paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG

Proto 09 Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 09 Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 09 Proto SLG
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $199

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 2009 SLG is a hybrid construction of aluminum and composite materials, providing you durability with incredible lightweight function. The SLG’s patented Self Closing Valve (SCV) 2 Piece Bolt system allows the marker to operate at a low 145psi. This low operating pressure provides superior accuracy with less paint breakage, and yields an impressive 1500 shots on a 68/4500. Newly refined features such as the pressure release safety button, clamping feedneck, aluminum trigger, internal bolt silencer, hardened steel sear, and aluminum bolt makes the SLG the clear choice in the sea of introductory markers. The 2009 SLG is a perfect example of unequaled quality, meticulous engineering, and unmatched manufacturer support, the benchmarks that make Proto the first name in paintball.



Features

Single Piece 11" Proto Barrel

New Increased Flow Hyper3 In-line Air Regulator

Anti-chop Break Beam Eye System

Super Low 145psi Operating Pressure

Proto Dual-Density Injection Sticky Grip

LED Program Control with Four Tournament Modes

All New Self Closing Valve (SCV) 2 Piece Bolt

Ultralite Aluminum Trigger

09 Proto SLG Bottom-Line with Dovetail

No-Rise Clamping Feed-Neck

Multifunction Self-Lubricating Force Button

Bolt Silencer

Orbital Rotating Sear Reduces Wear
Product Availability 
The Proto 09 Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Dumpin' Paint Saturday, February 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Ion
Marker Setup: Proto SLG Standard 09, Leopard Rotor, 45 cu 3000 psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really.
Strengths: Reg, barrel, trigger, feedneck, ROF (rate of fire), board modes, and bolt out the back.
Weaknesses: The gun I got, the board had to "warm up".
Review: I used this gun a tourney and it worked great, then I used it at my local field, and it shot so fast, at first I started laning and thirty seconds later I saw to pods on the ground an I was loading my last pod into my Rotor. I love this thing. It fickin' rocks.
Conclusion: This gun rocks, it is the best for $200.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

egierski Sunday, January 31st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Invert mini
tippmen(98 custom)
Vibe
planet eclipse 06
Marker Setup: ~Invert halo hopper
~steel tank
~formula paint
Recommended
Upgrades:
~barrel
~tigger
Strengths: Lightweight
Nice grip
Regulator
Eyes
Easy disassemble/assemble
Weaknesses: ~Barrel
~Trigger
Review: When I first got it was fine, I had my eyes turned off then I chopping paint because my eyes where covered. but that is all I had issues with now I play tons of matchesand love shooting newbies.it never ever chops paint when the eyes are on the anti air jam makes it super useful during matches
Conclusion: I love this gun (sometimes I call it my baby)it works perfectly but I strongly recommend reading the Manuel and tweak settings if needed This what my first gun (that I owned) I got mine for about $210 but I would pay around $300 for it. this gun is very good
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Musso3656 Friday, October 9th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cocker's
Tippmann's
Marker Setup: SLG Basic - Clear
Dye Boomstick
Invert TOO
68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good feeder that can keep up. I put a 12" Boomstick on it and it makes a world of difference so a 14" barrel would be even better.
Strengths: Light
Fast
Pretty Durable
Nice Trigger
Weaknesses: ASA can get loose from time to time...that's it really
Review: The SLG was my first electronic marker to buy. I've used several others but this one really stands out to me. I tested all the other markers in its price range and it blows the competition away. The Epiphany, ION, MG7, Spyder RSX...BLOWS them all away. I don't think there's a better gun for $200...maybe even $300.
Conclusion: This is a great gun for anyone. Newb or Vet. Gets the job done and then some.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

zeroskater95 Friday, July 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Nerve
Smart Parts Ion
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: 09 Proto SLG- CP on/off asa, Dye feedneck, CP 14in barrel, Dye Rotor, and Pure Energy 68/3000

or

Smart Parts Nerve-Freak Barrel, Q-lock feedneck, Same hopper, and same tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
feedneck
whatever u want
Strengths: Cheap
Tough
Fast
Weaknesses: None
Review: The 09 Proto Slg is a great gun. Its easy to take apart and clean. The manual is great. Its a good speedball marker for the price. As soon as I got this gun I shot in my backyard.
The stock barrel is pretty accurate but I suggest getting a new one. If u want the gun to shoot fast Youll have to ajust the setting because out of the box its a little slow
Conclusion: If your on a budget or want a good back up, buy it. You wont be dissapointed
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBking4ever Thursday, December 24th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
US Army Alpha Black
Marker Setup: 09' Proto SLG with Phat dropforward, DP R.A.P.S. asa, Tadao board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feedneck
Strengths: VERY FAST
accraute
light weight
easy to manuver
board settings
Weaknesses: Gas hog (see review)
Accessing board
Feednecks
Bolt stick
Review: I got the Proto SLG 09/10 for a early christmas present and as soon as i got home un boxed it. I was very impressed on the looks and what came with it. The first thing I did was opened it up and configured my settings. That was very easy with the help of the COLORED manual. That also impressed me. So I had my settings on PSP ramping, level 3 trigger sensitivity, and max of 20 BPS. I was upset with the fact that proto couldnt put an actual clamping feedkneck but for the price was still impressed. Also I noteced that i put maby 3 pods through it and i was dead on gas. (UPDATE- this improved throughout the life of the Hyper 3 regulator.) That disspopinted me very much. The next day I refilled my tanks and brought the gun for a "checkup" as I didnt know it their was a leak or something. The shop put a new 2010 Hyper 3 reg on it and said that the old one had some problems and warrenty covered it. So any ways I rought it home and LOVED the 2010 hyper 3. Alough confused why it is a rotaing reg but W/E. This gun is perfect for $200 and I would recomend it for anyone starter or pro because of its range of firing modes and BPS (Semi,Melinium,PSP,NXL and 33 BPS max). I LOVE THIS GUN!!!!

UPDATE-feedneck made of straight plastic. So get a new one befor breaking your halo on the cement floor. Also I have had a major bolt stick problems and the tech at my local feilds say that it was machined to big. So machining and feednecks are a bit of a problem. Still very fast though. Also my efficency is better it takes about a 5000 shot break in period to fully shoot constiently.
UPDATE- just droped a tadao board in it. It didnt shoot at all because the sear went up at the wrong time and broke. this was with the stock board in it also. The sear is made of the same stuff the body is made of and isnt durable. My major boltstick problem is still there and has gotton so bad (with the new bolt) i have to take it out and reset it befor every game )=
Conclusion: Nice gun for the money. Not durable but to make it $200 what should I expect. Bad bolt stick and sear is why Im changing this from an 8 to a 6.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 16th, 2010 at 3:18 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pb addiction Sunday, January 23rd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
azodin kaos, 98 custom
Marker Setup: empire 68/4500
viewloader hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
16' barrel
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Everything(bad gas efficiency, leaks, skips shots, etc.)
Review: This gun sucks. I brought it to a proshop to get a hpa tank and it just started going full-auto w/o the gun even being on. The guy at the proshop said he sold 13 and had to send 10 to the factory. So he sent mine to the factory, and when it got back, i went to play. When i started playing the gun stopped shooting and everyone laughed at me. This gun sucks. Don't get it.
Conclusion: Don't get this gun
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 12th, 2011 at 1:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paint Baller Tuesday, March 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
The slg was created to compete with the Smart Parts ION and did indeed beet it.
Marker Setup: Proto Slg 09 red- stock barrel
Invert Halo TOO hopper
48ci Guerilla HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
If this is your main marker, You should probably get a new barrel. Maybe a 14 inch?
BTW, The slg and autococker have the same barrel thread
Strengths: Everythin!
Weaknesses: Maybe the barrel but still....
Review: This gun is amazing! Evreything on it is good. Even the 11 inch barrel is pretty accurate. The gun is super light. It weighs like 2.2 lbs. That's because it's made of a composite plastic. But the composite plastic is really really durable so don't say it's gonna break. BECAUSE IT WON'T! I have just ordered this gun and played with it. IT"S AWESOME and durable I'm a backman and shoot ALOT of paintballls, and fast. So the slg is perfect cuz it's SUPER fast and super light. It is definately the best bang 4 ya buck. I think everyone wants that with 2days economy.
Conclusion: BUY IT! its the best gun you can get for 200 bucks. super light, accurate, fast, beAstly looking, low air intake, and TOTALLY AWESOME!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

c.palmer19 Saturday, July 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmanns (98, A-5, Alpha Black)
Various Spyders (Sonix, MR2, VS1)
Indian Creek Designs (Only tested)
Marker Setup: Proto SLG 09 Olive
ANS 68/4500 HPA tank
Vlocity
Vents Avatar mask
Recommended
Upgrades:
The UL frame if you really want to, it might help you shoot faster and it weighs less but the gun is light anyway. (UL is also more durable)
Strengths: Light
Pretty Fast
Feels good
Pretty Efficient
Weaknesses: No real big issues
Review: This gun is a pretty good deal for $200. It has everything a beginning to intermediate paintballer on a budget needs. It shoots pretty straight and is most suited for speedball but you definently could use it in woodsball. The only issue I can see is the frame is a composite material, but thats no big deal, its pretty sturdy any way.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any paintballer who wants a great marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chris5573 Wednesday, October 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter-The Proto is better in every way except for the air system the proto will need some airway tape around the airway inside the handle.
VL TRITON ll- The Proto is better than this gun in every way.
Tippman 98- I like the tippman for sniping but the Proto will out snip it with a 14" inch barrel.
Marker Setup: I use the Proto SLG 09" with a 12"inch barrel (stock) but i have a force feed hopper so that i can shoot the Marker faster without having to worry about chopped balls or waisted CO2. I installed a new trigger i bought from Ebay the will make any gun Semi, or fully auto-matic gun shoot faster and the other products will make it more accurate and reliable.
Recommended
Upgrades:
No barrel upgrade,
A force feed hopper,
A tun of ammo,
A waist belt that holds 9, 200 ball tubes
Two Rechargeable 9 volt battries
Strengths: Accurate,
Fire Speed,
Anti-ball chop system
Super sensative trigger
Air Conservation
Only $200!!
Weaknesses: Goes threw alot of ammo quickly
Uses battries
Review: This is the best marker I have ever used I would recomend it over any other marker I have ever used and I would say its better than any other marker you will ever use for under $600 pluse the extra $150 you will spend on gear and upgrades. The proto is only $200.
Conclusion: I think that if you are looking for reliabilaty and very high preformance but you are on a buget this is the marker for you even if your not on a buget. This gun is only $200 and its better than any marker you will be able to get for less than $600 and the accesories are going to cost the same for any high quality gun you will buy.I highly recomend the marker and all of the accesories listed above.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kulabear3 Thursday, December 30th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder rs (heavy as crap)
Marker Setup: 09 proto slg basic
with vurtuie board two peice barrel and cp on/of asa
with dye rotor and 50/4500 ninja tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
and if you want asa
Strengths: fast
accurate
VERY light
board
regulator
Weaknesses: Barrel
Asa
Review: This is the BEST 200$ gun out there.You got 200$ the slg is calling your name awsome gun.
This gun is for intermedite players or pro.Has the best borad for a 200 gun.It kills any other 200$ gunThat is a FACT.I play local turny player on my friends team.
Conclusion: get this gun if you do not want to break the bank.Because it has every thing u need for a turny or rec balling on the airball field.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media