paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick / ACI Maverick

ACI Maverick Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ACI

Buy ACI Maverick

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ACI Maverick
[ View Photos (9) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 108
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
It incorporates the patented Tru-Flow™ valve which improves durability and gas efficiency. It features a steel reinforced trigger, an anti-double cocking and double feeding device, factory auto trigger, slotted field strip screws, 12" interchangeable precision honed barrel and a full one-year warranty.
Product Availability 
The ACI Maverick is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
maverick777 Monday, April 14th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: aci maverick b e pocket hopper gas thru stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
stock/or bottomline setup
if a barrel will make it quieter then barrel
if possible ball detents
spring kit
Strengths: Accurate out of the box
Auto trigger
Smooth pump stroke
Light
Cheap
Weaknesses: Pump and trigger made from very thick plastic
Loud
Tank position
Ball detents
Review: this gun is a great pump gun for the money you pay for it i got mine for $80 brand new
out of the box it has some few minor flaws such as no ball detents and velocity adjustment. the gun is very loud so you may want to look in to a new barrel.if you use anything out the back any bigger than a 9 oz you probably will not be able to look down the sight. there are solutions to these problems. J&J makes a 14in barrel for the maverick. put some electric tape in the threaded side of the barrel to prevent 99% of rollouts. the gun comes with 2 springs a heavy and light use the heavy it puts you at 290-300fps. either get a remote or a bottom line setup to fix the sight problem or get a higher sight. this gun will really improve your game and will not burn a hole in your pocket for the gun and paint.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a cheap way into pump for under $100 buy this it is very accurate and does not break and save a ton of paint
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 16th, 2008 at 1:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

weltsnbrusis Wednesday, August 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
this is my first pump
Marker Setup: red dp fusion
black hyper color
halo with rip and speed feed
crossy stub
RAPS
Recommended
Upgrades:
a barrel for quietness
red dot sight is a must
Strengths: Very accurate
Cheap
Simple 4 screw design makes field stripping a breeze
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is loud
Velocity adjustment
Review: I have always wanted a phantom. Not a vsc but just a bone stock phantom with the backbottle and a feedneck. When i was searching pbnation I read that the maverick was a great alternative for more than half the price.

STRENGTHS:
-It is really easy to take care of, just unscrew 4 thumb screws and lube all the shiny stuff.
-affordable
-most nelson based parts (phantom parts) are interchangeabale
-I get about 60 shots off of a 12 gram
WEAKNESSES:
-The thumb screws come loose on their own, not a big problem just screw them back in
-stock barrel is loud, I dont understand why people think its a strength
-it comes with two main hammer springs, immeadiately put in the stronger one. then you have to fine tune it with a really long allen key which is really annoying
Conclusion: If you are even thinking about playing pump paintball I can assure that you will enjoy it. Get a maverick if you are unsure (like i was) or get a phantom which will last you forever. As long as you take care of the maverick it too will last you forever.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

red2k1tib Friday, March 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Sniper II
Phantom
Razor Back
Black Widow
Spit Fire
Bush Master
Marker Setup: Sniper II for pump with old J&J hard chrome barrel (really mad at J&J for stopping production on them) etc.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None. For the price/performance ratio, I would'nt ruin it by putting more money in the gun. If you must however add upgrades rather than buying a sniper or a phantom. I would recommend a euro kit (bottom line adaptor ((which is pretty odd if you ever see pictures of it installed on the maverick.)), and a barrel of some sort.
Strengths: Price
Accuracy
smooth operation (for a pump under 200 bucks)
very light weight.
Weaknesses: No factory bottom line
A pain to adjust velocity with out supplied special tool.
Review: (all of my claims for this gun, unless otherwise noted are based on the fact that the marker is inexpensive.)
The gun is very light. So light in fact you have to pretend you are firing a rifle when you pull the trigger or you wil pull your shots off. You have to constantly tell yourself to squeeze instead of pull. The auto-trigger is surprisingly quick and smooth. The gun is so slim that you can cradle the gun with one arm and semi-accurately auto-trigger on the run. (you know for those two occasions in your whole paintball playing life that auto-trigger will actually get you out of a jam).
The marker's accuracy is about the same as a short barrel phantom. Ther marker being so light makes for a very unbalanced marker when a air source larger than 9 ounces is used.
Conclusion: My conclusion is that this is a great entry level pump that you could play with competitively even with the big boys. There is quite a bit separating it from the sniper or the phantom, but if you want to play or compete with a cheap pump gun, this may be the one for you. The lack of a bottom line kit is the most frustrating thing about this marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ConleyTGN Friday, February 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SL 68 II. It took lots of tinkering but once tuned the SL was very nice. I'm still trying to get the Maverick to work the way I want it to.
Marker Setup: I started with a spyder but quickly switched. My primary is a Tippmann M-98 with a 12 volt VL Revy (Pre Brass Eagle). I use a Smart Parts All American 12" barrel. I run remote line from a 6+1 harness to keep the marker light and small. I also have a Tippmann 98 custom I bought in case of a breakdown. I never use it, so it's become my loaner. Recently to save money I've been playing pistol, I use a PT extreme, and a PT extreme Junior. It keeps me down near 150 -200 rounds in a day (it definitely draws attention to see a dude running around with just a pistol on an air bunker field, but trust me I recieve lots of up close welts). A long time ago I bought a Maverick pump to try the pump style of play.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Air system. Barrel. Heck throw an adgitated hopper on there if you're one for overkill.
Strengths: Cheep and fun.
Weaknesses: Liquid in the valve. Difficult to aim. Not many upgrades.
Review: OK this might be long winded but I have to tell my story.

I bought the Maverick because I thought the pump style of play might be a good way to save money and brush up on some of my skills. I took it out several times and granted it was fun but the performance bothered me a bit. I broke paint in it often and it would require a good tear down and cleaning before it would shoot remotely straight again. One of the main problems I had was getting the velocity to be consistent. I could set it at 250 and it would at times spike all the way up to 350. I came to the conclusion that the problem stems from plugging the tank directly into the valve. The headache of trying to get it working right eventually prompted me to toss it in the bottom of my gear box and forget about it.

4 years later…

Just recently I was struck by an idea. I decided to part out my old Spyder I never use, to make my pump gun pimp. I screwed my expansion chamber into the tank adaptor. Then I removed the Maverick grip and amazingly the Spyder grip screwed right into its place. With the spyder grip on instead of the original I could use my Spyder bottom-line to keep the tank low and out of the way. I also put the adaptor on backwards to make the tank stick out foreword instead of back, keeping the marker small and tight. It might feel awkward with a 20 oz tank but come on people this is a pump gun, 20 oz is a little excessive, I intend to use my little 3.5 oz tank. I've yet to test this new setup but I'm hoping it solves the problems and I can finally try to become that sweet pump player I always wanted to be. My only wish now would be a large bore barrel for under 20 bones.

Even without the new upgrades For 65 bucks I definitely did get my money's worth.

It'll make you different than the rest of the paintballers out there. Shootin a pump against the modern electro markers makes you either stupid, crazy or, or jsut plain out gutsy.
Conclusion: I'd buy it if you're looking for a change in the game.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 3rd, 2006 at 12:51 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Lonestar2222009 Thursday, January 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
phantom
Marker Setup: fully customized Spyder XTRA with rocking trigger and Evolution 2 hopper & ACI Maverick (pump) with a ricochet G2k hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Red-dot scope.
Strengths: Accurate, loud
Weaknesses: None
Review: when i used this gun for the first time i thought "is this worth it, this gun looks like it will fallapart the first time i use it." but i fired it a few times and it hit the target in the same spot every time. This thing is accurate and highly sturdy. If you got some extra money laying around and are looking for a nice pump buy one of these. I reccomend this over a phantom.
Conclusion: i recommend this to anyone that has the ability to find it (hard to find in Minnesota), when i found i only paid $30.00 bucks and the guy sold it to me.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jr28 Tuesday, December 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i haven't used any other pumps
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c w/ 12" thunderpig barrel, 32 degrees remote coil w/ slide check
aci maverick stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
definitely a quieter barrel and a good red dot sight, it's also best to use a smaller tank or remote with this marker-it is so light the tank overbalances it-I reccomend a 9oz tank w/ butt plate
Strengths: VERY accurate
simple construction
solid feel, but comfortably light
little ball breakage
efficient gas consumption
Weaknesses: stock sights are too low
VERY loud
death to cheap balls
outweighed by co2 tanks
Review: this gun is really pretty amazing in terms of accuracy. the other reviews are right-it is easy to hit a person-sized target at out to 50 yards, more if you've got no wind. below that is it ball-on-ball accuracy, and it a dream to snap shoot.
The loudness is alternately a liability and an advantage-if you don't care about stealth, you will have fun seeing the expression on your buddie's faces. If you DO care about stealth, get a new barrel. J&J Ceramics offers one for $45.
With a 9oz tank, plastic buttpad, reddot sight mounted on the sight rail, black elbow&hopper, it looks VERY cool, and it is easy to wrap w/ ghillie strips or some such camo.
last points: make sure you buy quality paint to feed it, and keep your velocity under 300fps otherwise you're gonna have a liquid shotgun on your hands. it is also a good idea to buy extra cup seals, mine wore out in a couple of months. action village sells them under aci maverick for almost nothing
Conclusion: Get this marker if you are more concerned with accuracy than speed. you won't waste paint or air, and you won't regret it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonicscope47 Friday, May 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Hammer and Tiger Shark
Marker Setup: ACI Hornet w/ 3.5 oz and pocket loader
Spyder Hammer w/ 12gram adapter
Recommended
Upgrades:
The stock barrel has a huge bore, so either buy nice(big) paint or buy a new barrel, there's two barrels still available for this gun, a JJ ceramic barrel or an ACI gravity barrel.
The JJ can be found at jjperformance.com and the gravity barrel is on Ebay.

You may also want to consider a spring kit. The gun comes with a 180 fps spring in it, It also comes with a 300fps spring in the box. But the 300fps spring shoots 350fps to 280fps so its kinda jumpy.
Strengths: The auto-trigger helps when shooting a multiple targets at close range.
Weaknesses: The barrel causes paint to pop, so invest in a nice squeggy, or new barrel
Review: Technicaly this a review on the ACI Hornet, same as Maverick just undercocking.
Its a great pump gun. Shoots great. If you want to save money on paint and air This gun is great. It aint no phantom or buzzard but its shoots straight and far just the same. If your serious about stock paintball get a phantom, If your really serious about stock then get a buzzard, If you have an autococker get a pump-rod for it. if you just want to play paintball without spending alot of money, get this gun it's accurate, efficient, and reliable can't get much better than that. It's still fun playing with a pump gun, just alot more challenging. Plus I still strike fear into the hearts of Newbs.
Conclusion: Great if you wanna play stock without spending $300 dollars on a phantom or if you just wanna play paintball without spending a fortune.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 6th, 2005 at 3:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SuperTrooper_OT Wednesday, March 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
only pump ive used
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 w/Response Trigger
DOP Air Regulator
DOP front grip
crossfire 47/3000psi
Remote Coil
Response Trigger

Marker #2
2k4 prostock
12v revvy
47ci/3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't know, only tested.
Strengths: Fun, fun, fun, accurate, fun
Weaknesses: I'm more used to semi autos.
Review: My friends wanted to see me use a pump and the field happened to have one. So i placed my 98c aside (I'm now a proud owner of a tippy A5). First off, this gun will really make you pick your shots(well for me because they only supplied me with 1,10 round tube so i thought i would be reloading lots. It turns out this gun has amazing accuracy and can have an alright ROF for a pump. But because its a pump, it wouldn't compare its ROF to a semi auto. I found that this gun was very light and manuverable and durable. Alright now heres a major upside. It wouldn't be surprising if you could last inbetween 100 - 200 paintballs in a full days play. It's consistent with co2.
Conclusion: It's fun to just play around with or even use it as your Primary marker. For those of you who own a pump, your team members will sure appreciate you. They have gotten me out of tight situations when the pump owner was a bit behind mid field(thats how good of a shot it has).This gun is a must have if you like to snipe or even rushing the odd time.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 4th, 2005 at 6:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jk_6109 Saturday, February 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Psyco Balistics Super Bolt autococker with
torpedo reg,
chrome wgp hinge,
1 black qev,
crome beaver tail (from an 04 vert),
12v revy,
drop and on/off,
and 68/300 crossfire tank
Soon to get: SS freak back or maybe just a black aluminum one (already got the rest of the kit) and a micro rock lpr

Backup: ACI Maverick pump
Recommended
Upgrades:
Recomended:
-Barrel (if you can find one)
-Small CO2 (if you have all day air)
-Small hopper (the Brass Eagle 50 round hopper is great)

Other "custom" upgrades:
-Verticle air addapter (great for 12 grams and 4 oz. CO2 tanks)
-.45 grip (stock is still pretty compfortable though)
-Stock class tube (great for lowering your profile and its a stock class marker for cheap)
Strengths: -Price
-Size
-Weight
-Simple
Weaknesses: -Loud
-Upgrades
Review: I bought this marker used a little while ago for a backup. I also bought it because I always wanted to try pump play. I was impressed with the performance of this gun. To use this gun to its full potential get a small 50 round hopper or get a stock class feed. Also get a small co2 tank, around a 4 oz.. Doing this will make the gun super light (full set up only a couple of pounds). I thought that having a super light gun wouldnt help that much, but it does.

The performance is what you pay for. Its not really that accurate, but i didnt really have a good barrel match. Other than that this is a very well made pump.

Conclusion: A great pump for its price. However not so great stock, but can be upgrade, if you can find the parts, to a great pump marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pulseXX Thursday, February 10th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI phantom.
ACI Hornet.
Marker Setup: Stock Aci Maverick.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrell.
Or bottomline if you wish.
Strengths: Loud.
Accurate.
Auto trigger.
Closed bolt.
Weaknesses: Comes with 2 springs one is a pointless weak Spring used for about 150FPS.
Review: If your looking for a pump i would get this its cheap and preforms the same as all other pumps all you pay for is the name(cough Phantom cough) get it u will be surprised. this gun is slick looking and the pump stock is about a inch a little more then the width of a paintball and this gun is Closed bolt.................Accuracy is good!
Conclusion: amazing pump for the price i think you should get this before you think about a 300$ pump this one cost me 68 U.S.D$$ // 100 C.D.N$$
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media