paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2 / Sheridan PGP2

Sheridan PGP2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan PGP2

Paintball Pistols

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan PGP2
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 67
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Sheridan PGP2 has proven its value in tournament after tournament and has built a rugged reputation at paintball fields across the country. With its solid brass construction, dual fiberoptic sights and heavyweight feel, there's no mystery to the PGP2's popularity. Known to many as the most reliable back-up marker ever issued, this is one tough performer.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan PGP2 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
flyingdeadbody1 Sunday, April 1st, 2001
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: improvements over the old PGP are:

1) fast changer
2) faster field stripping
3) fiber optic sights (if you use them)
4) 2 inch longer barrel (doesnt make much of a difference, but oh well)
5) faster loader (maybe)
6) VELOCITY ADJUSTER!!!!
Weaknesses: When I got my PGP2 it looked awesome. When I played with it it did awesome. The top loader fell off one time, and it broke, so now I just take off the loader to reload it.
The velocity adjuster pretty much just stays at 250 fps, because any higher and the ball will break, unless you have a venturi bolt, polished barrel, and a right paint to barrel match (small).
Conclusion: I got this thing for 90 bucks, and it was worth it. Sometimes I play with the PGP2 at my field, just to have fun with the walk-ons. It is a very fun gun to play with.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Awminn Thursday, June 7th, 2001
 
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Well, Sheridan makes it and its running off the reputation of the old PGP (durability, reliability, etc) Extended barrel helps A LITTLE, but thiers still the problem of paint overspray in the barrel. Fiber optic sights look cool.
Weaknesses: Honestly, I dont think sheridan shouldve redone it. The new loading system sucks due to the fact that the little ramp used for feeding screws up the feed.Extending the barrel helped little and screws up the looks along with making it too long for old style holsters. Also some custom upgrades are not available for the new version. I lso cant believe they made the feeder out of plastic.
Conclusion: Honestly, id just look to see if any place still sells the old one. Im not sure if Sheridan even makes the old one anymore. Buying an old PGP used is great because if it doesnt work it can be fixed easily and cheaply to top notch working condition.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kanludar Monday, May 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Field Rentals/ blah blah, lots of guns... even an angel... well I didnt get to shoot it, but i held it!!!
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
PGP II
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really, I don't buy a gun to spend another 200 dollars upgrading. Try to find one that basically has what you want.
Strengths: Built like a tank
Easy to field strip
Easy to reload
Weaknesses: Its not semi auto!!!!
Sights snap easy or snag on holster
Review: I read almost every review on this sight, and honestly feel most people don't tell you what you seriously need to consider. I bought this gun because it was supposedly soooo accurate and you could compete with semi's. Wrong.

This gun is really not that accurate at all, its very average as far as markers go. A friend just purchased a Spyder Victor II, and firing them both at a range of roughly 40 feet his was just as accurate as my PGP, maybe a little more accuate... now maybe im wrong but I generally dont equate Spyder Victor with "accurate".

The biggest problem however is that it is not semi auto. So if you miss your first shot your going to get penned behind a bunker. Now that wouldn't be all that bad, if the gun was accurate, but like I said it is just average. The worst part about it being a pump though, is that you actually have to pump it. Every time you pump you loose your aim, so its impossible to just adjust a little bit and hit your target, which is especially bad if it is even a little bit windy.

The last problem is that I always had trouble with the first few shots. So if it's your backup you can't just pop a 12 gram in and expect it to shoot fine on the first shot. Expect to shoot it a few times to get it working. I want a sidearm that I can just whip out of the holster and lay some paint down.

And yes there is paint overspray... and yes it is extremely hard to get off, I tried using brillo and metal scrubbing pads to no avail.

However if you are determined to get a pgp, get the pgp II, its extra features are all really nice. Actually I plan on putting mine on ebay in a few weeks...
Conclusion: Definatly don't buy it if you plan on playing against Semi's and it is your main gun. It is not an incredibly bad deal though, after all PGP's do tend to give you warm fuzzies. But in my opinion most people would be better off spending another 20 bucks and getting a semi pistol.

It gets a 5 because that is exactly what it is! Average, nothing spectacular
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 24th, 2004 at 7:06 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

MacWhorter Monday, November 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP 1, nelspot 007, splatmaster
Marker Setup: PGP2 with homemade wood grips, aluminum pump handle, and a pgp1 feed tube cap
Recommended
Upgrades:
New grips(personal preference)
Polish out the barrel (highly recommended)
speedgate
Strengths: Accuracy
Efficiency
durability
Built in speed changer
velocity adjuster
fiber optic sights
Weaknesses: Rear feed cover is damaged easily
Range
Factory black overspray in barrel (easily fixed)
Review: This was my first pistol, I noticed right away that it had a nice heft to it, I knew this was a nice gun in terms of quality. I thought the fiber optic sights were awsome, it gave a nice, clear sight picture. I have to say I was very impressed with the accuracy, this thing is dead accurate out to 75 ft or so after you polish out the barrel. It will also get a good 30 good shots on one 12gram. This gun is the "improved" version of the early pgps, it comes with a few features the old ones didn't have, like a fast changer, longer barrel, two stage bolt, and a velocity adjuster. For the most part, I would call this an improvement over the older models, but there are a few shortcomings: a few parts that were metal on the early pgps have been replaced with plastic parts, they should hold up ok but the plastic rear sliding cover is prone to breaking. There have also been rumers about the air hole alignment being off, causing frequent breaks in some guns (mine doesn't have this problem).
Conclusion: Overall this is a great sidearm that should last you many years, it comes with critical upgrades that pgp1 owners had to buy seperately, and this guns disadvantages are all fixable if you are handy enough. If you can find one I highly recommend picking it up as the are becoming harder to find every day! Since the problems are fixable, I give it an 8
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder_013 Sunday, June 10th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP - This is the updated version
Phantom - More expensive, I would give both these markers the same rating, Id liketo have both in my collection
USP - Its o.k. but its not a pump and not as accurate
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine 03', Lapco Feed Neck, J&J Ceramic Barrel 14", 20oz. A/S Co2 Tank, VL eVLution II w/ Z-Board, Pure Energy Regulator, PMI Flame Drop, Shocktech Superfly Bolt, 32 Degrees LCD Frame, 32* Front Block and LPC, 32* On/ Off

Spyder Imagine 04', Mechanical Frame, 32* X-Chamber

PGP2K1, Bone Stock, Used as a Primary
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly a new speed gate if the stock one breaks.
Strengths: Pistol/ Pump
Runs on 12g
10ball capacity
Very consistent
Accurate
Weaknesses: No wedgits/ detents, not a huge problem
Review: I love this little marker. Right now im using it as a primary gun. It is very accurate and is very consistent, mine gets around 35 shots consistently to a 12g, + 5 drop off shots. Its a true stock class marker, and its fairly priced. The quick strip bolt is cool too, much better than other quick strips (like spyders) it is very fast and simple.

I have heard people have choping problems with the bolt, I havent broken a single ball due to the bolt, I have also heard that the speed gate breaks, which can be easily replaced, but I actually use the sights it has.

Its much better that the PGP1 becuase it has the speed gate, quick change co2, velocity adjuster and longer barrel... The longer barrel does nothing to help accuracy, but I remember with the Original that people would shoot their own finger because they would put it in front of the barrel on their pump stroke, Its pretty hard to do on this model.

It has no wedgits/ detents, but that is very easy to solve. all you do is put a small dab of nail polish where the ball sits and then try to roll the tye of paintballs you usually use down the barrel, if they get stuck, but still push out, it is perfect, if they get stuck and go through hard, you need to take a little off, If they keep rolling you need more nail polish... It is a quick fix to a problem... have it noted you will need to raise your velocity.
Conclusion: Very good marker for a fair price, If you want to get into SC playing but dont want to blow a lot of money this is the marker for you, I would even recomend it to serious SC players
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Surge69 Friday, May 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP
Marker Setup: Milled Tippmann 98 Custom
Palmer Male Stab
Redz ASA on/off
Dye 03 Stickys
Rocket Cock 2
double trigger
Cyclone w/ QEV
Super R/T
Maddmann spring kit
R-5 Hopper
12" J&J barrel
PGP2
20oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Excellent back up gun
Accurate
Easy to use
Weaknesses: The 12 gram can get stuck.
Review: Deffinetly better than its older brother(PGP). This one has dual fiberoptic sights, volocity ajduster, and about a 1 1/2 turns to get the 12 gram out. It also comes with a pull back sleeve to put the paintballs in. Quick feild strip, if you know what your doing.
Conclusion: An excellent backup gun! Great Price! GO BUY ONE!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RobVsWorld Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Splatmaster
Crosman 3357 .50 cal
Marker Setup: Black Ego 06 w/ BlackHaloB w/rip drive, soon to have blue accents, Dye UL barrel, Crosfire 45-45ci tank.

Crosman 3357 .50 cal
Sheridan PGP2
NSG Splatmaster
Recommended
Upgrades:
I haven't come across any, so I can't really say what to put on it as of now.
Strengths: \/See Review\/
Weaknesses: \/See Review\/
Review: Key Strengths:

Accurate/Quiet: The PGP2 is by far one of the most accurate, let alone quiet markers I have ever used.

Ease of use: The PGP2 is very easy to use, I have'nt had any difficulties at all with it yet.

Lightweight: The PGP2 is a very lightweight gun, and very compact, none of it feels cheap, its a very solid marker.

Key Weaknesses:

12 gram puncture Pin: It seems kind of weak, but probably because I got it used, it isnt much of a problem though...
Conclusion: A great pump marker, I would highly recommend this to anyone entering the pump world.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crispydude429 Monday, November 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I dont quite think a blade counts since they're like $25 but, yeah ive tried those
Marker Setup: PGP, old school style, nothin' but
Recommended
Upgrades:
if a holster counts as an upgrade then yeah pick up one of those, they come in handy
same deal as above for tubes, you dont wanna look like a retard loading paint by hand or with a hopper, and you'd probably get shot alot too
Strengths: Reliability: never breaks
Accuracy
Cost: like $100CDN
Weight: well balanced
Weaknesses: None
Review: Great gun for beginners, and advanced players who dont need 25 BPS to be a useful player.
Let me emphesize one thing here: this is a stock class marker, and as such, should be used for stock play. It probably shouldnt be used as a sidearm because some of you semi players might forget to rock and cock (i sincerely hope not). The 2001 PGP has corrected pretty much all of the disadvantages that the previous ones had, like the comment about the spring between the 2 steel balls somewhere on this page, its been corrected (quite cleverly i might add) and unless you shortstroke it (you'll do it a couple times before you get used to the gun, but it only takes a game or 2) or your FPS is too high, its tough to break a ball with this gun (as far as i know the bolt doesnt even slam into the ball, which eliminates the possability of breaking it)
Conclusion: Good for beginners or tourney players who shot their money by shooting a case every other game away but still want to play paintball


GO PAG! (you're welcome Dale)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 1st, 2004 at 9:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodsballer240 Friday, October 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle pump
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Stock PGP 2001
Recommended
Upgrades:
None at all
Strengths: Size, weight, air and paintball usage, compact, great for woods ball.
Weaknesses: A little hard to pump, but nothing no one could not handle.
Review: I have been wanting to break into stock playing for a long while. So my marker of choice was the new PGP. This marker is great. I have only used it once but it is so awesome I had to post a reveiw. I have played for 3 years with a 98 custom with a flat line. I love that marker, but moving from a long semi-automatic to a small pump was like a dream. The PGP is compact and I get around 3 or 4 tubes every co2 so thats around 30 to 40 rounds. It is just as acurate if not more than my 98 custom. The weight is perfect and the wood grips give it a old school feel. The fiber optic sights are awesome. You really never think about aiming when playing with semi's but with a pump you want every shot to count and the fiber optics are a great help. All in all, this marker rocks! If I knew what I know about paintball now this would have been my first choice for a marker. I can't say enough good things about this marker. This marker will make anyone an all around better player!
Conclusion: I give this marker a 20 out of 10 rating if that is all possible. Great feel, very acurate and you will save so much money on paint and air in one day you won't belive it. I could play for days on one box of paint and co2's. If you want to play stock, I recomend this marker to anyone.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aphidman Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, PGP2 is the first and only pistol ill ever need
Marker Setup: Impulse with freak, jackhammer2, horizontal max flo with tank, smartparts sticky grips, smart parts emblem pull pin, rat hole hammer, delrin bolt, stickers galore.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not too many upgrades needed. if you really need to i suggest palmerize it.
Strengths: GREAT accuracy, very small, very reliable.
Weaknesses: At first it might break balls, but not after its broken in.
Review: First off, this is by far THE best pistol on the market! this could easily be used as your primary gun in stock or if your daring, speedball.

The Pgp2 is just like a baseball mit, you HAVE to break it in before you get the most out of it. It will probably break balls when you first get it, but after a good amount of use, say 150 shots? it will not break. (well it might, but chances are it wont)

its extremely easy to load, thats why its my favorite! It holds comfortably 10 shots, and uses 12 gram c02 (duh). The crosshairs are so cool, and a big help. This gun is extremely accurate.

If you find the balls curving, clean out the barrel, make sure nothing is nicked, or there is no debris.
Conclusion: Definitley worth getting
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media