paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX

Tippmann TPX Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann TPX

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann TPX
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $230

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new TPX™ .68 Caliber Paintball Pistol boasts an innovative, compact design, specially engineered to be lightweight, easy to maintain, customizable, and best of all, dependable. Check out more exciting features below, or click on the pistol features above and watch for the official launch planned in mid-April.

• Metal Trigger Punctures C02 On First Pull
• 2 Self-Locking 8-Ball Magazine Clips
• Quick Release Magazine Feed System
• Under Barrel 12 Gram C02 Air System
• Easy To Load 1/4 Turn C02 Cap
• External Velocity Adjuster
• Internal Regulator
• Ability to Add Remote Line
• Ergonomically Designed Grip
• Covered Ammo Windows
• Removable Barrel with X7 Threads
• Maintenance kit is included
• Deluxe carrying case is included
Product Availability 
The Tippmann TPX is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
PnoyRx7 Monday, May 24th, 2010
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
KT Eraser
Marker Setup: Spyder E-Mr1 (silver )
Kingman training Eraser ( black )
VL force with eyes ( black )
12oz Co2 ( air soon )
Mr series riser rail
custom wooden stock
2 spare mags for eraser
Spyder 2 pod carrier
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, a nice cleaning and some paint
Strengths: Shoots great, uses 68 cal paint
Weaknesses: Very un efficient, bulky, ugly, magnesium trigger
Review: Well my friend has the tpx pistol and i have the KT eraser, we swap every game we go to and we did this for about a month or so, let me just say compared to my eraser, it is garbage, its too big, very bad on gas, i have to bring 5-10 co2 with me per game compared to my 2-3 for my eraser, no simulated cocking action. it just does not feel like a proper sidearm. it is like tippmann tried to put everything on the gun they could, ex: the side windows to view the ammo left ? i rather think when im playing and remember how many i had shot, it makes you a better paintball player.
Conclusion: Overall i would never recommend this to family or friends, it is bad for the price, price on gas, and is very ugly.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

AngelOfDeath373 Saturday, February 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, tippmann Werks Sniper Barrel

Stock tpx
Recommended
Upgrades:
Extended mags, don't really need a barrel
Strengths: Dead accurate
Kickass looks
No balls breaking
Co2 isn't twist punctured
feels great
Weaknesses: Loud
Kinda front heavy
The spring on the inside screws up the internals (See body)
Review: Well, despite some bad reviews I got my tpx a few days ago and when I first took it out of the box it was amazing. The case was great, it looked kickass, and it had a rail on the bottom.

Later, when I got it out for testing (since it is winter) i used winter formula balls, blizzards. Now I'm not sure if Tippmann upgraded the parts or it was the thick winter shells but no balls broke and it was awesome.

I really like the Co2 puncture because it isn't twist punctured, the first trigger pull punctures the cartridge. In some pistols you have to twist the cap really hard to puncture it.

I like the holster, although it could carry more mags. I rigged it onto my NXE pod belt and now its like a waist holster.

I think tippmann upgraded all the internals also, because there aren't any of the problems any other users complained about.

One major problem (and I didn't see this the first time) is that when you take the gun apart the first thing that happens is the spring just pushes all the internals out every which way and things could break. One way, and i ADVISE YOU DO THIS EVERY TIME YOU OPEN YOUR TPX is that you have to hold the shroud down, and then take out pieces very gently. Putting everything back in is a challenge as well, you have to keep the shroud and the metal housing in, and shove the bolt in from the back because of all of the pressure from the spring.

I love the accuracy on this thing. from 30 ft away I shot a round through a paper towel roll without it touching the sides. It will destroy anything you point it at and pull the trigger. The accuracy almost seems better than the 98.
Conclusion: I'd have to say besides the internals busting which CAN BE PREVENTED, this is an absolute great marker. The accuracy is great, the look is great, and the grip is great. Once again, the mastery of Tippmann creates a great marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 13th, 2010 at 7:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brian dyas Monday, December 14th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: sp-1 98c stock adaptor, carr stock, clamping feed neck, halo loader, virtue board, tech t upgrade bolt, c-series stiffi barrel with apex adaptor,apex head, cp regulator,custom paint job
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel !
Strengths: Lightweight, easy to use
Weaknesses: Finicky on paint, accesory rail design
Review: I cant believe that I bought another Tippmann. I have a Kingman training pistol, which I love. But haha, my wife loved it more and took it away from me! So, in revenge, I bought the tpx (haha that will teach her). The first thing that I noticed is how lightweight this pistol is. Its all composite, so yeah duh, it is very light. I've heard that it is sensitive to paint, but arent many Tippmannns? So ok, no big deal there really. The case it comes in is nice, and there is room for extra mags, which is something you will want to get right off the bat.It comes with everything you need to get started, so no problems there. Tippmannn has always been good about well diagramed instructions, so you shouldnt have a problem figuring out how to clean and lube this marker. What did surprise me is the location of the accessory rail. If there is NO moving slide on top, why mount the rail under the pistol? Makes using a scope kinda wierd. When I took it to my local field, it was a no show day, and a bit cold. So the field owner and I screwed around with the tpx, and we had NO problems working this pistol, even at a quick rate of fire, even with the cold. Bravo, Tippmann, you have impressed me! If you are only planning on using this for short/medium range, the stock barrel is just fine for that. Anything more,get the hammerhead barrel.It is accurate, but a little on the loud side for my tastes so if you like playing a stealth game, good luck with that. It has a distinct sound signature, so not the best for you snipers out there.But other than that, this is the PERFECT field backup to your regular marker. As the other reviews mention, ease of use is paramount. Loading co2 is a breeze, and the spring fed mag pops out nicely. I doubt you would have any trouble with this marker, it is a good investment
Conclusion: I would suggest this marker to anyone who is interested in buying a pistol, as it is easy to use,maintain, and a hoot to play with! I have to admit, it is better than my kingman
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Waterbizkit Thursday, May 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: Stock Tippmann TPX

Tippmann Custom 98:
- J&J 16" Barrel
- Tippmann Collaspible Stock
- Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
- As many clips as you feel comfortable carrying.
Strengths: - Accurate.
- Durable.
- Easy to load. Both CO2 & Paint
Weaknesses: - Loud.
- Servicing the internals can be a nuisance.
Review: I recently got the TPX as a present for my birthday. My wife knew I wanted the sidearm and also knew I'd been researching the TPX. We both have Tippmann Markers (she has an A5) and so we both trust Tippmann products. The package she purchased with the pistol came with twelve 12 grams and I decided to run through them all testing the gun.

I've reliably been getting three full clips to a cartridge, or 24 shots if you prefer. I can squeeze out a couple more, but I'm a little OCD and enjoy the even 1:3 ratio. In the end you're looking at around 24-27 rounds to a cartridge. I've never used anything else that runs off of cartridges, so I can;t comment on the efficiency in any educated manner, but as a casual player I'm happy with it.

Accuracy is amazing. I'm used to my 98 with a 16" barrel, so I wasn't expecting much from a pistol with a stock barrel, but suffice to say I've been pleasantly surprised. At 30' I was clustering the paint all right on top of itself. Up to 50' I could still hit targets the approximate size of a human torso with greater ease than I'd expect. I suppose an upgraded barrel could only improve things.

I haven't had the gun long, but it's already seen quite a bit of wear & tear. I've put nearly 300 rounds through it with no issues. It's already been dropped (thank you my dear friends) several times. Again, no problems.

Also worth noting, is that for the 288 rounds, or 36 clips, I've put through it I haven't chopped one ball. And I'm not using anything amazing: Inertia is what I had and so it's what I used. A cheap, thin-shelled paint, and no problems. Mind you, I take care loading the paint into the clips and don't let the paint get too hot (no easy feat with the weather being what it has been where I live).

The only downside I've hit, as have others, is that taking it apart and putting it back together is a pain. That said, I hate taking my 98 apart too, so I'm entirely adverse to opening up guns if I don't really have to.

I love this pistol and if I could afford a second you could bet your marker I'd run around dual-wielding a pair of TPX's on the field for Gits & Shiggles.

Edit June 26th 2010:

After putting nearly 1000 rounds through this marker without a break I finally got one not too long ago. It completely changes the markers behaviour and can really be a pain. There's no shooting through a break with this marker and expecting a half-way decent performance. Once you get a break the accuracy plummets and the chances of getting more breaks goes up exponentially.

The only fix is to sit one out and open up the marker. Give it a good clean and you'll be all set. It sucks, but it's not a deal-breaker and I still love the marker. I am however going to lower my rating from a 9 to an 8. The marker can jump from amazing to near-useless in one break and requires opening it up to get it running again. The breaks will come few and far between (for most), but when they do it'll be an aggravating moment.
Conclusion: I love this gun. I've run lots of cheap paint through it and never chopped a ball. I like the accuracy, the look, the weight, and the efficiency. Those having issues have my sympathies, but mine operates like a dream and I'd buy a second if I could.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 26th, 2010 at 7:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blister Monday, August 31st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Warsensor Zeus
Marker Setup: SP-1

Stock TPX
2 Mags
Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a more accurate barrel
Strengths: Compact
Consistent
Well-Balanced
Light and Easy-to-Carry
Weaknesses: Hard on old paint
Time-Limit in magazine
Over-priced
Review: The Good:
I really like the feel of this pistol. Some people have complained that it is front heavy, or that the grip angle isn't right; to me, this pistol feels great. I have had no problems with the balance or the shape of the marker interfering with my ability to accurately use this marker. Also, its light weight and magazine-fed design make it an easy backup to pack around.
Another thing I like about the pistol is that it's consistent in CO2 usage. I've put probably a few hundred rounds through it and I get 22-23 shots each time before I notice a drop from the velocity. When the velocity does drop, I only have to squeeze the trigger real quick a few times to relieve the pressure in order to take the CO2 out.
I also like that it is an enclosed design. I play in Oregon year-round, so alot of times it is wet outside. While this gun is NOT waterproof, I do like the fact that the paintballs aren't directly exposed to the elements until they leave the barrel.
Lastly, I really like how the squeegee fits right up through the handle and out the barrel to clean a broken ball. As long as the break is above the magazine, this is a quick process.

BAD:
When I first tried this pistol out, I was breaking at least 1 ball per magazine, which was frustrating. However, I was shooting cheap old paint and once I switched to better ammo, I broke far less balls. This is not a pistol to skimp on the paint with as it seems to be rather rough on the cheap and old stuff.
Another thing I found out the hard way was to not leave the paintballs in the magazine for very long. The last big game I went to, I didn't use my pistol for the first few hours, which meant that they were sitting in the magazine being compressed by the spring that whole time. When I did go to use it, the balls either flew in crazy directions because they were dimpled, or got jammed and broke in the magazine. This was easily remedied by using my pistol more frequently.
Once a ball had broken in the magazine, the pistol required a more thourough cleaning involving taking the whole thing apart due to the location of the break. Lesson learned and easily fixed.
Finally, I think this gun is a bit over-priced for what you get. If you compare this marker and its price to a whole list of other markers and their price, this pistol is not worth the money. BUT, if you really want a pistol and a good backup marker that feels great and functions well, try to grab one of these. After all, most things in paintball are over-priced, not just this marker.

EXTRA:
If you get one of these pistols, take everything apart and lube it up (get out the snap-ring pliers). I did this and have not yet had any problems with my puncture pin or any other internal mechanisms.
Conclusion: If you can get past the price tag and are willing to learn how to overcome some of the little quirks of this pistol, I would definitely recommend this marker; I'm really enjoying mine.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 31st, 2009 at 3:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AccessTime Monday, January 11th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ariakon Overlord
Marker Setup: Tippmann X-7 Phenom with flatline barrel.
Strengths: Good, solid pistol.
Weaknesses: Price.
Review: No complaints. The puncture system, the clips, all that stuff seems to work well. The pistol is accurate (as pistols go) and makes a very distinctive 'pop' when fired. On the downside, this pistol is expensive. I personally have no problems using this pistol even with cheap paint (weapons grade). But then I don't take a lot of longer shots when I'm playing with this gun either. The basic accessories, like extra clips, are widely available. The important parts, the gas system, the barrel, etc. can all be upgraded.
Conclusion: If you want a semi-auto pistol and are willing to pay this much, it's not a bad product.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheBear Sunday, June 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ariakon 2.0
Overlord
Kingman Eraser
Delta 68
Marker Setup: 06 Maniac Ego with color kit and Critical trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
What ever it take to make this thing work properly
Strengths: Feels nice
Weaknesses: Ball chopping
Review: I tested a couple of these markers and they chop balls like mad. Not sure what was wrong with it but they were both right out of the box and they both chopped with in the first 5 balls. I checked the detents and took it apart but can't find out why it chops as much as it does. Who knows
Conclusion: It feels nice but i was NOT impressed with this marker, not sure what was wrong but i tested this marker and the Kingman Eraser and by far the Kingman is the superior marker. BUY THE KINGMAN
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

jake357 Monday, June 1st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost every other paintball pistol made......
Marker Setup: everything was stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing for the actual gun except a hammerhead. a holster would work nice too.
Strengths: Accuracy, air efficient! (4 clips, 1 cartridge!) very little kick, comfortable grip and awesome look!
Weaknesses: Havent found a single weakness yet.
Review: the first thing i have to say is W00T!!! my friend was lucky enough to buy the only tpx that they had in stock at the bunker paintball course near where we live (lucky...... *grumble*) he has let me use this gun several times and I love this pistol! i have used so many paintball pistols and none ( and i mean NONE) can compare to this one! this one even makes the Tiberius T-8 look like junk.... sorry for all the Tiberius fans out there.... I used to be one too till this gun came out..... lol. All i really have to say about this gun is that it is AMAZING. I love it. thats all there is to it.
Conclusion: Worth the money, no doubt! Deserves an 11!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

bhelfter Tuesday, June 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ariakon Overlord
Marker Setup: TPX with tactical holster
Strengths: No Leaks
Good Weight and Balance
Weaknesses: Chopping
Jamming
Poor holster design
Review: I was originally very excited to see that Tippmann was making a pistol. I bought one a month or so ago and have since used it twice. The first clip I fired was fine and I was happy with the performance. Upon loading the second clip, the pistol chopped a ball and coated both the clip and the barrel in paint. I have since had many more breaks (at least one per clip). Even with different brands and sizes of paint I have not had better results.

I was surprised that Tippmann would put out such a questionable product. For years, I have used an A5 and a 98C and loved both.
Conclusion: I have yet to be able to fire more than one clip in a row without a jam or chop. I would not recommend this pistol to anyone and hope to dump it on Ebay sometime soon.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

mac75 Saturday, September 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tac 8
Marker Setup: tiberius tac 9, t8, tpx,
Recommended
Upgrades:
moree clippsss!!!!
laser sight if you prefer for the bottom rail
Strengths: See body
Weaknesses:
See body
Review: Strengths -

The tippmann tpx pistol has many advantages to it, first off the grip seems to fint in almost anyone's hand nearly perfectly. Off the field i often find that i just want to hold it because it's so comfy. The tpx is a light pistol, but it still packs a punch, it can shoot with reasonable accuracy for a pistol, and it handles GREAT.

Weakness -

The co2 loading system in my tpx has one issue, fresh out of the box it doesnt puncture the co2 cartridge correctly resulting in a verrryy high drop-off rate and very slow air-up. To solve this problem at least temporarily i wadded up some paper from the reciept and stuck it behind the cartridge so it would be pushed further into the gun, my sonution worked perfectly for me except that reloading the co2 takes a few more seconds. ( i believe in newer models they fixed this problem as i have one of the first sever hundred serial numbers).

This weakness is about the ONLY reason i give this product an 8 as opposed to a 10.
Conclusion: The tippmann tpx is the kind of pistol you find always wanting to have with you because of its dexterity and dependability which shine through any shortfalls.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media