse
Marker Setup: Dye NT Brn/Cham
Virtue board
Dye Rotor
Guerrilla Air 68/4500 /w G2 Reg
Strengths: Quick Reliable and Durable
Weaknesses: None as of the time of this review.
Review: I just upgraded to this from a Pulse. All I can say is the feed is much quicker and much more consistant. I should have bought this at the same time I bought my NT. After 3 days of using this on the field I am very satisfied with it.

It uses half of the batteries my pulse did and is much easier to take apart and clean. The toolless design is very nice.

For the price this is the best loader out there. Ive seen all kinds and this is quickly becoming the most common loader I see out at the field where I play.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a great reliable loader this will fill your needs.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BloodShotRed Thursday, May 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B
Gravity Hopper
Revvy
Marker Setup: F.E.P. Quest Blue
CCM Mini Rail Drop Forward
Custom Products On/Off ASA Blue
Custom Products Shorty Regulator
Hybrid Hedlock Clamping Feedneck
EZ Strip Bolt Guide
Goldmember Bolt
Redz Barrel Kit
Dye Rotor Blue w/ Virtue Crown
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: Well, I had my Halo B for the longest time, and with the frontman style of play, due to wear and tear, I had to replace a lot of parts, and became a very close friend of mine. It started to get expensive to maintain it, so, I decided to get a new one.

Strengths

The strengths are a definite improvement, I have been keeping a somewhat cynical eye on Dye for a bit, but this hopper really stood out before the Pinokio and the Prophecy for me. First off, three AA batterys to power it through 25 cases of paint is spectacular, the ability to strip it down in mere seconds instead of the hour it would take with the Halo B is also a welcome addition, and the fact that it breaks down into only 7 parts, that is besides the screw on top, makes it quick. Its durable as well, I remember the material from my Revvy, and that thing it still sitting in my room after so many shots in woodsball. The lack of eyes is very welcome, I am no longer limited to somewhat bright paint, if its black I can use it no problem, and the feeding system is incredibly fast.

Weaknesses

I have noticed that you should only turn it on, when its in the feedneck on your gun, right before the game, because the pressure stop system it has creates a lot of ball stack tension on the top after a bit, and makes me chop when it does. Its a minor thing, and nothing I will worry about after finding that out. My second trouble is the anti-jam trigger works only sometimes, but it rarely jams for me anyway.
Conclusion: If you don't mind using less battery's, quick break down, and tough hopper, I would recommend this product. I give it a 9 because of the anti-jam trigger issues, however there may be upgrades in the future to put a stick in its tires.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rob0220 Monday, July 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Prophecy- The Empire Prophecy I think is better than the Rotor only because of the weight and the capacity. The Empire Prophecy holds 240 balls and is 1 pound without paint. The Rotor holds 200 and is 1.3 pounds without paint. In my personal preference, the Prophecy is better than the Rotor but only by a slight margin.
Marker Setup: Red Bob Long Protege w/ Virtue OLED Board, a Dovetail On/Off ASA, CP Clamping Feedneck
Strengths: The Speed
Low-Profile
Easy to Disassemble
Weaknesses: Weight
Big Feed neck
Sharktail jams
Review: This is a solid hopper. It is quick, Low Profile and just a great all around hopper. Although it weighs in at 2.6 pounds loaded, it makes up for it with it's speed. They come in great colors and it leads the top of the line markers. Great hopper, Great Speed, Great Looks...
Conclusion: This is a great hopper but it is over-priced. Dye abuses its' name by raising their prices by fooling their customers. Besides that, GREAT HOPPER!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jhorgan Monday, April 12th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Prophecy, Halo/Reloader B, etc
Marker Setup: Cyborg RX, Droid and 06 Cyborg

Strengths: Simple, sturdy, small, easy to assemble/dissasemble
Weaknesses: Jams, picky with paint
Review: I have had the Rotor for about 3 months and it has been a decent loader. I've used it in just about every type of paintball game. Here is my review:

FIRST IMPRESSIONS: The Rotor has a very nice finish. The shell is very sturdy and looks like it is made of quality materials. The loader is small, simple, and sits well on the gun. I put 3 AA batteries in the Rotor and went out to the field to get some game-time in.

ON FIELD PERFORMANCE: After putting the Rotor on my Droid I went to the chrono to check my speed and shoot a little paint prior to my first game. I was using XBall Bronze (or whatever they call it now) and the first stream of paint went out without a hitch. The rotor did not miss a beat. Then I tried a second barrage of paint...I had my first jam of the day. Pulled the lever and it seemed to unjam the paint. Ripped off another string and no problems. Time to hit the field. During my first game I had a jam right after I slid into my first bunker...pulled the lever and nothing. I took the loader off to try and get the jam out...I had to empty all the paint out. Poured in another pod and played the rest of the game without any problems. It jammed off the break on my next game.

BELLS & WHISTLES: The Rotor does not have any bells and whistles in it. The only adjustment that you can make is the tension. This can help with jamming issues (which it did for me to a point). It pretty much has 2 modes: on and off.

TOOLESS: The Rotor is completely tooless and can be completely taken apart in about 5 seconds. It is a really nice feature and it is pretty much idiot-proof. The only thing I did not like about the design is that if you do not put the shell top back on right (and in some cases even if you do put it on right) it can pop off if you dive or hit the loader. The happened to me during a game (I had the shell top on correctly) as well as other people at the field I go to.

BATTERY LIFE: The Rotor absolutely shines in terms of battery life. I have had the same set of batteries in this loader since the day I bought it and they show no signs of wearing down.

OVERALL DESIGN: Thr design of the Rotor is exceedingly simple. Just add batteries, paint, and a gun and go. The shells are durable, the internals are idiot proof, and when it does not jam it works very well. The Rotor is extremely picky when it comes to the kind of paint put through it. I have personally found that it likes pretty much premium grade paints. Anything less and it tends to jam.

THE ONLY DRAW-BACK: I see 2 draw-backs to the Rotor:
1. The Dye label makes this loader $160 when in reality it should be about a $60 loader at the most. But just like anything else when it comes to the Dye name brand you will pay for the name plate.
2. The Rotor is very finnicky with paint. If you plan on using field-grade paint or Wal-Mart paint forget about it. You will have nothing but jams all day long. If you use primium-grade paint you will be pretty much jam free.
Conclusion: The Rotor is reliable as long as you have primium-grade paint in it. And even then it was reliable about 85% of the time. Jamming has been a very common thing for me. I would only recommend this loader to people who can afford the paint to feed it.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 12th, 2010 at 2:58 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Vertigo_07 Wednesday, April 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity feeds
Cyclone feed
AIC Q-Loader
Empire Reloader B2
HALO w/Rip drive
Pinokio

The Rotor is leaps and bound ahead of ALL of those.
Marker Setup: Stock Planet Eclipse Blue/White SL8R, DYE Rotor, DXS 48/3000 N2 Tank

Backup marker:
Tippmann X7 w/ Vortex mod, E-grip, 1x30mm Red Dot Scope, 14" Inch DYE Ultralite barrel, G36 folding stock, and vertical grip.
Strengths: -FAST.
-Reliable
-Ease of maintenance
-low profile
- Silent
-low ammo warning
Weaknesses: - Simplicity leaves no room for fine tuning.
Review: I'll try and keep this short.

The Rotor is possibly the best bit of paintball kit I've ever bought. This thing is brutally fast- fast enough to max out my gun on unlimited ramping (I realize this would be a bigger feat for an Ego than for a Shocker, but it still stands). Seeing as how most tournament rules limit your rate of fire to 15 bps, this spells out some serious feed consistency, and more speed than you'll ever need. Reliability is ROCK. SOLID. It uses a pressure sensor in the feed system to sense whether there's any resistance, and goes off of that. This sensor is fool proof. No laser eyes to muck up. No sound sensors to be fooled by a spool valve that's too quiet. Just fast and worry-free operation.

Maintenance- in the rare event that it's needed- is simple. Unless you're changing from lid to speed feed, the whole thing comes apart with no tools. taking it apart, cleaning it, and putting it back together is a process that could easily be accomplished in less than 15 seconds.

The Rotor has some pretty impressive profile and angling. More than once I've gotten a hopper hit, only to have it glance off the angled front. The thing sits down and far back- meaning it won't stick out when you're snapping from a bunker.

EDIT: I forgot to add this at first. The Rotor is absolutely silent when running. The only exception to this (and this is why I have no gripe about the oft complained about feed "windows") is when you're down to the last fifteen shots. The inner Rotor will rev up, giving you a sort of low ammo warning. I far prefer this. With sound, I don't even need to look at the thing to know I'm almost empty.

UPDATE (7/31/09): After having used this on my new SL8R, I figured I'd update my review to reflect my experience using this on a truly top end marker. To test the speed, I put my gun on unlimited ramping, and let loose. Peak ROF surpassed 35 bps, and that was with settings stock. I'm pretty sure if you tweaked the settings down a bit, it could fire closer to fifty. I have no doubt that DYE's claim of 50 BPS is true. Note that during all this, there wasn't a single misfeed, shot lag, or jam.

Without a doubt the best loader I've used, again.

Conclusion: The Rotor is the ultimate in paintball loaders. Its 150 dollar price tag may scare the average player off, and this is fine. This is a high end product, with a million justifications for the price tag. You get more than what you pay for here. I'd recommend this for anyone who wants the simplicity and rock solid reliability of a grab-and-go gravity feed hopper combined with the awesome performance of a top level electronic loader.

If you've gone out and bought a high-end marker, but want your loader to be as simple and rock solid as possible, do yourself a favor and grab one of the best products the industry has come up with.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, October 31st, 2009 at 2:30 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunkrnoobs Friday, December 26th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
halos empires
Marker Setup: invert mini 68 45
Strengths: Really fast long battery life
Weaknesses: Doesnt like reballs
Review: It is awsome. I love it. It has upsides and a downside. The only down side is it doesnt like reballs. But it absolutely rips normal paint. It is so cosistent it unbelievable. But in my eyes its the best loader out there and will continue to be the best for a long. If you want a top of the line product go by it
Conclusion: Awsome product
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TinyCuts Friday, November 26th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evolution 3 - noisy, battery door sucked
Halo B - decent but fragile
Marker Setup: Green/Black Danger Power G3 Special Edition
APE Rampage OLED board
Rampage grips
DP Pressure Monitoring Device
Dye Rotor
Pure Energy 68/4500
Strengths: - Flawless loading
- Never jams
- Insanely good battery life
- Durable
- Quick, tool-less disassembly
Weaknesses: - Heavy
- Overpriced
Review: Simply put, there is no better loader out there on the market. The speed at which the Rotor can put out balls is insane. I have personally tested the feed rate on my Rotor and, after a few thousand balls, measured 45 balls per second. The plastic on the Rotor is seriously heavy duty and you can play with confidence knowing that you don't have to be careful of hitting your loader. Hats off to the Dye engineer who designed the disassembly process. I can easily take apart the entire loader in a matter or seconds. This makes it easy to clean should you ever accidently pour a pod with a broken ball in. I managed to buy my Rotor on sale new for less then $100 and I definitely got my money's worth. I see they now charge $160 for it. After owning mine for over a year, I would probably pay that much if I didn't own one.
Conclusion: The last loader you'll ever need to buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jcramrod15 Tuesday, June 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo eggy magna drive
Marker Setup: dp g3 with sl barrel kit rotor 68/3000 pure energy tank
Strengths: Fast small light easy to tear apart
Weaknesses: Doesn't hold 200 balls like it is supposed to
Review: I uesd my rotor a few times alreadt and i love it. It looks great and works even better. The only comlpaint i have is that one pod almost fills it. It doesnt hold close to 200 balls. Otherwise it's the best $150 i've spent on a piece of paintball equipment. Don't get the quick feed though. Everyone i have talked to has many complaints about them. PS the virtue crowns look horrible but they do work.
Conclusion: Buy a rotor they are well worth the money
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 30th, 2009 at 3:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CHI-TOWNBALLA34 Sunday, November 8th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B, Viewloaders
Marker Setup: Etek ego
orange bolt
red ccu kit
zick kit
CP trigger
hybrid grips
star frame
virtue board and eyes

PMR 10
Strengths: newer sleek and small profile
FAST
doesnt jam
easy straightforward product
easy assembly
very light
Weaknesses: The side windows are small, buts it not an issue.
Review: After having many difficulties using the halo B i decided that it was time to get a new hopper. I used my friends Rotor at Vicious tactics and immediately fell in love with it. it was unlike any hopper i have every used before. it was then and there where i realized that i HAD to go get one. il go more in detail about each subject.

Speed
By far one of the fastest hoppers every to grace the sport of paintaball. I did a free fall test with a full pod of paint, the whole thing was empty within around 4-5 seconds no joke. On the field it feeds as fast as ur gun can shoot. Providing a very consistant feed i had no jams all day.

Design
unlike my halo B which would always b a pain in the ass to take apart and clean i can disassemble my rotor in about 5 seconds. No tools are required as taking it apart is just as easy as putting it back together. While it doesnt have the fancy boards that my old halo had it works just as well. its a very straight forward hopper, you put to paint in, press the button and presto, nothing else is required of you. Another aspect that i loved was the anti-jam lever. instead of a rip drive or other painful ways to unjam your hopper dye offers a simple lever that you pull back. when the lever is pulled back the state of the art cone inside will re-scoop the ball and recycle it with the rest of your balls. it seems like dye always finds ways to make baller's lives easier.

Other
i have heard that the rotor can be a little bit rough on paint because of the furious feeding speed but i never encountered any problems. the scooping mechanism inside and hopper seems to slide the paint in instead of hitting it in giving it a softer feel. this could vary for each person but seeing how i never encountered this problem i can not say much. if it is breaking paint try to adjust the speed inside the rotor.
Conclusion: Over this is by far the best hopper i have ever used and the 150 dollar price tag was well worth it. this is a sure buy and it will not let you down. easy and simple to use this hopper will bang right out of the box. possibly one of the best investments that i have ever made. i will edit my review if anything changes in the future. forget about emire, halo, pulse or all that other crap. Dye is the way to go
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media