paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick

ACI Maverick Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI Maverick

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI Maverick
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 108
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It incorporates the patented Tru-Flow™ valve which improves durability and gas efficiency. It features a steel reinforced trigger, an anti-double cocking and double feeding device, factory auto trigger, slotted field strip screws, 12" interchangeable precision honed barrel and a full one-year warranty.
Product Availability 
The ACI Maverick is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
jd_0520 Friday, January 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with 12" J&J Ceramic barrel, Tapco 6 position stock raised sight rail with Red Dot sight, and remote coil set up with pack. WGP Trilogy Autococker with 12" Smartparts Linear Barrel, 32 degrees teeter trigger frame and venturi bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel is a must but it might be hard to find one. I found a barrel through J&J directly. The only length that they make for the tracer/maverick is a 14". I also think that the bottomline setup is neccesary in order to aim easily if you use constant air. Get a velocity adjust bolt so you don't need to mess with different springs.
Strengths: Quiet(with a ported barrel), Accurate, Light Weight, and low profile.
Weaknesses: Unless you get good paint to barrel match you will get some bloopers.
Review: This marker is awsome for someone who wants to get back to the roots of paintball. It gives you a differnt perspective on how to play when you go up against semi-auto's. I've never used a Phantom but this gun with a new barrel will give you great accuracy for the price. The gun is no longer in production but I found mine on ebay for a good price. I put a bottomline adapter, red dot sight, 14" J&J Ceramic barrel( makes this thing very quiet and accurate), and a Winchester 50 round hopper on it to make it low profile. Excellent Gun!
Conclusion: If you find one of these and you want to go old school get it and a barrel have some one shot head shot fun!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 11th, 2008 at 2:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lowkey Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
only similar product was a talon...and you cant even compare..
Maverick owns the talon. heck anything owns a talon
Marker Setup: I have used a red dot sight with it but found it can be aimed better without the sight because your mask hits the co2 bottle when your aiming unless you hold the gun out from your face.
Recommended
Upgrades:
This Gun has almost no upgrades but really needs none, just dont use the pre installed low velocity spring take it out melt it down and it will be more usefull as a blob of metal. use the provided high velocity spring, it is really easy to put in.
Strengths: -this gun is tough!
-Shoots straight, good range
-sounds like a BEAST!
Weaknesses: -Drops paint
-Tank is in the wrong spot
Review: The Maverick is great, its tough, it sounds awsome and shoots fairly good. it does have some problems though. mine has issues, when i cock it sometimes the handle slides back a bit and you cant pull the trigger so you need to hold the pump forward. Also the mechanism used to keep the paint from rolling out of the gun is a tiny spring and it does not always work. This could just be quirks of my gun i dont know. I replaced it with a 98C shortly after. But if you one of those players who just has to have a pump marker then the maverick is a great affordable marker.
Conclusion: If you are just starting at paintball and dont know what you really want, especialy for woodsball. I recomend paying a little extra for the 98C you'll have a blast. But they do say if you start out with a pump, as long as you dont get discouraged you will be better in the long run.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JRT6 Tuesday, April 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phantom, cockers
Marker Setup: FS-7
Halo TSA
CP drop foward w/on-off
Crossfire compressed air
Freak barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, bottom line for open class players
Strengths: Cheap, accurate, easy maintance, smooth pump, anti-double feed, consistancy
Weaknesses: Lack of upgrades, I don't care for offset feednecks.
Review: I've only played a few games with this pump but so far it is the only marker I've had in years that I can air up without the drama of if it will work that day. I got it used like new for $50- and the only thing I had to get for it was a Allen Paintball bottom line and grip, a elbow and a J&J barrel. The J&J really quiets the marker down compared to the stock barrel and breaks of paint in that barrel doesn't end the game like it does with the stock barrel. Very accurate and very easy on paint. This maker will shoot seconds paint ( accurately) that my autos can't. Very easy to clean and take apart.

Parts are hard to find but Cocker spring kits will work. Like other reviews here have said be sure you don't loose the two pump handle mounting scresws. I went ahead and gave them a tiny torque with a screw driver to make sure they don't come loose during games.
Conclusion: If you want a cheap but competitve pump to try then the Maverick is a good way to go. The Phantoms and Cockers with pump conversion kits in my opinion are only marginally better depending on thier setups and what you want out of pump. The SS25 and Carters are definately a step up but the price is many times higher.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 28th, 2006 at 10:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

harrison Wednesday, September 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used a phantom and chipley with a chipley pump(very nice markers by the way
Marker Setup: ACI maverick deluxe
SP all american(good, fits alot of paint sizes)
Boa constrictor barrel (very very nice but not made any more)
bottom line kit(Get this and a new barrel and you will be set
Recommended
Upgrades:
bottom line
and as many dif bore sized barrels to fit paint
Strengths: Every thing for the price
Weaknesses: Loose bolts
people will complain that you got lucky when you nail em
Review: over all, very impressed. this marker is by no means a phantom or a chipley but none the less an exellent marker(if they were still made, like phantoms, they might be just as good w/ upgrades as a phantom). nice with a bottom line and nice barrel and you would be chasing semis around all day. The first few games you may not enjoy but youll get used to it and prolly never go back to semi. pump is much harder than semi because of the lack of volume of paint you can put in the air in one second. it will in the long run make you a better player. you can fix all loose parts, especially screws with teflon tape
Conclusion: i got mine w/ two barrels and a bottom line kit with a velocity adjuster for $75 at my local shop in georgia. if your getiing into pump don't settle for any thing less, however there are better pumps out there but for 75 bucks, No Flippin Way! you can't beat that deal. i would give it a ten w/ a bottom line and new barrel and a 9 with out. exellent marker aci!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

superd Thursday, December 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Trracer, Phantom
Marker Setup: WGP BOSS Xraider, nothin special
Recommended
Upgrades:
A different barrel, and a remote, and maybe a stock for those that prefer it.
Strengths: -Light
-Accurate
-Durable
-fun to use.
Weaknesses: -Loud
-barrel is innefective
- Air fitting is awkward
Review: For the most part i liked this gun. There was nothing wrong performance wise except for the barrel is prone to break balls. The other thing with the stock barrel i found is that there are not a lot of other barrels that will thread right into the gun, so finding a replacement can be tricky. The other annoyance is the part where you attach your tank, its angled at a point so that anything bigger than a skinny 9oz, will effectivly limit how you aim this gun. I had to use a remote to rid of this problem. Otherwise, i found this gun to be very accurate, and the rear sight rail is an effective tool to aim this gun.
Conclusion: I reccomend this to players who have been playing for a while, and are looking for an inexpensive pump for whatever their reason may be. For a new player, it may be a bit of a pain in the neck to overcome its shortfalls without buying some upgrades.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 22nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have used the samuri and tiger shark and tiger shark is nice but samuri sucks
Marker Setup: Maverick deluxe with a 45 round hopper and 12 gram CO2 and 4 ounce tanks which get alot of shots off when using a pump.
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun is an great gun out of the box you can go to airconcepts.com and you can get an upgraded hammer but the gun works great without it
Strengths: The smooth cocking is nice

You can change springs for higher velocity

The gun can shoot very far at a max velocity of 320 that is more than alotof guns.

Easy to take apart to switch or upgrade parts.

I have not had bad experiece with breaking balls except for in cold weather the balls break but not because of the gun.

Accurate and light good for sniping
Weaknesses: There isn't really anthing wrong with it some say the barrel is loud but only when your not shooting a ball I don't mined a loud gun as long as you hit them
Conclusion: Aci is the best brand out there they make great guns that don't break paintballs
the gun is accurate, consistant, reliable, and looks nice all black and not able to be seen very easy. The Maverick is the best gun for a great price
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 2:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jsmutty Tuesday, April 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tiger shark
Marker Setup: SPO camo System X Vengeance Autococker, 88/4500 crossfire
ACI Maverick
Strengths: Light
simple
accurate
autotrigger
cheap
Weaknesses: LOUD
Review: Its a good solid dependable pump, nothing more nothing less.
You'll witness some interesting responses from players that get shot by a pump.
Just try using a pump, no matter what everyone else is shooting, you'll have fun.
Everyone wants to shoot the lunatic with the pump.
i use mine the last couple of games every time out and its just fun, i play primarily in the woods but don't be intimidated by inflatable fields, just adjust your style, its great.
Conclusion: Pumps are a blast. This one is simply a good reliable pump.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AKM295 Sunday, November 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: m98C
proteam fx sniper stock
Flatline barrel
Intruder x chamber
12 volt revy
16 oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
New pump grip
Strengths: Accurate
Light weight
Durable
Co2 efficent
Decent pump stroke
Weaknesses: Pump arm
Too much plastic
No effective ball detent
auto trigger breaks paint
Review: The maverick is an overall above average pump. I found it was extremly accurate when the velocity was around 270. When i play with it i use a 12 once tank with a butt plate and a standard hopper. It is quite balanced and light weight. The main fault i have with the marker is the ball detent. It appears to be a small spring that hold the ball implace when u pump , but when you return the pump arm to the regular position, the bolt depresses it and it becomes covered. after this , there is nothing holding the paintball inside the gun , so if u are holding your gun at any downward angle , the ball simply roles out. It took me a while to get used to this and i am still having trouble remebering to hold my gun verticly when on the field. Also , the pump arm is a little less than perfect due to the arms positioned on the side of the arm, but this can be overcome by choking up slightly on the pump arm.
Conclusion: A good pump for a beginner, new pump player, and the on/off pump player. there really is no need to upgrade it so it is good to go out of the box. Its major problem is the lack of an effective ball detent and a pump arm that has a tendency to slightly dig into the back of a players palm, making it slightly uncomfortable if held incorrectly.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lifeguardmitch Tuesday, April 21st, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hammer Plus
WGP Sniper II
Marker Setup: Stock everything, 9 ounce tank, 60 round hopper, tasco site
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (I still need to get one someday), tasco site
Strengths: Reliable, accurate, solid built, accurate.
Weaknesses: Loud, hard to find parts.
Review: The Maverick/Trracer is a good solid gun for a beginner or anyone who wants to play stock or just a woods pump game and not fork over a lot of money. It has held up well for myself and my brother who each have one and have gotten them years ago. Since then they've changed names and manufacturers and now are extremely rare to come by but if you can get a hold of one I suggest you do it if you want to be able to still play without having to resort to a Phantom which has pretty much a monopoly on the pump market nowadays.

Even though the gun can be loud a ported barrel can help reduce the noise and make it a little more accurate in the long run.
Conclusion: Good solid gun with a good solid reputation. Great for beginners and pro's alike.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Monkeyboy13 Friday, October 24th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle pumps(they suck)
Marker Setup: ACI Maverick with JJ Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
red dot sight
Strengths: Super light, accurate, reliable, good sight rail, durable
Weaknesses: The powertube's fragile, stock barrel sucks, velocity adjustment, and parts are hard to find.
Review: The Maverick is a great starter pump. it shoots ball on ball all day long and has pretty smoothe action. I would definetely reccomend this to anyone starting pump play. It's cheap, durable, accurate, and light. I love how this thing shoots. it has almost no kick and is pretty quiet with a ported barrel. I love my Maverick. it is a great gun for crawling through the woods with. It has a very low profile and isnt very long. All i can say is if you want a super awesome pump gun for really cheap get the Maverick!
Conclusion: It's a great starter pump for dirt cheap, I would reccomned anyone to get it, but you will want to get some spare parts for it because those parts are hard to find!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media