paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick

ACI Maverick Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI Maverick

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI Maverick
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 108
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It incorporates the patented Tru-Flow™ valve which improves durability and gas efficiency. It features a steel reinforced trigger, an anti-double cocking and double feeding device, factory auto trigger, slotted field strip screws, 12" interchangeable precision honed barrel and a full one-year warranty.
Product Availability 
The ACI Maverick is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
PBFreak68 Wednesday, July 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tested a couple other pumps.
Marker Setup: ACI Maverick
Crosman Red-dot sight
9-oz. tank
Butt plate
Bottom line adapter
Brass Eagle "ammo box" 50-rd. hopper
ACI feed elbow
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bottom Line
Red Dot Sight
50-rd. hopper
I don't know if you can upgrade detents or not...
Strengths: Light
Accurate
Easy to field strip
Good on gas
Durable
Affordable
Weaknesses: Loud
Velocity adjustment is a pain
Detent (I'll explain later)
Review: This marker is a good back-up gun, but it can move into a main gun role. As it stands, it's my main gun, and I haven't had any real problems with it.

Upgrades:

A bottom line isn't necessary, but it puts the sight rail in a better position if you have a sight on it. Otherwise, you may need a riser.

The red dot sight helps with accuracy. It's a tricky gun to be accurate with, but once you're used to it, you'll be fine. A sight will help with this. It doesn't need to be anything fancy, just a Crosman.

A 50-rd hopper is all you really need on it.

Strengths:

The Maverick is light, which is great for maneuverability. It also has a small profile, which is great. It fits my hand really nicely, which is always a bonus. You'd think the hard plastic grip is uncomfortable, but I don't find it to be.

Accuracy on this gun is great, once you're used to the gun. It's fairly accurate to start with, but with any gun you need to get used to how it shoots. The only time you lose accuracy is if you have the "hammer" mod, which alows you to hold the trigger and pump repeatedly to fire.

The field stripping is easy, and you don't need any tools to do it. grip assembly screws may have screwdriver slots, but you don't need them. The only tool you need is an allen key for the grip itself.

This is one of the best guns I've seen for gas efficiency, but most pumps are. I use a 9-oz and it lasts me for well over 3 days worth of games. then again, I'm not trigger happy, so that may have an effect.

The durability on the Maverick is top notch. There is little plastic, just the grip assembly and pump handle. The body itself is aluminum.

The Maverick is really affordable. I picked mine up for $40 used, and that's a nice gun you're getting for that price. You may not be able to find one for quite that little, but the ones I've seen for sale have been under $100.

Weaknesses:

The loudness doesn't bug me as much as it might others, I just thought I'd mention it. You can solve the noise issue with a new barrel (not sure on which thread it takes).

I have the velocity adjustable bolt in my Maverick. This mean that when you want to adjust the velocity, I need to take off the barrel, the pump, turn the bolt, put it back together and try again. It's very tedious, and I have yet to find a way around doing it this way.

The detent is just a spring under the body. I've found that when I'm aiming downhill, the ball will roll out of the barrel. I'm not talking like a steep downhill, either. maybe 10*, about what gently sloping roads are (obscure comparison, yes, but it's the best one I can think of).

Other stuff:

Overall, this is a nice gun. I've read reviews saying "don't use this against semi's", or "this isn't good for going against electro's". Don't believe them. These people must not be good with the marker. I've gone against people with Ions, Automags, Cockers, and others, and I've been able to hold my own. The fact that it's a pump does not bring this marker down at all.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone who is looking for a good beginner gun, a good backup, or even a main gun. The price is right, it's nice and tough. The accuracy is great, and the gas consumption is awesome. But the velocity is a pain to adjust and the detents aren't that great.

For what you're getting, the strengths outweigh the weknesses for the most part.

Overall, I give the Maverick an 9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 30th, 2008 at 9:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gdog5 Monday, February 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lots of other various pumps
Marker Setup: too many to bother listing....
Recommended
Upgrades:
Aftermarket barrel if you can find one
Strengths: Price
Removable Barrel
Smooth Pump Stroke
Weaknesses: Plastic Trigger Frame
M16 Style Grip (would rather have .45)
Review: I decided to get this not too long ago so I could get back into pump play. Ive owned many pumps in the past but I had just about sold every single one. I got it used in almost new condition for 40 bux, with a brass eagle talon included (I am a big Talon fan). The Maverick is a great pump for the price. It has a removable barrel for easy cleaning (unlike those fixed barrel pumps like the Brute), and has a nice smooth, light pump stroke. It is basically like any other nelson based pump. It is already set up for constant air, but I enjoy 12grams on it. It gets a good, average number of shots off of one (30 usable ones). I am personally not a fan of the m16 style grips though. Though it is rare to see one on a pump I would much rather have the .45 grip. Another thing that I don't like is that the entire grip frame is plastic. Unless it is a brass eagle, I would much rather have at least the top part where it attaches to the frame be metal. Though it seems to be durable plastic, all plastic has the possibility of cracking. Especially where the screws secure it to the body. Of course should it have the characteristics of a higher end pump, I'm sure the price tag would shoot up. Over all though I am very pleased with this gun. Very good bang for your buck.
Conclusion: If you can find one for around 40 or so bucks, pick one up. It is no phantom, but it is a very good competitive pump that will not let you down. Its brothers the Trracer and Hornet are also good buys.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PGPSandman Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Hammer, Splatmaster, Nelspot 007, Sheridan PGP, PMI Trracer. All work perfect and conserve on paint rather than shower it. Preferred over semi in a scenario. You HAVE to love that original paintball BLOOP! noise, keeps everyone on their toes looking for you.
Marker Setup: Currently owning: Viewloader Triton 2, no mods. Kingman Hammer, no mods non working. Splatmaster, no mods, Spyder Compact Targa, no mods as of yet, PMI Trracer, bottom line feed. Nelson 007, no mods non working.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would suggest the bottom line feed. For intimidation purposes, use a quick change co2 12 gram and stick feed when playing :-)
Strengths: Ease of maintenance, accuracy, and durability all rolled into one marker.
Weaknesses: Lack of upgrade parts or replacement parts when or if needed.
Review: After using a PMI Trracer and Kingman Hammer I would say the ACI Maverick is the next best thing to an "old school" pump marker you can buy. Not one of your, play today and replace tomorrow markers either, this will last as long as you can with proper care. Side by side comparison to a DYE or Angel, I would choose the ACI hands down. Paintball is about playing, NOT spraying.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend this pump to any beginner or pro that has played for many years. Built to last.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Crashtestdumme Wednesday, August 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI phantom
Marker Setup: 1. Adrenalin Impulse, shockteck superfly bolt, eclipse titanium hammer, smart parts max-flo 68 4500, smartparts low pressure chamber, adrenalin magnetic trigger, cricket board and vision eye, stainless steel freak kit, Halo B
2. CCI Phantom, CCI stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock or buttplate for co2
Strengths: durability, accuaracy, Value, and good training tool
Weaknesses: Not as accurate as a phantom, open bolt allows dirt/debris to get inside.
Review: First of all, this gun is a PMI trracer with a different name, but thats a good thing as the pmi trracer is a great gun. This gun is somewhat accurate and better than most semi autos because of the closed bolt design. However the barrel could be a little better ( I probably am spoiled cause the phantoms stock barrel is the best stock barrel ever made). The biggest and best asset of this gun is accuaracy training. It makes you re-aim every shot which military groups call sight acuisition. The more you play with it the faster this becomes and the less balls you need to tag an opponent. In this regard the maveric is better than most semis at developing players.
Conclusion: I'm giving this gun a nine out of ten. The phantom is a better gun in every sense, (there handmade what more do you want) And if there is a gun better than another one it should get a lower rating. Good gun, very solid.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

CaptainFuzzy Monday, May 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE pumps, phantom
Marker Setup: FreeFlow Lotus
Recommended
Upgrades:
It doesn't really need anything...
Strengths: Light, inexpensive, quality craftsmanship and smooth
Weaknesses: annoying to adjust velocity
Review: The maverick is a very nice pump marker. I have a hornet which is the exact same gun as the maverick except it is an undercocking marker. It has an autotrigger and adjustable velocity through the bolt. The body is solid black aluminum and the frame is a strong polymer-like plastic I believe. The pump handle seems to be made out of the same type of strong plastic as the frame does. The Hornet/Maverick have maverick/trracer barrel threading. There are no real upgrades for the maverick save some extremely rare barrels here and there, it's okay though, the stock barrel has a very nice finish. Now on to the review:

The Good:
- Light - The gun itself weighs nothing. Couple that with a small hopper and a small tank and it's very easy to manuver and feels very nice to fire.
- Appearance - Very sleek. The anno is nice looking and the finish is very good.
- Quality - The craftsmanship on the gun is very very good. The parts harmonize with each other and every single part is just well made.
- Smoothness - The cocking action is nice and smooth, and the return spring is good and bouncy. The trigger pull is stiff, but it feels natural. The frame is fairly comfortable to hold.
- Ease of upkeep - You don't have to do a damn thing to the gun. A drop of oil a month is more than enough. The simplicity offers very easy maintenance.

The Bad:
- Velocity adjustment - You have to stick an allen wrench though the breech and it is a ROYAL pain in the bum.
- Feeding - May double feed if your not used to the pump action. This is more of a user error though

The Ugly:
- None here
Conclusion: ACI has done a great job on this marker. They're about $60 and I don't see any real advantage to using a $200 phantom over a maverick. These are just plain nice little pump guns and I'd recommend them to anyone who wants to try playing pump. For the great amount of goods and the small amount of bads, the ACI Maverick gets a...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Roddefig Sunday, August 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Maverick with BSA Red Dot Scope, bottomline, 4x15 scope, 12 oz
Tippmann 98C, 20oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Sight/Scope
- Bottomline
- Barrel (maybe)
Strengths: Accurate, tough, nice autotrigger, and cheap
Weaknesses: Tank Placement, exposed bolt, stock barrel is very loud
Review: A very nice pump gun for really cheap. It works really well and is extremely accurate. I was able to hit people 20 yards away. It also helps if you get a sight, since the iron sights are not adjustable, and it's easier to get on target. The tank placement really sucks, as it gets in the way when you're aiming, so the first upgrade I'd recommend is a bottomline. Then a sight or scope, as it really helps you're aiming. The barrel is also really loud but this isn't a problem unless you're sniping or something.
Conclusion: Overall, it's a really nice pump, and I'd recommend it if you can't afford a phantom (like me). All it needs is the bottomline and a good sight/scope and maybe a new barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 21st, 2003 at 9:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 28th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Bottom Line Setup
Strengths: I thought it was good and fast, and the pump action was nice and smooth. It was also fairly accurate with the stock barrel.
Weaknesses: I had a really bad time with the paint I was using (Zap). Every round I chopped a ball, we were only playing with 20 balls a round. Very first shot that I took with this gun chopped. The paint was alright because my friends $50 semi-auto didn't chop a single ball.

The velocity may have been the reason for the chopping, but I only borrowed this gun from a friend and with the end of the barrel adjustment I couldn't change it on the field easy.

First thing you should do if you buy this gun is buy a new 14/20" 1" bolt(50 cents) for the handle. The stock 14/20" 3/4" bolt isn't long enough it only goes into the gun about two threads. I tripped on barb-wire fence and the gun fell apart. A longer bolt fixed this no problem.
Conclusion: I had a bad experience with it, but with the right paint, new bolt described above and proper velocity set, it could be a nice gun. Nice feel and easy to get used to playing with. I would recommend this product, but with the above cautions of course.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mr.K Saturday, October 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Trracer (exact same pump marker as ACI Maverick)
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5:
Flatline barrel/J&J Performance Edge barrel kit
Tapco T6 stock

WGP '06 SuperStock Select-Fire Autococker:
Stock barrel/Custom Products .689 Classic barrel 14"/J&J Performance Edge barrel kit
Empire Reloader B

ACI Maverick:
Stock barrel/J&J Performance ceramic barrel 12"

Additional markers: Kingman '99 Spyder Elite, BT Designs BT-4 Custom Assault, Ariakon 2.0 ACP

Recommended
Upgrades:
Red dot sight
Strengths: Accurate, inexpensive, reliable, and easy to field strip.
Weaknesses: Availability of parts and velocity adjustment.
Review: Right out of the box, the ACI Maverick is dead accurate. The marker does not require any mods or upgrades, since performance is already there.

The stock barrel is sufficient, but if you are sensitive to how loud a marker is, then an upgrade to a ported barrel is suggested.

Again, the ACI Maverick's weaknesses are:
1. Availability of parts
2. Velocity adjustment



Conclusion: The ACI Maverick is a great, inexpensive choice/alternative for players who are interested in playing pump.

I would rate the marker a 10/10 if parts were readily available and adjusting the velocity was not so finicky.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rlfan#1 Monday, August 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
4 years2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Strengths: This gun has a lot of power and I suggest it for only woodsball.
Weaknesses: This pump gun it is very loud when you pump it.
Review: The gun has very low weaknesses and as crappy as it may look if you are a woodsballer I highly reccomend you buy this gun for its its power accuracy and low need of upgrades. I would stay low If I saw anyone with this gun and slowly get away.
Conclusion: Get this gun. ALL WOODSBALLERS SHOULD HAVE ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ding.chavez312 Tuesday, April 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98, 32 degrees sight rail, simmons red dot, spec ops saw stock, Smart Parts Linear 16 in barrel, Ricochet AK hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (but it doesn't get any quieter)
Strengths: Pump
Accurate
Reliable
Bottle set up
Lightweight
Weaknesses: Ball detention spring
Dang Elbows
Review: Bad news first

To start things off, I hate elbows, they are a constant worry of falling off and I hate them.
2nd of all the ball detention on mine anyways is located two far back. Not usually a problem if i'm using marbalizers or other premium paint. But lets face it Minimum wage doesn't cover that kind of money. I have to use the best stuff wal-mart has to offer. So far that has been the Visible Impact from Game Face. It is very small-bore paint and I have to worry about the paint falling out and then not having the critical shot when I need it. Without the Anti-double cock feature I could solve this. I could just jack another one into the chamber. This one you have to shoot first and when it is very loud your position is lost. I've gotten in the habit of not cocking it until I have a target.

Good news

This marker is very accurate. Buy it if you want to be picking off your opponents right out of the box. I can do it with my 98 after $100 worth of upgrades. This is very accurate even with the stock barrel. JJ Ceramics makes a good barrel for it too. But quietness is not reduced so there is no point in getting. The tank bottle positioning on it is very usefull. You get enough shot out of a 9 and the fact that its a pump, allows you to take it out for many games with a 9 oz tank. With 9 you can use it as a stock and have no problems. This also makes it very lightweight. Another plus that makes long scenarios much more enjoyable. Also it is very reliable, I've had Tippmann's fail before this thing did.
Conclusion: Recommend it for any player that can't stand spray and pray paintball, has patience, and loves watching semi players curse your name when a you tag them with a pump. Oh and its great for players on a budget. No expensive hoppers, no batteries, and very gas efficient.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media