paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2

Sheridan PGP2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP2

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP2
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 67
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sheridan PGP2 has proven its value in tournament after tournament and has built a rugged reputation at paintball fields across the country. With its solid brass construction, dual fiberoptic sights and heavyweight feel, there's no mystery to the PGP2's popularity. Known to many as the most reliable back-up marker ever issued, this is one tough performer.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Gozer Friday, November 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Old PGP (see my comments below)
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom
R/T Trigger
X-Chamber
Richochet AK hopper
J & J 14" Ceramic
PS Rocketcock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A holster, maybe?
Strengths: - Strong brass construction, looks nice and businesslike.
- Reliable and durable.
- Accurate
- Good CO2 efficiency, and easy to change powerlets
- Good sights
- Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: In comparison to the older PGP, I don't like the barrel extension of the PGP2 - it just looks strange and the effect on accuracy seems to be negligible, compared to the old one.
I'm not big on the plastic sliding loader piece in the back, the little metal tab holding it in is prone to flying off (I taped mine in place). I liked the metal plug on the old PGP better, even though it was prone to being dropped.
A pretty heavy gun to have as a sidearm, you really feel it on your belt.
As you can imagine, pretty limited upgrades.
Conclusion: A great stock pistol, this was the first gun I bought and I really enjoyed playing with it.
Every once in a while I'll pull it out and use it for a round, against the guys with semis. You'd be surprised how well it performs, gotten a few kills by sneaking up on people and putting a single round in their grille.
I like the older PGP better just for asthetic reasons, either one is a great marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pnda_express Friday, December 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost all pumps except for the deuce.
Marker Setup: Combat Connections Enforcer running a 10 oz and a 50 round hopper. Also use 2 kp-2's, 2 kp-3's, 3pgp's, P-68, PMI-II, Piranha SB, and lots and lots more pumps.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Lots of replacemtn magazine caps or make your own. Nickel plating, battle grips, trigger shoe, and milled body slots
Strengths: Everything
Weaknesses: Magazine plugs are plastic
Review: There good guns and easy to mid and tinker with. Shoot well. Only thing youll need is to either make your own or get replacment magazine feed plugs. Shoots same as the older pgp really. Can hit the balls of a flea from 50 feet. Very accurate, have a cartridge valve, built like a tank, never chopped a ball, easy to strip once youve been working on them as long as I have, co2 efficient.
Conclusion: Sweet stock class gun. There dirt cheap nowadays and the possibiliteis are endless.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 26th, 2005 at 6:18 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SplaterPaintbal Thursday, November 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: dont know a guy let me use it
Strengths: light
Weaknesses: none i cant think of
Review: Some guy last summer let me use this gun because mine was breaking balls, when i took this gun out, i did very good with it, it was light, easy to load paintballs and co2 (12gram). What sucked is when i was one on one with a other person (me and him were the only ones left on speedball) and we where at a bunker, in front of me, i shot him in the head and he didnt feel it, co2 was low, so the ref called game because time was out and i saw a broken ball on his head.

this a a good gun for speedball if u know what ur doing.
Conclusion: geget this gun its great, and great backup, buy it and u wont be disappointed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tuckas Monday, April 21st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ariakon Overlord : too breakable, too heavy and lacks the PG's accuracy as far as I'm concerned.
Zeus G2: Only used as a loaner when aforementioned Overlord died, but more favorable.
Delta 68: Don't bother.
SL-68 Pump: Rugged and reliable like the PGP, but not as accurate, and the ancient 40 round hopper is a pain in the butt to reload.
Marker Setup: Tippman Pro Carbine with an 18 inch barrel and an expansion chamber. Ariakon Overlord in a custom cross draw holster.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, unless you would like a lanyard ring for the back of the feeder tube.
Strengths: Accuracy, Reliability, Manueverability, Draw Speed, Balance, C02 efficiency, I could go on...
Weaknesses: The highwaymen that run the Crossman repair shop.
Review: The PGP2 was my first stock/pistol marker, and I bought mine for 100 bucks from the now closed Splatz paintball in Bangor Maine. I snagged myself a 20 dollar tac holster to wear it in, and a box of CO2 cartridges and headed for a pickup game the day after I bought it. The game was 3 on 4, in a semi flooded gravel pit, with spruce forest and muddy moose wallows. I had been practicing and chornographed my PGP on cans and my .22 pistol target the day before, and was hoping for the extreme accuracy it showed during practice. The PGP payed off with taking out an electric auto wielding player with the first ball out of it, and I fell in love with this awesome little pistol.
Over the next few years of paintball and woods capture the flag tournaments, the PGP became more and more my primary gun. It really was the ticket in games with small numbers of people, especially when stealth and woodscraft was a part of the game. I became so comfortable with this gun that I found myself tossing my always chopping Diablo Mongoose and charging into situations with the PGP in hand.
The major strength of this little marker, is that it just shoots straight. The ball flies out of the barrel in a straight line ,especially if you use larger bore paint. This lends the gun to many long distance shots, as with a little experience you can quickly elevate you're aim and become a terror from quite a distance. A memorable moment was knocking out a player harassing our group with a flatline A-5 with one ball from the PGP.
Unfortunately, all good things must come to an end. This was sadly true with my little PGP. After four years of playing hard, in all sorts of weather, arena's and games, somEthing I can't figure out just quit inside the little gun. I attempted to revive it by sending it to the Crossman repair shop, but that was the biggest mistake I made. These guys are a bunch of pirates, my gun was gone for four months, I was out 80 bucks, not counting shipping and handling, and the marker I got returned to me just was still not operable. My problem had been a broken CO2 piercing knob, but what they had done was somehow hammer in a cartridge till it took, and then they wrapped up and shipped back my PGP, (gassed up and loaded mind you) through the mail. When I recieved it, I went out to test fire it, only to discover the gun was already gassed up. It took 2 shots, before the CO2 inside expired, and I could not get another one to take for the life of me. So now my PGP is relegated to it's box in the top of my closet. But I do plan on getting another soon!
Conclusion: If you play woods, scenario or pickup ball, this pistol can be your most trusted marker, primary or otherwise. I will step up on a soapbox and say that it is the best production paintball pistol made. Compared to this relic from the time when paintball was PAINTBALL, most modern pistol designs are poorly balanced, gaudy, accessories.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ericfreakyv Sunday, March 19th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Other cheap pumps
Marker Setup: ION , NDZ fire body, CP barrel, QEV, CCM no-rise feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cant really do anything
Strengths: Durable, cheap.
Weaknesses: Accuracy, Speed.
Review: The PGP is a very durable gun. I picked one up about a year ago so I could play pump and stock. this gun is also great when you want to play games were one person is supposed to have worse or no equipmant. it can also be used for pistol duels. This gun has proiven to be a competitor through the ages. If you want to play sock or pump for cheap, this all metal gun is were you want to go.
Conclusion: Great duarable gun for under 100$.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

GrimreaperII Thursday, March 24th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: I use a Tippman A-5 with a Flatline Barrell, Egrip, 4 position collapsable carbine stock, and a 20oz Co2.
I have a PGP2 for back-up
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't really need any, except you might want to polish the barrell.
Strengths: Accurate
INCREDIBLE Co2 efficiency
Ammo
Reload speed
Quick Co2 change
Size
Weaknesses: Can break balls in unpolished barrell
Review: This is a truly awesome pistol. It's Accurate, has a very nice barrell size for a pistol. It has a very easy pump and trigger pull. The Co2 change is much faster than the original PGP (Only 3 full turns), and you get much more shots per 12g (I can get about 50-55 without losing velocity, 60-65 total indoors with the power at it's max). It says it can hold 10 rounds, but you can actually fit 12-13. The fiber-optice sights are also a very nice built-in freebie. The gun IS heavy, but this works to it's advantage, helping you stabalize it while aiming at full arm's length or while running. The grip is also very well designed and comfortable. Only notable flaws are the small trigger shoe, and that fact that you might not pull the pump back all the way because the pump stops/resists motion at 3 places (uncocked, half-cocked, fully cocked). So basically, it's near perfect right out of the box.
Some people may say because its a stock-class pistol, it's for back-up emergencies ONLY. I say that's a load of ****. For one day, a whole good 5-6 hours of playing, I used only my PGP2. In one game, there were 4 kids behind one bunker. Two had Spyders, One had an Autococker, and I didn't see the other's... I surrendered all four with just the PGP2. That's a true story. The gun's size makes it PERFECT for running jumping dodging sliding, or ANYHTING else you need to do.
Conclusion: If you need a cheap, efficient, reliable pistol; go out and buy one of these. It's got all the good things you loved in the PGP, plus a few new ones.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 22nd, 2005 at 5:23 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

chinesebugrepel Monday, May 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
talon, tigrshark, sniper II, VSC Phantom, Mavrick, SL68
Marker Setup: pgp2 w/ palmers performance tune and centerfire bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
polish the barrel, get a new bolt, send it to palmers
Strengths: Very compact, solid construction, accurate, stock class, no tube loading.
Weaknesses: Not great stock efficiency, small pump handle, paint overspray, crappy bolt
Review: At first this gun wasn't half as good as I'd hoped. It broke most every ball at first due to paint overspray, and still had breakage after polishing the barrel. The stock efficiency wasn't very good, and the pump action was pretty stiff.

I sent my pgp to palmers for a performance tune and now it's simply great. The pump is twice as smooth, the polishing job on the barrel gives mildly improved accuracy, and efficiency is great. I easily get 25 more shots of a cartridge. I also got a centerfire bolt which has almost eliminated breakage.

As for the feel of the gun, after getting used to using 3 fingers on the pump handle I have never been more comfortable. This pistol is great for snap shooting and without pods I can run, dive and roll so much easier. It feels much more solid than a phantom, and I like the reloading method much better (no messing around with those tubes)

Conclusion: I didn't much like this gun stock. For the price it is the only noteable stock class option, but I think it definitely needs some work to be competative. If you have the money for palmers work, DO IT, the improvement is absolutely amazing and will bring your pgp up to the level of any phantom or sniper.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 17th, 2004 at 9:49 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ed.debuhr Tuesday, January 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Trracer pump, and the pump portion is all that is similar to this. Also have used a pgp original. Like this one better.
Marker Setup: Completely stock, except stripped the paint, trigger shoe and made my own oak grips.
Recommended
Upgrades:
polish barrel & internals, keep fresh springs available. New grips and a trigger shoe are a must.
Strengths: Everything. Shoots great, few ball breaks, and easy to clean on the field if it happens. I can load paint and co2 with ease thanks to the upgrades from the earlier model. I find this to be a fantastic piece for those on a budget. I have used this in all day scenarios and I am over shooting if I go through more than 300 rounds in 6 hours. I usually burn up a case of 2000, in a season and a half! I cant say more good about the gun, and even less about the bad.
Weaknesses: You have to clean the over spray from the end of the barrel. The stock grips kinda suck too. Thats it.
Conclusion: People that say this is not a good primary are nuts. Same with the people that say they shoot over 100 yards. Effective range for this is 75 to 100 feet. Effective range of a semi is 100 to 125 feet, anything after that is a bouncer and won't break. This marker is solid, easy to clean and load. Only thing that goes bad is springs and "o" rings which can be bought anywhere. I have had mine chronoed at over 300 fps, but with the adjustments, brought it down to 285, and still get close to 30 shots from a 12 gram. If you like a challenge, this is the marker for you
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, February 17th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original PGP , P68SC, occasional firing of other backup/stock guns
Marker Setup: Brass Eagle Raptor, Sight Rail, Eagleworks Barrel, Homemade Shoulder stock, Home made forearm, Expansion chamber, venturi bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Make loading door metal instead of plastic, holster, ten round tubes, 12gram cartridges
Strengths: Great back-up marker. I have used the original PGP since I started playing. It has saved my tail several times. I don't have paint problems that others have written about, but I always use premium paint. I have used this gun in night games as my primary and have been very successful with it. I use a holster, and a shotgun choke tube pouch to carry extra 12 grams, and a shotgun vest to carry extra 10 shot tubes and 12 grams. Very reliable. Mine only breaks paint if I use crappy paint.
Weaknesses: There have been times I wish it held more than 10 balls.Other than that I love mine and my original pgp.
Conclusion: I like this gun better than other semi and pump back-up guns, but have not used others except in occasional firing or testing of someone elses guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, December 21st, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom, flatline barrel, GTA double trigger, Dye sticky grip, spee-t-cocker, coiled remote line, custom made wood stock, modified direct feed elbow, shortend+colored sights, + custom camo break up tape job.
PGP2, + custom flashlight adapter(so far).
Recommended
Upgrades:
PMI rubber grips
Strengths: -amazingly acurate
-great sights(fiber optic)
-very gas efficent (get about 24 shots)
-Durible
-easy to clean
-solid feel
-powerfull
-velocity adjuster is awsome
Weaknesses: -breaks balls too much
-when a ball is broken, it breaks or screws up the direction of the other balls
-paint scratches off kind of easy
-heavier than most side arms
-some what bulky
-balls load in with difficulty
Conclusion: This is an overall great gun. The accuracy is top notch. There may be a lot of disadvantages to this gun, but they are not too bad. They can easily be delt with or fixed. I'm thinking about getting my barrel honed+polised. Just whatever you do, DO NOT USE BRASS EAGLE PAINT and you will be fine. Thy sell pmi rubber grips at the palmer's pursuit website, just e-mail glenn and he can get them for you at around $20.00. I acually know of a place that sells them for $11.00. If you want to know, just e-amil me.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media