paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2

Sheridan PGP2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP2

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP2
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 67
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sheridan PGP2 has proven its value in tournament after tournament and has built a rugged reputation at paintball fields across the country. With its solid brass construction, dual fiberoptic sights and heavyweight feel, there's no mystery to the PGP2's popularity. Known to many as the most reliable back-up marker ever issued, this is one tough performer.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Awminn Monday, September 17th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: It had PGP in the name, other then that....
Weaknesses: Well, lets be honest. Sheridan tried to improve upon the perfect original. I think someone needs to tell them "If its not broke, then dont fix it". Though it may look cool at first glance, its really not. Velocity adjuster and quick change are something that can be added for little money on a stock PGP, and the barrel extension isnt needed and doesnt really add accuracy. It aslo adds length, and I bought my original PGP for its shortness. And who has time to line up the sights on a moving target? Not me. Accuracy is an acuired skill, not something you can add as an accesorie. Plastic loader is horable, it only messes up the feed and breaks off.
Conclusion: If I were you, Id drop this idea and buy the original, if you can find it. Or try to buy one used. PGPs dont break, its that simple.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:54 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, May 17th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: -longer barrel
-great accuracy
-no big things hangin' off your gun like CO2 or a hopper
-great feel
-powerfull
Weaknesses: -reloading sucks
-don't pump too fast or you will chop a ball in two pieces
Conclusion: it's a great gun and i think it is the best sidekick to have
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jorge G Friday, December 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP, Nelson 007 stock
Marker Setup: Basic with Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Holster
Strengths: Reliable and accurate at short to medium range.
Weaknesses: Feed requires tilt
CO 2 screw can work loose
Review: Great reliable marker. This is a backup and not to be used against modern paintpower.
While the marker does not have a co2 in it the screw in to puncher the co2 can fall out. This is not a problem if you leave the spent cartridge in the chamber. I recommend this marker to anyone who would like a reliable backup marker.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a fast hitting backup this is not it. The pump is slow but the gun is reliable and accurate. I carry it as a last chance backup and has worked very well.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, December 17th, 2004 at 2:16 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PNTBOL FREAK Friday, March 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None that I can think of
Marker Setup: Sheridan PGP2, Spyder Victor, aaaaaa....... CO2 and a Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Easier loading system
Strengths: EXETREMELY Accurate, Affordable (for most People)
Weaknesses: Loading system, & I guess the loading the CO2 cartridge is a pain
Review: Well, Mainly this gun is excellent for scenario play, even though I havin't had the chance to use it in a game,YET. I've been using the gun since I got it on my birthday, and mine hasen't busted any of my balls. loading the CO2 cartridges into the gun is a hassle and so is the ball loading, but I am
trying to prove that wrong (Owners, you might want to try this out!) Practice loading & unloading the cartridges as fast as you can, kinda pretend like you're out playing on the field, and you're under HEAVY fire, while bunkering, and also try loading balls in the same way. One thing that will help you load balls faster is to get those clear 10 rd. tubes and I rccommend a lot of 'em like 30 they don't cost a fist & a leg, and get like a shotgun belt so you can carry 'em, I've been meaning to get some of them but never got the chance, I'll go this weekend. Another vital thing you'll need is a holster (to carry the gun) I don't think they cost much.
Conclusion: My reccommendation?, lets see, aaaaa BUY IT! if you feel the need that you have to have it as a backup or your primary choice, then yes.I'm gonna give this product , uummmmmm let me see, since I have it,..............and I think its great,..........UH, Hello, is anyone there!?,..................DUH!.......10 OUT OF 10!<echo,echo,echo,echo, fading echo>
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sdlm Thursday, November 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Sniper- much better but more $
BE tigershark- breaks more often
pt extreme- far worse even if it is semi
Marker Setup: Black ICD 2k3 Bushmaster BKO
12" Lapco bigshot
32 degress 42" steel remote
gas-thru-stock
VL eVLution II
BE Tigershark with 9.5" eagle works barrel
BE Blade 1 with tape holding it together

WGP Sniper 2k3/WGP Autococker 2k3-
stock reg from a pre 2k cocker
shochtech bomb 3-way
lapco bigshot 12" SS
gas thru stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, it is good the way it is
Strengths: size, cost, reliability
Weaknesses: only weaknesses inherit to all 12-gram markers
Review: this is pretty much what you expect from the 2nd most popular stock class marker, while not as accurate as most new pumps it makes up for it with size, this gun is highly manuvable. the stock class feed system is plenty fast, there seems to be no need for a spring. the 12 gram power is much worse than I expected, you tend to only get about 10-15 shots, a blade or talon will give 30-50, even at the same velocity. the gun is definitly sutible as a main arm provided you have a stock class harness, we recently played a semi turneny where one of our team used one, and we placed 5th, so it isn't impossible to play stock against semi.
Conclusion: by far the best pistol, and the best stock gun for the price, it's ineffecentcy is forgiven by anyone that has a harness and the QC is the fastest legal in stock.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chrislax16 Monday, December 16th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, though i am soon to try out a pt extreme
Marker Setup: I have two that i use (not including the pgp)
Alley Cat SE- with an All American
Phantom- all stock parts (havent been able to see it yet, my mom is holding it until christmas
Recommended
Upgrades:
well, i would definitely recommend a holster, even if you're not going to use it as a sidearm, it just makes you look more sexy.
also the performance tune that Palmers pursuit is offering, though its $75 its definitely worth it! I am soon to be sending my baby away to them!
Strengths: Well, its a great gun overall, I truely love it!
That off my chest I would have to say these things:
Its light
You'll use much less paint (I only used about 150 in a full day of play)
its cheap
its very accurate once you get your barrel polished
finally, you'll feel so revved up using it!
My first true game with it was last week, and boy, was that a true adrenaline rush, a day just filled with snow and paint! I got only about 3 kills due to my bad aim, but thats ok "You win some you lose some" I did find some bad things with it though (see below)
Weaknesses: The accuracy isnt that great at first, you must break it in, break a lot of paint, and get your barrel honed/polished
changing 12 grms is a terrible time, same with the changing of ammo, it just gets annoying, yet must be done, practice is the best thing for it! I have it down now, but going in to a game without knowing how to do this quickly really sucks. "Practice makes perfect"
Conclusion: Nothing can compare to eliminating a person in one shot though, its such a nice feeling! Same with finally shooting and the gun following its intended path. I love this gun!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 28th, 2005 at 5:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tplyons Sunday, October 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
PT Extreme
Marker Setup: 2001 Sheridan PGP with Cops911 Tactical Holster
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much you can do to a PGP, but its great right out of the box.

Use 32 Degrees Team Colors paint!
Strengths: Great right out of the box, shoots more accurately than stock barrels on most guns! 12 gram CO2 cartridges are quick and easy to reload, and as long as you have 10 round tubes, reloading isn't too difficult either.
Weaknesses: While holstered, the rear sight/loader tends to slide back, meaning when you unholster it, you need to slide it forward in order to load the paintball into the barrel when cocking. Also, there is nothing to keep the ball from rolling out of the barrel when pointed down.
Conclusion: it fired faster and straighter than my brand new Tippmann Model 98 Custom. I took it out with me, paintballing and it saved my ass a number of times, the first earning me the nickname of Commando: my 98 ran out of CO2 and I threw it down while it was still spitting the last remaining air from the tank and I drew my PGP from my holster, cocked it, and ran thirty feet up the field and dove behind a bunker, only to bunker an amateur player with an Impulse. After that game, he was embarrassed to find out he was shot and taken out of the game by a pump pistol. The next game, I used the PGP as a primary and lit up two more amateurs like Christmas trees. From then on, I was using my 98 from the back and leaving it behind to charge with the PGP.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
any pump gun, any backup pistol over 100 dollars, and less than $150
Marker Setup: Pirahna sts g3 power feed w/ expansion chamber(black)
Sheridan pgp2 (backup gun black)
16 oz. co2 tank (black)
300 rnd. hopper (clear)
Recommended
Upgrades:
12 gram co2 adapter
Strengths: extremely accurate.
has saved me a couple times before in the field.
doesn't break easy.
after about 100 shots it won't break any balls.
very light.
easy to carry.
looks cool.
fun to have.
Weaknesses: I haven't found anything bad with it, and i don't expect to either.
Conclusion: this gun is awsome, and is 10 times as good as the original pgp.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXAFireInsideXx Thursday, December 13th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
b/e tigershark, cci phantom (i own the stock and standard versions)
Marker Setup: CCI phatom w/ both breeches, 45 grip and vertical and bottom line air
Recommended
Upgrades:
i dont know if there are any.
Strengths: I Like my pgp, it has gotten me out of some tight situations, it is very accurate, it compares w/ my phantom. It is really compact, and has a smooth pump.
loading balls is easy, and the sights are really good. and of course, extremley rugged.
Weaknesses: well, first of all, the re-desinged loading system could be better, the made it so putting paintballs in the loading tube easy(which it is), but it's getting the balls in the breech is the hard part, i have very low rates of fire w/this, because i have to 1, cock the bolt back, 2, turn the gun a litte sideways so i can see the open breech, 3, tilt the gun back, 4, tilt it a tiny bit forward 5, actually watch a paintball fall into the breech, and finally shoot. This slow, unreliable process has gotten mt tagged in some games.
second, it has very high ball breakage tendancy, i always load up w/9 balls, and about 5 or 6, maybe less sometimes actually make it out.(but those shots are always dead-on accurate).
third, range, you cant shot high velocties w. this gun, shoot mine @ 220, so i get very low range and still high ball breaks. (ive heard these problems can be fixed by polishing the barrel).
fourth, (this is only cosmetic) scratches, mine has four big scratches where the pump arm arm slides. but i don't really care, (wear and tear, right?) it ony bothers me because it lowers the value.
Conclusion: well, it is a good gun somtimes, but i find it unreliable, so i cant always trust it.
i find myself sometimes thankin this gun, and other tims hating it (kind of an enmity going on here >=).
i dont know if i'd reccomend it, maybe if you plan on polishing the barrel ( i think i am going to soon.)
maybe if you're looking for a sidearm (thats why i bougt it).
i gave it a five due to its polarity.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, April 13th, 2001
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Really, accurate. The new pgp has a few advantages over the old pgp. The biggest thing is that it's got a velocity adjuster, so it can get decent velocities. The co2 change plug has coarse threads, so it makes changing the co2 cartridge quicker. The loading tube slides open instead of having a threaded cap, so it reloads faster, too.
Weaknesses: The original pgp was known for its durability. I expected the same durability out of the pgp2, and was dissappointed. First, the part that slides open to load paintballs broke, so it came all the way off. It also happened to my friends pgp2. That was annoying, but not serious. There really wasn't enough thought put into the design. There's an angled wedge of plastic at the end of the ammo tube, which was put there to help the paintballs roll all the way in when you load them. It also makes the tube impossible to close if you accidentally put 11 paintballs in it. When the loading port thing's open, the paintballs can't feed into the breech either, which would've made it easier to get the extra 11th paintball out. Also, I screwed the co2 plug in "too tight" I guess, which pushed the entire valve back into the gun about a quarter to a half inch, so the gun wouldn't cock back all the way. Thank God fot the guy at my proshop. Sheridan never fixed the "weak first shot" bug either.
Conclusion: I was pretty dissappointed overall. I'd recommend this gun over an original pgp, and it is better, just not by far. It performs better, but is surprisingly fragile. (not really fragile, just more fragile) Mine has a lifetime warranty from the proshop I got it at, and I'm sure that I'd be much less happy if I had to pay to get it fixed every time it broke. I know how to take care of a paintball gun, too. It does have a couple fun features, like the ability to pump it 5 times and load 5 paintballs into the barrel, then fire it. That's fun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media