paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Azodin Kaos Pump (KP) / Azodin Kaos Pump (KP) / Azodin Kaos Pump (KP)

Azodin Kaos Pump (KP) Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Azodin

Buy Azodin Kaos Pump (KP)

Paintball Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Azodin Kaos Pump (KP)
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
KAOS PUMP (KP) brings all the innovations you come to expect from the AZODIN team to the pump market. Built on the KAOS chassis, the KP provides closed-bolt performance in an entry-level package.

The optimized valve and main springs of the KP give you the efficiency you need when you are out at the field. The pump action is smooth out of the box so you do not have to worry about breaking in the pump action. The KP features the innovative TRIAD Ball Retention System that prevents roll-out even when you are using the smallest of paintball.

With Cocker-threaded barrel, Ion-threaded feedneck and bottomline mounting for both straight screws and Dovetail you can customize your KP to your own specifications.

NEW SCHOOL FEATURES for OLD SCHOOL GAME

Product Availability 
The Azodin Kaos Pump (KP) is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
evanf Sunday, August 15th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month30 of 31 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
This my first pump
so no other similar
Marker Setup: Azodin kp with macroline setup and a duckbill asa
Strengths: Consistant
Accurate
Light
Smooth Pump
Looks cool

Weaknesses: new barrel cause rollouts
IT FARTS BUT YOU CAN STOP THAT WITHOUT REPLACING ANY PART
Review: IT IS CONSISTENT- even with stock barrel and co2 it was +/- 7 fps at the chrono

GOOD ACCURACY- from 30 feet away with sports authority paint the bullets were landing right where you wanted them land and on top of each other each time

ITS LIGHT- it was really light with 9 oz co2 tank

THE PUMP IS EXTREMELY SMOOTH- the pump has almost no side movement. its a pretty short stroke and its light, I can pump the gun with one finger.

You can solve the farting by just taking your hand of the pump handle when you shoot

please remember to say if this review was helpfull, thanks

Conclusion: Get the gun if you want to get into pump without spending to much (I got mine used for 85 shipped on pbnation) you wont be disappointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sn toter Tuesday, January 5th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom, Sniper, a variety of Neslon and Sheridan based pumps
Marker Setup: Azodin KP(Obviously)
Azodin Hitman Rod
Bob Long Torpedo Reg
Empire Barrel kit
GenXGlobal pocket hopper
47/3000 Centerflag HPA(preset 850psi)
Strengths: Loaded with stock features
nice pump stroke
ease of maintenance
value
Weaknesses: In it's stock form it makes a 'farting' noise
no stock HPR
Review: Packaging:

The Kaos Pump came in a nice thin two piece cardboard box. When I removed the lid I was greeted by the marker itself, nestled in form fitting cardboard and covered with a sheet of bubble wrap. It came packaged with a barrel, Azodin barrel bag, a complete rebuild kit(orings, screws, and a spare cup seal), a manual, and a uninstalled 'hitman' rod. The manual is simple and straightforward. It outlines the basics(maintenence, breakdown, and velocity adjustment) but itsn't anything too impressive.

First Impressions:

I have to say that my first impressions were very good. The marker doesn't feel 'cheap' at all. The milling is nice and the dust black ano is flawless. I was going down the list of features in my head and I still can't believe that it all came stock in a sub $150 marker. It's got a clamping feedneck, a very nice pump kit, a stock 'hitman' rod, delrin bolt, ion threaded clamping feedneck, cocker threads, and the gripframe has a buld-in rail in addition to being able to take standard 2 hole bottomlines. I was leary about a double trigger on a pump, but it's actually quite comfotable. Everything feels quality. I think the only thing that struck me as odd was that it has no stock regulator, instead it has a gas thru. I'm assuming that's to keep cost down and also because most players upgrade HPR's anyways. I should mention that it doesnt' NEED an HPR, but having one allows you to really fine tune it.

Pump Stroke:

I really am having a hard time understanding how the stock pump kit on here can be so damn good with the cost of this marker. The pump kit has it's own built in pump guide that eliminates side to side play in the handle. The pump grip itself is matching dust black aluminum and is threaded on the bottom to accept the included SS hitman rod. The pumpstroke is very smooth and firm(no sloppy side to side play in the handle). Due to the design of the KP(stack tube), the amount of resistance on the pumpstroke is going to be dependant on the mainspring. That said, it's fairly light in it's stock form but mine is a bit heavy as I replaced the mainspring with a stiffer one to lower the operating pressure. I'll elaborate on this later. Heavy, but super smooth. I can feel a bit of drag on it when I pump via the hitman rod, but none when I hold the handle. With the stock spring I can't feel the drag with the hitman rod at all.

Teardown and Maintenance:

The first thing I did with my KP was a complete teardown, inspection, and lube. One of the nicest things about this amrker is how simple it is. The bolt slides out the back once you lift on the pull pin. Next, the rear cap unscrews without tools and the mainspring and hammer can be accessed. The gripframe is held on with two screws, as is the ASA. All in all it took about 7 minutes to dissassemble, lude, and reassemble the entire marker. There we no aluminum burrs and the marker appeared to have a small amount of lube in it from the factory. All good here.

Performance:

I haven't had a chance to shoot much yet, but by the weekend I plan to put another 500 marbs through it. All I can say so far is that it's damn quiet and shoots darts. There is slight recoil when it shoots, but nothing major. I haven't tried the stock barrel yet, I went right to my empire kit. More updates as I get to use it. I will use the stock abrrel a bit too.

The only gripe I would have so far is that it does make a brief 'farting' sound in it's stock form. This doesn't affect performance but it is annoying. From what I've read it's an issue of airflow vs valve design. I added a HPR and turned the input pressure down a few hundred PSI in addition to increasing the tension of the mainspring. This eliminated the noise but it also increased the weight of the pumpstroke. I plan to pickup a high flow valve soon and return to the stock spring. Azodin just released a high flow valve, and AKA and 32* made some high flow valves for spyders that are drop in upgrades for the KP. I'll get one of them and see how they do.

I'm also curious about the barrel. It has a patented 'Triad' ball retention system to reduce rollouts. It basically has an oring and 3 'nicks' in a groove in the barrel end. that allow the oring to 'peek' through the breach and hug the ball. I've heard good and bad about this. Some say it will cause chops, others don't. After I can get a few hundred rounds through it I'll update with my thoughts.

Conclusion: So far, I'm very impressed with initial quality. It's loaded with features and came stock with a full repair kit. Teardown is a cinch and has pretty smooth operation. Honestly, I'd expect a pump with these features that shoots this nice to cost double what these go for new. If you want to pick up a really nice pump that's loaded with features without dumping $300-500, buy one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SSP-SheiK Thursday, April 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Misc. Phantoms and snipers
Marker Setup: CCI Micro VSC Phantom
Strengths: Light
Small
Smooth Stroke
Bolt
It's a Pump!
Weaknesses: Stock Barrel
Trigger Pull
Feedneck
Occasional Rollout
Review: So I finally got to test the Azodin Kaos Pump. And after hearing all this hype I was eager to see what all the fuss was about.

For one I can tell you that a lot of the hype isn't. Let me explain...

First Impressions:

First thing that came to mind was "great, another spyder clone". However i think that even though some of the aesthetics are similar, Azodin has come up with something pretty new and original. The look is pretty nifty but you know what they say, looks aren't everything. I noticed right off that the pump stoke itself is amazingly smooth for such an inexpensive marker. When threading the barrel back on to the marker I didnít like how I could feel the metal rubbing against itself.

Accuracy:

When I began shooting the marker it was fairly accurate, I canít be quite sure on how accurate it really is only because the paint bore was really small compared to the barrel (paint: .687-6.89, Bore=: .691-6.93). Regardless, this frickin thing chucked Ďem out there. And even if you donít like the barrel, its cocker threaded.

Consistency:

Although the stock barrel isnít the most desirable, the chrono showed a steady 270 with a variation of +/- 5-15fps. So as consistent as a spyder clone can be, itís more consistent than many other similarly priced markers.

After Thoughts:

If I had the money for another marker I would buy one just to beat on because they are pretty well built and a decent marker for their price. The downsides to the marker itself are the extremely long trigger pull and the iffy feedneck design. Also, you cant hold the pump andle when shooting. I found this to be akward. But it shoots beter when the pump handle is "free flaoting" for some reason. All that aside, I think Azodin will become a well known name for beginners out there and Iím excited to try the other versions (the Kaos mech, the Blitz electro, and Zenith electro) of the Azodin family.
Conclusion: All in all i think Azodin has a pretty solid marker out there. I think this is a great alternative for new pump players or any of the azodin markers for newer players in general.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 23rd, 2009 at 12:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Swordkirby45 Tuesday, July 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Outkast
WGP Trilly
Marker Setup: Azodin KP
48/3000 Nina Tank (output 650)
14" J&J barrel
Strengths: Accurate
Pump is secure (not loose)
All around good
Weaknesses: Feedneck cannot get 100% tight
Spring bounce-back (see review)
Break-in
Review: This pump, for $150, is very, very good.

~Good~

This marker, once broken in, can shoot darts. I was able to nail a 5'10" man when he was uphill, behind brush, and running (~70 feet away).

The pump is sturdy. It does not wobble around like some other pumps.

This pump is fairly lightweight. My air tank (48/3000) is the heavier than my marker plus my 14" barrel plus a 200 round (full) hopper.

Comes with a hitman mod (vertical attachment to pump)

~Bad~

The feedneck cannot get 100% tight. It can get tight enough to my standards but it can annoy some people.

If hold the pump forward while you are firing, it is a bit loud.

Spring blowback. This is my biggest Issue. When you fire this marker, the spring snaps back and makes a semi-loud "fart" noise. This noise is louder than a marker would naturally make when firing. Rumors on the internet say that this is fixable by re-springing though.

The hitman mod it comes with is chrome while the rest of the marker is black. Why Azodin, why!?!?
Conclusion: This is a very nice pump for beginners - experienced players. For $150, this is a great deal. I would recommend this marker to a friend.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

elevan Sunday, January 23rd, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: AKP
CP 1-piece .685 dust yellow
Proto Primo loader
68 4.5k
Strengths: Sturdy
Efficient
Simple
Fun
Weaknesses: Barrel
Locktite
Farts
Review: This is my first pump so I have nothing to compare it to in terms of performance. At this price point its either this or a DIY cocker pump conversion. $150 is a very reasonable price for the gun.

It's full of details that make it awesome:
the pullpin bolt is delrin and o-ringless, the trigger frame has a dovetail mount, ion feedneck, autococker threaded barrel, and a hitman rod.

On to the function:

I like the feedneck, some people hate it but I think its fine, especially if you are using a shake and shoot.

The triad barrel system or whatever is good idea, but it doesn't really work. Paint is tiny these days, if you want to play pump get yourself the smallest bore barrel and biggest bore paint you can buy. But the stock barrel works, just watch your gun's tilt.

The gun does fart when the hammer is released and springs back but its not a big deal. I kind of like the unique sound it makes.

This gun is really fun to shoot. When properly greased up the pump is super smooth. It has a built in support that makes it very sturdy...most cocker pump kits don't have this. It functions like a turtle cocker would which makes it nice and compact, no back block.

This gun is super efficient (as you're doing half the work). One fill with a normal size tank will easily get you through the day. This is nice when I play woodsball, I take my pod pack out there and never have to go back for paint or air.

The simplicity of the gun is easily its best part for me. You never really have to worry about running out of air, running out of paint, running out of batteries, or breaking down. In my opinion it is paintball as it should be; you go out and just play, no worries about equipment.

As far as consistency goes I'm pleased with it. I use HPA which helps, but a regulator is on my list of things to add. The best thing is to get a good paint/barrel bore match.

The downers:
I bought a matching CP on/off ASA to put on the dovetail but Azodin put the most severe locktite on the gas fittings. Even in a table vise I couldn't get it to come off the gas thru, I actually scratched it up in the process (my fault too). If you plan on changing your gas line you might as well buy a reg/gasthru/expansionchamber because those fittings are going no where.
Conclusion: For $150 buy it. You may be able to build a cocker pump for less but the AKP's smooth,sturdy pump, feedneck and o-ringless bolt make it well worth $150.

It's a super fun gun to shoot. Every time I go to the field people are always asking me what it is and commending me for using a pump.

It's ridiculously simple, air efficient, and easy to clean. After a day of play just pop out the bolt and swab the chamber. This gun is idiot proof.

If you want to get into open class pump and want an awesome gun out of the box buy this gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

idiotwithrpg Sunday, April 4th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker Outkast Pump
Autococker Trilogy Pump
Marker Setup: Azodin Kaos Pump
Scepter Barrel System
Pure Energy Basics 48/3000 (output: 850psi)
CP Shorty Reg + on/off
Trinity Spring (cut, mid-high velocity/blue one)

SP Ion w/ Halo Frontman + 48/3000
Scepter Barrel
Locking Feedneck
QEV
CP Shorty Reg + on/off

98 Custom
CORE Double Trigger
CORE 4 Piece Barrel System
Pure Energy 12oz CO2 tank
Strengths: -COST
-Pump Stroke + hitman mod
-Simplicity
-Light/small
-adjustable feedneck
-bolt/blowback
-spare parts galore
Weaknesses: -"Farts"
-no regulator
-dovetail
-aluminum-on-aluminum pump
-barrel/triad system kind of pointless
-rollouts
Review: So this is my first pump gun I can say is truly my own. I am a broke high school kid so going back to pump and saving paint/money sounds right. So a bit of background on Azodin.

The Azodin Kaos Pump was introduced recently (2009 PSP Phoenix I think). It is a mod off the Azodin Kaos (mechanical marker). That explains the double trigger I guess. Now to the review...

==Pros==
-COST: The kaos pump runs around $150. This is a ridiculously good deal. Ridiculous.

-PUMP STROKE + HITMAN MOD: The pump stroke is very smooth, with no side-to-side motion because of a 3rd pump guide arm. It also comes stock w/ a return spring (don't have to pump back). The "hitman" mod is just a piece of metal that comes down the pump. Simple...but elegant as you can pump with your hand. Personal preference but I found the hitman mod to be useful.

-SIMPLICITY: This is my first pump and I was able to disassemble it and reassemble it (correctly) with minimal help from the manual. It's pretty much idiot-proof.

-Light/Small: The KP frame is about 2.5 lbs, which is around 1 lb less than the trilogy pump (autococker pump which will run around the same cost as a KP).

-BOLT/BLOWBACK: The bolt is a hollowpoint delrin bolt. I don't see any need for bolt upgrades. The bolt is on top of the gun and more forward so the blowback can't hit your mask (an issue i always had cuz i play pretty tight).

-SPARE PARTS GALORE: It has spare parts...lots of em...

==CONS==
-NO REGULATOR: This is my biggest problem with the KP. It has a gas through grip. Azodin kas a reg but won't sell it separately (anger). If you do get a reg, it has to be HIGH pressure (output 600+). I hear that 600-650 sweet spots the reg.

-"FARTS": Azodin installed a featherlight spring to go with the gun. This leads to a light pump stroke, but also the infamous fart noise. After shooting, the spring tends to bounce around because it's so light, causing a fart. SOLUTION: get a spring kit and use a heavier spring (gonna have to cut it a bit) and/or get a reg.

-DOVETAIL: I like my o-rings, so therefore I like on/off asa. No biggy since most guns dont come with one. Just drop a few bucks and get one.

-ALUMINUM-ON-ALUMINUM PUMP: the pump handle is alumnium. The pump rods are aluminum. They will grind on each other (and the bad way, not the seductive dance way). SOLUTION: lube and lots of it. Lube before and after games and such, because those rods will become worn if you don't.

-BARREL/TRIAD SYSTEM KINDA POINTLESS: The barrel is massive. I think the bore size is .692 or so. Nowadays, its outrageously hard to find paint that huge. So that makes the triad system (an o-ring pretty much) pointless. SOLUTION: get a smaller bored barrel

-ROLLOUTS: The ball detents only serve to make sure one ball is fed into the gun at a time. After the ball is loaded, nothing stops the ball from rolling out, so get a proprely bore-sized barrel (to hell w/ the triads)


An afterword on Regs, springs, and farting:
So i've spent a good amount of time tinkering w/ this gun. I've found that many regs do not have a high enough output pressure to hit 285fps (or watever). I tried using the stock ion reg and it failed. I'm trying to CP shorty reg (max output 500psi) and we'll see. Also, get a spring kit. I have the mid-high velocity spring that is cut a little bit longer than the stock spring. If you don't cut it, you stress the valve (or something) too much and end up leaking air when your not pumped. So heres an equation

SPRING KIT + REGULATOR = HAPPY KAOS PUMP
Conclusion: Buy this gun. For real. And get a spring kit with it atleast. Oh and don't forget to lube...the pump. Happy pumping!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 4th, 2010 at 8:37 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Z0MBIE Thursday, July 26th, 2012
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Semi Auto Markers, Tippman Semi Auto Markers (A5, Custom 98, Alpha Black) Invert Mini, Protos.
Marker Setup: CP Clamping Feedneck. CP 14" Barrel. Proto Primo Grav Loader. 47CI 3000 PSI Compressed Air Tank.
Strengths: Accuracy, Affordability, Durability, Consistency, Style
Weaknesses: Stock Feed Neck
Review: I have used this several times. After spending a lot of time with low end Spyder Markers, basic Tippman Markers, and using several different higher end markers I decided that I like the pump style of play.

Once I set my sights on pump, I asked around for about a year or so before a friend of mine told me about the Azodin KP. Here is what happened to me right away.

I took it for a spin right out of the box with a small GXE hopper. I also used the standard Winchester hopper. I did not feel that the stock feed neck was reliable enough. I am also used to shooting more paint than what a small hopper holds.

So I got a proto primo hopper at that works wonders. I got a CP clamping feed neck and that is MUCH improved than the stock feed neck. I also got a CP 14 inch barrel. It added consistency to my already consistent shots. Its a sleek design that gets respect from old school and new school payers with markers that are triple the price of what I spent on my whole set up.

Conclusion: You cannot go wrong with this marker. Any breaks, roll outs, or misfires I got from this marker is because I was not used to pumping the marker correctly. Now that I use this marker at my regular field and with plenty of practice I am known as a force to be reckoned with.

Just buy it if you are looking to start playing. Upgrade the feed neck and you are set. I recommend compressed air but that's just how I roll.

Thanks Azodin, you're rad. I'm gonna have to give this a 10 because I have never been so impressed with a marker right out of the box.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kokoklownanr Thursday, July 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom
Sheridan PGP
Sheridan Anihhalator
Sheridan PMI-1
Nelspot Challenger II
Marker Setup: Azodin KP
CP 14 in .685 Barrel
Check it Products Bore lock adaptor
Winchester 50 drum hopper
Crossfire 68/4500
Strengths: Light
Compact
Smooth
Accurate
Ergonomical
Simple to maintain
Amazing!!!

Weaknesses: Loud as Hell!!!
Farts (ill explain why)
LOW quality metals are used
Made in Taiwan
Review: The first time I shot my friends KP, it sold me. The next day I went out and bought one. Out of the box it was great although I'm pretty picky when It comes to my favorite set-up. I threw on a Critical Clamping feedneck, CP Mini on/off ASA, CP Classic 14' .685 barrel, and a Check it Products Bore lock (detents to prevent roll-outs). Now at the chrono I am able to get +7/-7, and hit a target the size of a campbells soup can from 35 feet away. Overall awsome gun, although the quality of the metal they use is VERY low. The whole gun is made of a cheaply manufactured Aluminum. The pump rod on mine broke after 3 monthes of use. Although they're a very good company and offered to give me a whole new pump rod assembly for free, but I'm going to stick with the one that I machined out of Steel. Overall a very good solid little pump gun and at $150 you cant complain.....
Conclusion: if your wanting to get into pump, or already pump it up and want to add another to the pump collection, Buy this gun you will not be dissapointed, trust me, unless you don't like something quality that works perfectly, if you like that then you should buy a Brass Eagle pump instead :)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 4th, 2009 at 9:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Core202 Wednesday, April 15th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None this is my first pump.
Marker Setup: Azodin Kaos Pump
Strengths: Pump stroke
Pump kit
Bolt
Price
Feel
Weaknesses: Barrel
Regulator
Review: I got this gun today at my local paintball shop and this thing is great. For 150$ this thing is a ton of gun. It is very solid and has a nice pump stroke. I shot it and it shoots straight and very accurate. The only thing i dont like about it is the new triad barrel system. It is supposed to keep the ball from rolling out of the barrel but it doesnt work, if you tilt it to low the ball just rolls out.
Conclusion: I definately recommend this to anyone who is starting to play pump or is even intermediate. Its a very solid gun for its price tag, and this gun wont disappoint.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballr93 Tuesday, August 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
my friends phantom
Marker Setup: azodin kp,redz barrel kit, modded winchester pocket hopper, 68/30 or 48/30 tank with spyder remote line
Strengths: Accurate, light, smooth pump
Weaknesses: Aluminum pump handle
Review: This gun is crazy. Me and my friend shot crappy paint thru it and they were landing right on top of each other. Really light, and an extremely smooth pump stroke. Very easy to clean, theres only like 4 parts

The only bad thing is its loud if you hold the pump handle when you shoot
Conclusion: For 150, its a steal. I was hitting my target from the opposite side of the field
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media