paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX

Tippmann TPX Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann TPX

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann TPX
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $230

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new TPX™ .68 Caliber Paintball Pistol boasts an innovative, compact design, specially engineered to be lightweight, easy to maintain, customizable, and best of all, dependable. Check out more exciting features below, or click on the pistol features above and watch for the official launch planned in mid-April.

• Metal Trigger Punctures C02 On First Pull
• 2 Self-Locking 8-Ball Magazine Clips
• Quick Release Magazine Feed System
• Under Barrel 12 Gram C02 Air System
• Easy To Load 1/4 Turn C02 Cap
• External Velocity Adjuster
• Internal Regulator
• Ability to Add Remote Line
• Ergonomically Designed Grip
• Covered Ammo Windows
• Removable Barrel with X7 Threads
• Maintenance kit is included
• Deluxe carrying case is included
Product Availability 
The Tippmann TPX is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
RO0sTer Thursday, December 9th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none, first pistol ever.
Marker Setup: TPX w/ 7 tru-feed magazines
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lapco's Front Block with Picatinny rail
A new barrel, something like the BigShot or Hammerhead
Holster could be useful, especially in mil-sim or woodsball. I like to have 2 hands to climb and crawl so it could be beneficial.
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Consistent
Ease of use
Very solid
Weaknesses: Harsh on paint (need to buy paint with strong shells)
Review: Alright...

Durability: 10/10
Tippmanns are always renowned for their great durability and the TPX is no exception. I don't think I can say much in this section other than repeating it's a solid gun and that's that. 600 shots through and still have yet to find breaks.


Accuracy: 8/10
The accuracy on this thing amazed me. Didn't ever think it would be so accurate. Using the stock barrel only, I managed to get very tight groupings from a distance of about 20-25 meters (65-80ft)as I mostly play on an indoor field where engagements are CQC oriented. Out of every 21 shots, about 4 are outside the grouping, but that could vary with the paint and/or velocity.

Consistency/Efficiency: 8/10
When I first got this in the mail, I popped in a CO2, loaded up my six mags and went into the backyard for some tests. Out of the box, I could easily shoot 2.5 mags before needing to change out the CO2. After fiddling with the velocity adjuster, I got it to easily shoot close to 4 mags. As the norm for CO2, letting the liquid warm up and expand after every burst is ideal to get range and accuracy.

Customization: 7/10
There isn't too much out yet, but barrels are a good upgrade to this outstanding gun.
Putting on a flashlight/laser/fore grip really enhances the appearance of the gun. I have a NCstar flashlight on the TPX and it looks and performs great when I'm inside unlit buildings.
Another upgrade that is worth checking out is Lapco's Front Block with Picatinny Rail. This allows you to place sights such as red dots, reflexes, and even scopes if you so desire. The Front Block enhances the look of the gun and with a sight, it outperforms the plain iron sights on the gun.

The Remote Line for the TPX is a nice touch for those that don't want to use 12g CO2 cartidges(they're bloody expensive @ $.75/piece at the rate I usually buy em at.)
Using air is the way to go with all guns and having a remote line and an air tank lets you carry more 10 round tubes instead of a mix of CO2 and 10 round tubes, thus more paint you can throw at your enemies with consistent shots.

Other stuff... : ?/?
It is quite loud, not that I care anyways, just don't shoot it around your house without ear protection.(Yes I shoot inside my room for tests when the weather outside is carp)
So far, I have not have any pierce troubles so that probably means Tippmann is using a new adjustable CO2 cap.

For internal maintenance, be careful when pulling the halves apart, the spring will cause parts to fly at you. Also, be weary of the tiny o-rings that are loaded in the gun, always grease them when pulling pieces apart, they will get eaten. I've destroyed 2 o-rings already trying to place the regulator and air valve together.

Conclusion: In conclusion, the Tippmann TPX is a very solid gun. There are always pros and cons in any marker and the pros of this pistol outweigh the cons by a large margin. WIth cheap magazines, easy maintenance, and being a very cool gun, what more could you want?

Some things to note; Use strong shelled paint (ie XO's Camotac) and give it some tlc and it won't disappoint.

I highly recommend the TPX for those that want to use a pistol as their primary.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 9th, 2010 at 11:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Franklin Co. PB Tuesday, July 5th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Project Salvo with ?? 18" barrel w/ Apex 2 barrel tip, remote line, foregrip, red dot sight and Tacamo hopper.

Tippmann Alpha Black Tactical Edition all stock w/ militray grade spring loaded bipod, remote line and Tacamo hopper.

Tippmann TiPX w/ RAP4 rifled 10" barrel w/ Apex 2 tip, remote line adapter, remote line and 4 mags.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extra Magazines, Remote Line Adapter kit.
Strengths: Heavy duty
Comes apart for cleaning easy
Fits A-5 and X7 barrels
Weaknesses: Eats CO2 cartridges
You must be very consious about paint
Review: I just barely got my TPX and put it to work int the feild the other day. Needless to say, I am impresed! I was thinking of this to be a little dinky pistol that shoots 50fps and has no range. But no. Tippmann (the best gun maker in the world), designed the gun to shoot just like any other gun they make. Thats right, this baby can shoot 300fps and is effective up to 150 feet. Its a handheld paintball marker! It is semi heavy, but is lighter than any other regular marker.

There are a few weakensses however. One is gas consumption. You can get around 20 shots on a CO2 cartridge, depending on velocity. Mys suggestion would be to buy the remote line adapter kit. $50 on eBay from 'famousguy' and you get the adapter and a remote line. Then you can just use a 9oz CO2 tank and get 450 shots. Another downfall is you get a magazine. 8 or 7 shots, depending on what mag you get, and you get two with the gun. Extra pairs cost around $25- $30, and its worth it. It may be worthwhile picking up another pair of mags or two, because when you get in the heat, you forget all about your paint restriction and you run through mags quick.
Conclusion: Overall, this is the best paintball pistol out there. If your looking to be a runner in a woodsball match to flank everybody, or to get that flag, or whatever, this gun is for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Invert Omega Sunday, November 7th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman chaser and eraser
Marker Setup: Tippmann TPX
12G Co2 cartridge
8 round .50 caliber magazine
stock barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing really
Strengths: Accurate, EFFICIENT, realistic
Weaknesses: Long Co2 recharge time
Review: This pistol has proven to be a key asset to WOODSBALL. it's durable, fast, and accurate. it is magazine operated and runs on a 12g co2 cartridge. but this gun can operate with aIr hoses. it's metal trigger punctures Co2 with the first pull, so you have air when you need it.
this gun weighs, with the Co2, clip, and barrel, about 3 pounds. it comes with a padded carrying case, 2 8 round magazines, 5 12g Co2 cartriges, and 75 .50 training rounds.
Conclusion: Over all, paying 250$ for this gun was the best descision i have ever made in paintball. i recommend this only for woodsball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

gumby13 Friday, June 12th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
core zx pistol
Marker Setup: tippmann pro-carbine
after-market barrel
two tpx pistols with custom holsters
Recommended
Upgrades:
more mags !
longer barrel
Strengths: Doesn't leak
Mags are easily changed
Good warranty
Weaknesses: chopping !
its big
Its a bit pricy
Review: Hello ,

I found out about this gun in march , I placed a pre-order and waited . when I got the gun it came in its own case with two magazines . I tested it out and it worked just fine .
the fact that it doesn't puncture the CO2 cartridge right away was a big bonus for me , for it would cut down many leaks. And the number of rounds you can put down range with one co2 cartridge is about 19-20
Now the first time I played a game with it , it worked perfect ! i was running with it in one hand and my carbine in the other . the next game I put old paint in the magazines .
this was a major mistake ! The first shot the gun jammed , not just chopped but jammed ! I was dismayed .could I have made a mistake in buying this gun ?
when I got home I took the gun apart , it was amazingly simple to clean too . the firing chamber comes right out !
the next day I tried the same old paint and was rewarded with more chops and jams.
I then formed a hypothesis . I went to the store and bought some new paint .
When I tested it this time , there were no chops or jams . the next game it worked perfectly ! The only other problem is the amo cap. of the mags . eight rounds , nine if you put one in the chamber , but its only one shot down from the norm of ten shots.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this for a good secondary weapon . It won't fail if you give it what it needs . just be sure to get more mags for it because 16 extra rounds in a fire fight is not going to get you many kills .
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 12th, 2009 at 9:01 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JOEY243 Friday, October 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5, Tippmann X7, 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Stock TPX
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hammerhead barrel
Strengths: Kinda accurate (depending on paint)
Weaknesses: Squeaks,Chops,Jams,hard to unscrew Co2 cap
Review: You must use very hard shell paint, or use this gun when it gets cold out. If you leave the paint in the clip too long, it will deform. If the paint dosent have good paint in it, it will probably chop or just not load. The gun is very good when it is working but besides that, this gun is good for cold climates.
Conclusion: If you get this gun,I would say to change out the barrel to the Hammerhead and buy good hard shelled paint.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SplitFinger Monday, July 27th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman C98, A5, X7
Delta 68
Marker Setup: Tippman TPX Pistol W/ undermount laser sight & Python barrel system
Recommended
Upgrades:
some kind of barrel system (Python Kit)
undermount laser sight
holster
Strengths: Lightweight
Looks sexy as hell!
Weaknesses: Breaks paint
Doesn't puncture CO2 well
Loud
Review: I've had this pistol for coming close to a month now and have mixed feelings about it after playing a few games with it.

The Good :

This things looks like something out of a dream, in other words, simply gorgeous. Feels great in your hand even if it's a little top-heavy. The quick reloading is definately great too.

The Bad :

Out of the box the marker wouldn't pierce the CO2 cartridges well (if at all) which led to weaker shots, the marker making a farting noise when fired and a long recharge rate. This problem was easily fixed by stuffing a little paper towel in the cap covering the piercing pin. After fixing that problem, I was faced with the problem of breaking paint. About 90% of the time, my first shot wouldn't even fire, it would just break, and even worse most of the time it would break right in the clip, jamming it up badly. If it didn't break in the clip, it would break in the barrel, making it so inaccurate that you'd be lucky to hit water while falling out of a boat. In fact, I have yet to fire off a full clip without a single break and I have no idea what I can do at this point to fix it and I've tried nearly everything. My last conclusion is that maybe CO2 simply shoots too hard and maybe using HPA with the remote line would fix the problem, but that's just a theory and I don't have the money to test it.


I've used pretty much every single kind of paint I can find, and none of it wants to shoot without breaking and I've almost reached the end of my rope. I'd dearly love to find a solution to this breaking problem
Conclusion: Considering that I have yet to fire a full clip of unbroken paint through this thing, I can't really say whether it's good or not. It's got the makings of a great pistol, but until these issues are resolved, I'll be sticking with my Delta .68 (Which has never given me problems and can shoot a quarter off your head at 100 ft, consistently)
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 24th, 2009 at 3:47 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Marbelizer Tuesday, July 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: TPX with Apex tip and Marbelizers
Recommended
Upgrades:
Apex tip - just for extra distance
Strengths: lightweight, fast shooting, can use HPA
Weaknesses: Magazine clips, the early models may have issues
Review: The Good:
This thing is fun-fun-fun. Totally changes your game plan/tactics. I use it as my main marker when I do play a game (I'm using an old Autococker other times). I have the HPA fitting on it. Blasting players with 20+ BPS is way to easy ... and lame/boring. I'd LOVE to play on a filed with nothing but pistol players/mechanical markers. I carry 5 extra clips on me and a remote line (of course). You can run/sprint/move so much easier/faster.

The Bad:
If you are using Co2, you have to superglue a couple of dimes (or some sort of spacer) to inside of the CAP. The reason is that Tippmann dropped the ball in that area, because not all Co2 cartiridges are the same length. This means that the cartridge will not get punctured ... or just a little bit. Tippmann knows about this. Even if yours works, check the empty cartridge ... the hole is almost always VERY small ...add a spacer.
The Magazines are kinda borderline. I'd rather have a thin metal one. One did not stay retracted from the start ... do NOT take the clip apart !!!! You'll be there for hours trying to put it back together - without fixing it.

The Ugly:
At time of writing, my TPX is dead. It worked for 300 rounds and then developed a couple of issues. Tippmann knows about one - pressure regulator (VERY poor spring finish/can damage the inside of regulator -metal shavings); and looks like my air or firing valve is not working properly -- not cocking). All-in-all, they are growing pains. That's what I get for buying the first model run.

HOWEVER, I must say that Tippmann has been absolutely fantastic in their custumor service !!! Thanks Guys.


UPDATE:

As it turned out, the guys who assemble these things use VERY little grease on ALL the seals !!! I went to a store, where they kindly took apart a TPX of their own, and it was the same. I would strongly recommend taking yours apart - completely - and apply grease to all the seals ... especially if you use yours alot. The specific problem with mine was, that the puncture valve seized up, due to lack of lube. This will cause the marker to: 1st - slow down in re-cocking, then it'll fire and not autocock , and finally, nothing will happen at all - ie. like having no cartridge in it.

Anyway, I am back in the game now ..........

Conclusion: I LOVE this marker ... can't wait to get it back. If you do not want any hassles, then wait a few months to get one ... maybe to 5000+ (model #).
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 26th, 2009 at 4:15 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Loki33 Saturday, November 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None. This was my first pistol
Marker Setup: Stock TPX. No mods.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trade it in for something that works
Strengths: Balanced
Smooth Trigger pull
Weaknesses: Jams
Air Leaks
Tear down and rebuild is difficult
Review: I purchased the TPX to use as a backup to my X7. Thought it would be handy to have a small weapon for use in CQB situations plus it adds to the milsim look. I have always been happy with the quality and functionality of Tippmann products. The TPX changed that opinion forever. I have never been able to take it out on the field due to several issues.

1. Constant jams in the chamber and the clip. I have tried using several different types of paint. From soft shell to hard shell paint. Hard shell works best, but still jams.
2. Air leak. I have yet to resolve this air leak. Cannot find any busted o-rings or lose fittings. Being this is my first pistol it could quite be my fault, but have never had any issues with my X7 so am not sure at this time.
3.Poor customer service from Tippmann. I was very shocked at their lack of caring to help me resolve my issues. When the jams occurred I was just told to try another type of paint. When I stated that I had tried 4 different brands I received no other response. I really hate dealing with poor customer service. So far I have not gone to them for the air leak, but will be doing so soon.

I do have to admit that the look and feel of the marker is wonderful. Feels about as close to a real pistol as I have seen. Problem is that now it's nothing more than an expensive paperweight. I wish I would have waited a year or so until all the kinks had been taken care of.
Conclusion: If you must have a TPX I suggest two things.
1. Wait for the next generation to come out.
2. Buy one for super cheap on E-bay because I'm sure people are going to unload these by the truckload.

I am in the process of getting a Tiberius 8.1 players pack for an amazing price. Have a friend who is sponsored by them and is getting my team a sweet deal. The Tib is a bit larger in the grip, but I know they work. See them on our fields every weekend.

In my opinion stay away from the TPX. It's not worth the headache and uncertainty.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

merkh Friday, May 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: TPX stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Lays ropes.
Light
Easy to clean
Weaknesses: Can't really use imperfect paint
Review: Its just an awesome gun. Its that simple. It's light, comes with an extra clip and has a carrying case as well. You know it will be reliable because it's a tippmann! I'm considering selling my other markers and just buying a second pistol and running around with duel pistols.
Conclusion: If you have the money, buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Majorskidmark Sunday, July 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tac 8
Marker Setup: This is a stock TPX

Recommended
Upgrades:
?
Strengths: Looks mean and sounds mean!
Weaknesses: Cant break co2
Taking out co2
Huge gun!
Holster sucks
chops paint
Price
Review: Had a very hard time breaking the co2! I would pull the trigger and nothing would happen. One co2 just had a dimple in it and I really tried to pop that sucker with many trigger pulls. It was so bad all the guys who saw me trying to get my gun to work said they def did not want to buy one. The holster is hard to keep still on leg and I think it would be better on hip because this gun is a monster. Plus you can not kneel down because the gun hits the ground a bit. If your paint stinks the gun will rip them to shreds in the barrel. Opening the co2 valve sucked after a spent co2 needed to be replaced. You can not rapid fire to fast because the co2 can not handle it and the gun will not even fire until the co2 warms up again. I think it is to big to be a back up gun.
Conclusion: Do not buy for a back up gun, it is huge and will get in the way. Many things wrong with my gun, in particular the co2 issues. She does shoot pretty darn accurate though. I am not very pleased with this sweet looking gun.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media