paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail / Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail / Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail / Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail

Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 9.5 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $450

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Unequaled quality, meticulous engineering and impeccable design are just a few of the reasons why Proto is the first name in paintball.

Redesigned for 2009, the Proto Rail solenoid features increased durability and air flow. We've also lowered the dwell from 25 to 18 milliseconds resulting in faster cycle speeds. The smaller, lighter Hyper3T In-Line Air Regulator comes standard. This new regulator provides higher flow, more consistency, better ergonomic grip and smoother velocity adjustment. The new solenoid doubles the air flow through the marker and makes it more reliable on the field. The solid construction consists of an aluminum body and bolt, and Ultralite 45 frame and trigger. We've designed the Proto Rail with the goal of providing you with tournament grade performance at a reasonable price.

Features:

Two Piece 14 Proto Barrel
New Increased Flow Hyper3 In-line Air Regulator
Anti-chop Break Beam Eye System
150psi Operating Pressure with Boost Forward Technology
Continuous Three-Dimensional Contoured Body Design
Proto Dual-Density Injection Sticky Grip
LED Program Control with Four Tournament Modes
Ultralite 45 Frame
New Solenoid with Increased Durability and Air Flow
Ultralite Aluminum Trigger
Proto On/Off Airport
Adjustable Aluminum Clamping Feedneck with Thumb Screw
Stamped Metal Insert Logo
Compact and Lightweight Body Styling
Metal Eyeplates and Back Cap
Product Availability 
The Proto 09 PMR Matrix Rail is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
GOO-SLINGER85 Thursday, November 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month19 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
08 ego
etek 2
smart parts sp1
tippmann x7
Marker Setup: 09 Rail , velocity jr , 45/3000 , J.J ceramic barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
mabey a barrel... i did on mine and it made a slight diffrence but its a self cleaning barrel ...the stock one isnt

also the Reg its not very air effecent but its only had 5000 shots threw it
Strengths: Looks
speed (13 bps on semi)
Full metal bolt
price
feed neck
size
Weaknesses: None realy ,had some air leakage but its fine now
Review: Go get this gun ... for the price you cant beat it .....i dont care if you have a shocker its not close ...ive shot them and they are not as comfotable to hold and walk the trigger ....but the proto is sick it can keep up with the best.
But not many colors to chose from red. black , camo, and air force blue
Conclusion: when i went to buy a new marker i asked about the shocker NXT ,and the guys at the shop said why! youd have to upgread it to even come close to a Proto they said it was the same as a DM9 with a diffrent barrel, reg. , and board ...so you could up grade all that for 300 the proto is 800 less then the DYE and made by the same company so for the price there is nothing better its tournament ready or great for anyone realy..

i gave it a ten because its a big step forward for Proto and i belive the best gun for the 400 to 700 price range ....there are better guns!! i just cant justify the price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

akaminski21 Saturday, December 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All proto
Dye Dm's
Evil has a gun that is like this too but not even close
Marker Setup: Stock PMR 09
pure energy 68/4500
Halo b w/rip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck. Im going to get a new one.
Nothing else
Strengths: Barre, Low kick, Light, Style, Speed.
Weaknesses: Feed Neck
Thats all
maybe sucks to much gas
Review: -Out of the box this gun shot 256-270 fps. very good for not even broken in. right away after 500 rounds i ripped it to the stock 13 bps the board is set at. very clean. i shot 1500 right away and not one break/chop gun is very strong.
-The feed neck is the only thing i dont like to much. it props the hopper up a little and wont take it all the way in. i have a halo b and it doesent fit very snug. i mean it gets the job done great, but i want one more secure.
-All stock parts are very good. the case it comes in is beautiful and the grips light up which is very good. it makes it easy to use with the ul frame.
-Gun accuracy is very good. i like it a lot. also the reg is very good. right when i gassed it up the first time i felt it was like the 1000th time i have done it. it was so smooth and with no proublems. proto did a very good job on it.
- the weight of the gun is perfect. many companies want to have the ounce or two advantage, but really when you playing, whats a ounce of weight. if you are looking for a light gun, this gun is light.
- The quick strip part for cleaning is great. i use to have an ion and it was a pain to take apart. this is just a quick unscrew and bam. its all done. very nice
- the kick to this gun is very low. when fired it is quiet and very smooth
-looks to this gun are sexy. i love it. the colors are not very much but you shouldent buy a gun focused on a color.
Conclusion: Stock parts on this gun are great. everything is user friendly and works great. the board and lights are good for telling what mode you are playing.
IF you want a new gun for under 500, get this gun. you will LOVE it.
When buying a new gun i didnt want to spend the $449 for this one, but it was worth it. Because it is so new not many people got to play with it yet and everyone that has is like WOW. even a buddie of mine with a pm8 was like DAMNNNN wanna trade........
JUST GET THIS GUN. i would give it a nine because of the feedneck, but just replace that like i did, and you have a TEN.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

beyondxlimitz Tuesday, September 29th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DM8, DM9
Bob Long Vice
Eclipse Ego
Invert Mini
Proto 07
Marker Setup: 09 Proto Rail Camo
Dye Rotor Black
45/4500 Cross Fire HP Tank
Custom JT Proflex
Recommended
Upgrades:
No Upgrades required.

Tech T bolt- Awesome upgrade! Makes shooting a Proto feel like a million dollars. The bolt requires alot of tweeking to fine tune but with a little patience, will turn your gat into a masterpiece.

A lever lock feedneck would be nice to have over the screw in but all on prefference
Barrel Kit might be good if you are always shooting different types of paint
Strengths: Feel
Smooth shots
Super soft on brittle paint
Regulator
Weaknesses: Screw feedneck (prefference)
Alot of O-rings
Large bolt assembly.
Ball Detents
Review: So far the 09 Proto Matrix Rail has been an awesome marker

After actually holding this marker, the first think you will notice about this gun is its ultralite frame. It is patented design by DYE that sets it apart from any other marker on the market. Dont even consider buying this marker unless you have held a DM/PM ultralite frame in your hand. If you hate the feel, you will hate this marker. But those who love it the feel, please read on.

Strengths*****

FEEL* Most comfortable frame in paintball( In my opinion) Nothing else feels like it.
I also own a DYE DM9 and feels almost identical in your hand

Smooth shots and super soft on brittle paint. During tournaments that only shoot brittle paint, having a spool bolt design leaves you not worrying about ball breaks. I Never had a chop/break yet over the past year I have used it.

Comfortable and small regulator. Very consistant over the crono. It is backed by Dye so quality, accuracy, and design are among the best. Kick is very minimal compared to an Ego and or bob long vice. TECH T offers a great bolt upgrade that should be looked into.

The stock 2 piece barrel is about the best stock barrels get. Very accurate and made of light weight alluminum. Similar to the Dye ultralite barrel. But no barrel shoots straight if the paint bore size doesn't match.

Weaknesses******

Screw feedneck (prefference)
Alot of O-rings to mess with that might be prone to leaking.
Large bolt assembly.
Consumes considerably more air then poppet style markers. More air=quiter smoother shot
Ball Detents- are effective but are already starting to show some wear (after 1 year of use). They seem like will last about 2 more years till need changing.
Conclusion: In conclusion, I most definitely recommend this marker. I have had it for a year, beat the sh** out of it and it kept on sending people to the dead box. Feels comfortable, shoots fast and reliable. If you dont like the feel of the ultralite frame then consider other markers. But if you like it as much as I do, dont hesitate to pick it up.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 29th, 2009 at 6:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nunatak Saturday, December 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5.
07 PMR w/ UL frame
Marker Setup: Spyder Fasta loader (Reball)
68/4500 PSI
Recommended
Upgrades:
I plan to switch to a RAPS ASA. The Proto ASA is decent, but I love the flip ASA.
Strengths: Value.
Soft on paint.
Smooth action.
Weaknesses: Air efficiency
Review: I've mostly had long term experience with blow forward designs, such
as tippmanns. I recently cameback to playing paintball and picked up a Tippmann A5. But found myself mostly playing speedball, so after 6 months of getting myself
used to playing again, I felt it was time to step up in the ROF department.

I was stuck on several choices for months.
Etek 2, used PM8, G3, 07 PMR w/ UL frame. And then I saw the newly released 09 PMR.
When I saw what they were offering with the marker, and eventually the price. I knew this
was going to be my choice.

I eventually picked the claret colour, mostly due to my soft gear setup, and when I finally
saw the colour first hand, I was very satisfied. The red is a nice dust colour, and the graphite was lighter in colour.
I play reball exclusively from October until May. So I picked up a Sypder Fasta loader. Which dollar for dollar is probably the best loader for VERY used reballs.
I'll probably be going to either a Dye Rotor or an Empire loader with a magna clutch kit.
Although, considering how well the Fasta works, a Pinokio is very tempting.

I waited 6-7k shots before I started to mess with the settings.
The stock dwell is set at 18MS. I tried the recommended 10MS start point
for tuning, and it wouldn't fire. It immediately started to cycle at 11MS but it wasn't pretty.
I increased it to 12MS, but it was still inconsistent, nearly +/- 15FPS.
I jumped it to 14MS, but it was +/- 3. I then dropped it to 13MS and it was still +/- 3.
And that's where I've kept it.

I mostly play in PSP mode. So I haven't been too focused on tuning the trigger for semi-auto walking of the trigger. But the 3 points of modification does allow for tuning
to almost any player's desire. Although I do find the double bow style of trigger harder to walk with, compared to a more straight forward angled one.

And the newly designed solenoid is a very nice change over the 07 PMR with it's 25MS stock dwell setting. I can honestly see myself running at 10MS dwell
once the marker is fully broken in and I switch to a lube with lower viscosity. Which I'm hoping will help ease the only real negative aspect of the marker. Air efficiency.

****NOTE****
The manual has PSP and Millenium modes reverse.
And you can set the max ROF to 33.33 BPS on full auto, for the kiddie in all of us!
Stock PSP setting is 13.3 and does indeed have PSP 3 shot, which I use exclusively.
Conclusion: For a mid-range tournament marker, I highly recommend the 09 PMR.
For the price you're paying you are really getting your money's worth.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 13th, 2008 at 12:36 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

tyholtgrewe Tuesday, November 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
07 Proto Rail, Dye DMC , Dye DM5, Invert Mini, ICD Promaster, Diablo Wrath, Shocker, Impulse, Autocockers, and Intimidators.

The 09 Rail Definately holds its own. It is light, quiet, and efficient enough to my standards.
Marker Setup: Empire Magna Loader, 68/4500 Pure Energy Tank, and Evil Pipe Kit.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None so far maybe a diffrent asa and feedneck. Maybe better board, could use 3 shot psp ramp for tourny use.
Strengths: Weight, Accuracy, Durablity, and Beauty
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: I have only shot a case through this marker so far, and am impressed. Its much more lighter than the older rail. It also feels much more durable and has a sleeker look to its body. I would recommend this gun to any player. It is definately going to be a hit this christmas!
Conclusion: Very well thought out design, go buy it!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pmrfan Thursday, April 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot- great gun but not too good compared to 09 pmr
tippman a-5- great fast but heavy gun
bob long vice- almost perfect
Marker Setup: no upgrades on the marker doesnt really need any
i use:
Dye rotor hopper
guerilla air tank 4500 psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
none people say it needs new feedneck but the feedneck is great and reliable
Strengths: Fast, light, sleek, 13 bps stock setup, easy to clean/take apart
Weaknesses: People say its air effieciency is bad but they dont know what they talking bout
Review: I am known as a picky paintball marker critic by some of my teammates (Team Point Blank at the 23 bps az pb field) but i am so dam happy with this gun it has been my sponsor gun for about 2 months now and me and my team love it. The gun is great i cant say anything bad about it. it always works fine and never chops. this is better then some high end tournament guns out there that cost up to 400 dollars more than this gun. Proto has impressed me and I will be willing to have proto be the team sponsor for a long time.
Conclusion: Buy it it is pretty god gun and you wont need loads of cash for upgrades
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Plasma Saturday, May 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
DP G3
Proto SLG 08
SP SP1
Marker Setup: Stock PMR 09
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Barrel
ASA
Grip
Speed
Weaknesses: None
Review: Overall the gun is very light, fast, expensive, but worth it. the gun is very sexy and shoots extremely fast, well worth the money. i have seen people say that it uses too much gas, i disagree i think it is a great gun and well worth it. if you are looking for a gun go with the PMR!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Buy it if you have the money, won't disappoint you!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

termitemfp Saturday, December 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dangerous Power G3- tested
Etek- tested
09 Proto Matrix Rail- own
Marker Setup: Stock Proto Matrix Rail Claret 2009
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
New Feed Neck
New Trigger to make walking easier.
Strengths: Very fast
Accurate
Light
Durable
Weaknesses: Feed neck loose
Needs new barrel
Review: I went out and tested a G3 and a Etek before I bought this gun. I am very happy that I did. This gun is amazing, Dye did a great job. I am going to pick up a Dye Rotor to keep up with this gun. The gun only likes Sleek Grease in the winter time. I went out and shot a couple rounds with the grease that comes on the gun and the bolt stuck on me. The regulator into the ASA wiggles on mine, not sure if there is a way to fix it so I am going to take it back to the proshop. All in all, this is a great gun for the price. I was going to get a DM7 but I wasnt going to pay an arm and a leg.

Go get this gun, NOW!!!!!. You wont be disappointed.
Conclusion: This gun is absolutely amazing for the money. This gun eats Shockers and Ions for breakfast.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXBlackAc3Xx Wednesday, October 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sypder Pilot ACS
Spyder Imagine
G3
Bob Long Intimidator
Marker Setup: PMR 09
Stock Barrel
Dye Rotor
Gorilla Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing. comes with metal eye caps and metal feedneck.
Strengths: This gun is much quite then other guns. Unique Design.
Weaknesses: Even with eyes on, it sometimes still chops balls. Changing modes takes a little time.
Review: The PMR 09 is a great buy. For the people who cant afford more then a $500 gun, this is your best bet. This gun has i believe 4 modes. Semi/PSP/Milennium/NXL. One of the flaws that i hate is to change modes, you must open the right side grip. I really dont have time to unscrew 3 screws. It takes me about 3 to 5 mins to unscrew, change modes, the screw back. Anyways, great gun. Buy a hopper that can handle how fast you can shot and this thing will shoot like a beauty.
Conclusion: Buy hopper that can keep up with you. Changing of the options takes a little time. But other wise, great gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chris5573 Wednesday, November 11th, 2009
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
The other markers i have used are the Tippmann 98" and it is very reliable but i would chose my Proto over it any day.
Marker Setup: I use the Proto SLG 09" with a 12"inch barrel (stock) but i have a force feed hopper so that i can shoot the Marker faster without having to worry about chopped balls or waisted CO2. I installed a new trigger i bought from Ebay that will make any Semi-Auto marker shoot faster or make it easier to ramp your marker to Fully-Auto.
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you buy this marker i would highly recommend you buy 5 Pods (ball holders) or more, I would also recommend you buy a force feed hopper, And Change the O-rings in the handle grip where the air hose is and add some sealing tape to prevent leaking air but after you do that its the best gun you will buy.
Strengths: 4 firing modes
Accurate
Reliable
Extreamly light
Weaknesses: Alot of ammo needed
Needs afew upgrades
Review: This is the absolute best marker i have ever bought and i would never trade it for any other marker. This Marker is good for every level of experince with paint ball that how easy it is use.You will be very happy with this marker it you buy and its price is less than alot of other markers that arent half as good.
Conclusion: I do recommend alot of painballs and about $10 extra for the air hose in the handle but other than that you will enjoy this marker for a long time
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 11th, 2009 at 2:28 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media