paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2

Sheridan PGP2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP2

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP2
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 67
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sheridan PGP2 has proven its value in tournament after tournament and has built a rugged reputation at paintball fields across the country. With its solid brass construction, dual fiberoptic sights and heavyweight feel, there's no mystery to the PGP2's popularity. Known to many as the most reliable back-up marker ever issued, this is one tough performer.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Coenen Sunday, January 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original PGP...didn't use it enough to get a real good gauge, I was mostly on the wrong end of it.
Marker Setup: A Tippmann 98 Custom with some stuff doesn't really matter here.
I've done some polishing on the PGP's barrel if that counts for much.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Most of the stuff you do to it has to be custom work so the sky's pretty much the limit. Really except for honing out the paint overspray in the barrel there's nothing it NEEDs, but still some stuff you can do.
Strengths: Durable
Intimidating
Gets respect
Accurate
Efficient
Weaknesses: ROF lacking(duh)
Finish is lacking
Overspray in barrel
Complete stripping
Review: I've finally used this thing enough that I feel up to writing a review.
I wanted a accurate reliable gun for Stock Class play and as a back up, I got exactly what I wanted.
Out Of the Box: I was immediately impressed by the looks and handling of the marker. It's contruction is almost all brass which makes it heavy for it's size, but I feel that it balances very well. The pump stroke isn't very hard and the action is sure. I did however have some paint overspray in the muzzle(it's the rough black stuff), on advice from users at the PGP owners group and this site I set out to hone this out. I did it with a "Nail Genie manicure tool by alternating the finest grit sand paper and buffing heads until the muzzle was a smooth and shiny gold color. This IMO made a difference.
On the Field: I wasn't really planning to use the marker as a primary, but I was having a bad day and figured I had nothing to lose, so I pulled it out and used it for my primary. Impressed is not the proper way to describe my pleasure with the way the marker preforms on the field. It's small profile makes it ideal for tucking into small bunkers and snap shooting, it offer inceased mobility over a semi. The next thing that impressed me was its accuracy, point, shoot, the ball goes where you want. I like it very much, it is a challenge to use against semis and is especailly useful on a day where there are lots of first timers at the field.
Performance: I already mentioned it's accuracy. On a warm day(high 60'sF) it gets a fairly consistent 30 shots per 12gram. The velocity is easily adjustable and you should be able to get it around 270-280fps with out much trouble at all. It's loud as a mother and coupled with its sleek looks it really impresses other people, be ready to answer lots of questions about it when you pull it out at the field. It is also very easy to field strip, it takes me about 30 seconds with my eyes closed.
Gripes: Firstly the black finish is wearing off of mine, you can see the brassen finish under the black around the pump arm and CO2 changer. When you take the grip frame off do it CAREFULLY, there is a TINY, I mean TINY spring and ball bearing that works the safety, they will fly out, and if you aren't careful you WILL lose them. Then when you take the Hammer/Velocity adjuster cap off, you are NOT supposed to screw it all the way back in, if you do the marker will not cock properly, if you have problems with the gun not cocking properly turn that cap out 1 turn and it should probably fix you problem.

I believe that about covers it, check out the pump/stock forum here or the PGP owner's group at pgpog.org for even more info.
Conclusion: If you want a good stock class marker that can serve as both back up and main(if you're brave) this is it, mine is worth every penny I paid for it. It does have its flaws though, I'll give it a solid 8.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 11th, 2004 at 10:36 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Tony #1 BUCS Monday, March 31st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nelspot 007
Marker Setup: pmi marker with bob long reg evil bolt,
Spyder , Tl+ , evil reg , acs bolt , evil valve ,spring kit , xsf board ,dye sticky grips
Spyder E99- total custom only body stock
Maverick with 12 inch Taso barrle
Palmers Typhoon = :)
Custom Palmers SuperStocker- Blazer 45 grip bottam line.. ported barrle, reg,
05 Ego- Upgraded
Bob Long Defiant2 - Upgraded
Sheridian-Semi auto
ULE-Automag- Leavle 10 / X Valve
And a Couple diffrent other Pumps
Recommended
Upgrades:
Polish inside the Barrle - Detant or nail polish - Bolt mod when I got my pgp2 brand new . The balls were exploding in barrle a lot!!!
New paint job / upgrade the ball feed gate to some type of fast feed.
Trigger shoe
Strengths: Small-Light-Reliable-durabul-shoots straight-looks sick
Weaknesses: Paint job weres out
12grams onlystock
Feedgate brecks
Paint inside barrle end.
Trigger shoe
Review: I leave this marker in my locker at my home field were I use it during the week agenst renters . I love the thing but if u do not have good paint some times it will not shoot the straightest u would want but on the norm it will shoot striaght anywere from 50-100feet and this is indoor. I had to make some mod's on the marker like poslishing inside of the barrle to get rid of extra paint that was sprayed inside of barrle / putting a indent on side of marker to stop ball rollouts / A bolt mod because balls were exploding inside the barrle at first all the time aparently the bolt would push a paintball right on top of hole were air would enter barrle and ball would shoot straight up in barrle and breck the ball before it shot out. Note after I did the mod it never happened agian. Getting a new feed gate would be nice also mine broke not long after I had my marker in reguler us ( I did some upgrades on my pgp2 theres a pic of it in the pgp2 pics name is BigT. I have also upgraded the feedgate but it's not on the pic on pbreview
Conclusion: I would recomend this marker to any player looking for a good reliable stock-class marker for under $150 u cant go wrong I cant remember what I paid for mine but it was on sale when I brought it and I love useing the thing its not my main marker but whenever I play with it I have a blast ...
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 25th, 2010 at 9:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

folder504 Saturday, January 25th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Stingray with a Warp feed and a ton of other stuff
2 other Rays
Rainmaker
PGP
Tigershark
Recommended
Upgrades:
A holster comes in handy.
Strengths: These things are a blast to play with. They are ridiculously accurate, extremely reliable, fairly efficient, and after it gets broken in, almost never breaks balls. It is so much fun to play with just the PGP against semi's. Also, the sights come in handy. I love mine.
Weaknesses: At first, they break some paint, but they should be broken in after a few hundred rounds. After they are broken in, they almost never break paint. I broke 1 out of 300 the last time I played with mine.
Conclusion: This is simply a wonderful little gun. I love playing with just my PGP in speedball games where everyone else has a semi. It's just fun! They are WELL worth the money. I highly reccomend them. I love mine.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

S/C Splinter Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom Micro VSC45
02 WGP PumpCocker
Marker Setup: Custom VSC Mini Phantom
8" carbon fiber barrel
Various feed tubes
12gram / 4oz co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
- cooper t bolt (pushes the ball a little further down the barrel)
- anything you want from palmers pursuit shop
Strengths: Brass is nice
it is stock class
Upgraded it is a very good marker
Weaknesses: Failure in its design
Quality is hit or miss.
Plastic, bad air port design.
Review: Look,
i waited 2 years to review this marker and i am amazed at the wide variety of opinions expressed here. first and foremost this is NOT a "back up" sidearm. i see people all the time who carry a 20lb. armotech, 8-140rd. tubes, large remote bottles and a PGP for "backup"? yet i have never seen ANYONE set down there gear and pull there pgp. it just does not make sense and it would be better to just carry an extra 10paintballs(jeez that is a lot of paint). also i have seen reviews complaining that the marker was not as accurate as "everyone" says. or "my friend can hit something with his marker and the pgp cant. the problem is the USER and not the marker.
ok,
so now we are talking about a stock class pistol. and as a stock pistol it is not very good. the pgp2 was made to fix the problems of the original (velocity adjuster, speed-loader for co2, and speedloader for paintballs). and it DID fix those problems. but when the pgp2 was made they overlooked a HUGE problem:
the co2 shoots up into the barrel in the exact same place the ball rests. so the chance of a paintball being slammed straight up and exploding is very good. there is a few fixes to this:
1 - cooper t makes a bolt that pushes the ball forward.
2 - "brush cutter" balls like Blue Streak seem to take the abuse (but they hurt!)
3 - (and i think this is why some people don't have breaking problems) SMALLER PAINT will be loose enough to roll forward (and maybe out of the barrel).

2-4-06 The little PGP that could.

After a long relationship with my phantom that dang pgp started coming around again. Reminded of all my failures with it in the past I decided to take it out to a speedball game in WI. The changes I made to the pgp seemed to make a workd of differance.
- I removed most of the feedtube and replaced it with 3/4" thinwall copper pipe, with a phantom feedgate on the buisness end. With that done I had no complaint's about slow reloads.
-I removed the pump. Since the pgp bolt has ball bearings to keep it in place while firing I saw no real use for it. I simply grab the bolt with my left hand, pull & push.
-I also added a small piece of velcro to the bolt face (fuzzy side). This along with not holding the pump forward stopped all of my breaking issues.

The PGP worked like a champ and I found myself racking up the eliminations.
Since then I side tubed it and it & replaced the triggerframe with a mod'd WGP 'Cocker frame. This little fist full of brass has become my main and helped cure me of a long overlooked problem I have...

Left eye dominate, right handed.

What that means is, I tend to sight with mt left eye (even with both eyes open) and shoot with my right hand. This makes pistols the best choice for me since I can hold them directly in front of me. It also helped give me a new outlook on the game & busted the myth that there is a right or wrong way to hold a paintball gun.
Conclusion: In conclusion this marker is out of production. so if that tells me anything it says crossman realized design flaws. I tried to love this marker for 2 years but in the end i just cant trust it to work when i need it. I suggest a mini phantom if you want a pump pistol. Or wait for the "new" pgp rumored to be in production.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 5th, 2006 at 7:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

easix6 Saturday, April 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Older PGP, Tippmann SL-68II, PMI-I, SL-68, Most Tippmann markers.
Marker Setup: PGP2K with custom "monorail" mod from http://home.rochester.rr.com/sixspgp.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Remove the plastic and replace it with a copper monorail mod.
Strengths: Simple, accurate, cheap to operate.
Weaknesses: None after Plastic parts are replaced.
Review: Received my PGP2K a bit over a month ago...Didn't take me long to tinker the plastic parts off of it. I added my custom "monorail" mod to the gun with in 2 days. The design for the mod is free at my site http://home.rochester.rr.com/sixspgp . This really helped in making the marker sterdier. I enjoy and like this marker (PGP2K) more than the original. I have been playing paintball since 1987 and this is one of the best stock class configurations I have seen. For the money, it beats all other markers on the market.
Conclusion: The stock gun is very nice to shoot. It is made better with replacement parts for the feed tube to replace the plastic parts. I strongly recomend this product, especially to those who want a nice stock-class gun at a reasonable price. With a bit of tinkering this gun is better than the original PGP... I recomend it to all who read this.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dartheo Thursday, June 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: DM3
Reloader B
Tadao 5.0
Evolve Bolt
CP Blade Trigger
ST Feedneck
Trinity On/Off
68/4500 Crossfire CF LP
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Sturdy
Light
Accurate
Weaknesses: Out of the box(see review)

Edit: CO2 Puncture
Review: Well I had originally picked this up to help with my accuracy and ammo conservation(as you can only shoot as fast as you can pump with only 10 balls in the loader). It did just that.

Strenths

Sturdy - This thing is a tank, mine has taken a good amount of beating and still shoots great.

Light - Fairly light, I haven't compaired it to any other pistols, but I can run around all day with it and not have a problem.

Accurate - It's damn accurate. Anything withing 50 feet I can hit dead on with this.

Weaknesses

Out of the box - When I just got it, I took it out to play, wasnt too impressed with it. When I played with it next, I completely took it apart, oiling every moving part and cleaning it out. All I have to say is DAMN. I played against my cousin with his Spyder Electra, first round I got owned (I'm lazy, usually a back player), second round, got him right in the face.

Edit: CO2 Puncture - Out of the box, it's pretty hard to change out the CO2, once I put a little oil in the threads, it punched with ease.
Conclusion: This is an awesome marker and I would recommend it to anyone that wants to work on their accuracy and ammo conservation. Or even just for fun, playing with this thing is a blast.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 8th, 2006 at 10:26 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pawdude Thursday, May 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: 2k3 sts, 2003 aa barrel
PGP stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing
Strengths: sights are cool
nice strong feeling
basically all brass, some plastic
nice and simple
Weaknesses: field stripping, easy but for the rod
Review: The marker when i got it.... WOW! Nice and cool.
there were alot of complaints about paint over spray but i had none.
I had some gooey green stuff in it though, it was either a thick lashing of lube or a paintball tested at the factory. Anyway the field stripping is super simple, but removing the initial rod i had trouble with. But i eventually got it. I like how the c02 cartrige is dispersed also.
The sights are amazing red, to green. AMAZING.
The pump mechanism isn't that hard either, not too soft, but not to hard.
Highly durable, i love it, pwn the pros and make yourself feel good:)

Amazingly accurate, a bit loud but same as all markers.

I had no paint breaks yet, and by the reviews it sounds as if the paintbreaks came from paint over spray. So if you buy it (BUY IT!!) make sure to squeegee your barrel, with a jerk squeegeee, by removing the internals first.
:) buy buy buy
Conclusion: BUY IT! Though they are getting harder to find now, the place i ordered from paintballgear.ca had to look for other supplyers to get it, causing a month long wait.
Buy it before it's alll gone!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

theguyonthenet Monday, December 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extreme
BE Talon
Marker Setup: Piranha STS G2 w/ 14 inch razzor barrel, expansion chamber(soon) and dye sticky grips and the PGP
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster
Strengths: 1. Solid and durable- I dropped mine down a hill and picked it up and it worked fine
2.Intimidation- You can see the fear in their eyes when they see this coming around a bunker at them
3. Accurate- With my PGP the ball goes about 20-25 metres(I live in Canada, go metric system!) but then drops like a stone
4.Cheaper than other sidearms and twice as durable
5.Great on CO2- I get about 40 shots before the balls go less than 12 feet
Weaknesses: I'm nervous about the plastic things on the magazine but other than that it rocks!!!!!

Also you need a holster for it because it's just a little too heavy to pack around in your hand
Conclusion: Buy it or I will come to your house and eat your childeren!!
But honestly it is a great marker for stock play and a wonderful sidearm and well worth the cost though it only cost me $120 wich would be about $80 in the states. Bottomline is buy it!!!! For the love of God buy it!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

firekillex Tuesday, July 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom

Bt 16 Barrel
Car stock
sight with rail and remote coil
cyclone feed

PGP2K sidearm
Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Holster
- Custom a ball detent
Strengths: Durable
Intimidating
Accurate
Efficient
Compact
Weaknesses: No Ball Detent
Review: Out Of the Box: I was immediately impressed by the looks and handling of the marker. It's contruction is almost all brass which makes it heavy for it's size, but I feel that it balances very well. The pump stroke isn't very hard and the action is sure. The holster that I bought fit the PGP nicely at my side, it carrys about 4 12 gram CO2 and 2 cigar tubes
On the Field: I wasn't really planning to use the marker as a primary, but I was having a bad day and figured I had nothing to lose, so I pulled it out and used it for my primary. Impressed is not the proper way to describe the way the marker preforms on the field. It's small profile makes it ideal for tucking into small bunkers. I was playing woodsball with semi's and ther marker types and got at least 15 kills. The next thing that impressed me was its accuracy, point, shoot, the ball goes where you want. I like it very much, it is a challenge to use against semis and is especailly useful on a day where there are lots of first timers at the field.
Performance: I already mentioned it's accuracy. It gets a fairly consistent 30 shots per 12gram. The velocity is easily adjustable and you should be able to get it around 270-280fps with out much trouble at all.
Gripes: Their is no ball detent so if you point it down for a long period of time the ball will roll out.

Conclusion: If you want a good stock class marker that can serve as both back up and main this is it, mine is worth every penny I paid for it. It does have its flaws though, I'll give it a 9 out of ten
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WithoutRemorse Monday, April 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI USP
WGP Sniper II
Marker Setup: Green WGP '03 Autococker
-CCM pump kit
-BE 40 round hopper
-Evil Detonator
-Crossfire 47/3000 air tank

Sheridan PGP2
Tippmann A5
Tippmann 68 Carbine
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster
Clean out the inside of the barrel with a bore brush
Sand off that nasty paint and let the brass shine!
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Strengths:
-Extremely accurate at close-medium range
-Very light. I can easily sprint to key positions before the enemy is even 3/4 the way there.
-12 gram efficiency is decent. 25-30 shots on a good day
-No more pod packs to lug around
-Loud and intimidating
-It's a pump

Weaknesses:
-The plastic feed gate will break eventually, no matter how careful you are.
-Pump stroke is somewhat hard. It's not really a big deal, though


Well, I picked up this tough little marker last fall to get a taste of stock class play. I have not had one regret prior to doing so. Thanks to my PGP, I now have two pumps, and play pump on a regular basis.

The first couple of games I played, the paint shot randomly left and right. After sanding down the barrel with a bore brush, my PGP's accuracy matches my 'Cocker's. Can you say, "one shot, one kill"?

Conclusion: Buy this marker. Now. It makes a great backup and an awesome primary if you're brave enough.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 23rd, 2007 at 8:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media