paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG / Proto 09 Proto SLG

Proto 09 Proto SLG Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 09 Proto SLG

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 09 Proto SLG
[ View Photos (8) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 39
Average Rating: 7.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $199

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The 2009 SLG is a hybrid construction of aluminum and composite materials, providing you durability with incredible lightweight function. The SLG’s patented Self Closing Valve (SCV) 2 Piece Bolt system allows the marker to operate at a low 145psi. This low operating pressure provides superior accuracy with less paint breakage, and yields an impressive 1500 shots on a 68/4500. Newly refined features such as the pressure release safety button, clamping feedneck, aluminum trigger, internal bolt silencer, hardened steel sear, and aluminum bolt makes the SLG the clear choice in the sea of introductory markers. The 2009 SLG is a perfect example of unequaled quality, meticulous engineering, and unmatched manufacturer support, the benchmarks that make Proto the first name in paintball.



Features

Single Piece 11" Proto Barrel

New Increased Flow Hyper3 In-line Air Regulator

Anti-chop Break Beam Eye System

Super Low 145psi Operating Pressure

Proto Dual-Density Injection Sticky Grip

LED Program Control with Four Tournament Modes

All New Self Closing Valve (SCV) 2 Piece Bolt

Ultralite Aluminum Trigger

09 Proto SLG Bottom-Line with Dovetail

No-Rise Clamping Feed-Neck

Multifunction Self-Lubricating Force Button

Bolt Silencer

Orbital Rotating Sear Reduces Wear
Product Availability 
The Proto 09 Proto SLG is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
funmatt Friday, February 19th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
alpha black with 14 in proto barrel, not that good of a gun but really accurate with the proto barrel.
Marker Setup: stock barrel
halo v35 loader
3000 psi pure energy air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Accurate, fast, light, and the stock barrel is really good
Weaknesses: None although every now and then a ball gets jammed in the marker.
Review: great gun for a great price. when i first got this gun and took it out of the box i felt how light it is. you don't even need the UL upgrade. the stock barrel is very small and accurate. you dont need a new barrel for it. the trigger is great. the feedneck is great. the eyes are great. although i don't know if its just my marker because no one ever had the same problem, but every now and then a ball gets stuck in it but its easy to get out. the gun has a really good price, and really good for begginers.
Conclusion: I definetly recomend this for anyone.great gun with a great price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LARONDIE ALPHA Sunday, February 14th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
invert mini
smart parts ion
proto slg 08
dye DM5
Marker Setup: smart parts ion
virtue board
virtue eyes
trinity sick aluminum body
45 angel trinity reg
velocity jnr
redz pepper stix
easy on/off asa
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger,barrel
Strengths: Weight,back out bolt,feed neck,construction,spool valve
Weaknesses: Trigger travel,leaking
Review: I picked up this marker intending for it to be my back up but in the short time that i have owned it, it has clearly taken the place of my virtue ion. Me personally, i don't know how this could have happened cause i love my ion. But the quality and effort that was put into this marker is well deserved. truly a great buy for $200. When i did my un-boxing i hooked up the air and it was leaking from the hose attached to the hyper 3 reg. All did to remedy this is push in the clamp,pull out the hose,3 1/6 allen wrench in the clamp, tightened the end of the clamp, put the dye lube on the outside of the hose tip and in the clamp. Then i just pushed the hose back in and no more problems. Wiggle the reg a bit once you air up after the change, you should here it hiss with fizzle until you hear it seal. If you don't hear the fizzle and its still loosing air from the area you may need more lube for sealant, so just repeat process and apply more. The manual gives a good explanation of this and roughly explains the same procedure, but the sounds are very important to the remedy of this issue. I also pinched a ball on my 5th or 6th shot, so i had to use a tool through the feed neck to remove the jam. I took the bolt out and applied lube to the back 2 (biggest) o rings.
since then i have played 2 woods ball games and one hyper filed session best of 3 and no chops, no lag and no jams.
Conclusion: Excellent gun for the money, a must for someone who wants to be competition capable for a reasonable price. Overall great easy maintenance pro marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ego09forlife Friday, February 12th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
My only other gun is a styker str-1 and it sucks.
Marker Setup: Proto slg
vLocity Jr
hpa

Stryker str 1
gravity loader
co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a barrel and trigger
Strengths: Speed! Operating pressure, accuracey, and the feel!
Weaknesses: Trigger loosens on mine, nothing else.
Review: I love this gun. I had a lot of problems with it my first few games but i just have to brake it in. It's really fast, it has a nice trigger but i'd get a new one just so that it looks more pro. The trigger is very adjustable but it loosens after a while. It's pretty easy to disasemble and maintain. You almost never chop paint when your eyes are on, but if you do, everything messes up. My ball detents got stuck and some paint got in the bolt so it wouldnt work right. But i fixed it up pretty quick and it was shooting great again.
Conclusion: If your thinking about getting this gun, GET IT! It's so worth your money! I'd probobly spend $400 on it if it was that much. It wouldnt be that much of a rip off even at $600
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sammynacpb Friday, October 16th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
All markers used or tested:
BT-4 Combat (Owned) Way more kick, not comparable.
PMI Black Maxx(owned) im comparison, piece of crap.
Piranha G3(owned) almost alike but the slg is better designed and has eyes and is also better on paint.
Marker Setup: Proto SLG 09 Basic
Invert Halo too loader
48/3000 CP tank
Stock barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Recball player: above and beyond what you need
Team speedballer: You may want a new barrel and a new feedneck but other than that ur good.
Strengths: Light
Fast
Affordable
Small
Sexy
Weaknesses: dont care what people say:
Sear tripper.
Review: I bought my proto slg about 3 days ago and i was going to write a review yesterday saying it was a good gun after i played with it and stuff and shot reballs. but now i am glad to say this gun if a real ripper and is very good. at its price point nothing compares. this thing scares the poop out of renters!!! just shoot it infron of one and they will fear you!
Has some small quirks with the macro line and the sometimes loose asa aswell as the bleed valve but nothing that cant be easily fixed in 2 seconds by your average paintballer
Conclusion: Love it, take care of it and it will take care of you. This marker is very remarkable in its price range.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CallMeAFreak96 Wednesday, April 7th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
g3... but that things reliable
Marker Setup: Green with black accents Dp G3 with Ape Rampage board with a 14 inch freak barrel,
48/45 Cp tank, Empire Prophecy with Empire speed-feed. ( Tech t bolt engine on order )
Recommended
Upgrades:
everything except maybe board
Strengths: It shot nice and smooth had a decent board
Weaknesses: Bolt, reg, eyes
Review: When i got this gun I didn't know what to expect. At first i was amazingly happy with this gun... But as i used it it became worse and worse with bolt stick leaks fps jumping. I took great care of the gun i got people that were certified proto techs to take care of that gun. After about a month every other shot youd have to purge it. Even with a upgraded bolt and parts it didn't do anything and i didn't just have a lemon i know countless people who have had this gun crap out on them. It had severe drop off, Innaccuracy with ANY barrel ( I tried a lot)



Conclusion: It's great... If you want a gun that works for 3 or 4 weeks of play after that they die
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jwelf Friday, December 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder pilot
Proto Rail
Marker Setup: Proto PMR 09
Invert Halo Too feeder
Freak Barrel
3000psi compressed air tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Trigger
Regulator
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Weaknesses: Loose parts
Bolt Jams
Review: I bought the slg as one of my first electric markers because of the price and sleek design.
After playing with it a few times I found that my bolt would consistently jam after fire twice every time I pulled the trigger so I would have to force the bolt back into position only to have it jam again. Other than that it is a solid marker for $200.
Conclusion: I would not recommend this marker. For all the problems it has you would be better off buying a spyder pilot or an ion xe which are in the same price range but have much fewer problems.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 16th, 2009 at 10:20 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pbxsv14 Wednesday, June 16th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMRs, DMs
Marker Setup: 2010 SLG, Tadao board, hybrid clamping feedneck, DP raps asa, virtue laser eyes (red), virtue microswitch, cp rolling trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Strengths: Fast, light weight
Weaknesses: Durability
Review: Im writing this review to tell you NOT to get the SLG. Instead get the G4. The SLGs crappy feedneck broke on my first dive into snake because its purely made of plastic. Next a week a go, I was shooting and the gun started to run away on me. This explained by dye is a fault in the solenoid to push the sear up to catch the bolt. And is an expensive repair. Shoots nice though.
Conclusion: Dont get it
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

StevenChristou Tuesday, June 8th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix Rail 07
Invert Mini
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
Halo Loader
Ninja Air Tank

Back Up
Proto Slg
Recommended
Upgrades:
EVERYTHING!!! ]
Virtue board, even though it still wont do much for it
New feed neck,
new board,
new barrel,
new asa,
new eyes,
new bolt,
o-rings,
basically get a new gun.
Strengths: Light
Cheap

nothing other than that......
Weaknesses: Feed neck breaks easily
Bolt keeps jamming
ASA becomes loose
Review: I bought this gun as it was a cheap gun and had many good reviews on it as I was joining a paintball leage for my first time. My buddy also decided to get this gun also and hates it also. This first game went well, but during the second, everything went wrong. My gun kept jamming over and over again. I took it apart cleaned it, put it back together, still jammed. the bolt would always still and jamp. Also the o rings would ALWAYS rip and break on this gun. It was such a pain to always have to go home anc change them, and also costly. Now after a month and a bit, I started to get really peeved at this gun, so I decided to by a virtue board for it. The installation was one word..... IMPOSSIBLE! It was so sensitive and the slightest thing you would do could break it. After a long half an hour I finally got it installed, tightened the grips and went to turn it on but of course, the buttons were stuck.... Then I had to send it in, so after a week I got it back and the word was "It is fixed". So I put my hopper on and who would think, the feed neck broke... So then i grabbed a bunch of balls and manually feeded it in, I went in to shoot it, annnnd it doesnt work. The ball kept jamming after three shots. I gave up. I put this gun up for sale and sold it. Never will I ever buy this gun again!
Conclusion: My final conclustion on this gun is simple, dont buy it. Its true when people say you get your moneys worth and thats what you get with this gun, garbage. If you want a good gun, go for an invert mini. They arent really expensive, a sold gun, have an amazing performance, and I have NEVER had it jam on me.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Geterdone07 Monday, July 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Extra- Old and outdated-No Comparison
Spyder Pilot- Meh not nearly as good
AutoCocker- No comparison
Marker Setup: I use the 09 Proto SLG, all stock so far with a vlocity jr hopper and 68/45 tank. Also i have a 14" barrel on it. If you dont have much money, this is a good gun that can stay stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
The new 09 has much more upgrades/accessories then the 08 version so not much other than a nice barrel
Strengths: EVERYTHING
Clamping feedneck was tight for the 09
Silencer/Kick Resister=Nice
Weaknesses: None
Review: Just buy it. It is a perfect gun for anyone. It is the best SLG so far and perfect for any one who is into paintballing serious or not. Easy to use and fun too. Anyone and everyone can tell you about it. Try it. You'll love it!!!! I would recommend this to no one so i can have them all to myself!!!
Conclusion: Buy it, use it, love it. I do
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media