paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX / Tippmann TPX

Tippmann TPX Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann TPX

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann TPX
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 38
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $230

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The new TPX™ .68 Caliber Paintball Pistol boasts an innovative, compact design, specially engineered to be lightweight, easy to maintain, customizable, and best of all, dependable. Check out more exciting features below, or click on the pistol features above and watch for the official launch planned in mid-April.

• Metal Trigger Punctures C02 On First Pull
• 2 Self-Locking 8-Ball Magazine Clips
• Quick Release Magazine Feed System
• Under Barrel 12 Gram C02 Air System
• Easy To Load 1/4 Turn C02 Cap
• External Velocity Adjuster
• Internal Regulator
• Ability to Add Remote Line
• Ergonomically Designed Grip
• Covered Ammo Windows
• Removable Barrel with X7 Threads
• Maintenance kit is included
• Deluxe carrying case is included
Product Availability 
The Tippmann TPX is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
iflickuoff Tuesday, January 19th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Rifled barrel.
Strengths: Compact, accurate, maneuverable in tight spaces.
Weaknesses: External mostly plastic.
Review: When I first gassed up my TPX, I was extremely impressed with its accuracy at the range i was shooting it (apprx. 50 yds.). However, I noticed that some balls were broken, which gummed the barrel with paint which made the performace decrease. I took the marker apart and noticed that the front bolt o-ring was gouged do to the faulty design of the reciever. However, I called Tippmann and they sent me redesigned upper reciever parts free of charge and the marker works perfectly now. It's perfect for CQB situations because of its compact size and accuracy.
Conclusion: If you have a need for a sidearm, this is the one to get because of its accuracy, reliability, and size
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GOARMY Saturday, October 10th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippamnn x7, us army alphablack tatical, us army project salvo, bt-4 assult,
Marker Setup: i use the TPX w/ light or laser.
Recommended
Upgrades:
get the hoslter
get a second magizine
Strengths: Accuarcy
Fast rate of fire
Weaknesses: Breaks paint alot
Gets jamed
Review: this is AWESOME PSITOL!!!! it is relieable and good. i personily have hit people from 100ft or more. the gun is very consistent as far as accuracy and you can put shot after shot on target. it's only draw backs are that i dont know if it's just my pistol but the only draw back is that it breaks paint alot inside the gun and there really isn't anyway to clean it. and the only other draw back is that the speed ajustment value is really touchy so if you even trun it a little it makes a funny sound and starts to break paint every 20 balls. but if you dont touch the speed seting you really dont have to worry.
Conclusion: Great gun. Tricky to get use to at frist but overall one of the best if not the best paintball pistol's out there today.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Metfan4e Monday, July 20th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pt-extreme, delta 68, overlord
Marker Setup: 98c, custom foregrip, boomstick, 4stage expansion chamber, spring kit, steel screw set.
Recommended
Upgrades:
ummm maby a longer barrel and a longer magazine when made...
Strengths: Durability
Accuracy (with skirmish paint)
Coolness factor level 7 (10 is two pistols)
Weaknesses: Clip size
Clips denting paint balls
Lack of clips
Using clips

Review: So i bought this marker at SKIRMISH 2009 for a great price and used it all day Sunday.

One thing i noticed is that it is a pistol, lol, and not a full marker. It handles different, no hopper or bulky tank really takes getting used to and acted as a handicap.

Once one gets passed the handling aspect, you can totally hit people with this marker.

A longer barrel would improve accuracy which is already good. I think its either x7 threads or a5 but either one will yeild manny barrel options.

There is also a remote line adapter you can buy to skip the 12g if ya really want to.

Also the internal regulator prevents excess co2 from heading into areas that could get damaged from excessive co2, again re firming the tippmann durability.

the clips are silly, you have to pull the springing mechanism all the way so balls dont get detented from the pressure. Also they are 8 rounds, I hope someday to have a bigger clip and not just 8 rd ones.
Conclusion: This is a great pistol. It is accurate, made but a sick company and stood up well at I.O.N 09.
Even if you encounter a problem, its tippmann, theyll hook ya up with a fix. This pistol one of the best on the market. Due to the fact that i battle tested it at I.O.N and it held up well i give this product a 10 out of 10 because it does exactly what a pistol should do.

be a pistol...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Romcade Sunday, July 5th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Smart Parts SP1 w/Ultralight Barrel
Stock TPX w/Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
More Magazines, Holster
Strengths: Small Size, Tippmann Reliability, Easy Change of CO2
Weaknesses: Cost of gun and CO2 Cartridges
Review: Having played Milsim Paintball for awhile, I decided to bite the bullet and get a pistol. Looking at cost, Reliability and the like, I decided to get a TPX. One of the first things I liked was the CO2 changeout. Very quick, although you need to deplete the CO2 fully before ejecting. The little twist knob for it got stuck for abit, so those without strong hands should not apply. The gun, even loaded and aired, is not hot until the first trigger pull, Which i found useful when perping the gun to chrono (No Plaxico Burress here!).

One drawback when I first fired it was the noise. This sucker is not for the guys who like to sneak, shoot and sneak again. I recommend using this as a backup weapon.

In terms of Air, this gun can go around 3 Full magazines before it starts to have issues. Considering it comes with two, buying a two pack of Magazines is a good idea!

The Accuracy was amazing, for a pistol. While not ball on ball, it was a tight cone. I would recommend this marker at close to medium range. Again, this is with a stock barrel, so the Hammerhead or other barrels may make this better.

In terms of Ball Breaks, I did not have many issues. The only problem came with old, heated paint from my car. Use decent paint, and you will be fine.

The Main drawback against this gun is the Cost: at 230, one could get a Vibe, SP1 or a few other guns rather than this pistol. Also, while not a massive expense, 12g CO2 can rack up in cost if you shoot it alot. This can be avoided by a Remote Line Attachment (Located to the left of the Velocity Adjuster) but i would be hard pressed to find someone to RM a pistol.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone who wants a pistol with good reliability and accuracy at a decent price. If you use pistols alot, I cannot see a problem with buying one of these suckers. New Players, stay away! For this price, you can get a good gun (Vibe, SP1, etc) at a cheaper price.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 7th, 2009 at 1:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nochaz01 Saturday, June 13th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have shot several other markers, not so many pistols. I think it was a TAC 8 last year but am unsure.
Marker Setup: Stock TPX
98 Custom ACT with Response trigger and cyclone feeder, custom pro 2 piece barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
At this point this is highly functional out of the box, you will want some more clips and I would suggest a remote upgrade for anyone wanting serious use out of this marker.
Strengths: Accuracy, build quality
Weaknesses: Needs remote line and additional clips
Review: I am going to use it as a hybrid once I get the remote line, meaning it will be changed out from my 98 just for fun. I am not a milsim paintballer but this marker really looks the part. The rails are in good position and as I mentioned it is deadly accurate. This will be the ultimate rushing marker to get behind the lines.
Conclusion: I am giving it high marks because it is a great marker. If I find any reason to say otherwise I will comment. I am also giving it a 10 and not a 9 because I noticed someone gave it a 1 when its probably not the markers issue. I want to offset the low score a bit.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpartanA5 Monday, May 31st, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zeus G2+, Tiberius 8, PGP 2K
Marker Setup: Project Salvo w/ upgraded cyclone, JCS powertube, response trigger, rap4 recon 12" barrel w/ apex, CAR stock, and BT carry handle
Recommended
Upgrades:
More magazines, quality paint, holster
Strengths: Solid build
Accuracy
Co2 change
Price of mags
Outstanding looks
It's a Tippmann
Weaknesses: Picky on paint
Mags somewhat flimsy
Field-stripping
Review: At first sight this marker might look like a lot of gun to be considered a pistol. However, as every square cm of space in it went to good use, and the fact that something as small as the TPX needs to reliably shoot 8, .68 cal paintballs per mag, I think Tippmann did an outstanding job in designing the TPX. I have owned a zeus g2 before, and it was about the same size as a TPX without the 10 rd mag on top, but it weighed about the same as 2 TPXs. The Tiberius 8 is also heavier than the TPX, although they stack up pretty evenly as far as size goes.
I have always thought that a marker is only good if it is all metal and weighs a pretty good amount. Needless to say I was worried that the TPX would be cheaply made and the plastic shell would be easily breakable considering how light it was (about 2.5 lbs). Whenever I was first able to hold it, my fears were laid to rest. The TPX is perfectly balanced, it aims extremely well despite the small angle of the grip (about 20 degrees or so). Clips feed very well, and I am curious how the Tru-Feed 7rd mags work in comparison. I am very glad the TPX incorporated the clamshell design, the grip-frame of my T8 is starting to separate (probably because the glue is starting to loose its tension). I love the feeding of the Co2 in the TPX as it has been made super easy; ANYONE can re-gas ANYTIME. I absolutely hated having to gas up my zeus, or T8 for that matter. The T8 still requires tools for changing gas, and unless you spent over $100 on extra mags you will probably have to re-gas once or twice in-game, which takes forever. Granted you have to re-gas the TPX after every cartridge, but personally I think the minor inconvenience of re-gasing after 25-30 shots easily within a few seconds outweighs having to take 30 seconds per cartridge change. Plus the price of the TPX mags means you can get 3 for the price of 1 T8 mag.
I took the TPX out to the range finally and test fired about 300 medium quality paint through it. I shot through some clips as fast as I could pull the trigger, and some I shot very slowly. My aim was to try to make the TPX fail so I could find out what it's limits are. After I finally burned through all my paint it became abundantly clear that the TPX was built for some serious business and not just to look cool. In all sincerity at about 50 ft. its accuracy was better than my cousin's 12" lapco, and we were shooting the same paint. Granted paint-to-barrel match definitely played a hand in the results, I find it awesome that my pistol was able to hit a 1 1/2" knot in the wood at 50' on the second shot while my cousin wasted about 30 or more shots trying to hit the same target. Amazing. Despite the external shell of the TPX being plastic, it has a solid feel to it. The safety and trigger assembly is second to none, it feels as secure as a real firearm. The mag-release button is still a little awkward to access, but is not as bad as other pistols. Also, the TPX accepts A-5 threaded barrels which is a big plus as far as customization goes. (just make sure the barrel's outer I.D. is 7/8" of less)
Conclusion: To anyone that is considering buying a paintball pistol, I would strongly urge them to think about getting the TPX. It does come down to player style and preference of course, if the player wants excellent accuracy, and not have to reload often, and price is no object, the tiberius T8.1 with at least 2 or 3 extra mags would be the way to go. Personally I like the TPX out of all the pistols I've had and/or tried. With just a little practice, reloading co2 as well as the mags can become second nature. The TPX's form and function are both outstanding, I give it a solid 9 and not 10 because I've heard people have had issues with it in the past, it's a pain to take apart, and I have only had it for a little over a month, but if you take care of it and the paint, it will take care of you.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

KemperC Thursday, June 11th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
most other tippmann guns
Strengths: Operates like a real hand gun.
Weaknesses: Very paint picky. Viewing window top of gun. Must fire off remaining CO2 to remove
Review: this is a review i did not want to be writing. I was so excited to get the new TPX pistol. My brother and I both have one and both of our guns chop paint like crazy. I'm not giving up on it yet but its pissed me off enough now that I'm writing a bad review. I've had to take it completely apart 4 times to clean the paint out just in the last 2 days. I've fired off 1 clip without a break but every single other clip it chops paint. I've messed with the velocity and tried 2 types of paint, both of which never chopped in either of our A5's or 98's. I will keep trying, get different paint etc. and will take it to the local field on the 20th for the next scenario game and see what others think. Everything about the gun is awesome, except the part about breaking paint but if this is how it performs it isn't worth 2 cents. The gun is a 10 if I can get it to stop chopping paint every clip but if not than its a zero. Hopefully someone disagrees with this review and has some advice but my brother's gun is doing the same thing.

Edited addition: Ok after alot more testing it has chopped less and less balls. I had been adjusting the velocity before I wrote the 1st review and I don't think that was the issue. I think the gun is just very picky about its paint. Does anyone know what paint tippmann used in the testing? I will try and find out that info and post when I do. When you load the clips the paint looks a bit mashed in there. Also I feel the viewing window on the top of the gun is a weakness.(not talking about the windows on the grip, just the 1 on the top) Its a very small piece of plastic easily could be lost when disassembling the gun. I just think the cons outweigh the usefullness of it. The location of the ball detent is a little difficult to keep in place while putting the gun back together and it seems like it can slide forward or backward just a few milimeters, I don't know if this affects the choppping but I would think if the detent isn't holding the ball in the exact spot it needs to be it could easily be broken. You must fire off the remainder of the CO2 in order to remove the canister, I wish there was another method. Other than those things its a sweet gun and I can't wait to test it in the game this weekend. let you know how it goes.
Conclusion: Its a sweet design, operates really nice and everything but if you're actually trying to shoot paint outa it then it fails horribly. I HOPE I am wrong and will be following up this review with a change b/c I love the gun and the way it works like a real handgun, its what I've been waiting for but its gotta stop chopping paint every clip i load. The gun is a 10 if I can get it to stop chopping paint every clip but if not than its a zero
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 15th, 2009 at 11:55 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

psycosocial pbc Friday, May 22nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
ariakon overlord
Marker Setup: alpha blk all upgrades i have the e grip also the cyclone with tech t vortex and rufuss paddles red!!! also have for the marker rufus dawg bolt with a new designz lightweight hammer.
and just got it yesterday THE NEW TIPPMANN TPX stock
Strengths: Light even when loaded
Weaknesses: None
Review: Tpx let me tell u i had the overlord for a while it was a good side arm when i need it, now i have the tpx and let me tell u this thing is sweetttt. key features like everyone knows by now is the mags light compact and easy to put anywhere u like the only thing that worrys me is the the top ball might break but if u got the holster no sweat haven't shoot it on the field but shoot it at home this thing is pretty accurate even with the stock barrel and easy to switch out with a a-5 barrel or x-7 barrel thing all around is sweet.
Conclusion: Light easy to conceal and great back up gun with alot of upgrades
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media